DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the labels for 708 on Figures 7A as described in paragraph 59 as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20170322911) in view of Tate-Gans et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20190197785).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method for controlling an immersive environment via an application programming interface, the method comprising (para 44, “FIG. 3 is a flowchart illustrating an example method for outputting an electronic document in an electronic device according to an example embodiment of the present disclosure.”; also, para 52, “Referring to FIG. 4, the electronic device may display a screen where a web browser is executed. In FIG. 4, an embodiment is exemplified as the screen where the web browser is executed is a cylindrical 360-degree image. “; also, para 36, “The multi-view image may be one of various types of images, for example, an omnidirectional image, a 360-degree image, a skydom image, a skybox image including 6 images, or a stereo skybox image including 12 images, or the like, but is not limited thereto. “; also, para 117, “The API 1245 may be an interface through which the application program 1247 controls a function provided by the kernel 1241 or the middleware 1243, and may include, for example, at least one interface or function (e.g., an instruction) for a file control, a window control, image processing, a character control, or the like.”): executing, at an artificial reality (XR) system, an XR application (para 46, “Referring to FIG. 3, in operation 310, the electronic device 100 may execute a web browser. The electronic device 100 may execute the web browser which may provide a multi-view image via, for example, the electronic device 100 or an HMD electrically connected with the electronic device 100.”; also, para 34, “For example, and without limitation, the electronic device 100 may be a mobile device such as a smartphone which may be mounted on an HMD 200. In FIG. 2, an embodiment is exemplified as the electronic device 100 is mounted on the HMD 200. However, embodiments are not limited thereto. For example, the electronic device 100 may be a head-mounted electronic device. Alternatively, the electronic device 100 may be mounted on various types of wearable devices which may support a virtual reality (VR) environment other than the HMD 200.”) application programming interface (API) call that comprises one or more indicators for one or more immersive resources (para 116, “According to an embodiment, the memory 1230 may store software and/or a program 1240. The program 1240 may include, for example, a kernel 1241, a middleware 1243, an application programming interface (API) 1245, and/or an application program (or "an application") 1247. At least a part of the kernel 1241, the middleware 1243, or the API 1245 may be referred to as an "operating system (OS)". “; also, para 117, “The API 1245 may be an interface through which the application program 1247 controls a function provided by the kernel 1241 or the middleware 1243, and may include, for example, at least one interface or function (e.g., an instruction) for a file control, a window control, image processing, a character control, or the like. “; also, para 52, “If a URI is input through the web browser, the electronic device may receive a web document corresponding to the URI from a server. The electronic device may display an image on the first region 410 and the second region 420 by executing a first code and a second code included in the web document. “; also, para 54, “Herein, href="bg.jpg" may refer to an image inserted into the second region 420, and rel="vr-background" may mean that "bg.jpg" is inserted as a background of the second region 420.”; also, para 59, “Herein, <track default src="xmen.vtt"> may refer to a caption file associated with a moving image reproduced on the first region 510, <background src="cloud.jpg"> may refer to an image inserted into the second region 520, and "00:00:07.000 -->00:02:32.000" may refer to a time when "cloud.jpg" is displayed on the second region 520.”); a) non-immersive content, within the virtual object, provided by the executing XR application (para 36, “According to an embodiment, the screen where the web browser 151 is executed may include a first region (or a document region) which is a planar display region which displays content and a second region (or a chrome region) which is a stereoscopic display region which displays a user interface of the web browser 151. For example, the first region may display content included in a normal web document. The first region may be a planar display region such as a quadrangle.”; also, para 41, “According to an embodiment, the processor 160 may display content on the first region based on the first code and may display an object, which may interact with the content, on the second region based on the second code.”), and b) immersive content using the one or more loaded immersive resources (para 53, “According to an embodiment, the electronic device may display an image, associated with the second code included in the web document, as a background of the second region 420 on the second region 420.”; also, para 53, “The image may be a multi-view image such as an omnidirectional image.”; also, para 36, “The second region may be a stereoscopic display region such as a globular shape or a cylindrical shape. The second region may be configured for the user to recognize depth. The second region may be the other region except for the first region of the screen where the web browser 151 is executed.”). Kim does not disclose assigned limited permissions to provide non-immersive content for a virtual object; receiving, from the executing XR application; loading, in response to the API call, the one or more immersive resources; and displaying, by a system shell of the XR system and in response to the loading.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Tate-Gans discloses assigned limited permissions to provide non-immersive content for a virtual object (para 72, “When a non-immersive application is executed/launched in the user's landscape 110, its content (e.g., virtual content) is rendered inside of a Prism 113.”; also, para 114, “The boundaries of the Prism prevent the content from the application, displayed within the Prism, to overflow or spill outside of the Prism and into the user's landscape.”; also, para 89, “Some example of universal features may include max/min size, no overlapping Prisms (excluding temporary overlap from collision behavior), no displaying content outside the boundaries of the Prism, applications need permission from user if the application wants to access sensors or sensitive information.”); receiving, from the executing XR application (para 103, “The application 140 may request a new Prism by accessing Universe Server 205.”; also, para 107, “However, in some embodiments, the icons within the icon grid application, when selected by a user, may instruct the Universe to launch and startup a new application, at which point, the new application may request the Universe to create a new Prism (e.g. through Universe Server 205) so that the application may provide content to be displayed into the new Prism.”); loading, in response to the API call, the one or more immersive resources (para 239, “Upon detecting links, the web engine may notify a browser application that the user may be interested in the content so that the browser application may request the Universe to create a mini display volume (e.g., a mini Prism).”; also, para 240, “At 1620, the Universe creates the mini Prism and starts to load the mini Prism to show a page preview of the content being loaded.”); and displaying, by a system shell of the XR system and in response to the loading (para 54, “Instead of allowing multiple applications to manage and display virtual content in a mixed reality system independently of one another, embodiments of the present disclosure disclose a universe application that manages (e.g. how and where) virtual content to be displayed and managed in the mixed reality system using 3D windows called Prisms.”; also, para 58, “The universe application 130 may be a 3D windows manager that is analogous to a 2D windows manager running on, for example, a desktop computer for managing 2D windows displayed on the display screen of the desktop computer.”; also, para 171, “At 730, the universe may receive the virtual content created by the application. Upon receipt of the content, the Universe may render the virtual content to be displayed within the boundaries of the Prism”; also, para 79, “The Universe may be responsible for at least (1) rendering the user's world landscape; (2) 2D window management of planar applications and 3D windows (e.g., Prisms) management; (3) displaying and executing the application launcher menu; (4) allowing the user to place virtual content into the user's landscape 110; and/or (5) managing the different states of the display of the Prisms 113 within the user's landscape 110.