DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is a final rejection
Claims 1-2, 4-14, 16-22 are pending
Claims 3, 15 were cancelled
Claims 21-22 were added
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 10, 13, 16-17, 19-20 were amended
Claims 1-2, 4-14, 16-22 are rejected under 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 4-14, 16-22 are rejected under 35 USC § 103
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim for a foreign priority date of 1-21-2025
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 4-14, 16-22 are not patent eligible because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Analysis
First, claims are directed to one or more of the following statutory categories: a process, a machine, a manufacture, and a composition of matter. Regarding claims 1-2, 4-14, 16-22 the claims recite an abstract idea of “medical imaging protocol mapping”.
Independent Claims 1, 13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 based on the following analysis.
-Step 1 (Does the claim fall within a statutory category? YES): claims 1, 13, 20 recite respectively a system, method, non-transitory machine-readable storage medium for “medical imaging protocol mapping”.
-Step 2A Prong One (Does the claim fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas?: YES): The claimed invention:
model to estimate similarity scores for pairs of medical imaging protocol data employed for configuring and controlling respective medical imaging devices for performing medical imaging scans, the pairs respectively comprising planned imaging protocol data in a first format and performed imaging protocol data in a second format that employs different terminology or identifiers relative to the first format for at least some of a defined set of parameters wherein the training comprises:
performing a similarity mapping process between the pairs, wherein the similarity mapping process comprises, for each pair;
using predefined mapping information that maps respective parameters of the defined set of parameters in the first format to corresponding parameters of the defined set of parameters in the second format to determine measures of similarity between the respective parameters included in the planned imaging protocol data and the performed imaging protocol data, and
generating a similarity matrix for the paircomprising the measures of similarity; and
estimate the similarity scores for the pairs using the similarity matrices;
belonging to the grouping of mental processes under concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) as it recites “medical imaging protocol mapping”. Alternatively, the selected abstract idea belongs to the grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity under managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people as it recites “medical imaging protocol mapping” (refer to MPP 2106.04(a)(2)). Accordingly this claim recites an abstract idea.
-Step 2A Prong Two (Are there additional elements in the claim that imposes a meaningful limit on the abstract idea? NO).
Claim 1 recites:
at least one memory that stores computer-executable components;
at least one processor that executes at least one of the computer-executable components that trains a neural network model;
trains a neural network model to estimate similarity scores;
training the neural network model... using the similarity matrices
Claim 13 recites:
a system comprising a processor;
Claim 20 recites:
A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, facilitate performance of operations;
Amounting to additional elements that are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea. (refer to MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, the claim as a whole does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
-Step 2B (Does the additional elements of the claim provide an inventive concept?: NO. As discussed previously with respect to Step 2A Prong Two:
Claim 1 recites:
at least one memory that stores computer-executable components;
at least one processor that executes at least one of the computer-executable components that trains a neural network model;
trains a neural network model to estimate similarity scores;
training the neural network model... using the similarity matrices
Claim 13 recites:
a system comprising a processor;
Claim 20 recites:
A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, facilitate performance of operations.
Amount to additional elements that are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea. (refer to MPEP 2106.05(f)) Accordingly, even in combination the additional elements of the claim do not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea) and hence the claim is ineligible.
Dependent Claims:
Step 2A Prong One: The following dependent claims recite additional limitations that further define the abstract idea of “medical imaging protocol mapping”: claim 4-12, 16-19, 22.
Step 2A Prong Two (Are there additional elements in the claim that imposes a meaningful limit on the abstract idea? NO). The following dependent claims 2, 6-7, 10, 14, 18, 19, 21 recite mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea. (refer to MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, the claims as a whole do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B (Does the additional elements of the claim provide an inventive concept?: NO). As discussed previously with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the following dependent claims 2, 6-7, 10, 14, 18, 19, 21 recite mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea. (refer to MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, the claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea) and hence the claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
non-obviousness.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Nie et.al (CN 117438049 A) hereinafter “Nie” in view of Golden et.al. (WO 2019103912 A2) hereinafter “Golden”, in further view of Wohlers et.al. (EP 4672256 A1) hereinafter “Wohlers”
Regarding claims 1, 13, 20 Nie teaches:
performing a similarity mapping process between the pairs, wherein the similarity mapping process comprises, for each pair, (See at least [Page 2, lines 23-28] via: “...provides a medical data integration method and system, which uses the image data of the second medical institution as reference, and performs format unification and image quality optimization on the image data from the first medical institution through the generation network, Therefore, it is good for integrating the medical data of different medical institutions and different formats, thus, it can unify the format of the image data from different medical institutions and optimize the image quality so as to improve the comparability and analyzability of the image data and improve the efficiency and effect of the medical service..”; in addition see at least [Page 4, lines 13-14] via: “... Different medical institutions use their respective data formats and standards, resulting in the need for complex data conversion and mapping when integrating data..”; in addition see at least [Page 5, lines 18-20] via: “...The first medical image feature vector and the second medical image feature vector are compared using a suitable similarity measurement method (such as Euclidean distance, cosine similarity, etc.) to evaluate the similarity or difference between them...”; in addition see at least [Page 5, lines 28-32] via: “... by calculating the image characteristic level transfer matrix, the first medical image characteristic vector can be mapped to the characteristic space similar to the second medical image characteristic vector, so as to capture the shared characteristic and difference characteristic between different medical images..”)
