DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 6/17/2026. In the amendment, claims 1-8 have been amended. Overall, claims 1-8 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pub No. US 2017/0059336 A1 to Huang et. al. (Huang).
In Reference to Claim 8
A control device (120, 220) configured to transmit a control signal to each of a plurality of autonomous movable bodies (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) that belong to a group including a first autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) and a second autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n), the control device comprising:
an interface (10) configured to receive an operation for controlling at least the first autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) as a control target (see at least Huang Figs. 1-9 and paragraphs [0033], [0036] and [0037] “Similar to the aforementioned embodiment, when the dispatch control center 120 receives the transportation request message TRM sent by the transportation object 10, the dispatch control center 120 performs the optimised scheduling assignment, and generates the scheduling signal DS for sending to each of the autonomous vehicles 210_1-210_n according to a result of the optimised scheduling assignment. Besides, the method of the optimised scheduling assignment is the same to that of the embodiment of FIG. 2A, which is described in a subsequent embodiment”);
a controller (120, 220) configured to generate, based on the operation, a third control signal (TRM) including target information indicating that the first autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) is the control target and control information for controlling the first autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) (see at least Huang Figs. 1-9 and paragraphs [0036] and [0037] “After the calculation, the autonomous vehicle 110_1 determines that the distance between itself and the passenger 10 is the closest. Therefore, when the autonomous vehicle 110_1 determines that a vehicle available status of itself is an available status, the autonomous vehicle 110_1 is assigned as the designated dispatch vehicle for transporting the passenger 10, and the autonomous vehicle 110_1 sends the scheduling signal DS to notify the other autonomous vehicles 110_2-110_4 that they have no need to go, such that the other autonomous vehicles 110_2-110_4 may stay and wait for transportation request messages sent by other passengers” and “On the other hand, if the autonomous vehicle 110_1 determines that the vehicle available status of itself is a non-available status, the autonomous vehicle 110_1 sends the scheduling signal DS to notify the other autonomous vehicles 110_2-110_4, and the autonomous vehicle 110_2 with the secondary closest distance is assigned as the designated dispatch vehicle for transporting the passenger 10”); and
a transmitter (120) configured to transmit the third control signal to all of the plurality of autonomous movable bodies (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) in the group (see at least Huang Figs. 1-9 and paragraphs [0026] “The dispatch control center 120 of the present embodiment may control the dispatch of the autonomous vehicles 110_1-110_n according to a transportation request message sent by the transportation object, so as to assign a suitable one of the autonomous vehicles 110_1-110_n for transporting the transportation object to the destination in case of unmanned driver. The transportation object is, for example, a passenger or cargo, which is not limited by the invention”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Pub No. US 2020/0240799 A1 to Gao et. al (Gao).
In Reference to Claim 1
Huang teaches (bolded and italic recitations below):
An autonomous movable body control system comprising:
a plurality of autonomous movable bodies (110 or 210) including a first autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) and a second autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n); and
a control device (120, 220) configured to transmit, to each of the plurality of autonomous movable bodies (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n), a first control signal (TRM) for controlling at least the first autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) as a control target (see at least Huang Figs. 1-9 and paragraphs [0023], [0028] “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of a dispatch system for autonomous vehicles according to an embodiment of the invention. Referring to FIG. 1, the dispatch system 100 of the present embodiment includes a plurality of autonomous vehicles 110_1-110_n (where n is a positive integer greater than 1, which can be determined by a system planner) and a dispatch control center 120” and “Referring to FIG. 2A, in the present embodiment, one of the autonomous vehicles 210_1-210_n is selected as a dispatch control center 220 for controlling dispatch of all of the autonomous vehicles 