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim's invention of a method carried out at a head-mounted electronic device that executes a web browser, an interface through which an application program controls a function provided by system software, a web document whose href and rel attributes identify a background image for the stereoscopic region, a planar first region that displays the content of a normal web document, and a globular or cylindrical second region that displays that background image, with the features of Tate-Gans's invention of a non-immersive application whose content is confined to the bounded volume allotted to it, a system-level universe application that receives an application's request to display virtual content, that loads the content so requested, and that is a three-dimensional windows manager responsible for rendering the user's world landscape. The combination would have been obvious because Kim seats one application's two-dimensional content in a bounded planar region inside a surrounding stereoscopic region built from a resource the application's own document names, but Kim never says what confines the application to its region, what receives the application's designation of the surrounding resource, or which component paints the surroundings once that resource is obtained. Tate-Gans answers all three questions in the same field and for the same reason, by giving each application a bounded volume whose boundaries prevent its content from spilling into the surrounding landscape, by having a named system service receive the application's request, and by making a three-dimensional windows manager, rather than the application, responsible for rendering the landscape that surrounds those volumes. A person of ordinary skill building Kim's browser on an artificial reality system would have adopted that division of labor because Kim already separates the region the document fills from the region that surrounds it, and because a system in which page-supplied content can reach the surroundings raises immediately the question of what an application may paint and what it may not, which is the question Tate-Gans exists to answer. The predictable result is Kim's stereoscopic surround populated with the resource the page identifies and painted by the system's windows manager while the page keeps filling its own planar region.
Regarding claim 2, Kim as modified by Tate-Gens discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Kim further discloses, API exposed by software at the XR system supports display of the immersive content via the API call from the XR application (para 116, “According to an embodiment, the memory 1230 may store software and/or a program 1240. The program 1240 may include, for example, a kernel 1241, a middleware 1243, an application programming interface (API) 1245, and/or an application program (or "an application") 1247. At least a part of the kernel 1241, the middleware 1243, or the API 1245 may be referred to as an "operating system (OS)".”; also, para 117, “The API 1245 may be an interface through which the application program 1247 controls a function provided by the kernel 1241 or the middleware 1243, and may include, for example, at least one interface or function (e.g., an instruction) for a file control, a window control, image processing, a character control, or the like.”). Kim does not disclose the limited permissions of the executing XR application permit control of the non- immersive content displayed via the virtual object and do not permit control of the immersive content for display via the XR system.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Tate-Gens discloses the limited permissions of the executing XR application permit control of the non- immersive content displayed via the virtual object and do not permit control of the immersive content for display via the XR system (para 77, “In some embodiments, the Prism 113 created by the Universe allows application 140 to focus on rendering virtual content for display while the Universe focuses on creating and managing the placement and display of the Prism 113 having the virtual content 115 displayed within the boundaries of the Prism by the application 140.”; also, para 115, “Applications are given instances of Prisms 113 by the Universe to place content within. Applications may render 2D and/or 3D content within the Prism 113 using relative placement algorithms and/or arbitrary transforms, but the Universe is still ultimately in charge of gross interaction patterns such as content extraction.”; also, para 60, “In some embodiments, an application can request a Prism from the Universe, but the request may be denied.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim's invention of an interface, provided by system software, through which an application program controls a windowing and image-processing function of that software, with the features of Tate-Gans's invention of a bounded volume that allows the application to focus on rendering its own content while the system-level universe application manages the placement and display of that volume and remains ultimately in charge, and that may deny an application's request outright. The combination would have been obvious because Kim supplies an interface between an application and the system's display functions without saying where the application's authority over the display ends, and Tate-Gans states that boundary in terms, with the application rendering inside its own volume and the system retaining control of everything beyond it and of whether the request is honored at all. A person of ordinary skill would have adopted that boundary because it is what keeps multiple applications from interfering with one another in a shared three-dimensional environment, which is the problem Tate-Gans is directed to.
Regarding claim 3, Kim as modified by Tate-Gans discloses the method of claim 2, wherein Kim further discloses, the virtual object comprises a two-dimensional virtual object and the non- immersive content comprises two-dimensional content (para 36, “The first region may be a planar display region such as a quadrangle. The first region may be located on a central portion of the screen where the web browser 151 is executed.”; also, para 41, “The content displayed on the first region may include text, an image, a video, and the like. The content may be two-dimensional (2D) content or three-dimensional (3D) content.”), the immersive content comprises an immersive XR environment (para 52, “Referring to FIG. 4, the electronic device may display a screen where a web browser is executed. In FIG. 4, an embodiment is exemplified as the screen where the web browser is executed is a cylindrical 360-degree image.”), and the virtual object and non-immersive content are displayed within the immersive XR environment (para 52, “The screen where the web browser is executed may include a first region 410 which displays content and a second region 420 which displays a user interface.”; also, para 57, “Referring to FIG. 5, the electronic device may display a screen where a web browser is executed, including a first region 510 and a second region 520. The screen where the web browser is executed may be a multi-view image.”).
Regarding claim 4, Kim as modified by Tate-Gans discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Kim further discloses the one or more immersive resources comprise an image, one or more three-dimensional models, a video, an animated three- dimensional object, or any combination thereof (para 41, “The object displayed on the second region may include, for example, a 360-degree image, a skydom image, a skybox image, a 3D skybox image, a video clip, or the like. For another example, the object may be a 3D object. The 3D object may be implemented in various formats, for example, fbx, obj, a declarative 3D format (e.g., x3d and the like), or an imperative 3D format (e.g., webGL, webVR, or the like).”).
