DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Remarks
This is a reply to the arguments filed on 04/30/2026, in which, no claims are amended. Claims 2-21 remain pending in the present application with claims 2 and 12 being independent claims.
When making claim amendments, the applicant is encouraged to consider the references in their entireties, including those portions that have not been cited by the examiner and their equivalents as they may most broadly and appropriately apply to any particular anticipated claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the contents of the Abstract that contains more than 150 words, Applicants have amended the Abstract to contain less than 150 words to meet the disclosure requirements.
Regarding the non-statutory double patenting rejection of claims 2 and 12, Applicant filed a terminal disclaimer on 02/16/2026 to overcome this rejection and the terminal disclaimer has been approved on 04/30/2026. Therefore, the non-statutory double patenting rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/30/2026 with respect to claims 2 and 12 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochshorn et al. (US 20200126559 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Ochshorn”) in view of Dusig et al. (US 20130018701 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Dusig”).
Regarding claim 2, Ochshorn discloses a method comprising:
obtaining a transcription of the video (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0065]: “the audio segments 66 are transcribed by a transcription service 67. A plurality of professional transcribers 68 typically work in parallel to transcribe the audio segments 60 that are divided from a single transcript”);
linking the transcription of the video in time to the video to yield a processed video (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0067]: “FIG. 5 shows an example of the master transcript 76 that includes a sequence of words 80 (e.g., Word 1, Word 2, Word 3, . . . Word N) each of which is associated with time coding data that enables other media recordings to be force-aligned to the master transcript. In some examples, each of the words in the master transcript is associated with a respective time interval 82 (e.g., {tIN,1, tOUT,1}, . . . {tIN,N, tOUT,N}) during which the corresponding word was spoken in the master audio track”);
presenting, on a user interface to the entity based on the processed video, the video and the transcription of the video, wherein each word in the transcription of the video is selectable by the entity (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0056]: “the sequence of audio recordings can be specified by the order in which the source media files are listed in a graphical user interface. In some examples, the user optionally can specify for each audio recording a rank or other criterion that dictates a precedence for the automated inclusion of one audio recording over other audio recordings that overlap a given interval of the master audio track... In some examples, the source media selection criterion corresponds to selecting source media (e.g., audio and/or video) associated with a person who currently is speaking” and paragraph [0057]: “After the individual audio segments have been transcribed, the transcription service can return transcripts of the individual audio segments of the master audio track”);
receiving a selection of text by the entity from the transcription of the video (see Ochshorn, FIG. 16 and paragraph [0101]: “the user creates a highlight by selecting text 238 in the transcript 225 displayed in the transcript pane 224 of the media source highlighting interface 220);
based on the selection of the text, presenting a portion of the video at a time that is associated with when a participant in the video spoke the text (see Ochshorn, FIG. 22 and paragraph [0115]: “if closed captioning is enabled, closed captioning text 390 will appear in the playback pane 351 synchronized with the words and phrases in the corresponding audio track. In particular, the web-application performs burn-in captioning using forced-alignment timing data so that each word shows up on-screen at the exact moment when it is spoken”).
Regarding claim 2, Ochshorn discloses all the claimed limitations with the exception of receiving, from an entity, a request to organize a survey on a topic; based on the request, organizing a survey of a plurality of people; and recording a video of the survey.
Dusig from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses receiving, from an entity, a request to organize a survey on a topic (see Dusig, paragraph [0123]: “The vendor, in some implementations, can be a third party that requests market research information from the market research application 1020. In one implementation, the vendor can interact with the market research application 1020 to configure an aspect of the market research application 1020. Configuring an aspect of the market research application 1020 can include indicating when and how many surveys a vendor would like transmitted to a user. In some implementations, the vendor can configure when, during the timeline of a transaction, to transmit a survey to the user”);
based on the request, organizing a survey of a plurality of people (see Dusig, paragraph [0124]: “the market research application 1020 can execute a survey generator 1025 that generates market research surveys. Surveys can be generated using vendor-specified information and guidelines. This information and guidelines can be any of the following: information about the vendor's products/services; guidelines that indicate what type of market research the vendor would like to perform; guidelines about types of questions to ask users or consumers; information about the vendor; information about a typical consumer; or any other relevant information or guideline that can be used to generate a survey”); and
recording a video of the survey (see Dusig, paragraph [0213]: “a response to a survey request may involve gathering data via a peripheral feature 2014 of the mobile computing device 2002. In some examples, the peripheral features 2014 may include a video recording feature”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Dusig with the teachings as in Ochshorn. The motivation for doing so would ensure the system and method disclosed in Dusig to receive from a vendor to request a market research survey; to execute a survey generator that generates market research surveys based on the vendor request; to gather survey responses via a peripheral feature of the mobile computing device wherein the peripheral features may include a video recording feature thus receiving a request to organize a survey on a topic and organizing a survey of a plurality of people in order to provide users with tools to request a survey so that users can easily obtain desirable information.