using predefined mapping information that maps respective parameters of the defined set of parameters in the first format to corresponding parameters of the defined set of parameters in the second format to determine measures of similarity between the respective parameters included in the planned imaging protocol data and the performed imaging protocol data, (See at least [Page 2, lines 23-28] via: “...provides a medical data integration method and system, which uses the image data of the second medical institution as reference, and performs format unification and image quality optimization on the image data from the first medical institution through the generation network, Therefore, it is good for integrating the medical data of different medical institutions and different formats, thus, it can unify the format of the image data from different medical institutions and optimize the image quality so as to improve the comparability and analyzability of the image data and improve the efficiency and effect of the medical service..”; in addition see at least [Page 4, lines 13-14] via: “... Different medical institutions use their respective data formats and standards, resulting in the need for complex data conversion and mapping when integrating data..”; in addition see at least [Page 5, lines 18-20] via: “...The first medical image feature vector and the second medical image feature vector are compared using a suitable similarity measurement method (such as Euclidean distance, cosine similarity, etc.) to evaluate the similarity or difference between them...”; in addition see at least [Page 5, lines 28-32] via: “... by calculating the image characteristic level transfer matrix, the first medical image characteristic vector can be mapped to the characteristic space similar to the second medical image characteristic vector, so as to capture the shared characteristic and difference characteristic between different medical images..”)
generate a similarity matrix for the pairs comprising the measures of similarity; (See at least [Page 5, lines 21-32] via: “... the S3 performs a feature-level transfer correlation encoding on the first medical image feature vector and the second medical image feature vector to obtain an image feature-level transfer feature. It should be understood that in order to capture the characteristic difference and similarity between the two medical images, so as to facilitate the subsequent more accurate format unification and quality optimization of the two medical images, in the technical solution of the application, It is necessary to further calculate an image characteristic level transfer matrix of the second medical image characteristic vector relative to the first medical image characteristic vector, the transfer matrix can be used for describing how the first medical image characteristic vector is converted into a characteristic representation similar to the second medical image characteristic vector. That is, by calculating the image characteristic level transfer matrix, the first medical image characteristic vector can be mapped to the characteristic space similar to the second medical image characteristic vector, so as to capture the shared characteristic and difference characteristic between different medical images, The invention realizes the feature conversion and alignment between the medical images..”)
[training the neural network model to] estimate the similarity scores for the pairs using the similarity matrices. (See at least [Page 7, lines 1-9] via: “...Specifically, the S42 combines the image feature level transfer matrix and the first medical image spatial visualization feature matrix to obtain a first medical image feature matrix to be decoded. It should be understood that the image feature level transfer matrix captures the conversion relationship of the second medical image feature vector relative to the first medical image feature vector, which describes the feature difference and similarity between two medical images. By fusing the transfer matrix and the first medical image spatial visualization characteristic matrix, the first medical image characteristic vector can be converted to be closer to the representation of the second medical image characteristic vector. The obtained first medical image characteristic matrix to be decoded not only comprises the characteristic conversion relation between two medical images, but also keeps the semantic information and space structure of the first medical image..”; in addition see at least [Page 7, lines 25-33] via: “...Specifically, the S43 generates a first medical image as the optimized medical image by passing the first medical image feature matrix to be decoded through an image converter based on a confrontation generation network. It should be understood that the Confrontation Generating Network (GAN) is a model consisting of a generator and a discriminator, and a realistic sample is generated by means of the Confrontation Training. In this case, the task of the generator is to convert the first medical image feature matrix to be decoded into an image and make it as close as possible to the second medical image. In this way, the image data from the second medical institution can be used as the reference, and the image data from the first medical institution can be unified in format and optimized in image quality through the generation network, thereby facilitating the integration of different medical institutions and medical data in different formats...”)
However, Nie is silent the following limitation that is taught by Golden
trains a neural network model to estimate similarity scores for pairs of medical imaging protocol data [employed for configuring and controlling respective medical imaging devices for performing medical imaging scans, the pairs respectively comprising planned imaging protocol data in a first format and performed imaging protocol data in a second format that employs different terminology or identifiers relative to the first format for at least some of a defined set of parameters] wherein the training comprises: (See at least [Page 50, lines 27-30 and Page 51 lines 1-4] via: “… Content-based image retrieval (CBIR) constitutes a class of machine learning methods to retrieve images (and possibly other associated information) from a database based on the similarity of those images to a query image. The query image is drawn from the medical images of the query patient, which is usually the patient for whom the clinician seeks to make a clinical assessment. By using a CBIR system to retrieve similar images along with information about the clinical outcomes of the patients from whom those images are drawn, the clinician gains direct access to imaging and outcomes..”; in addition see at least [Page 56, 27-31 and Page 57, lines 1-2] via: “…The CBIR image database 2716 contains image data for lesions that may be returned as part of CBIR inference. These images are in the format from which features may be extracted using the trained CNN model 2712. Note that this image format may be different from the format of images that are returned to the user as part of CBIR inference. For example images from the CBIR image database 2716 may include the complete scan of the patient, which could be a multi-slice, multi-timepoint MR or CT study, for example..”; in addition see at least [Page 39, lines 3-8] via: “…A similarity metric is a continuous measure of degree of similarity between two images, and registration methods attempt to maximize the chosen similarity metric. Common choices of similarity measure include mutual information, cross-correlation and sum of squared differences. The similarity metric is used as a cost function for optimizing the transformation parameters in stochastic gradient descent...”; in addition see at least [Page 99 lines 18-24] via: “…Examples of similarity metrics include, but are not limited to, an intensity based metric or a feature based metric. An