Regarding claim 5, Kim as modified by Tate-Gans discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Kim further discloses the immersive content comprises an image or video projected onto a three-dimensional shape (para 41, “The object displayed on the second region may include, for example, a 360-degree image, a skydom image, a skybox image, a 3D skybox image, a video clip, or the like.”; also, para 36, “The second region may be a stereoscopic display region such as a globular shape or a cylindrical shape.”; also, para 53, “According to an embodiment, the electronic device may display an image, associated with the second code included in the web document, as a background of the second region 420 on the second region 420.”; also, para 53, “The image may be a multi-view image such as an omnidirectional image.”).
Regarding claim 6, Kim as modified by Tate-Gans discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Kim further discloses the executing XR application comprises a web browser (para 46, “Referring to FIG. 3, in operation 310, the electronic device 100 may execute a web browser.”), and the API call is triggered by a webpage loaded at the web browser (para 52, “If a URI is input through the web browser, the electronic device may receive a web document corresponding to the URI from a server. The electronic device may display an image on the first region 410 and the second region 420 by executing a first code and a second code included in the web document.”; also, para 48, “In operation 330, the electronic device 100 may receive a web document including a first code associated with the first region and a second code associated with the second region from a server. The electronic device 100 may extract the first code and the second code by parsing the received web document.”).
Regarding claim 7, Kim as modified by Tate-Gans discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Kim further discloses the executing XR application comprises an audio or video player that is playing media content (para 58, “According to an embodiment, the electronic device may display a moving image associated with a first code on the first region 510. The electronic device may extract a second code by parsing a caption file associated with the moving image displayed on the first region 510. The caption file may be implemented with, for example, a vtt standard format.”; also, para 41, “The content displayed on the first region may include text, an image, a video, and the like.”), and the API call is triggered based on a timestamp of the playing media content (para 117, “The API 1245 may be an interface through which the application program 1247 controls a function provided by the kernel 1241 or the middleware 1243, and may include, for example, at least one interface or function (e.g., an instruction) for a file control, a window control, image processing, a character control, or the like. “; also, para 58, “Alternatively, the electronic device may display the image described in the second code in a time set in the second code. For example, the electronic device may display the image described in the second code on the second region 520 during a period from 7 seconds to 2 minutes 32 seconds.”; also, para 59, “Herein, <track default src="xmen.vtt"> may refer to a caption file associated with a moving image reproduced on the first region 510, <background src="cloud.jpg"> may refer to an image inserted into the second region 520, and "00:00:07.000 -->00:02:32.000" may refer to a time when "cloud.jpg" is displayed on the second region 520.”).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses an artificial reality (XR) system for controlling an immersive environment via an application programming interface, the XR system comprising (para 34, “Referring to FIG. 2, an electronic device 100 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may include a connector 110, a display 120, a camera 130, a communication circuit 140, a memory 150, and a processor (e.g., including processing circuitry) 160.”; also, para 34, “For example, and without limitation, the electronic device 100 may be a mobile device such as a smartphone which may be mounted on an HMD 200. In FIG. 2, an embodiment is exemplified as the electronic device 100 is mounted on the HMD 200. However, embodiments are not limited thereto. For example, the electronic device 100 may be a head-mounted electronic device. Alternatively, the electronic device 100 may be mounted on various types of wearable devices which may support a virtual reality (VR) environment other than the HMD 200. “; also, para 52, “Referring to FIG. 4, the electronic device may display a screen where a web browser is executed. In FIG. 4, an embodiment is exemplified as the screen where the web browser is executed is a cylindrical 360-degree image. “; also, para 36, “The multi-view image may be one of various types of images, for example, an omnidirectional image, a 360-degree image, a skydom image, a skybox image including 6 images, or a stereo skybox image including 12 images, or the like, but is not limited thereto. “; also, para 117, “The API 1245 may be an interface through which the application program 1247 controls a function provided by the kernel 1241 or the middleware 1243, and may include, for example, at least one interface or function (e.g., an instruction) for a file control, a window control, image processing, a character control, or the like.”): one or more processors (para 40, “The processor 160 may include various processing circuitry and be electrically connected with the connector 110, the display 120, the camera 130, the communication circuit 140, and the memory 150.”); and one or more memories storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the XR system to (para 39, “The memory 150 may include a volatile memory and/or a non-volatile memory. The memory 150 may store various modules comprising various program elements, such as, for example, and without limitation, the web browser 151.”; also, para 39, “The web browser 151 stored in the memory 150 may be executed by the processor 160.”): execute an XR application (para 34, “For example, and without limitation, the electronic device 100 may be a mobile device such as a smartphone which may be mounted on an HMD 200. In FIG. 2, an embodiment is exemplified as the electronic device 100 is mounted on the HMD 200. However, embodiments are not limited thereto. For example, the electronic device 100 may be a head-mounted electronic device. Alternatively, the electronic device 100 may be mounted on various types of wearable devices which may support a virtual reality (VR) environment other than the HMD 200. “; also, para 46, “Referring to FIG. 3, in operation 310, the electronic device 100 may execute a web browser. The electronic device 100 may execute the web browser which may provide a multi-view image via, for example, the electronic device 100 or an HMD electrically connected with the electronic device 100.”) application programming interface (API) call that comprises one or more indicators for one or more immersive resources (para 116, “According to an embodiment, the memory 1230 may store software and/or a program 1240. The program 1240 may include, for example, a kernel 1241, a middleware 1243, an application programming interface (API) 1245, and/or an application program (or "an application") 1247. At least a part of the kernel 1241, the middleware 1243, or the API 1245 may be referred to as an "operating system (OS)". “; also, para 117, “The API 1245 may be an interface through which the application program 1247 controls a function provided by the kernel 1241 or the middleware 1243, and may include, for example, at least one interface or function (e.g., an instruction) for a file control, a window control, image processing, a character control, or the like.”; also, para 52, “If a URI is input through the web browser, the electronic device may receive a web document corresponding to the URI from a server. The electronic device may display