Regarding claim 3, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Dusig as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 2, further comprising:
receiving, from the entity, an identification of a first segment of the video based on a first user interaction with the transcription of the video (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0107]: “the user performs an iterative process that enables the user to quickly and efficiently isolate all conversational segments relating to a theme of interest, and navigate exactly to the relevant part of the video. In such a process, the user starts off by searching for a word or phrase. The user examines the returned clips for relevance. The user then extends or broadens the search for related and suggested search terms. The user tags multiple clips with relevant themes of categories of interest”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 4, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Dusig as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 3, further comprising:
receiving, from the entity, an identification of a second segment of the video based on a second user interaction with the transcription of the video (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0107]: “the user performs an iterative process that enables the user to quickly and efficiently isolate all conversational segments relating to a theme of interest, and navigate exactly to the relevant part of the video. In such a process, the user starts off by searching for a word or phrase. The user examines the returned clips for relevance. The user then extends or broadens the search for related and suggested search terms. The user tags multiple clips with relevant themes of categories of interest”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 5, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Dusig as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 4, further comprising:
receiving a confirmation from the entity to generate a highlight video based on the first segment and the second segment (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0108]: “FIG. 20 shows an example of a media composition landing page 300 that enables a user to compose a new highlight reel or edit an existing highlight reel. A highlight reel is a multimedia file that composed of one or more media source files that can be concatenated together”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 6, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Dusig as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 5, further comprising:
based on the confirmation, generating the highlight video (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0107]: “the user is ready to compile a single video for export consisting of segments related to the theme of interest”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 7, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Dusig as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 6, wherein the highlight video comprises a concatenation of the first segment and the second segment (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0108]: “FIG. 20 shows an example of a media composition landing page 300 that enables a user to compose a new highlight reel or edit an existing highlight reel. A highlight reel is a multimedia file that composed of one or more media source files that can be concatenated together”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 8, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Dusig as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 7, further comprising:
receiving a first title associated with the first segment (see Ochshorn, FIG. 20 and paragraph [0110]: “The identifying information includes a caption 312 that describes aspects of the subject mater of the corresponding reels multimedia file (e.g., a title and a subtitle)”);
receiving a second title associated with the second segment (see Ochshorn, FIG. 20 and paragraph [0110]: “The identifying information includes a caption 312 that describes aspects of the subject mater of the corresponding reels multimedia file (e.g., a title and a subtitle)”; and
presenting the first title and the second title in the highlight video (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0113]: “The header bar 349 includes a title 380 for the current reel, an Add Title button 380 for editing the title 382 of each selected highlight in the current reel”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 9, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Dusig as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 8, further comprising:
generating, based on the transcription, a first title associated with the first segment (see Ochshorn, FIG. 22 and paragraph [0113]: “Add Title button 380 for editing the title 382 of each selected highlight in the current reel”);
generating, based on the transcription a second title associated with the second segment (see Ochshorn, FIG. 22 and paragraph [0113]: “Add Title button 380 for editing the title 382 of each selected highlight in the current reel”); and
presenting the first title and the second title in the highlight video (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0113]: “The header bar 349 includes a title 380 for the current reel, an Add Title button 380 for editing the title 382 of each selected highlight in the current reel”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 10, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Dusig as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the text is classified as being associated with a respective speaker (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0065]: “In the process of transcribing the audio segments 66, respective sections of the transcribed text are labeled with information identifying the respective speaker of each section of text”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 11, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Dusig as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 2, wherein presenting the portion of the video at the time that is associated with when the participant in the video spoke the text further comprises presenting the portion of the video up to a next speaker after the participant who spoke the text (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0082]: “the current media track is a video track of a first speaker and the replacement media track is a video track of a second speaker that is selected based on a speaker label associated with the master transcript”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 2 above.
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 2 above. In addition, the combination teachings of Ochshorn and Dusig as discussed above also disclose a system comprising:
at least one processor (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0119]: “The processing unit 422 may include one or more data processors, each of which may be in the form of any one of various commercially available computer processors”); and
a computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor (see Ochshorn, paragraph [0119]: “contains one or more computer-readable media disks that provide non-volatile or persistent storage for data, data structures and computer-executable instructions”).
Claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 3 above.
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 4 above.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 5 above.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 6 above.
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 7 above.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 8 above.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 9 above.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 10 above.
Claim 21 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 11 above.
Conclusion
NIENRU YANG
Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/NIENRU YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2484
/THAI Q TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2484