210_1-210_n (in the present embodiment, the autonomous vehicle 210_1 is selected as the dispatch control center for description, though the invention is not limited thereto). When the autonomous vehicle 210_1 serving as the dispatch control center 220 receives a transportation request massage TRM sent by the transportation object 10, the autonomous vehicle 210_1 serving as the dispatch control center 220 performs an optimised scheduling assignment according to the received transportation request massage TRM, the vehicle location information and the vehicle available information of each of the autonomous vehicles 210_1-210_n, and generates a scheduling signal DS according to the optimised scheduling assignment. The scheduling signal DS is transmitted to the autonomous vehicles 210_1-210_n by the communication unit 212, so as to assign one of the autonomous vehicles 210_1-210_n as a designated dispatch vehicle for transportation”),
wherein the second autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) is configured to: (i) recognize, based on the first control signal (TRM), that the second autonomous movable body is not the control target (too far or non-available status); (ii) perform a determination of whether the second autonomous movable body is located within a stoppable region (current location); and (iii) stop, based on a result of the determination (see at least Huang Figs. 1-9 and paragraphs [0036] and [0037] “After the calculation, the autonomous vehicle 110_1 determines that the distance between itself and the passenger 10 is the closest. Therefore, when the autonomous vehicle 110_1 determines that a vehicle available status of itself is an available status, the autonomous vehicle 110_1 is assigned as the designated dispatch vehicle for transporting the passenger 10, and the autonomous vehicle 110_1 sends the scheduling signal DS to notify the other autonomous vehicles 110_2-110_4 that they have no need to go, such that the other autonomous vehicles 110_2-110_4 may stay and wait for transportation request messages sent by other passengers” and “On the other hand, if the autonomous vehicle 110_1 determines that the vehicle available status of itself is a non-available status, the autonomous vehicle 110_1 sends the scheduling signal DS to notify the other autonomous vehicles 110_2-110_4, and the autonomous vehicle 110_2 with the secondary closest distance is assigned as the designated dispatch vehicle for transporting the passenger 10”).
Huang teaches that is the vehicle can determine if the vehicle is too far from the target location or non-available status such that the non-selected vehicle may stay and wait for next passenger request. However Huang does not explicitly teaches (bolded and italic recitations above) as to determination of whether the second autonomous movable body is located within a stoppable region. However, it is known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determination of whether the second autonomous movable body is located within a stoppable region. For example, Gao teaches to determination of whether the second autonomous movable body is located within a stoppable region. Gao further teaches that performing such step provides where the autonomous vehicle can legally stop, for example, to pick-up or drop-off one or more passengers, pick-up or drop-off one or more pieces of cargo, recharge, download new data, wait for further service request, wait for other autonomous vehicles or otherwise pull over safely (see at least Gao Figs. 1-8 and paragraphs 11-12 and 24-26). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang to determination of whether the second autonomous movable body is located within a stoppable region as taught by Gao in order for the autonomous vehicle can legally stop, for example, to pick-up or drop-off one or more passengers, pick-up or drop-off one or more pieces of cargo, recharge, download new data, wait for further service request, wait for other autonomous vehicles or otherwise pull over safely.
In Reference to Claim 2
The autonomous movable body control system according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above), wherein the second autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) is configured to: cease further movement to stop, when the second autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) determines that the second autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) is located within the stoppable region (PDZ); and stop after moving to the stoppable region (PDZ), when the second autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) determines that the second autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) is not located within the stoppable region (PDZ) (to safely park and wait for the next transportation request messages sent by other passengers or until the charging is done) (see at least Huang Figs. 1-9 and paragraphs 36-37) (see at least Gao Figs. 1-8 and paragraphs 11-12 and 24-26).