an image on the first region 410 and the second region 420 by executing a first code and a second code included in the web document. “; also, para 54, “Herein, href="bg.jpg" may refer to an image inserted into the second region 420, and rel="vr-background" may mean that "bg.jpg" is inserted as a background of the second region 420.”; also, para 59, “Herein, <track default src="xmen.vtt"> may refer to a caption file associated with a moving image reproduced on the first region 510, <background src="cloud.jpg"> may refer to an image inserted into the second region 520, and "00:00:07.000 -->00:02:32.000" may refer to a time when "cloud.jpg" is displayed on the second region 520.”); non-immersive content, within the virtual object, provided by the XR application (para 36, “According to an embodiment, the screen where the web browser 151 is executed may include a first region (or a document region) which is a planar display region which displays content and a second region (or a chrome region) which is a stereoscopic display region which displays a user interface of the web browser 151. For example, the first region may display content included in a normal web document. The first region may be a planar display region such as a quadrangle.”; also, para 41, “According to an embodiment, the processor 160 may display content on the first region based on the first code and may display an object, which may interact with the content, on the second region based on the second code.”), and b) immersive content using the one or more loaded immersive resources (para 53, “According to an embodiment, the electronic device may display an image, associated with the second code included in the web document, as a background of the second region 420 on the second region 420.”; also, para 53, “The image may be a multi-view image such as an omnidirectional image.”; also, para 36, “The second region may be a stereoscopic display region such as a globular shape or a cylindrical shape. The second region may be configured for the user to recognize depth. The second region may be the other region except for the first region of the screen where the web browser 151 is executed.”). Kim does not disclose assigned limited permissions to provide non-immersive content for a virtual object; receive, from the executing XR application; load, in response to the API call, the one or more immersive resources; and display, by a system shell of the XR system and in response to the loading.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Tate-Gans discloses assigned limited permissions to provide non-immersive content for a virtual object (para 72, “When a non-immersive application is executed/launched in the user's landscape 110, its content (e.g., virtual content) is rendered inside of a Prism 113.”; also, para 114, “The boundaries of the Prism prevent the content from the application, displayed within the Prism, to overflow or spill outside of the Prism and into the user's landscape.”; also, para 89, “Some example of universal features may include max/min size, no overlapping Prisms (excluding temporary overlap from collision behavior), no displaying content outside the boundaries of the Prism, applications need permission from user if the application wants to access sensors or sensitive information.”); receive, from the executing XR application (para 103, “The application 140 may request a new Prism by accessing Universe Server 205.”; also, para 107, “In some embodiments, the new application may request the Universe to create a new Prism (e.g. through Universe Server 205) so that the application may provide content to be displayed into the new Prism.”); load, in response to the API call, load, in response to the API call, the one or more immersive resources (para 239, “Upon detecting links, the web engine may notify a browser application that the user may be interested in the content so that the browser application may request the Universe to create a mini display volume (e.g., a mini Prism).”; also, para 240, “At 1620, the Universe creates the mini Prism and starts to load the mini Prism to show a page preview of the content being loaded.”); and display, by a system shell of the XR system and in response to the loading (para 54, “Instead of allowing multiple applications to manage and display virtual content in a mixed reality system independently of one another, embodiments of the present disclosure disclose a universe application that manages (e.g. how and where) virtual content to be displayed and managed in the mixed reality system using 3D windows called Prisms.”; also, para 58, “The universe application 130 may be a 3D windows manager that is analogous to a 2D windows manager running on, for example, a desktop computer for managing 2D windows displayed on the display screen of the desktop computer.”; also, para 171, “At 730, the universe may receive the virtual content created by the application. Upon receipt of the content, the Universe may render the virtual content to be displayed within the boundaries of the Prism.”; also, para 245, “The Universe renders the scene graphs, in cooperation with Kali, and has full control over the placement, scaling, etc of each Prism.”; also, para 79, “The Universe may be responsible for at least (1) rendering the user's world landscape; (2) 2D window management of planar applications and 3D windows (e.g., Prisms) management; (3) displaying and executing the application launcher menu; (4) allowing the user to place virtual content into the user's landscape 110; and/or (5) managing the different states of the display of the Prisms 113 within the user's landscape 110.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim's invention of an electronic device comprising a processor and a memory storing a web browser executed by that processor, an interface through which an application program controls a function provided by system software, a web document whose href and rel attributes identify a background image for the stereoscopic region, a planar first region that displays the content of a normal web document, and a globular or cylindrical second region that displays that background image, with the features of Tate-Gans's invention of a non-immersive application whose content is confined to the bounded volume allotted to it, a system-level universe application that receives an application's request to display virtual content, that loads the content so requested, and that is a three-dimensional windows manager responsible for rendering the user's world landscape. The combination would have been obvious because Kim seats one application's two-dimensional content in a bounded planar region inside a surrounding stereoscopic region built from a resource the application's own document names, but Kim never says what confines the application to its region, what receives the application's designation of the surrounding resource, or which component paints the surroundings once that resource is obtained. Tate-Gans answers all three questions in the same field and for the same reason, by giving each application a bounded volume whose boundaries prevent its content from spilling into the surrounding landscape, by having a named system service receive the application's request, and by making a three-dimensional windows manager, rather than the application, responsible for rendering the landscape that surrounds those volumes. A person of ordinary skill building Kim's browser on an artificial reality system would have adopted that division of labor because Kim already separates the region the document fills from the region that surrounds it, and because a system in which page-supplied content can reach the surroundings raises immediately the question of what an application may paint and what it may not, which is the question Tate-Gans exists to answer. The predictable result is Kim's stereoscopic surround populated with the resource the page identifies and painted by the system's windows manager while the page keeps filling its own planar region.