example intensity based metric that may be used is a sum of squared difference metric, which calculate the sum of the squared difference value for at least some (e.g., all voxels, voxels proximate one or more features) of the voxels in the two volumes. An example feature based metric that may be used is the inner product of the normalized gradient at least some of the voxels in the two volumes..”in addition see at least [Page 57, lines 17-27] via: “…Figure 28 shows a method 2800 of one implementation of training, in which a CNN is trained to directly predict similarity. As in the method 2700, training images are drawn from a training database 2802. One distinction between the implementation of the method 2800 and the implementation of the method 2700 is that, in the implementation of the method 2800, the ground truth labels drawn from the CBIR similarity database 2803 are themselves similarity scores between the training images and the images in the CBIR database. Unlike the implementation of the method 2700, where the CNN is used as a feature extractor, the CNN of the method 2800 is responsible for directly predicting the similarity between a given lesion image to some or all lesion images within the CBIR database..”) The Examiner notes that since the specification does NOT narrowly define “protocol data” to mean only non pixel metadata/DICOM headers then a “medical image” under broadest reasonable interpretation inherently contains and encapsulates its protocol parameters in its header. An image is protocol made visual, or at a minimum the image and its header are inextricably linked. Therefore prior art processing a DICOM image inherently processes protocol data under BRI.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Nie to incorporate the teachings of Golden. Those in the art would have recognized that Nie’s teaching regarding the similarity mapping of image data of different formats could be modified to include Golden’s teaching regarding similarity scores. This combination would be beneficial to radiologists in determining whether two images that have different formats are similar based on the similarity score
training the neural network model to estimate the similarity scores for the pairs; (See at least [Page 57, lines 17-27] via: “…Figure 28 shows a method 2800 of one implementation of training, in which a CNN is trained to directly predict similarity. As in the method 2700, training images are drawn from a training database 2802. One distinction between the implementation of the method 2800 and the implementation of the method 2700 is that, in the implementation of the method 2800, the ground truth labels drawn from the CBIR similarity database 2803 are themselves similarity scores between the training images and the images in the CBIR database. Unlike the implementation of the method 2700, where the CNN is used as a feature extractor, the CNN of the method 2800 is responsible for directly predicting the similarity between a given lesion image to some or all lesion images within the CBIR database..”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Nie to incorporate the teachings of Golden. Those in the art would have recognized that Nie’s teaching regarding the similarity mapping of image data of different formats could be modified to include Golden’s teaching regarding similarity scores. This combination would be beneficial to radiologists in determining whether two images that have different formats are similar based on the similarity score.
However, Nie and Golden are silent the following limitation that is taught by Wohlers
pairs of medical imaging protocol data employed for configuring and controlling respective medical imaging devices for performing medical imaging scans, the pairs respectively comprising planned imaging protocol data in a first format and performed imaging protocol data in a second format that employs different terminology or identifiers relative to the first format for at least some of a defined set of parameters (See at least [Page 2, lines 14-15] via: “...generating or modifying a protocol, wherein the protocol represents an implementation instruction for controlling the execution of a medical imaging procedure using a medical imaging device..”; in addition see at least [Page 7, lines 27-28] via: “... The medical imaging device 5 is, without limitation of generality, a magnetic resonance imaging device, but can also be a computed tomography imaging device or the like...”; in addition see at least [Page 7, lines 36-40] via: “... In the first step 6 of the procedure, input data sets 10, 12, 14, 15, 16 are specified by the provisioning unit 2. These data sets contain the specifications for carrying out the imaging procedure. In the second step 7, the input data sets 10, 12, 14, 15, 16 are evaluated using a trained language model 8, generated by machine learning and implemented on the processing unit 3. Depending on the results of this evaluation, a protocol 9 is generated, which implements a procedure instruction, or in other words, a workflow for carrying out the imaging procedure...”; in addition see at least [Page 4, lines 27-30] via: “... In principle, the standard protocol can be used directly and unchanged for carrying out the medical imaging procedure. However, in the method according to the invention, it is preferably provided that the standard protocol is modified situation-specifically using the language model based on the additional input data sets that are also available..” in addition see at least [Page 6, lines 33-37] via: “... processing unit to evaluate at least one predetermined input data set relating to a medical imaging procedure, wherein, depending on the result of this evaluation, a protocol and/or an output aimed at generating or modifying a protocol is generated... wherein the protocol represents an instruction for controlling the execution of a medical imaging procedure using a medical imaging device ..”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Nie and Golden to incorporate the teachings of Wohlers. Those in the art would have recognized that Nie’s teaching regarding the similarity mapping of image data of different formats could be modified to include Wohlers’s teaching regarding generating or modifying a protocol, wherein the protocol represents an implementation instruction for controlling the execution of a medical imaging procedure using a medical imaging device. This combination would be beneficial to radiologists implementing image scans by a medical imaging device as specified by an input protocol, either previously used or modified as needed.
Regarding claims 2 and 14 Nie, Golden and Wohlers teach the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 1 and 13 respectively. However, Nie is silent the following claims that are taught by Golden:
wherein the at least one of the computer-executable component trains the neural network model using a supervised machine learning process and ground truth information for respective ones of the pairs identifying ground truth similarity scores. (See at least [Page 55, lines 27-30] via: “...training is performed in a supervised manner and data in the training image database 2702 includes both lesion images and ground truth labels. Those labels may take on many forms, depending on the specific CNN implementation....”; in addition see at least [Page 58, lines 17-18] via: “... the training iteration at 2806 may be exclusively supervised, with the similarity score as the ground truth label)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Nie to incorporate the teachings of Golden. Those in the art would have recognized that Nie’s teaching regarding the similarity mapping of image data of different formats could be modified to include Golden’s teaching regarding similarity scores. This combination would be beneficial to radiologists in determining whether two images that have different formats are similar based on the similarity score.
