DETAILED ACTION
1. This Final Office action is in reply to the Applicant amendment filed on 19 August 2026.
2. Claims 1, 11, have been amended.
3. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. The Information Disclosure Statement filed 01 September 2026 has been considered by the Examiner. A signed copy is enclosed with this Office Action.
Response to Amendment
In the previous office action, the drawings were objected, however due to replacement sheets the objection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant submits that: Stanish (US 2016/0040933) does not teach or suggest in amended Claim 1: “Claim 1 as amended refers to "for each timber package: detecting loading events when the timber package is loaded onto the transport equipment and detecting unloading events when the timber package is unloaded from the transport equipment in the timber yard, wherein: each loading event and each unloading event comprises a detected location measured by the location sensor and a measured load measured by the load sensor." Claim 11 describes "transport equipment having a location sensor and a load sensor" and "a computer processor that is programmed to: track a location of the transport equipment using the location sensor as the transport equipment loads and unloads timber packages; and track the timber packages from the timber processor to one or more subsequent locations using the location sensor." [see Remarks pages 6-7]. With regard to this argument, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As now amended the Examiner has provided additional citations and clarification to Claims 1, 11. See below citations from Stanish and the rejection is maintained. It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, paragraphs, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123. The Examiner has a duty and responsibility to the public and to Applicant to interpret the claims as broadly as reasonably possible during prosecution. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1 393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stanish (US 2016/0040933).
With regard to Claim 1, Stanish teaches a method of tracking timber packages in a timber yard (modern lumber production; lumber mill system) (see at least paragraphs 20-25), the method comprising the steps of:
milling logs to produce a plurality of timber packages (The cut timber or logs are transported to a lumber mill 104, where the logs are cut into lumber 106, FIG. 1B depicts a lumber mill system 150 and is an example system for implementing the step for cutting logs into lumber 156 of FIG. 1A), each timber package being characterized by a set of specifications (the lumber mill system 150 may include one or more optimizers in conjunction with one or more pieces of equipment (e.g., the bucking saws 172, the primary breakdown machinery 174, the gangsaw/resaws 178, the edger 180, and/or the trimmer 160). The optimizers analyze information about the input (e.g., log segments, cants, boards) of a set of operations (e.g., sawing), and automatically determine a number of parameters intended to optimize the operations, for example, to produce an optimized output. The optimizers typically include the one or more acquisition devices to acquire information from logs, cants or boards, and one or more computers programmed to process and/or analyze the acquired information and produce an optimized solution that is intended to optimize an output of the operation(s);Moisture content (mc) in lumber is usually specified as a percentage number, and is defined such that 100% moisture content is, by definition, the point where lumber is 50% water and 50% other substance by weight) (see at least paragraphs 20-28, 39);
transporting the plurality of timber packages within the timber yard using transport equipment (lumber transportation device) that comprises a location (Information related to this rating is provided to the lumber movement system 740, such that the physical location of the board at some point in the future is determined, at least in part, by the rating information sent to the lumber movement system; puts the board in a location corresponding to the rating. In another implementation, the lumber sorting system may store or note the rating for use in determining a physical movement of the board) sensor and a load sensor (Some NMI devices also include a laser-based movement sensor and infrared temperature sensor to for additional accuracy; Moisture content measurement device 710 and weight measurement device 720 may be computers networked to the lumber rating computer 730, or they may be simple sensors operating as an input/output peripheral to the lumber rating computer 730. An example moisture measurement device 710 is the NMI brand moisture content meter described above. An example weight measurement device is a scale with a digital output; sending to a lumber movement system information indicative of the assignment wherein the lumber movement system moves the piece of lumber to a location determined at least in part on the assignment) (see at least paragraphs 45, 71-72; Claim 5);
for each timber package: detecting loading events when the timber package is loaded (After a particular board is rated for a sort category, it can be placed into the bin corresponding to the sort category. Lumber collected in a single bin can then be loaded into a single kiln package and dried in a kiln 110) onto the transport equipment (lumber movement system 740) and detecting unloading events when the timber package is unloaded from the transport equipment in the timber yard (loaded; unloaded) (see at least paragraphs 20, 52, 73), wherein:
each loading event and each unloading event comprises a detected location measured by the location sensor (Some NMI devices also include a laser-based movement sensor and infrared temperature sensor to for additional accuracy; Moisture content measurement device 710 and weight measurement device 720 may be computers networked to the lumber rating computer 730, or they may be simple sensors operating as an input/output peripheral to the lumber rating computer 730. An example moisture measurement device 710 is the NMI brand moisture content meter) and a measured load measured by the load sensor (The lumber drying system may include a batch kiln, where kiln packages are loaded, heated, and unloaded, and the lumber remains stationary in the kiln. However, the lumber drying system may also include a continuous drying kiln that is integrated with a lumber movement system. For example, one lumber movement system 740 may move individual boards and it may deposit lumber into bins according to a sorting decision made by the lumber rating computer 730. A second kiln lumber movement system may move kiln packages consisting of a lumber from a single bin. With a continuous drying kiln, the kiln packages move continuously or at regular small increments (for example, move 5 feet every 30 minutes) though a long kiln. Drying duration can be varied by varying the speed of the lumber movement system through the kiln (for example, move 5 feet every 40 minutes)) (see at least paragraphs 52, 71-77);
and at least one unloading event and at least one loading event occurs at a processing location (loaded; unloaded) (see at least paragraphs 72-77);
processing one or more timber package at the processing location such that the set of specifications are modified in a processing event (The lumber mill industry has become largely automated. Full length tree trunks are delivered to lumber mills, where they are automatically debarked, and cut into log segments. These log segments are then typically processed at a number of automated stations, depending on the lumber mill and the type of wood. These processing stations produce lumber from each log segment.) (see at least paragraphs 1, 28-30, 75);
and for each loading event, each unloading event, and each processing event, recording a package record in a computer system (the computing device may include at least a processor 802, a system memory 804, storage devices 806, input/output peripherals 808, communication peripherals 810, and an interface bus connecting these various components. The interface bus is configured to communicate, transmit, and transfer data, controls, and commands between the various components of the computing device. The system memory and the storage device comprise computer readable storage media, such as RAM, ROM, EEPROM, hard-drives, CD-ROMs, optical storage devices, magnetic storage devices, flash memory, and other tangible storage media. Any of such computer readable storage medium can be configured to store instructions or program codes embodying aspects of the disclosure) comprising the detected location and the set of specifications (The additional factors may be taken into account by the lumber movement system 740 and/or by the lumber rating computer 730. The lumber rating computer 730 may provide input to a lumber movement system 740 that is intelligent and complex, or the lumber rating computer may directly control the movement of boards via the lumber movement system 740. The lumber movement system 740 may also simply store the rating related information provided by the lumber rating computer 730 for later use, for example much further down an automated lumber processing line. In embodiments of lumber sorting system 700 where the lumber rating computer 730 take other sorting factors into account, there may be additional elements not depicted in FIG. 7 that provide the additional sorting factors as input to the lumber rating computer 730) (see at least paragraphs 72-78);
comparing a loading event to the package records in the computer system to identify the timber package being loaded (these additional factors may include log board quality, size, species of tree from which it was cut, or any other sorting factors, including those factors described above. The additional factors may be taken into account by the lumber movement system 740 and/or by the lumber rating computer 730. The lumber rating computer 730 may provide input to a lumber movement system 740 that is intelligent and complex, or the lumber rating computer may directly control the movement of boards via the lumber movement system 740. The lumber movement system 740 may also simply store the rating related information provided by the lumber rating computer 730 for later use, for example much further down an automated lumber processing line) (see at least paragraphs 71-77).
With regard to Claim 2, Stanish teaches wherein the set of specifications (sorting) is selected from a group consisting of: wood species (heartwood; sapwood), moisture content (moisture), event time stamps (dried for a certain time), package weight (weight), dimensions of the timber package (volume of a 16’ 2x4), dimensions of individual lumber pieces in the timber package, and combinations thereof (see at least paragraphs 50-58, 74-78).
With regard to Claim 3, Stanish teaches wherein the timber yard comprises log bins comprising logs sorted according to characteristics (These additional factors may include log board quality, size, species of tree from which it was cut, or any other sorting factors), and wherein a location of each log bin (bins) and the characteristics are stored in the computer system as a bin record, the method further comprising the steps of: delivering logs from log bins to the mill using the transport equipment (lumber movement system); and associating the location of the transport equipment with the log bins to verify characteristics of the logs being delivered to the mill (bins) (see at least paragraphs 50-58, 70-78).