Regarding claim 10, Kim as modified by Tate-Gans discloses the XR system of claim 9, wherein Kim further discloses, API exposed by software at the XR system supports display of the immersive content via the API call from the XR application (para 116, “According to an embodiment, the memory 1230 may store software and/or a program 1240. The program 1240 may include, for example, a kernel 1241, a middleware 1243, an application programming interface (API) 1245, and/or an application program (or "an application") 1247. At least a part of the kernel 1241, the middleware 1243, or the API 1245 may be referred to as an "operating system (OS)".”; also, para 117, “The API 1245 may be an interface through which the application program 1247 controls a function provided by the kernel 1241 or the middleware 1243, and may include, for example, at least one interface or function (e.g., an instruction) for a file control, a window control, image processing, a character control, or the like.”). Kim does not disclose the limited permissions of the executing XR application permit control of the non-immersive content displayed via the virtual object and do not permit control of the immersive content for display via the XR system.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Tate-Gans discloses the limited permissions of the executing XR application permit control of the non- immersive content displayed via the virtual object and do not permit control of the immersive content for display via the XR system (para 77, “In some embodiments, the Prism 113 created by the Universe allows application 140 to focus on rendering virtual content for display while the Universe focuses on creating and managing the placement and display of the Prism 113 having the virtual content 115 displayed within the boundaries of the Prism by the application 140.”; also, para 115, “Applications are given instances of Prisms 113 by the Universe to place content within. Applications may render 2D and/or 3D content within the Prism 113 using relative placement algorithms and/or arbitrary transforms, but the Universe is still ultimately in charge of gross interaction patterns such as content extraction.”; also, para 60, “In some embodiments, an application can request a Prism from the Universe, but the request may be denied.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim's invention of an interface, provided by system software, through which an application program controls a windowing and image-processing function of that software, with the features of Tate-Gans's invention of a bounded volume that allows the application to focus on rendering its own content while the system-level universe application manages the placement and display of that volume and remains ultimately in charge, and that may deny an application's request outright. The combination would have been obvious because Kim supplies an interface between an application and the system's display functions without saying where the application's authority over the display ends, and Tate-Gans states that boundary in terms, with the application rendering inside its own volume and the system retaining control of everything beyond it and of whether the request is honored at all. A person of ordinary skill would have adopted that boundary because it is what keeps multiple applications from interfering with one another in a shared three-dimensional environment, which is the problem Tate-Gans is directed to.
Regarding claim 11, Kim as modified by Tate-Gans discloses the XR system of claim 10, wherein Kim further discloses, the virtual object comprises a two-dimensional virtual object and the non- immersive content comprises two-dimensional content (para 36, “The first region may be a planar display region such as a quadrangle. The first region may be located on a central portion of the screen where the web browser 151 is executed.”; also, para 41, “The content displayed on the first region may include text, an image, a video, and the like. The content may be two-dimensional (2D) content or three-dimensional (3D) content.”), the immersive content comprises an immersive XR environment (para 52, “Referring to FIG. 4, the electronic device may display a screen where a web browser is executed. In FIG. 4, an embodiment is exemplified as the screen where the web browser is executed is a cylindrical 360-degree image.”), and the virtual object and non-immersive content are displayed within the immersive XR environment (para 52, “"The screen where the web browser is executed may include a first region 410 which displays content and a second region 420 which displays a user interface.”, also, para 57, “Referring to FIG. 5, the electronic device may display a screen where a web browser is executed, including a first region 510 and a second region 520. The screen where the web browser is executed may be a multi-view image.”).
Regarding claim 12, Kim as modified by Tate-Gans discloses the XR system of claim 9, wherein Kim further discloses the one or more immersive resources comprise an image, one or more three-dimensional models, a video, an animated three- dimensional object, or any combination thereof (para 41, “The object displayed on the second region may include, for example, a 360-degree image, a skydom image, a skybox image, a 3D skybox image, a video clip, or the like. For another example, the object may be a 3D object. The 3D object may be implemented in various formats, for example, fbx, obj, a declarative 3D format (e.g., x3d and the like), or an imperative 3D format (e.g., webGL, webVR, or the like).”).
Regarding claim 13, Kim as modified by Tate-Gans discloses the XR system of claim 9, wherein the immersive content comprises an image or video projected onto a three-dimensional shape (para 41, “The object displayed on the second region may include, for example, a 360-degree image, a skydom image, a skybox image, a 3D skybox image, a video clip, or the like.”; also, para 36, “The second region may be a stereoscopic display region such as a globular shape or a cylindrical shape.”; also, para 53, “According to an embodiment, the electronic device may display an image, associated with the second code included in the web document, as a background of the second region 420 on the second region 420.”; also, para 53, “The image may be a multi-view image such as an omnidirectional image.”).
Regarding claim 14, Kim as modified by Tate-Gans discloses the XR system of claim 9, wherein Kim further discloses the executing XR application comprises a web browser (para 46, “Referring to FIG. 3, in operation 310, the electronic device 100 may execute a web browser.”), and the API call is triggered by a webpage loaded at the web browser (para 117, “The API 1245 may be an interface through which the application program 1247 controls a function provided by the kernel 1241 or the middleware 1243, and may include, for example, at least one interface or function (e.g., an instruction) for a file control, a window control, image processing, a character control, or the like. “; also, para 52, “If a URI is input through the web browser, the electronic device may receive a web document corresponding to the URI from a server. The electronic device may display an image on the first region 410 and the second region 420 by executing a first code and a second code included in the web document.”; also, para 48, “In operation 330, the electronic device 100 may receive a web document including a first code associated with the first region and a second code associated with the second region from a server. The electronic device 100 may extract the first code and the second code by parsing the received web document.”).