Regarding claims 4 and 16 Nie, Golden and Wohlers teach the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 1 and 13 respectively. However, Nie is silent the following claims that are taught by Golden:
wherein the defined set of parameters comprises one or more parameters selected from the group consisting of: protocol name, series description name, anatomic region, series duration, field of view, slice thickness, percent phase field of view, number of excitations, acceleration factor, specific absorption rate, echo time, receive coil name, pixel bandwidth, repetition time, echo train length and voxel size. (See at least [Page 98, lines 9-20] via: “.. A radiologist may want to correlate some feature within a 3D volume at one point in time to the same feature at another point in time. A radiologist may also want to correlate some feature within a 3D volume at a single time point but using multiple modalities (CT, MR, PET, NM). In order to do this, it is advantageous to align anatomical structures in one volume to the other using a geometric transform. The transform can include one or more of rotation, translation, scaling, and deformation. The determination of the transform to perform this alignment is referred to as co-registration. An implementation is described whereby given two volumes of common anatomical structure, a transform is autonomously found that aligns the two volumes such that a feature or features common to both volumes can be easily correlated...”; in addition see at least [Page 99, lines 18-24] via: “...Examples of similarity metrics include, but are not limited to, an intensity based metric or a feature based metric. An example intensity based metric that may be used is a sum of squared difference metric, which calculate the sum of the squared difference value for at least some (e.g., all voxels, voxels proximate one or more features) of the voxels in the two volumes. An example feature based metric that may be used is the inner product of the normalized gradient at least some of the voxels in the two volumes...”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Nie to incorporate the teachings of Golden. Those in the art would have recognized that Nie’s teaching regarding the similarity mapping of image data of different formats could be modified to include Golden’s teaching regarding similarity scores based on parameters including anatomical structures and voxels in two regions . This combination would be beneficial to radiologists in determining whether two images that have different formats are similar based on the parameters.
Regarding claims 5 and 17 Nie, Golden and Wohlers teach the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 1 and 13 respectively. Nie also teaches:
wherein determining the measures of similarity comprises determining the measures of similarity based on correspondences and differences between terms of the respective parameters in the first format and the second format. (See at least [Page 5, lines 18-20] via: “...The first medical image feature vector and the second medical image feature vector are compared using a suitable similarity measurement method (such as Euclidean distance, cosine similarity, etc.) to evaluate the similarity or difference between them...”; in addition see at least [Page 5, lines 21-32] via: “...In particular, the S3 performs a feature-level transfer correlation encoding on the first medical image feature vector and the second medical image feature vector to obtain an image feature-level transfer feature. It should be understood that in order to capture the characteristic difference and similarity between the two medical images, so as to facilitate the subsequent more accurate format unification and quality optimization of the two medical images, in the technical solution of the application, It is necessary to further calculate an image characteristic level transfer matrix of the second medical image characteristic vector relative to the first medical image characteristic vector, the transfer matrix can be used for describing how the first medical image characteristic vector is converted into a characteristic representation similar to the second medical image characteristic vector. That is, by calculating the image characteristic level transfer matrix, the first medical image characteristic vector can be mapped to the characteristic space similar to the second medical image characteristic vector, so as to capture the shared characteristic and difference characteristic between different medical images, The invention realizes the feature conversion and alignment between the medical images...”)
Regarding claims 6 and 18 Nie, Golden and Wohlers teach the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 1 and 13 respectively. However, Nie is silent the following claims that are taught by Golden:
wherein at least one of the computer-executable components further employs trained neural network model to estimate similarity scores for new pairs of medical imaging protocol data based on new similarity matrices generated for the new pairs using the similarity mapping process, wherein the new pairs respectively comprise new planned imaging protocol data in the first format and new performed imaging protocol data in the second format. (See at least [Page 57, lines 1727] via: “...Figure 28 shows a method 2800 of one implementation of training, in which a CNN is trained to directly predict similarity. As in the method 2700, training images are drawn from a training database 2802. One distinction between the implementation of the method 2800 and the implementation of the method 2700 is that, in the implementation of the method 2800, the ground truth labels drawn from the CBIR similarity database 2803 are themselves similarity scores between the training images and the images in the CBIR database. Unlike the implementation of the method 2700, where the CNN is used as a feature extractor, the CNN of the method 2800 is responsible for directly predicting the similarity between a given lesion image to some or all lesion images within the CBIR database..”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Nie to incorporate the teachings of Golden. Those in the art would have recognized that Nie’s teaching regarding the similarity mapping of image data of different formats could be modified to include Golden’s teaching regarding similarity scores. This combination would be beneficial to radiologists in determining whether two images that have different formats are similar based on the similarity score.
Regarding claim 7 Nie, Golden and Wohlers teach the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 1&6. However, Nie is silent the following claims that are taught by Golden:
wherein the at least one of the computer-executable components further identifies a subset of the new pairs with similarity scores below a threshold similarity score, and determines, for respective pairs of the subset, whether one or more performance metrics for imaging scans of the subset satisfy one or more acceptability criterion. (See at least [Page 13, lines 30-31 and Page 14, lines 1-2] via: “... processor may pair lesions identified in one of the two sets of image data with lesions identified in the other of the two sets of image data if the lesions are not further than a distance X away from each other, where X is a specific value larger than 1 mm until there are no more lesions left for pairing...”; in addition see at least [Page 14, lines 3-7] via: “... Subsequent to the co-registration of the image data, the at least one processor may pair lesions identified in one of the two sets of image data with lesions identified in the other of the two sets of image data according to criteria that minimizes the sum of distances among the paired lesions, where lesions that are greater than 50 mm apart from each other are not paired with each other...”; in addition see at least [Page 39, lines 18-24] via: “...A greedy nearest neighbor algorithm pairs each lesion candidate in one scan with the closest lesion candidate in the other scan if it is not further than t mm away, which t is a distance threshold depends on organ and use cases. This process is repeated until there are no more lesion candidates left to be paired. Another option is to find sets of pairs such that the sum of distances among the paired lesion candidates is minimized. This pairing can be calculated using Hungarian algorithm, for example..”; in addition see at least [Page 39, lines 27-29] via: “...lesions are that t mm apart are ignored and will not be paired, where t is a distance threshold that depends on the organ and use cases...”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Nie to incorporate the teachings of Golden. Those in the art would have recognized that Nie’s teaching regarding the similarity mapping of image data of different formats could be modified to include Golden’s teaching regarding similarity scores. This combination would be beneficial to radiologists in determining whether two images that have different formats are similar based on the similarity score.
