DETAILED ACTION
This final Office action is in response to the claims filed on January 30, 2026.
The replacement figures filed January 30, 2026 have been approved.
The amendments to the specification filed January 30, 2026 have been approved.
The terminal disclaimed filed January 30, 2026 has been approved.
Note: the status identifier of claim 32 is incorrect. The status identifier should be “Currently Amended” rather than “Previously Presented.” Although a Notice of non-compliant amendment may have been issued, in order to expedite prosecution, the examiner has interpreted claim 32 to be “Currently Amended,” however proper claim status identifiers must be used in any subsequently filed claims.
Status of claims: claims 1-22, 26, 27, 29, 30 and 42 are cancelled; claims 23-25, 28, 31-41, 43-47 are hereby examined below.
Claim Objections
Claims 24, 25, 28, 31, 32, 41 and 45-47 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 24, line 1 – shouldn’t “breakaway sliding door assembly” be amended to “system”
Claim 25, line 1 – shouldn’t “breakaway sliding door assembly” be amended to “system”
Claim 28, line 1 – shouldn’t “breakaway sliding door assembly” be amended to “system”
Claim 31, line 1 – shouldn’t “breakaway sliding door assembly” be amended to “system”
Claim 32, line 9 – shouldn’t “during closing” be amended to “during a closing”
Claim 41, line 7 – shouldn’t “during closing” be amended to “during a closing”
Claim 45, line 1 – shouldn’t “breakaway sliding door” be deleted
Claim 46, line 1 – shouldn’t “breakaway sliding door” be deleted
Claim 47, line 1 – shouldn’t “breakaway sliding door” be deleted
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of claim 43 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32, 33 and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0083013 to Nicholson in view of US 6058665 to Halvorson, Jr. et al. (hereinafter “Halvorson”).
Nicholson discloses a breakaway sliding door assembly, comprising:
a movable rail 35,24,27,42 (see FIG. 8A) mounted for sliding movement relative to a stationary rail 4 to thereby permit the breakaway sliding door assembly to slide between an open linear position (FIG. 3) and a closed linear position (FIG. 1), the movable rail comprising
a first bracket 35; (see FIG. 8A)
a wing 16, 18-20 pivotably mounted to the movable rail (see FIG. 6) for swinging movement between a closed pivotal position (FIG. 1) and an open pivotal position (FIG. 2), the wing comprising a second element 44,46,48, wherein the first bracket and the second element are operable to engage one another to thereby cause the wing to hang from the movable rail; and
a ramp 50,51 (see FIG. 8A) configured to lift the wing during closing pivotal movement of the wing.
Nicholson fails to disclose the second element is a bracket.
Halvorson teaches of a similar device with a first bracket 381 and second bracket 380. (see FIGS. 23-25 and cols. 14 and 15)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to swap element 44 of the Nicholson second element with a second bracket, as taught in Halvorson, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve sliding engagement of the second bracket with the first bracket due to the similar shapes of the two brackets. Furthermore, it has been held that substituting equivalents known for the same purpose would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (see MPEP 2144.06 II) (claim 32)
Nicholson, as applied above, further discloses wherein at least one of the first bracket or the second bracket comprises the ramp. (see FIG. 8A; the first bracket comprises the ramp) (claim 33)
Nicholson, as applied above, further discloses a latch 40 operable to selectively retain the wing in the closed pivotal position. (see FIG. 7 and [0043]) (claim 35)
Nicholson, as applied above, further discloses wherein the latch is movable between a blocking position (illustrated in dashed lines in FIG. 7; see [0043]) in which the latch retains the wing in the closed pivotal position, and an unblocking position (illustrated in solid lines in FIG. 7; see [0043]) in which the latch does not retain the wing in the closed pivotal position; and wherein the latch is configured to permit the wing to move from the closed pivotal position toward an open pivotal position only when the breakaway sliding door assembly is in the closed linear position. (see FIG. 9 and [0043]; note: FIG. 9 illustrates the door assembly in the closed linear position and only in this position does the latch 40 engage element 76 on the frame assembly allowing for the pivoting of the wing) (claim 36)
Nicholson, as applied above, further discloses a breakaway sliding door system comprising the breakaway sliding door assembly of claim 36 and further comprising a frame assembly 3,4,76 including the stationary rail 4 and a side jamb having a vertical orientation;
wherein the side jamb is configured to move the latch from the blocking position to the unblocking position as the breakaway sliding door assembly moves from the open linear position to the closed linear position. (see FIG. 9 and [0043]) (claim 37)
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicholson in view of Halvorson, as applied to claim 32 above, in further view of US 12397700 to Schultz.
Nicholson, as applied above, fails to disclose a support roller positioned on a bottom of the wing.
Schultz teaches of a support roller 120 positioned on a bottom of a wing 3 and configured to support the wing during pivotal movement of the wing. (see FIGS. 2 and 3 and col. 4)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the wing disclosed in Nicholson with the support roller taught in Schultz with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate and support pivoting of the wing. Furthermore, by combining Schultz with Nicholson, Nicholson, as applied above, further discloses wherein the ramp is configured to lift the wing during closing pivotal movement of the wing to thereby remove at least some weight of the wing from the roller. (claim 34)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-25, 28, 31, 38-41 and 43-47 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 30, 2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive with regard to claims 23 and 38.
Applicant’s remarks filed January 30, 2026 with regard to claim 32 has been considered and is not persuasive. More specifically, the Nicholson wing comprising a second element 44,46,48. And, as noted in applicant’s response, element 44 of the wing “slides up the ramp 50 and rests against the carrier 35 when the door is closed.” (see [0045] and FIG. 8A) Therefore, since at least element 44 is part of the wing and element 44 “slides up” during pivotal closing of the wing, Nicholson discloses “a ramp configured to lift the wing during closing pivotal movement of the wing,” as recited in claim 32.
Regarding applicant’s response regarding claim 34, the examiner respectfully disagrees and submits the applicant’s remarks amount to mere supposition.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Marcus Menezes/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634