In Reference to Claim 3
The autonomous movable body control system according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above), wherein the control device (120) is configured to transmit, when the control device (120, 220)) receives a predetermined operation via an interface (10): the first control signal to the first autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n); and second control signal for performing the determination to the second autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) (see at least Huang Figs. 1-9 and paragraphs [0026], [0033] and [0036] “The dispatch control center 120 of the present embodiment may control the dispatch of the autonomous vehicles 110_1-110_n according to a transportation request message sent by the transportation object, so as to assign a suitable one of the autonomous vehicles 110_1-110_n for transporting the transportation object to the destination in case of unmanned driver. The transportation object is, for example, a passenger or cargo, which is not limited by the invention” and “Referring to FIG. 2B, the present embodiment is substantially the same to the embodiment of FIG. 2A, and a main difference therebetween is that the dispatch control center 220 of the present embodiment is set up in a manner of an independent station. The dispatch control center 220 may receive the vehicle location information and the vehicle available information of each of the autonomous vehicles 210_1-210_n. Similar to the aforementioned embodiment, when the dispatch control center 120 receives the transportation request message TRM sent by the transportation object 10, the dispatch control center 120 performs the optimised scheduling assignment, and generates the scheduling signal DS for sending to each of the autonomous vehicles 210_1-210_n according to a result of the optimised scheduling assignment. Besides, the method of the optimised scheduling assignment is the same to that of the embodiment of FIG. 2A, which is described in a subsequent embodiment” and “sends the scheduling signal DS to notify the other autonomous vehicles 110_2-110_4 that they have no need to go, such that the other autonomous vehicles 110_2-110_4 may stay and wait for transportation request messages sent by other passengers”).
In Reference to Claim 4
The autonomous movable body control system according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above), wherein:
the control device (120, 220) is configured to transmit, when the control device (120, 220) receives a predetermined operation via an interface (10), a third control signal (next TRM) to all of the plurality of autonomous movable bodies (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n), the third control signal including target information for identifying the control target and control information for controlling the control target; and each of the plurality of autonomous movable bodies (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) is configured to determine, based on the third control signal, whether an own movable body thereof is not the control target (see at least Huang Figs. 1-9 and paragraphs [0026], [0033] and [0036] “The dispatch control center 120 of the present embodiment may control the dispatch of the autonomous vehicles 110_1-110_n according to a transportation request message sent by the transportation object, so as to assign a suitable one of the autonomous vehicles 110_1-110_n for transporting the transportation object to the destination in case of unmanned driver. The transportation object is, for example, a passenger or cargo, which is not limited by the invention” and “Referring to FIG. 2B, the present embodiment is substantially the same to the embodiment of FIG. 2A, and a main difference therebetween is that the dispatch control center 220 of the present embodiment is set up in a manner of an independent station. The dispatch control center 220 may receive the vehicle location information and the vehicle available information of each of the autonomous vehicles 210_1-210_n. Similar to the aforementioned embodiment, when the dispatch control center 120 receives the transportation request message TRM sent by the transportation object 10, the dispatch control center 120 performs the optimised scheduling assignment, and generates the scheduling signal DS for sending to each of the autonomous vehicles 210_1-210_n according to a result of the optimised scheduling assignment. Besides, the method of the optimised scheduling assignment is the same to that of the embodiment of FIG. 2A, which is described in a subsequent embodiment” and “sends the scheduling signal DS to notify the other autonomous vehicles 110_2-110_4 that they have no need to go, such that the other autonomous vehicles 110_2-110_4 may stay and wait for transportation request messages sent by other passengers”).
In Reference to Claim 5
Huang teaches (bolded and italic recitations below):
An autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) configured to belong to a group including a plurality of autonomous movable bodies (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n), the autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) comprising:
a receiver (112, 212) configured to receive a second control signal (TRM); and
a controller (114, 214) configured to, when the controller (114, 214) receives the second control signal (second TRM) which is different from a first control signal (first TRM) that uses at least a different one of the plurality of autonomous movable bodies (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) as a control target: (i) recognize, based on the second control signal, that the autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) is not the control target; (ii) perform a determination of whether the autonomous movable body is located within a stoppable region; and (iii) stop the autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n), based on the determination (see at least Huang Figs. 1-9 and paragraphs [0036] and [0037] “After the calculation, the autonomous vehicle 110_1 determines that the distance between itself and the passenger 10 is the closest. Therefore, when the autonomous vehicle 110_1 determines that a vehicle available status of itself is an available status, the autonomous vehicle 110_1 is assigned as the designated dispatch vehicle for transporting the passenger 10, and the autonomous vehicle 110_1 sends the scheduling signal DS to notify the other autonomous vehicles 110_2-110_4 that they have no need to go, such that the other autonomous vehicles 110_2-110_4 may stay and wait for transportation request messages sent by other passengers” and “On the other hand, if the autonomous vehicle 110_1 determines that the vehicle available status of itself is a non-available status, the autonomous vehicle 110_1 sends the scheduling signal DS to notify the other autonomous vehicles 110_2-110_4, and the autonomous vehicle 110_2 with the secondary closest distance is assigned as the designated dispatch vehicle for transporting the passenger 10”).