Regarding claims 8 and 11 Nie, Golden and Wohlers teach the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 1&6&7 and 1&6&10 respectively. However, Nie is silent the following claims that are taught by Golden:
wherein the one or more performance metrics comprise a quality metric that represents a measure of quality of medical images acquired via the imaging scans. (See at least [Page 72, lines 16-21] via: “... the field of radiology has developed several standards for grading the findings in medical images. Depending on the type of cancer, these standards often include a combination of features such as size measurements, intensity of the pixels in images, response to contrast, growth rate, and diffusion properties amongst others...”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Nie to incorporate the teachings of Golden. Those in the art would have recognized that Nie’s teaching regarding the similarity mapping of image data of different formats could be modified to include Golden’s teaching regarding the quality of the images. This combination would be beneficial to radiologists in determining whether two images that have different formats may be reasonably compared based on the quality of the images.
Regarding claims 9 and 12 Nie, Golden and Wohlers teach the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 1&6&7 and 1&6&10 respectively. However, Nie is silent the following claims that are taught by Golden:
wherein the one or more performance metrics comprise a dose metric that represents a measure of radiation dose associated with the imaging scans. (See at least [Page 83, lines 13-19] via: “...In at least some implementations, multiple related series of image data may be available. ... If the images were acquired in a single imaging session, they may be, for example, images taken of the same anatomy with using different MRI pulse sequences or CT doses...”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Nie to incorporate the teachings of Golden. Those in the art would have recognized that Nie’s teaching regarding the similarity mapping of image data of different formats could be modified to include Golden’s teaching regarding the quality of the images based on dose. This combination would be beneficial to radiologists in determining whether two images that have different formats may be reasonably compared based on the quality and contrast of the images.
Regarding claim 10. Nie, Golden and Wohlers teach the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 1&6. However, Nie is silent the following claims that are taught by Golden:
wherein at least one of the the computer-executable components further identifies a subset of the new pairs with similarity scores above a threshold similarity score, and determines, for respective pairs of the subset, whether one or more performance metrics for imaging scans of the subset satisfy one or more acceptability criterion. (See at least [Page 13, lines 30-31 and Page 14, lines 1-2] via: “... processor may pair lesions identified in one of the two sets of image data with lesions identified in the other of the two sets of image data if the lesions are not further than a distance X away from each other, where X is a specific value larger than 1 mm until there are no more lesions left for pairing...”; in addition see at least [Page 14, lines 3-7] via: “... Subsequent to the co-registration of the image data, the at least one processor may pair lesions identified in one of the two sets of image data with lesions identified in the other of the two sets of image data according to criteria that minimizes the sum of distances among the paired lesions, where lesions that are greater than 50 mm apart from each other are not paired with each other...”; in addition see at least [Page 39, lines 17-24] via: “...A greedy nearest neighbor algorithm pairs each lesion candidate in one scan with the closest lesion candidate in the other scan if it is not further than t mm away, which t is a distance threshold depends on organ and use cases. This process is repeated until there are no more lesion candidates left to be paired. Another option is to find sets of pairs such that the sum of distances among the paired lesion candidates is minimized. This pairing can be calculated using Hungarian algorithm, for example..”; in addition see at least [Page 39, lines 27-29] via: “...lesions are that t mm apart are ignored and will not be paired, where t is a distance threshold that depends on the organ and use cases...”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Nie to incorporate the teachings of Golden. Those in the art would have recognized that Nie’s teaching regarding the similarity mapping of image data of different formats could be modified to include Golden’s teaching regarding similarity scores. This combination would be beneficial to radiologists in determining whether two images that have different formats are similar enough based on the similarity score.
Regarding claim 19. Nie, Golden and Wohlers teach the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 13&18. However, Nie is silent the following claims that are taught by Golden:
identifying, by the system, a subset of the new pairs with similarity scores below a threshold similarity score; (See at least [Page 13, lines 30-31 and Page 14 lines 1-2] via: “... processor may pair lesions identified in one of the two sets of image data with lesions identified in the other of the two sets of image data if the lesions are not further than a distance X away from each other, where X is a specific value larger than 1 mm until there are no more lesions left for pairing...”; in addition see at least [Page 14, lines 3-7] via: “... Subsequent to the co-registration of the image data, the at least one processor may pair lesions identified in one of the two sets of image data with lesions identified in the other of the two sets of image data according to criteria that minimizes the sum of distances among the paired lesions, where lesions that are greater than 50 mm apart from each other are not paired with each other...”; in addition see at least [Page 39, lines 17-24] via: “...A greedy nearest neighbor algorithm pairs each lesion candidate in one scan with the closest lesion candidate in the other scan if it is not further than t mm away, which t is a distance threshold depends on organ and use cases. This process is repeated until there are no more lesion candidates left to be paired. Another option is to find sets of pairs such that the sum of distances among the paired lesion candidates is minimized. This pairing can be calculated using Hungarian algorithm, for example..”; in addition see at least [Page 39, lines 27-29] via: “...lesions are that t mm apart are ignored and will not be paired, where t is a distance threshold that depends on the organ and use cases...”)