Regarding claim 15, Kim as modified by Tate-Gans discloses the XR system of claim 9, wherein Kim further discloses the executing XR application comprises an audio or video player that is playing media content (para 58, “According to an embodiment, the electronic device may display a moving image associated with a first code on the first region 510. The electronic device may extract a second code by parsing a caption file associated with the moving image displayed on the first region 510. The caption file may be implemented with, for example, a vtt standard format.”; also, para 41, “The content displayed on the first region may include text, an image, a video, and the like.”), and the API call is triggered based on a timestamp of the playing media content (para 117, “The API 1245 may be an interface through which the application program 1247 controls a function provided by the kernel 1241 or the middleware 1243, and may include, for example, at least one interface or function (e.g., an instruction) for a file control, a window control, image processing, a character control, or the like.”; also, para 58, “Alternatively, the electronic device may display the image described in the second code in a time set in the second code. For example, the electronic device may display the image described in the second code on the second region 520 during a period from 7 seconds to 2 minutes 32 seconds.”; also, para 59, “Herein, <track default src="xmen.vtt"> may refer to a caption file associated with a moving image reproduced on the first region 510, <background src="cloud.jpg"> may refer to an image inserted into the second region 520, and "00:00:07.000 -->00:02:32.000" may refer to a time when "cloud.jpg" is displayed on the second region 520.”).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions for native artificial reality (XR) system execution of an XR application using synthetic input from an external device, the instructions, when executed by the XR system, cause the XR system to (para 39, “The memory 150 may include a volatile memory and/or a non-volatile memory. The memory 150 may store various modules comprising various program elements, such as, for example, and without limitation, the web browser 151.”; also, para 39, “The web browser 151 stored in the memory 150 may be executed by the processor 160.”; also, para 34, “For example, and without limitation, the electronic device 100 may be a mobile device such as a smartphone which may be mounted on an HMD 200. In FIG. 2, an embodiment is exemplified as the electronic device 100 is mounted on the HMD 200. However, embodiments are not limited thereto. For example, the electronic device 100 may be a head-mounted electronic device. Alternatively, the electronic device 100 may be mounted on various types of wearable devices which may support a virtual reality (VR) environment other than the HMD 200. “; also, para 117, ‘The API 1245 may be an interface through which the application program 1247 controls a function provided by the kernel 1241 or the middleware 1243, and may include, for example, at least one interface or function (e.g., an instruction) for a file control, a window control, image processing, a character control, or the like.”): execute an XR application (para 34, “For example, and without limitation, the electronic device 100 may be a mobile device such as a smartphone which may be mounted on an HMD 200. In FIG. 2, an embodiment is exemplified as the electronic device 100 is mounted on the HMD 200. However, embodiments are not limited thereto. For example, the electronic device 100 may be a head-mounted electronic device. Alternatively, the electronic device 100 may be mounted on various types of wearable devices which may support a virtual reality (VR) environment other than the HMD 200. “; also, para 46, “Referring to FIG. 3, in operation 310, the electronic device 100 may execute a web browser. The electronic device 100 may execute the web browser which may provide a multi-view image via, for example, the electronic device 100 or an HMD electrically connected with the electronic device 100.”; also, para 34, “For example, and without limitation, the electronic device 100 may be a mobile device such as a smartphone which may be mounted on an HMD 200.”), application programming interface (API) call that comprises one or more indicators for one or more immersive resources (para 116, “According to an embodiment, the memory 1230 may store software and/or a program 1240. The program 1240 may include, for example, a kernel 1241, a middleware 1243, an application programming interface (API) 1245, and/or an application program (or "an application") 1247. At least a part of the kernel 1241, the middleware 1243, or the API 1245 may be referred to as an "operating system (OS)". “; also, para 117, “The API 1245 may be an interface through which the application program 1247 controls a function provided by the kernel 1241 or the middleware 1243, and may include, for example, at least one interface or function (e.g., an instruction) for a file control, a window control, image processing, a character control, or the like. “; also, para 52, “If a URI is input through the web browser, the electronic device may receive a web document corresponding to the URI from a server. The electronic device may display an image on the first region 410 and the second region 420 by executing a first code and a second code included in the web document. “; also, para 54, “Herein, href="bg.jpg" may refer to an image inserted into the second region 420, and rel="vr-background" may mean that "bg.jpg" is inserted as a background of the second region 420.”; also, para 59, “Herein, <track default src="xmen.vtt"> may refer to a caption file associated with a moving image reproduced on the first region 510, <background src="cloud.jpg"> may refer to an image inserted into the second region 520, and "00:00:07.000 -->00:02:32.000" may refer to a time when "cloud.jpg" is displayed on the second region 520.”); non- immersive content, within the virtual object, provided by the XR application (para 36, “According to an embodiment, the screen where the web browser 151 is executed may include a first region (or a document region) which is a planar display region which displays content and a second region (or a chrome region) which is a stereoscopic display region which displays a user interface of the web browser 151. For example, the first region may display content included in a normal web document. The first region may be a planar display region such as a quadrangle.”; also, para 41, “According to an embodiment, the processor 160 may display content on the first region based on the first code and may display an object, which may interact with the content, on the second region based on the second code.”), and b) immersive content using the one or more loaded immersive resources (para 53, “According to an embodiment, the electronic device may display an image, associated with the second code included in the web document, as a background of the second region 420 on the second region 420.”; also, para 53, “The image may be a multi-view image such as an omnidirectional image.”; also, para 36, “The second region may be a stereoscopic display region such as a globular shape or a cylindrical shape. The second region may be configured for the user to recognize depth. The second region may be the other region except for the first region of the screen where the web browser 151 is executed.”). Kim does not disclose wherein the XR application assigned limited permissions to provide non-immersive content for a virtual object; receive, from the executing XR application; load, in response to the API call, the one or more immersive resources; and display, by a system shell of the XR system and in response to the loading.