DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Remarks
This is a reply to the application filed on 05/13/2025, in which, claims 2-21 remain pending in the present application with claims 2 and 12 being independent claims.
When making claim amendments, the applicant is encouraged to consider the references in their entireties, including those portions that have not been cited by the examiner and their equivalents as they may most broadly and appropriately apply to any particular anticipated claim amendments.
Abstract of The Disclosure
The abstract contains more than 150 words.
See 37 CFR 1.72 (b) and MPEP § 608.01(b). The abstract is a brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole, as concise as the disclosure permits, in a single paragraph preferably not exceeding 150 words. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochshorn et al. (US 20200126559 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Ochshorn”) in view of Coffman et al. (US 20200342472 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Coffman”).
Regarding claim 2, Ochshorn discloses a method comprising:
linking the transcription of the video in time to the video to yield a processed video (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0067]: “FIG. 5 shows an example of the master transcript 76 that includes a sequence of words 80 (e.g., Word 1, Word 2, Word 3, . . . Word N) each of which is associated with time coding data that enables other media recordings to be force-aligned to the master transcript. In some examples, each of the words in the master transcript is associated with a respective time interval 82 (e.g., {tIN,1, tOUT,1}, . . . {tIN,N, tOUT,N}) during which the corresponding word was spoken in the master audio track”);
presenting, on a user interface to the entity based on the processed video, the video and the transcription of the video,
wherein each word in the transcription of the video is selectable by the entity (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0056]: “the sequence of audio recordings can be specified by the order in which the source media files are listed in a graphical user interface. In some examples, the user optionally can specify for each audio recording a rank or other criterion that dictates a precedence for the automated inclusion of one audio recording over other audio recordings that overlap a given interval of the master audio track... In some examples, the source media selection criterion corresponds to selecting source media (e.g., audio and/or video) associated with a person who currently is speaking” and paragraph [0057]: “After the individual audio segments have been transcribed, the transcription service can return transcripts of the individual audio segments of the master audio track”);
receiving a selection of text by the entity from the transcription of the video (see Ochshorn, FIG. 16 and paragraph [0101]: “the user creates a highlight by selecting text 238 in the transcript 225 displayed in the transcript pane 224 of the media source highlighting interface 220);
based on the selection of the text, presenting a portion of the video at a time that is associated with when a participant in the video spoke the text (see Ochshorn, FIG. 22 and paragraph [0115]: “if closed captioning is enabled, closed captioning text 390 will appear in the playback pane 351 synchronized with the words and phrases in the corresponding audio track. In particular, the web-application performs burn-in captioning using forced-alignment timing data so that each word shows up on-screen at the exact moment when it is spoken”).
Regarding claim 2, Ochshorn discloses all the claimed limitations with the exception of receiving, from an entity, a request to organize a survey on a topic; based on the request, organizing a survey of a plurality of people; recording a video of the survey; and obtaining a transcription of the video.
Coffman from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses receiving, from an entity, a request to organize a survey on a topic (see Coffman, paragraph [0024]: “The media content evaluation system 102 can maintain a survey 112 associated with each topic or subject of the media content”);
based on the request, organizing a survey of a plurality of people (see Coffman, paragraph [0025]: “Once the survey 112 is received, the group of respondents 106 returns responses 114. The responses 114 include answers to the one or more questions included in the survey”);
recording a video of the survey (see Coffman, paragraph [0030]: “The media content 104 may include, for example, images, video, text, audio, and so forth”); and
obtaining a transcription of the video (see Coffman, paragraph [0030]: “The media content evaluation system 102 can be configured create a text transcription of video and audio content”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Coffman with the teachings as in Ochshorn. The motivation for doing so would ensure the system to have the ability to use media content evaluation system disclosed in Coffman to create a text transcription of video and audio content, to perform automated image recognition on video and image content to identify text, faces, and objects present in visual media, human tagging on the media content; to perform topic modeling based on object detected in the media content; to perform topic modeling on the bag of words in order to extract a topic of the media content as a feature; to maintain a survey associated with each topic or subject of the media content and to have a group of responders to answers questions include in the survey upon receiving the survey request thus presenting the video and the transcription of the video wherein each word in the transcription of the video is selectable by a user; receiving a request to organize a survey on a topic and organizing a survey of a plurality of people in order to provide users with tools to view and manipulate the processed video and obtain a highlight video of the relative portions of the survey video in a simplified manner so that users can easily obtain desirable information from the video.