determining, by the system, for respective pairs of the subset, differences between one or more reference performance metrics for imaging scans that adhere to the new planned imaging protocol data and actual performance metrics for performed imaging scans of the subset that adhere to the new performed imaging protocol data; (See at least [Page 39, lines 3-8] via: “...A similarity metric is a continuous measure of degree of similarity between two images, and registration methods attempt to maximize the chosen similarity metric. Common choices of similarity measure include mutual information, cross-correlation and sum of squared differences. The similarity metric is used as a cost function for optimizing the transformation parameters in stochastic gradient descent...”; in addition see at least [Page 39, lines 9-13] via: “...Similarity metrics can be calculated on the intensity of the image directly or features extracted from the images. Image intensity and image features might be computed in an overlapping or non-overlapping sliding- window manner. Examples of image features are corresponding points, lines and curves...”)
identifying, by the system, one or more pairs of the subset associated with differences that correspond to an improvement to the one or more performance metrics; (See at least [Page 40, lines 10-12] via: “...Gradient descent is performed to find a rigid affine transformation or non-rigid transformation such that a certain similarity metric between the two scans is maximized at 2206...”; in addition see at least [Page 98, lines 23-31 and Page 99, line 1] via: “...Given two volumes of common anatomical structure as input, a system may autonomously determine or find a transform that aligns the two volumes such that a feature or features common to both volumes can be easily correlated. First, the system, or a user thereof, may select a similarity metric to measure the quality of the transform. The metric may be configurable and may be intensity based or feature based, for example. Next, a vector of parameters that defines the transform are initialized. The number of parameters, N, determines the dimensionality of an optimization function used to determine the transform. In at least some implementations, an N dimensional search optimization space is then sampled both at regular intervals and stochastically...”) and
determining, by the system, a modification to the new planned imaging protocol data that facilitates the improvement based on the new performed imaging protocol data for the one or more pairs. (See at least [Page 99, lines 11-24] via: “...The similarity between the two volumes is measured at each sample point using the selected similarity metric. For a collection of these sample points, an optimization algorithm (e.g., gradient descent) is used to find a transform that will maximize the similarity. Performing the gradient descent at multiple sample points (e.g., sample points measured at regular intervals and stochastically), mitigates the chances of landing in a poor local minimum, as the function is almost always non-convex. Examples of similarity metrics include, but are not limited to, an intensity based metric or a feature based metric. An example intensity based metric that may be used is a sum of squared difference metric, which calculate the sum of the squared difference value for at least some (e.g., all voxels, voxels proximate one or more features) of the voxels in the two volumes. An example feature based metric that may be used is the inner product of the normalized gradient at least some of the voxels in the two volumes...”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Nie to incorporate the teachings of Golden. Those in the art would have recognized that Nie’s teaching regarding the similarity mapping of image data of different formats could be modified to include Golden’s teaching regarding similarity metrics. This combination would be beneficial to radiologists in determining whether two images that have different formats and have low similarity scores are similar enough to be mapped with each other.
Regarding claim 21. Nie, Golden and Wohlers teach the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 20. However, Nie is silent the following claims that are taught by Golden:
wherein the training comprises training the neural network model using a supervised machine learning process and ground truth information for respective ones of the pairs identifying ground truth similarity scores (See at least [Page 55, lines 27-30 and Page 56, line 1-13] via: “… training is performed in a supervised manner and data in the training image database 2702 includes both lesion images and ground truth labels. Those labels may take on many forms, depending on the specific CNN implementation, including but not limited to: Lesion diagnosis (e.g., malignancy, type of malignant lesion, overall type of lesion including benign and malignant lesions); lesion characteristics (e.g., size, shape, margin, opacity,..”; in addition see at least [xxx] via: “…Training is cyclical process and includes repeated loading of batches of training data from the database at 2704, followed by a standard CNN training iteration 2706. The standard CNN training iteration 2706 includes a forward pass of image data through the network, calculation of a loss function, and updating the weights of the CNN model using backpropagation [LeCun 1998] For implementations in which the model is supervised, loss is calculated with respect to the network’s output and the ground truth label...”; in addition see at least [Page 57, lines 17-27] via: “... Figure 28 shows a method 2800 of one implementation of training, in which a CNN is trained to directly predict similarity. As in the method 2700, training images are drawn from a training database 2802. One distinction between the implementation of the method 2800 and the implementation of the method 2700 is that, in the implementation of the method 2800, the ground truth labels drawn from the CBIR similarity database 2803 are themselves similarity scores between the training images and the images in the CBIR database. Unlike the implementation of the method 2700, where the CNN is used as a feature extractor, the CNN of the method 2800 is responsible for directly predicting the similarity between a given lesion image to some or all lesion images within the CBIR database..”; in addition see at least [Page 58, lines 11-19] via: “...Beyond the difference in how labels are defined, the remaining steps of the training process for the implementation of method 2800 are analogous to the steps in the method 2700. As part of this implementation’s training cycle, a batch of training data is loaded at 2804, a training iteration is performed at 2806, and completeness of training is evaluated at 2808. Unlike the training iteration of the act 2706, which could be either a supervised or unsupervised training iteration, the training iteration at 2806 may be exclusively supervised, with the similarity score as the ground truth label. Once training is complete at 2808, the CNN model is stored at 2810 and 2812. ,,”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Nie to incorporate the teachings of Golden. Those in the art would have recognized that Nie’s teaching regarding the similarity mapping of image data of different formats could be modified to include Golden’s teaching regarding similarity metrics. This combination would be beneficial to radiologists in determining whether two images that have different formats and have low similarity scores are similar enough to be mapped with each other.