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Tate-Gans discloses wherein the XR application assigned limited permissions to provide non-immersive content for a virtual object (para 72, “When a non-immersive application is executed/launched in the user's landscape 110, its content (e.g., virtual content) is rendered inside of a Prism 113.”; also, para 114, “The boundaries of the Prism prevent the content from the application, displayed within the Prism, to overflow or spill outside of the Prism and into the user's landscape.”; also, para 89, “Some example of universal features may include max/min size, no overlapping Prisms (excluding temporary overlap from collision behavior), no displaying content outside the boundaries of the Prism, applications need permission from user if the application wants to access sensors or sensitive information.”); receive, from the executing XR application, an application programming interface (API) call (para 103, “The application 140 may request a new Prism by accessing Universe Server 205.”; also, para 107, “In some embodiments, the new application may request the Universe to create a new Prism (e.g. through Universe Server 205) so that the application may provide content to be displayed into the new Prism.”); load, in response to the API call, the one or more immersive resources (para 239, “Upon detecting links, the web engine may notify a browser application that the user may be interested in the content so that the browser application may request the Universe to create a mini display volume (e.g., a mini Prism).”; also, para 240, “At 1620, the Universe creates the mini Prism and starts to load the mini Prism to show a page preview of the content being loaded.”); and display, by a system shell of the XR system and in response to the loading (para 54, “Instead of allowing multiple applications to manage and display virtual content in a mixed reality system independently of one another, embodiments of the present disclosure disclose a universe application that manages (e.g. how and where) virtual content to be displayed and managed in the mixed reality system using 3D windows called Prisms. “; also, para 58, “The universe application 130 may be a 3D windows manager that is analogous to a 2D windows manager running on, for example, a desktop computer for managing 2D windows displayed on the display screen of the desktop computer.”; also, para 171, “At 730, the universe may receive the virtual content created by the application. Upon receipt of the content, the Universe may render the virtual content to be displayed within the boundaries of the Prism.”; also, para 245, “The Universe renders the scene graphs, in cooperation with Kali, and has full control over the placement, scaling, etc of each Prism. “; also, para 79, “The Universe may be responsible for at least (1) rendering the user's world landscape; (2) 2D window management of planar applications and 3D windows (e.g., Prisms) management; (3) displaying and executing the application launcher menu; (4) allowing the user to place virtual content into the user's landscape 110; and/or (5) managing the different states of the display of the Prisms 113 within the user's landscape 110.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim's invention of a memory storing a web browser executed by a processor at a head-mounted electronic device, an interface through which an application program controls a function provided by system software, a web document whose href and rel attributes identify a background image for the stereoscopic region, a planar first region that displays the content of a normal web document, and a globular or cylindrical second region that displays that background image, with the features of Tate-Gans's invention of a non-immersive application whose content is confined to the bounded volume allotted to it, a system-level universe application that receives an application's request to display virtual content, that loads the content so requested, and that is a three-dimensional windows manager responsible for rendering the user's world landscape. The combination would have been obvious because Kim seats one application's two-dimensional content in a bounded planar region inside a surrounding stereoscopic region built from a resource the application's own document names, but Kim never says what confines the application to its region, what receives the application's designation of the surrounding resource, or which component paints the surroundings once that resource is obtained. Tate-Gans answers all three questions in the same field and for the same reason, by giving each application a bounded volume whose boundaries prevent its content from spilling into the surrounding landscape, by having a named system service receive the application's request, and by making a three-dimensional windows manager, rather than the application, responsible for rendering the landscape that surrounds those volumes. A person of ordinary skill building Kim's browser on an artificial reality system would have adopted that division of labor because Kim already separates the region the document fills from the region that surrounds it, and because a system in which page-supplied content can reach the surroundings raises immediately the question of what an application may paint and what it may not, which is the question Tate-Gans exists to answer. The predictable result is Kim's stereoscopic surround populated with the resource the page identifies and painted by the system's windows manager while the page keeps filling its own planar region.
Regarding claim 18, Kim as modified by Tate-Gans discloses the computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein Kim further discloses, API exposed by software at the XR system supports display of the immersive content via the API call from the XR application (para 116, “According to an embodiment, the memory 1230 may store software and/or a program 1240. The program 1240 may include, for example, a kernel 1241, a middleware 1243, an application programming interface (API) 1245, and/or an application program (or "an application") 1247. At least a part of the kernel 1241, the middleware 1243, or the API 1245 may be referred to as an "operating system (OS)".”; also, para 117,. “The API 1245 may be an interface through which the application program 1247 controls a function provided by the kernel 1241 or the middleware 1243, and may include, for example, at least one interface or function (e.g., an instruction) for a file control, a window control, image processing, a character control, or the like.”). Kim does not disclose the limited permissions of the executing XR application permit control of the non-immersive content displayed via the virtual object and do not permit control of the immersive content for display via the XR system.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Tate-Gans discloses the limited permissions of the executing XR application permit control of the non- immersive content displayed via the virtual object and do not permit control of the immersive content for display via the XR system (para 77, “In some embodiments, the Prism 113 created by the Universe allows application 140 to focus on rendering virtual content for display while the Universe focuses on creating and managing the placement and display of the Prism 113 having the virtual content 115 displayed within the boundaries of the Prism by the application 140”; also, para 115, “Applications are given instances of Prisms 113 by the Universe to place content within. Applications may render 2D and/or 3D content within the Prism 113 using relative placement algorithms and/or arbitrary transforms, but the Universe is still ultimately in charge of gross interaction patterns such as content extraction.”; also, para 60, “In some embodiments, an application can request a Prism from the Universe, but the request may be denied.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim's invention of an interface, provided by system software, through which an application program controls a windowing and image-processing function of that software, with the features of Tate-Gans's invention of a bounded volume that allows the application to focus on rendering its own content while the system-level universe application manages the placement and display of that volume and remains ultimately in charge, and that may deny an application's request outright. The combination would have been obvious because Kim supplies an interface between an application and the system's display functions without saying where the application's authority over the display ends, and Tate-Gans states that boundary in terms, with the application rendering inside its own volume and the system retaining control of everything beyond it and of whether the request is honored at all. A person of ordinary skill would have adopted that boundary because it is what keeps multiple applications from interfering with one another in a shared three-dimensional environment, which is the problem Tate-Gans is directed to.