Huang teaches that is the vehicle can determine if the vehicle is too far from the target location or non-available status such that the non-selected vehicle may stay and wait for next passenger request. However Huang does not explicitly teaches (bolded and italic recitations above) as to determination of whether the second autonomous movable body is located within a stoppable region. However, it is known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determination of whether the second autonomous movable body is located within a stoppable region. For example, Gao teaches to determination of whether the second autonomous movable body is located within a stoppable region. Gao further teaches that performing such step provides where the autonomous vehicle can legally stop, for example, to pick-up or drop-off one or more passengers, pick-up or drop-off one or more pieces of cargo, recharge, download new data, wait for further service request, wait for other autonomous vehicles or otherwise pull over safely (see at least Gao Figs. 1-8 and paragraphs 11-12 and 24-26). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang to determination of whether the second autonomous movable body is located within a stoppable region as taught by Gao in order for the autonomous vehicle can legally stop, for example, to pick-up or drop-off one or more passengers, pick-up or drop-off one or more pieces of cargo, recharge, download new data, wait for further service request, wait for other autonomous vehicles or otherwise pull over safely.
In Reference to Claim 6
Huang teaches (bolded and italic recitations below):
An autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) configured to belong to a group including a plurality of autonomous movable bodies (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n), the autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) comprising:
a receiver (112, 212) configured to receive a third control signal; and
a controller (114, 214) configured to, when the controller (114, 214) receives the third control signal (third TRM) that includes target information for identifying a control target among the plurality of autonomous movable bodies (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) and control information for controlling the control target: (i) determine, based on the third control signal, whether the autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) is not the control target; (ii) perform a determination of whether the autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) is located within a stoppable region, when the autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) is determined not to be the control target; and (iii) stop the autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n), based on a result of the determination (see at least Huang Figs. 1-9 and paragraphs [0036] and [0037] “After the calculation, the autonomous vehicle 110_1 determines that the distance between itself and the passenger 10 is the closest. Therefore, when the autonomous vehicle 110_1 determines that a vehicle available status of itself is an available status, the autonomous vehicle 110_1 is assigned as the designated dispatch vehicle for transporting the passenger 10, and the autonomous vehicle 110_1 sends the scheduling signal DS to notify the other autonomous vehicles 110_2-110_4 that they have no need to go, such that the other autonomous vehicles 110_2-110_4 may stay and wait for transportation request messages sent by other passengers” and “On the other hand, if the autonomous vehicle 110_1 determines that the vehicle available status of itself is a non-available status, the autonomous vehicle 110_1 sends the scheduling signal DS to notify the other autonomous vehicles 110_2-110_4, and the autonomous vehicle 110_2 with the secondary closest distance is assigned as the designated dispatch vehicle for transporting the passenger 10”).
Huang teaches that is the vehicle can determine if the vehicle is too far from the target location or non-available status such that the non-selected vehicle may stay and wait for next passenger request. However Huang does not explicitly teaches (bolded and italic recitations above) as to determination of whether the second autonomous movable body is located within a stoppable region. However, it is known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determination of whether the second autonomous movable body is located within a stoppable region. For example, Gao teaches to determination of whether the second autonomous movable body is located within a stoppable region. Gao further teaches that performing such step provides where the autonomous vehicle can legally stop, for example, to pick-up or drop-off one or more passengers, pick-up or drop-off one or more pieces of cargo, recharge, download new data, wait for further service request, wait for other autonomous vehicles or otherwise pull over safely (see at least Gao Figs. 1-8 and paragraphs 11-12 and 24-26). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang to determination of whether the second autonomous movable body is located within a stoppable region as taught by Gao in order for the autonomous vehicle can legally stop, for example, to pick-up or drop-off one or more passengers, pick-up or drop-off one or more pieces of cargo, recharge, download new data, wait for further service request, wait for other autonomous vehicles or otherwise pull over safely.