With regard to Claim 4, Stanish teaches further comprising the step of receiving a timber request, and directing an operator to a location of a timber package selected based on a suitable package record (The lumber movement system 740 is any system capable of moving lumber. This may be part of an automated lumber production line, where, for example, individual boards are transported and processed on lugs, and where individual boards are diverted to different physical destinations for various purposes. Alternately, the lumber movement system may include a human) (see at least paragraphs 50-58, 70-78).
With regard to Claim 5, Stanish teaches wherein processing the timber package comprises drying the timber package in a kiln (kiln), and the specifications comprise a moisture content of the timber package (see at least paragraph 71-75).
With regard to Claim 6, Stanish teaches wherein processing the timber package comprises planing the timber package in a planer (planer mill), at least some of the plurality of timber packages being transported from the kiln to the planer (see at least paragraphs 21, 64).
With regard to Claim 7, Stanish teaches wherein a plurality of timber packages are processed in a processing facility and a plurality of processed timber packages (Sorter; sorting) are packaged after the processing event, the plurality of timber packages sharing at least one common characteristic such that lumber in the plurality of timber packages is fungible (moisture content ratio) between the plurality of processed timber packages (see at least paragraphs 30-33, 68-71).
With regard to Claim 8, Stanish teaches further comprising the steps of using the computer to estimate the modified set of specifications resulting from the processing event, and using the modified set of specifications to verify an identity of a timber package after the processing event (Sorter 184 may sort lumber for various reasons, including sorting for quality, sorting by species, sorting for size, and sorting for groups of lumber) (see at least paragraphs 30-33).
With regard to Claim 9, Stanish teaches further comprising the step of unloading one or more timber packages in a storage location of the timber yard (see at least paragraphs 50-58, 70-78).
With regard to Claim 10, Stanish teaches further comprising the step of applying a machine-readable code to the timber package (the computing device may include at least a processor 802, a system memory 804, storage devices 806, input/output peripherals 808, communication peripherals 810, and an interface bus connecting these various components. The interface bus is configured to communicate, transmit, and transfer data, controls, and commands between the various components of the computing device; fully or partially automated by, code modules executed by one or more computers or computer processors. The code modules may be stored on any type of non-transitory computer-readable medium or computer storage device, such as hard drives, solid state memory, optical disc, and/or the like. The processes and algorithms may be implemented partially or wholly in application-specific circuitry. The results of the disclosed processes and process steps, including creation of or changes to a billing services account, may be stored, persistently or otherwise, in any type of non-transitory computer storage such as, e.g., volatile or non-volatile storage (see at least paragraph 80-83).
With regard to Claim 11, Stanish teaches a lifecycle management system for a timber yard (lumber milling system 150) (the computing device may include at least a processor 802, a system memory 804, storage devices 806, input/output peripherals 808, communication peripherals 810, and an interface bus connecting these various components. The interface bus is configured to communicate, transmit, and transfer data, controls, and commands between the various components of the computing device. The system memory and the storage device comprise computer readable storage media, such as RAM, ROM, EEPROM, hard-drives, CD-ROMs, optical storage devices, magnetic storage devices, flash memory, and other tangible storage media. Any of such computer readable storage medium can be configured to store instructions or program codes embodying aspects of the disclosure) (see at least paragraphs 25-29, 80-83), comprising:
transport equipment (lumber transportation device; lumber movement system 740) configured to transport timber packages at the timber yard (The lumber movement system 740 is any system capable of moving lumber. This may be part of an automated lumber production line, where, for example, individual boards are transported and processed on lugs, and where individual boards are diverted to different physical destinations for various purposes), the transport equipment having a location sensor (physical location) and a load sensor (sensors; laser-based movement sensors) (see at least paragraphs 45, 59, 71-75);
at least one timber processor that processes the timber packages in processing events (rating computer may directly control the movement of boards via the lumber movement system 740. The lumber movement system 740 may also simply store the rating related information provided by the lumber rating computer 730 for later use, for example much further down an automated lumber processing line. In embodiments of lumber sorting system 700 where the lumber rating computer 730 take other sorting factors into account, there may be additional elements not depicted in FIG. 7 that provide the additional sorting factors as input to the lumber rating computer 730) (see at least paragraphs 74-79);
and a computer processor that is programmed to: track a location of the transport equipment as the transport equipment (an automated system can be further used to direct a lumber transportation device such that the lumber is physically moved into separate groups based on each pieces moisture content ratio) loads and unloads (loaded; unloaded) timber packages (kiln packages; Information related to this rating is provided to the lumber movement system 740, such that the physical location of the board at some point in the future is determined, at least in part, by the rating information sent to the lumber movement system) (see at least paragraphs 59, 71-75);