Regarding claim 122. Nie, Golden and Wohlers teach the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 20. However, Nie is silent the following claims that are taught by Golden:
wherein the defined set of parameters comprises one or more parameters selected from a group consisting of: protocol name, series description name, anatomic region, series duration, field of view, slice thickness, percent phase field of view, number of excitations, acceleration factor, specific absorption rate, echo time, receive coil name, pixel bandwidth, repetition time, echo train length and voxel size. (See at least [Page 6, lines 20-28] via: “…these algorithms have a small representation space. Because they generally only have a few dozen tunable parameters, the algorithms do not have the capacity to represent a diverse set of possible images on which segmentation is desired. Many different factors can affect the perceived captured image of the ROI, including anatomy (e.g., size, shape, texture of ROI, other pathologies, prior treatment), imaging protocol (e.g., operating technician experience, slice thickness, contrast agents, pulse sequence, scanner type, receiver coil quality and type, patient positioning, image resolution) and other factors (e.g., motion artifacts)...”; in addition see at least [Page 1, lines 19-22] via: “…Identification of lesions can occur either manually or with the help of semi- or fully-automated software. Use of semi- or fully-automated software for finding possibly malignant regions of interest (ROIs) represented in the scan is commonly referred to as computer aided detection (CAD or CADe)..”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Nie to incorporate the teachings of Golden. Those in the art would have recognized that Nie’s teaching regarding the similarity mapping of image data of different formats could be modified to include Golden’s teaching regarding similarity metrics. This combination would be beneficial to radiologists in determining whether two images that have different formats and have low similarity scores are similar enough to be mapped with each other.
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure, and is listed in the attached form PTO-892 (Notice of References Cited). Unless expressly noted otherwise by the Examiner, all documents listed on form PTO-892 are cited in their entirety.
Shu (CN 121166960 A)- Image Similarity Searching Method, Device, Device And Medium -teaches: The invention relates to the technical field of artificial intelligence, which can be applied in business scenes such as financial technology and medical health, and discloses an image similarity retrieval method, device, equipment and medium, comprising: obtaining the training image and generating the training characteristic pyramid, obtaining the training hierarchical semantic structure through the hierarchical organization module, performing the hierarchical constraint training with the characteristic pyramid input similarity learning module, obtaining the updated module and the trained similarity learning module; the training hierarchical semantic structure is stored in the database management module, the updated module is used for processing the query image to generate the query hierarchical semantic structure, the multi-level comparison is performed based on the trained similarity learning module to obtain the comprehensive matching result, and the database management module outputs the search image set. The invention realizes uniform modelling and alignment of multi-scale semantic feature by cross-level constraint training and multi-level comparison, and improves retrieval accuracy and efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8-7-2026, have been fully considered but not found
persuasive.
Applicant amended independent claims 1, 13, 20 and dependent claims 2, 4-7, 10, 16-17, 19 and added claims 21-22 as posted in the above analysis with additions underlined and deletions as .
In response to applicant's arguments regarding claim rejection under 35 U.S.C § 101.
Several steps are taken in the analysis as to whether an invention is rejected under 101. The first step is to determine if the claim falls within a statutory category. In this case it does for claims 1, 13 and 20 since the claims recite respectively a system, method, non-transitory machine-readable storage medium for “medical imaging protocol mapping”.
The second step under 2A prong one is to determine if the claims recite an abstract idea, which would be the case if the invention can be grouped as either: a) mathematical concepts; (b) mental processes; or (c) certain methods of organizing human activity (encompassing (i) fundamental economic principles, (ii) commercial or legal interactions or (iii) managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people). The current invention is classified as an abstract idea since it may be grouped as a mental process as it recites “medical imaging protocol mapping” or alternatively as belonging to the grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity under managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people as it recites “medical imaging protocol mapping”.
The third step under 2A Prong Two is to determine if additional elements in the claim imposes a meaningful limit on the abstract idea in order to integrate it into a practical idea. The current invention does not represent a practical idea since the additional elements amount to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a generic computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea.
the fourth step under 2B is to determine if additional elements of the claim provide an inventive concept. An invention may be classified as an inventive concept if a computer-implemented processes is determined to be significantly more than an abstract idea (and thus eligible), where generic computer components are able in combination to perform functions that are not merely generic, and non-conventional even if generic computer operations on a generic computing device is used to implement the abstract idea. The current invention does not represent an inventive concept since the additional elements amount to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a generic computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong ONE
The Applicant argues that the invention does not recite an abstract idea since the claim with limitations cannot does not recite a mental process since it cannot practically be performed in the human mind or alternatively it does not recite method of organizing human activity. Accordingly, amended claims 1, 13 and 20 are not directed to an abstract idea.
The Applicant argues that independent claims 1, 13 and 20 rather recite using predefined mapping information that maps respective parameters of a defined set of parameters in a first format to corresponding parameters of the defined set of parameters in a second format, in order to determine measures of similarity between parameters included in planned imaging protocol data and performed imaging protocol data that are themselves employed for configuring and controlling respective medical imaging devices for performing medical imaging scans. This limitation cannot practically be performed in the human mind because it requires applying a predefined, structured mapping across a defined set of named technical acquisition parameters, such as slice thickness, echo time, and radiation dose settings, that govern the physical operation of a medical imaging device. Furthermore the Applicant argues the amended claim recites no interpersonal management or behavioral limitation. The claim is instead directed to a technical operation performed on data that configures and controls medical imaging devices for performing medical imaging scans, using predefined mapping information.
