Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II, claims 1-5 and 8-20 in the reply filed on 5/18/2026 is acknowledged.
After further consideration, the examiner has determined that claim 10 is not part of the elected species, in which Species II (i.e. Figs. 8A and 9A) does not show a third inductor mutually coupled the second inductor and electrically isolated therefrom (i.e. Figs. 8A and 9A shows a third inductor, bottom right inductor L2, however this inductor is not mutually coupled to the second inductor, upper right inductor L2, and electrically isolated therefrom since these inductors are directly connected to each other).
Claims 6, 7 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/18/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 9, 11, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schmidhammer et al. (US2023/0299741 A1, Cited by Applicant).
In regards to claims 1, 15 and 20, Schmidhammer et al. teaches in Fig. 3-2 and paragraph [0004] a wireless communication filter device comprising:
A transceiver (see paragraph [0004]) comprising a filter, the filter based on Fig. 3-2 comprising:
An input node (132-1);
An output node (132-2);
A first acoustic resonator (324-1) coupled to the input node;
A first inductor (left inductor of 326-1) coupled to the input node (132-1) and electrically parallel to the first acoustic resonator;
A second inductor (right inductor of 326-1) coupled to the output node (132-2) and mutually coupled to the first inductor but electrically isolated therefrom; and
A second acoustic resonator (324-2) serially coupled to the first acoustic resonator and a ground.
In regards to claims 3 and 17, based on Fig. 3-2, a third inductor (left inductor of 326-2) electrically parallel to the second acoustic resonator (324-2).
In regards to claims 4 and 18, based on Fig. 3-2, a fourth inductor (right inductor of 326-2) serially coupled to the second inductor and ground, the fourth inductor mutually coupled to the third inductor (left inductor of 326-2), but electrically isolated therefrom, wherein mutual coupling between the third inductor and the fourth inductor is opposite to that between the first and second inductors (see paragraph [0101], coupled inductors 326-1 has a phase that is opposite in phase to coupled inductor 326-2).
In regards to claims 5 and 19, based on related Fig. 11 and paragraph [0160], a capacitor (1104) can be added the output node to ground (capacitor 1104 will have a left end that will be electrically connected to ground).
In regards to claims 8 and 9, based on related Fig. 7-2 and paragraph [0131], each of the resonators (324-1 and 324-2) can be split resonators (splitting one resonator into two parallel connected resonators), therefore, the filter will comprises: a third acoustic resonator coupled to the input node and electrically parallel to the first acoustic resonator (324-1) will exist (i.e. one of the split resonators being the first resonator and the other split resonator being the third resonator), and a fourth acoustic resonator coupled to ground and electrically parallel to the second acoustic resonator (324-2) will exist (i.e. one of the split resonators being the second resonator and the other split resonator being the fourth resonator).
In regards to claim 11, based on paragraph [0046], the first and second acoustic resonators are bulk acoustic wave (BAW) resonator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 12-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidhammer et al. (US2023/0299741 A1, Cited by Applicant) in view of Frisvold (US2020/0152366 A1).
As discussed above, Schmidhammer et al. teaches the claimed invention as recited in claims 1 and 15. Schmidhammer et al. also teaches the following:
In regards to claim 12, Schmidhammer et al. teaches based on Fig. 3-2 a method of operating a filter comprising:
Providing a signal to an input node (132-1); and
Filtering the signal with a plurality of acoustic resonators (324-1 and 324-2).
In regards to claim 13, further comprising generating a filtered signal at an output node (132-2).
However, Schmidhammer et al. does not teach: in regards to claims 2 and 16, an electrostatic shield between the first inductor and the second inductor, wherein the electrostatic shield is electrically isolated from both the first inductor and the second inductor and is connected to ground; in regards to claim 12, using shielded mutually coupled inductors to circumvent out-of-band rejection limitations on the signal; in regards to claim 14, wherein using shielded mutually coupled inductors comprises using a shield that is coupled to ground.
Frisvold teaches in Fig. 3 a filter comprising mutually coupled first (120) and second (130) coils/inductors having a grounded electrostatic shield (140-1) between the coupled inductors. Frisvold teaches in paragraph [0057], that having a grounded electrostatic shield between mutually coupled inductors provides the benefit of reducing the capacitive coupling between the inductors.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Schmidhammer et al. and have added a grounded electrostatic shield between each of the mutually coupled inductors, because such a modification would have provided the benefit of reducing the capacitive coupling between the inductors as suggested by Frisvold (see paragraph [0057]). As an obvious consequence of the modification, due to the reduction of capacitive coupling between the mutually coupled inductors, the performance of the filter will necessarily improve, thereby circumventing out-of-band rejection limitations on the signal
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Matsuda et al. (US2010/0148887 A1) teaches in Fig. 1A the concept of splitting acoustic resonators (S1 into S11 and S12) for the benefit of improving power durability (see paragraph [0113]).
/JORGE L SALAZAR JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843