Regarding claim 3, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Coffman as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 2, further comprising:
receiving, from the entity, an identification of a first segment of the video based on a first user interaction with the transcription of the video (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0107]: “the user performs an iterative process that enables the user to quickly and efficiently isolate all conversational segments relating to a theme of interest, and navigate exactly to the relevant part of the video. In such a process, the user starts off by searching for a word or phrase. The user examines the returned clips for relevance. The user then extends or broadens the search for related and suggested search terms. The user tags multiple clips with relevant themes of categories of interest”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 4, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Coffman as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 3, further comprising:
receiving, from the entity, an identification of a second segment of the video based on a second user interaction with the transcription of the video (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0107]: “the user performs an iterative process that enables the user to quickly and efficiently isolate all conversational segments relating to a theme of interest, and navigate exactly to the relevant part of the video. In such a process, the user starts off by searching for a word or phrase. The user examines the returned clips for relevance. The user then extends or broadens the search for related and suggested search terms. The user tags multiple clips with relevant themes of categories of interest”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 5, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Coffman as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 4, further comprising:
receiving a confirmation from the entity to generate a highlight video based on the first segment and the second segment (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0108]: “FIG. 20 shows an example of a media composition landing page 300 that enables a user to compose a new highlight reel or edit an existing highlight reel. A highlight reel is a multimedia file that composed of one or more media source files that can be concatenated together”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 6, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Coffman as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 5, further comprising:
based on the confirmation, generating the highlight video (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0107]: “the user is ready to compile a single video for export consisting of segments related to the theme of interest”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 7, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Coffman as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 6, wherein the highlight video comprises a concatenation of the first segment and the second segment (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0108]: “FIG. 20 shows an example of a media composition landing page 300 that enables a user to compose a new highlight reel or edit an existing highlight reel. A highlight reel is a multimedia file that composed of one or more media source files that can be concatenated together”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 8, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Coffman as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 7, further comprising:
receiving a first title associated with the first segment (see Ochshorn, FIG. 20 and paragraph [0110]: “The identifying information includes a caption 312 that describes aspects of the subject mater of the corresponding reels multimedia file (e.g., a title and a subtitle)”);
receiving a second title associated with the second segment (see Ochshorn, FIG. 20 and paragraph [0110]: “The identifying information includes a caption 312 that describes aspects of the subject mater of the corresponding reels multimedia file (e.g., a title and a subtitle)”; and
presenting the first title and the second title in the highlight video (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0113]: “The header bar 349 includes a title 380 for the current reel, an Add Title button 380 for editing the title 382 of each selected highlight in the current reel”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 9, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Coffman as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 8, further comprising:
generating, based on the transcription, a first title associated with the first segment (see Ochshorn, FIG. 22 and paragraph [0113]: “Add Title button 380 for editing the title 382 of each selected highlight in the current reel”);
generating, based on the transcription a second title associated with the second segment (see Ochshorn, FIG. 22 and paragraph [0113]: “Add Title button 380 for editing the title 382 of each selected highlight in the current reel”); and
presenting the first title and the second title in the highlight video (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0113]: “The header bar 349 includes a title 380 for the current reel, an Add Title button 380 for editing the title 382 of each selected highlight in the current reel”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 10, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Coffman as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the text is classified as being associated with a respective speaker (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0065]: “In the process of transcribing the audio segments 66, respective sections of the transcribed text are labeled with information identifying the respective speaker of each section of text”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 11, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Coffman as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 2, wherein presenting the portion of the video at the time that is associated with when the participant in the video spoke the text further comprises presenting the portion of the video up to a next speaker after the participant who spoke the text (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0082]: “the current media track is a video track of a first speaker and the replacement media track is a video track of a second speaker that is selected based on a speaker label associated with the master transcript”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 2 above.
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 2 above. In addition, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Coffman as discussed above also disclose a system comprising:
at least one processor (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0119]: “The processing unit 422 may include one or more data processors, each of which may be in the form of any one of various commercially available computer processors”); and
a computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0119]: “contains one or more computer-readable media disks that provide non-volatile or persistent storage for data, data structures and computer-executable instructions”).
Claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 3 above.
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 4 above.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 5 above.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 6 above.
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 7 above.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 8 above.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 9 above.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 10 above.
Claim 21 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 11 above.
Conclusion
NIENRU YANG
Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/NIENRU YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2484
/THAI Q TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2484