In Reference to Claim 7
Huang teaches (bolded and italic recitations below):
A control device (120, 220) configured to transmit a control signal to each of a plurality of autonomous movable bodies (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) belonging to a group including a first autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) and a second autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n), the control device comprising:
an interface (10) configured to receive an operation for controlling at least the first autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) as a control target;
a controller (120) configured to generate, based on the operation: (i) a first control signal (first TRM) for controlling the first autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n); and (ii) a second control signal (second TRM) for causing the second autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n), which is not the control target, to perform a determination of whether the second autonomous movable body is located within a stoppable region, and stop, based on a result of the determination; and
a transmitter (120) configured to transmit: (i) the first control signal to the first autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n); and (ii) the second control signal to the second autonomous movable body (110_1-110_n or 210_1-210_n) (see at least Huang Figs. 1-9 and paragraphs [0033], [0036] and [0037] “Referring to FIG. 2B, the present embodiment is substantially the same to the embodiment of FIG. 2A, and a main difference therebetween is that the dispatch control center 220 of the present embodiment is set up in a manner of an independent station. The dispatch control center 220 may receive the vehicle location information and the vehicle available information of each of the autonomous vehicles 210_1-210_n. Similar to the aforementioned embodiment, when the dispatch control center 120 receives the transportation request message TRM sent by the transportation object 10, the dispatch control center 120 performs the optimised scheduling assignment, and generates the scheduling signal DS for sending to each of the autonomous vehicles 210_1-210_n according to a result of the optimised scheduling assignment. Besides, the method of the optimised scheduling assignment is the same to that of the embodiment of FIG. 2A, which is described in a subsequent embodiment”, “After the calculation, the autonomous vehicle 110_1 determines that the distance between itself and the passenger 10 is the closest. Therefore, when the autonomous vehicle 110_1 determines that a vehicle available status of itself is an available status, the autonomous vehicle 110_1 is assigned as the designated dispatch vehicle for transporting the passenger 10, and the autonomous vehicle 110_1 sends the scheduling signal DS to notify the other autonomous vehicles 110_2-110_4 that they have no need to go, such that the other autonomous vehicles 110_2-110_4 may stay and wait for transportation request messages sent by other passengers” and “On the other hand, if the autonomous vehicle 110_1 determines that the vehicle available status of itself is a non-available status, the autonomous vehicle 110_1 sends the scheduling signal DS to notify the other autonomous vehicles 110_2-110_4, and the autonomous vehicle 110_2 with the secondary closest distance is assigned as the designated dispatch vehicle for transporting the passenger 10”).
Huang teaches that is the vehicle can determine if the vehicle is too far from the target location or non-available status such that the non-selected vehicle may stay and wait for next passenger request. However Huang does not explicitly teaches (bolded and italic recitations above) as to determination of whether the second autonomous movable body is located within a stoppable region. However, it is known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determination of whether the second autonomous movable body is located within a stoppable region. For example, Gao teaches to determination of whether the second autonomous movable body is located within a stoppable region. Gao further teaches that performing such step provides where the autonomous vehicle can legally stop, for example, to pick-up or drop-off one or more passengers, pick-up or drop-off one or more pieces of cargo, recharge, download new data, wait for further service request, wait for other autonomous vehicles or otherwise pull over safely (see at least Gao Figs. 1-8 and paragraphs 11-12 and 24-26). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang to determination of whether the second autonomous movable body is located within a stoppable region as taught by Gao in order for the autonomous vehicle can legally stop, for example, to pick-up or drop-off one or more passengers, pick-up or drop-off one or more pieces of cargo, recharge, download new data, wait for further service request, wait for other autonomous vehicles or otherwise pull over safely.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub No. US 2018/0321050 A1 to Chase et. al. (Chase) teaches central control system controlling multiple vetches.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON D LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662 August 11, 2026