store package records (The lumber movement system 740 may also simply store the rating related information provided by the lumber rating computer 730 for later use, for example much further down an automated lumber processing line) for each load event, unload event, or processing event of a timber package, each package record comprising a location and a set of specifications of the timber package (Information related to this rating is provided to the lumber movement system 740, such that the physical location of the board at some point in the future is determined, at least in part, by the rating information sent to the lumber movement system. The lumber movement system 740 delivers lumber to a lumber drying system 750 that dries the lumber. The lumber drying system 750 may include a kiln and may dry the lumber based on the rating information determined by the lumber rating computer 730. The rating may be communicated directly to the lumber drying system 750 from the lumber rating computer 730, or indirectly via the lumber movement system 740) (see at least paragraphs 71-75);
identify an unknown timber package by comparing characteristics of the timber package to the stored package records (Lumber rating computer 730 may be any type of computing node or nodes, and the processes performed by it may be distributed across multiple computing nodes. The lumber rating computer 730 may produce a rating for a piece of lumber after it has received a moisture content measurement and a weight. The rating may be of many forms. For example, the rating may be simply a moisture content ratio, or, based on moisture content ratio thresholds, the rating may assign a board to one of a set of categories defined by the moisture content thresholds. Information related to this rating is provided to the lumber movement system 740, such that the physical location of the board at some point in the future is determined, at least in part, by the rating information sent to the lumber movement system) (see at least paragraphs 71-75);
track the timber packages from the timber processor to one or more subsequent locations (Lumber rating computer 730 may be any type of computing node or nodes, and the processes performed by it may be distributed across multiple computing nodes. The lumber rating computer 730 may produce a rating for a piece of lumber after it has received a moisture content measurement and a weight. The rating may be of many forms. For example, the rating may be simply a moisture content ratio, or, based on moisture content ratio thresholds, the rating may assign a board to one of a set of categories defined by the moisture content thresholds. Information related to this rating is provided to the lumber movement system 740, such that the physical location of the board at some point in the future is determined, at least in part, by the rating information sent to the lumber movement system) (see at least paragraphs 71-75).
With regard to Claim 12, Stanish teaches wherein the computer processor is programmed to receive a timber order and direct an operator to one or more timber packages that corresponds to the timber order (Alternately, the lumber movement system may include a human. The lumber rating computer may present the rating to the human who physically picks up the board and puts the board in a location corresponding to the rating; billing service account) (see at least paragraphs 71-75, 83).
With regard to Claim 13, Stanish teaches wherein the at least one timber processor comprises a mill, a kiln, a planer, or combinations thereof (see at least paragraphs 27, 68-75).
With regard to Claim 14, Stanish teaches: track timber packages between the more than one timber processors based on the location of the transport equipment (see at least paragraphs 27, 68-75); update the set of specifications for the timber packages processed by a subsequent one of the more than one timber processors (see at least paragraphs 27, 68-75).
With regard to Claim 15, Stanish teaches wherein the timber yard further comprises a storage location for storing timber packages (see at least paragraph 47).
With regard to Claim 16, Stanish teaches wherein the set of specifications (Sorting Factors) is selected from a group of an age of timber, weight of timber, moisture of timber, species of timber, dimensions of timber, and combinations thereof (see at least paragraphs 47-56).
With regard to Claim 17, Stanish teaches wherein the computer processor is further programmed to use a physical location of a package as a unique identifier of the package (see at least paragraphs 47-56, 83).
With regard to Claim 18, Stanish teaches wherein the computer is programmed to estimate a modified specification after processing by a lumber processor, and the modified specification is used to verify an identity of a processed timber package (see at least paragraphs 47-56).
With regard to Claim 19, Stanish teaches further comprising a code reader that is adapted to read a machine-readable code applied to timber packages (see at least paragraphs 47-56, 83).
With regard to Claim 20, Stanish teaches wherein the computer processor is further programmed to manage lumber in a plurality of the timber packages that share at least one predetermined common characteristic as fungible (moisture content ration) between a plurality of processed timber packages that result from the processing event (see at least paragraphs 68-71).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
Sing et al. (US 2025/0217611)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THOMAS L. MANSFIELD
Examiner
Art Unit 3623
/THOMAS L MANSFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624