Regarding claim 19, Kim as modified by Tate-Gans discloses the computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein Kim further discloses, the virtual object comprises a two-dimensional virtual object and the non-immersive content comprises two-dimensional content (para 36, “The first region may be a planar display region such as a quadrangle. The first region may be located on a central portion of the screen where the web browser 151 is executed.”; also, para 41, “The content displayed on the first region may include text, an image, a video, and the like. The content may be two-dimensional (2D) content or three-dimensional (3D) content.”), the immersive content comprises an immersive XR environment (para 52, “Referring to FIG. 4, the electronic device may display a screen where a web browser is executed. In FIG. 4, an embodiment is exemplified as the screen where the web browser is executed is a cylindrical 360-degree image.”), and the virtual object and non-immersive content are displayed within the immersive XR environment (para 52, “The screen where the web browser is executed may include a first region 410 which displays content and a second region 420 which displays a user interface.”; also, para 57, “Referring to FIG. 5, the electronic device may display a screen where a web browser is executed, including a first region 510 and a second region 520. The screen where the web browser is executed may be a multi-view image.”).
Regarding claim 20, Kim as modified by Tate-Gans discloses the computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein Kim further discloses the executing XR application comprises a web browser (para 46, “Referring to FIG. 3, in operation 310, the electronic device 100 may execute a web browser.”), and the API call is triggered by a webpage loaded at the web browser (para 117, “The API 1245 may be an interface through which the application program 1247 controls a function provided by the kernel 1241 or the middleware 1243, and may include, for example, at least one interface or function (e.g., an instruction) for a file control, a window control, image processing, a character control, or the like. “; also, para 52, “If a URI is input through the web browser, the electronic device may receive a web document corresponding to the URI from a server. The electronic device may display an image on the first region 410 and the second region 420 by executing a first code and a second code included in the web document.”; also, para 48, “In operation 330, the electronic device 100 may receive a web document including a first code associated with the first region and a second code associated with the second region from a server. The electronic device 100 may extract the first code and the second code by parsing the received web document.”).
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20170322911) as modified by Tate-Gans et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20190197785), further in view of Aguirre et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20190347866).
Regarding claim 8, Kim as modified by Tate-Gans discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: validating, prior to displaying the immersive content, the one or more immersive resources indicated by the API call.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Aguirre discloses validating, prior to displaying the immersive content, the one or more immersive resources indicated by the API call (para 44, “In some examples, host constraints, such as memory limitations, and other processing constraints that may be relevant to determining an optimal viewing asset complexity for rendering on the host, are determined in operation 608. That is, operation 608 includes determining a constraint of a target host for rendering the viewing asset. In some examples, operation 610 includes determining whether the obtained viewing asset is compatible with the target host, such as whether the imported model is an unsupported file format or is excessively large.”; also, para 38, “As depicted in this exemplary diagram, a file import may occur in operation 302, and optimizer component 200 may determine whether the file is self-contained (i.e., have all the necessary components) in decision operation 304.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Kim in view of Tate-Gans, in which an application confined to its own bounded region names a resource that the system loads and then paints as the surrounding environment, with the features of Gonzalez Aguirre's invention of determining, before a viewing asset is rendered on a target host, whether that asset is compatible with the host, whether it is of an unsupported file format, whether it is excessively large, and whether the imported file is self-contained. The combination would have been obvious because the combined system takes a resource identifier from an application and hands the named resource to the system to paint across the user's whole field of view, and nothing in that path establishes that the named resource is of a kind the system can actually render. Gonzalez Aguirre is directed to exactly that problem for three-dimensional assets destined for a mixed reality, virtual reality, or augmented reality display, and it answers it by checking the asset against the host before rendering rather than discovering the mismatch during it. A person of ordinary skill would have applied that check to the resource the application names, because a resource supplied from outside the system is the case where an unsupported format or an oversized file is most likely to arise, and because the cost of finding out at render time is a failed or degraded display of the entire surrounding environment rather than of one bounded object. The predictable result is that the resource identified in the call is checked for renderability before the system shell paints the immersive content built from it.
Regarding claim 16, Kim as modified by Tate-Gans discloses the XR system of claim 9, wherein Kim further discloses the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the XR system to (para 39, “The memory 150 may include a volatile memory and/or a non-volatile memory. The memory 150 may store various modules comprising various program elements, such as, for example, and without limitation, the web browser 151.”; also, para 39, “The web browser 151 stored in the memory 150 may be executed by the processor 160.”): validate, prior to displaying the immersive content, the one or more immersive resources indicated by the API call.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Aguirre discloses validate, prior to displaying the immersive content, the one or more immersive resources indicated by the API call (para 44, “In some examples, host constraints, such as memory limitations, and other processing constraints that may be relevant to determining an optimal viewing asset complexity for rendering on the host, are determined in operation 608. That is, operation 608 includes determining a constraint of a target host for rendering the viewing asset. In some examples, operation 610 includes determining whether the obtained viewing asset is compatible with the target host, such as whether the imported model is an unsupported file format or is excessively large."; also, para 38, “As depicted in this exemplary diagram, a file import may occur in operation 302, and optimizer component 200 may determine whether the file is self-contained (i.e., have all the necessary components) in decision operation 304.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Kim in view of Tate-Gans, in which stored instructions cause an application confined to its own bounded region to name a resource that the system loads and then paints as the surrounding environment, with the features of Gonzalez Aguirre's invention of determining, before a viewing asset is rendered on a target host, whether that asset is compatible with the host, whether it is of an unsupported file format, whether it is excessively large, and whether the imported file is self-contained. The combination would have been obvious because the combined system takes a resource identifier from an application and hands the named resource to the system to paint across the user's whole field of view, and nothing in that path establishes that the named resource is of a kind the system can actually render. Gonzalez Aguirre is directed to exactly that problem for three-dimensional assets destined for a mixed reality, virtual reality, or augmented reality display, and it answers it by checking the asset against the host before rendering rather than discovering the mismatch during it. A person of ordinary skill would have applied that check to the resource the application names, because a resource supplied from outside the system is the case where an unsupported format or an oversized file is most likely to arise, and because the cost of finding out at render time is a failed or degraded display of the entire surrounding environment rather than of one bounded object. The predictable result is that the resource identified in the call is checked for renderability before the system shell paints the immersive content built from it.
Conclusion
/JAI W LI/Junior Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2613
/XIAO M WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2613