The Examiner disagrees since the Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The Examiner explains the method to select the abstract idea, which is to strip the additional elements from the claims.
Regarding Claims 1, 13 and 20:
As seen below the recited boldened words constitute the abstract idea after stripping the un-boldened additional elements of the amended limitations of claims 1, 13 and 20
trains a neural network model to estimate similarity scores for pairs of medical imaging protocol data employed for configuring and controlling respective medical imaging devices for performing medical imaging scans, the pairs respectively comprising planned imaging protocol data in a first format and performed imaging protocol data in a second format that employs different terminology or identifiers relative to the first format for at least some of a defined set of parameters wherein the training comprises:
performing a similarity mapping process between the pairs, wherein the similarity mapping process comprises, for each pair;
using predefined mapping information that maps respective parameters of the defined set of parameters in the first format to corresponding parameters of the defined set of parameters in the second format to determine measures of similarity between the respective parameters included in the planned imaging protocol data and the performed imaging protocol data, and
generating a similarity matrix for the pair; and
training the neural network model to estimate the similarity scores for the pairs using the similarity matrices.
The selected abstract idea (boldened limitations) of claims 1, 13 and 20 belong to the grouping of mental processes under concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) as it recites: “medical imaging protocol mapping”. Alternatively, the claim belongs to certain methods of organizing human activity under managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, and following rules or instructions) as it recites: “medical imaging protocol mapping” (refer to MPP 2106.04(a)(2)). Accordingly, this claim recites an abstract idea.
Regarding Step 2A Prong Two.
The Applicant argues that even if claims 1, 13 and 20 were to recite an abstract idea they do recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The Applicant submits that the additional elements recited in the claims do provide technical improvements that demonstrate integration of the alleged abstract idea into a practical application, and that the Applicant's Specification does describe the technical improvements provided by the claims.
Specifically, amended independent claims 1, 13 and 20 recite a similarity mapping process to data that configures and controls respective medical imaging devices for performing medical imaging scans, reflecting a specific improvement to how the neural network model is trained using technically meaningful, device-operative parameters rather than arbitrary or abstract data. The specification confirms that different medical imaging systems employ different terminology, identifiers, and data formats to describe the acquisition parameters that configure and control device operation, which previously prevented meaningful parameter-level comparison and limited the quality of training data available to a neural network model tasked with estimating protocol similarity. The amended limitation supplies the neural network model with a technically accurate, parameter- aligned similarity matrix derived from data that governs actual device configuration and control,
Accordingly, amended independent claims 1, 13 and 20 apply any alleged abstract concept in a meaningful way that imposes a real-world technological solution to a medical information processing problem. Amended independent claims 1, 13 and 20 therefore integrate any alleged judicial exception into a practical application
The Examiner disagrees since the Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The Applicant is interpreting the practical application of the invention colloquially. Instead, it should be analyzed as to whether the additional elements amount to more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea. As a result, the Examiner restates that claims 1, 13 and 20 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Neither claims 1, 13 and 20 recite additional elements that impose a meaningful limit on the abstract idea:
Claim 1 recites:
at least one memory that stores computer-executable components;
at least one processor that executes at least one of the computer-executable components that trains a neural network model;
trains a neural network model to estimate similarity scores;
training the neural network model... using the similarity matrices
Claim 13 recites:
a system comprising a processor;
Claim 20 recites:
A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, facilitate performance of operations.
The additional elements as recited above amount to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea. (refer to MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, the claim as a whole does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
In order to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application the additional elements should be shown to impose a meaningful limit on the abstract idea. A colloquial interpretation of a practical application is not enough.
In order to integrate the abstract idea into a practical idea the Applicant could demonstrate at least one of the conditions enumerated below applies:
Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a)
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP 2106.05(b)
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c)
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo
The Applicant has not demonstrated any of the above listed conditions.
Regarding Step 2B
The Applicant argues that even if the invention fails to recite a practical application, the amended independent claims 1, 13 and 20 recite significantly more than any alleged abstract idea because it includes an inventive combination of technological features that are neither conventional nor generic. Specifically the ordered combination of using predefined mapping information to resolve cross-format discrepancies in data that configures and controls medical imaging devices, generating a similarity matrix reflecting that resolved comparison, and training a neural network model on that matrix is not a routine or conventional combination of generic computer functions, and provides an inventive concept amounting to significantly more.
The Examiner disagrees since the Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Similar to the analysis under Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements amount to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea. (refer to MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, the claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea) and hence the claim is ineligible.
In order evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that amount to an inventive concept what could be shown is:
Adding a specific limitation (unconventional other than what is well-understood, routine, conventional (WURC) activity in the field - see MPEP 2106.05(d)
The Applicant has not demonstrated the above listed condition.
In response to applicant's arguments regarding claim rejection under 35 U.S.C § 103.
The Applicant submits that the cited references, Nie and Golden, whether taken alone or in
combination, do not teach or suggest the claimed invention recited by claims 1, 13, 20. Accordingly, the Applicant requests that the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 be withdrawn.
The applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 13, 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
For reasons of record and as set forth above, the examiner maintains the rejection of claims 1-2, 4-14, 16-22as being directed to a judicial exception without significantly more, and thereby being directed to non-statutory subject matter under 35 USC §101, in addition to a rejection of claims 1-2, 4-14, 16-22 under 35 USC §103 based on prior art. In reaching this decision, the Examiner considered all evidence presented and all arguments actually made by Applicant.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PIERRE L MACCAGNO/Examiner, Art Unit 3687
/MAMON OBEID/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3687