Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/21/2025 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takagi et al. (US 20160179148 A1), hereinafter Takagi.
Regarding independent claim 10, Takagi discloses a wearable electronic device comprising:
a housing (32; Fig. 2; ¶0117) comprising at least one opening (Fig. 5; ¶0117-¶0118);
an optical unit (313; Figs. 3-5; ¶0118) positioned in the at least one opening (Figs. 3-5; ¶0118);
a display module (311; Fig. 5; ¶0109) configured to project, on the optical unit (313), image information (Fig. 6; ¶0114); and
a lens barrel (body tube; Fig. 5; ¶0114) disposed between the display module (311) and the optical unit (313) (Figs. 3-5; ¶0114), the lens barrel (body tube) comprising a lens unit (312; Fig. 6; ¶0109) disposed to face the display module (311) and configured to guide the image information generated by the display module (311) to the optical unit (313) (¶0114), and at least one hole formed on one surface of the lens barrel (body tube) (there necessarily must be some kind of hole on the front and back surfaces of the lens barrel in order for light to pass through it).
Regarding claim 15, Takagi discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 10, as set forth above. Takagi further discloses the housing (32) comprises an end piece (34; Figs. 3-5; ¶0105) extending in one direction from an end (Fig. 3), and wherein the display module (311) and the lens barrel (body tube) are disposed in an inner space of the end piece (35) (Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi (US 20160179148 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Takagi discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 10, as set forth above. Takagi further discloses wherein the lens barrel (body tube) is disposed adjacent to the display module (311) to comprise a display area (active area) (3112; Fig. 6; ¶0112) where the image information is displayed on the display module (311) (Fig. 6; ¶0112-¶0113). Takagi does not explicitly disclose the lens barrel is disposed on the display module.
However, it has been held that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device only involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Additionally, it has been held that making in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in multiple pieces involves only routine skill in the art. In re Larson 144 USPQ 347, 349, (CCPA 1965). One would be motivated to have the lens barrel be disposed on the display device for the purpose of projecting light from the display device onto the optical unit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takagi to incorporate the lens barrel being disposed on the display device for the purpose of projecting light from the display device onto the optical unit.
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi (US 20160179148 A1) in view of He et al. (US 20210341702 A1), hereinafter He.
Regarding independent claim 1, Takagi discloses a wearable electronic device comprising:
a housing (32; Fig. 2; ¶0117) comprising at least one opening (Fig. 5; ¶0117-¶0118);
an optical unit (313; Figs. 3-5; ¶0118) positioned in the at least one opening (Figs. 3-5; ¶0118);
a display module (311; Fig. 5; ¶0109) configured to project, on the optical unit (313), image information (Fig. 6; ¶0114);
a lens barrel (body tube; Fig. 5; ¶0114) comprising a lens unit (312; Fig. 6; ¶0109) disposed to face the display module (311) so as to guide, to the optical unit (313), the image information generated from the display module (311) (¶0114), wherein the lens barrel (body tube) is disposed between the optical unit (313) and the display module (311) (Fig. 5; ¶0114); and
a conductive member (5; Fig. 6; ¶0145) to be connected to the display module (311) (Fig. 6; ¶0145).
Takagi does not disclose the conductive member is disposed on one surface of the lens barrel and electrically connected to a power wire of the display module.
However, He teaches a similar device comprising a display module (17, 18, 19; Fig. 5c; ¶0094), a lens barrel (12; Fig. 5c; ¶0092) comprising a lens unit (13; Fig. 5c; ¶0092) disposed to face the display module (17, 18, 19) (Fig. 5c), and a conductive member (22; Fig. 5c; ¶0097) disposed on one surface of the lens barrel (12) to be electrically connected to a power wire (21; Fig. 5c; ¶0097) of the display module (17, 18) (Fig. 5c; ¶0098).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified Takagi to incorporate the conductive member being electrically connected to a power wire of the display module as taught by He for the purpose of forming a monitoring circuit (¶0096 of He).
Regarding claim 3, Takagi in view of He discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1, as set forth above. Takagi further discloses a conductive adhesive (¶0269) disposed between the conductive member (5) and a connection target (¶0269).
Takagi does not disclose the connection target is the power wire, however He already teaches the conductive member and the power wire being connected.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takagi in view of He to incorporate the conductive adhesive as taught by Takagi for the purpose of conducting heat from the display module (¶0269 of Takagi).
Regarding claim 4, Takagi in view of He discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1, as set forth above. Takagi further discloses a display area (active area) (3112; Fig. 6; ¶0112) where the image information is displayed on the display module (311) (Fig. 6; ¶0112-¶0113). Takagi does not disclose the lens barrel is directly disposed on the display module.
However, He further teaches the lens barrel (12) is disposed on the display module (17, 18, 19) to comprise a display area (active area) (18; Fig. 5c; ¶0093). It has been held that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device only involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Additionally, it has been held that making in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in multiple pieces involves only routine skill in the art. In re Larson 144 USPQ 347, 349, (CCPA 1965). One would be motivated to have the lens barrel be disposed on the display device for the purpose of projecting light from the display device onto the optical unit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takagi in view of He to incorporate the lens barrel being disposed on the display device as taught be He for the purpose of projecting light from the display device onto the optical unit.
Regarding claim 5, Takagi in view of He discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1, as set forth above. Takagi further discloses the lens barrel (body tube) comprises a front surface facing the optical unit (313) (right side of body tube in Fig. 5), a rear surface facing the display module (311) (left side of body tube in Fig. 5), and a side surface surrounding the front and rear surfaces (part around the lens unit 312; Fig. 5; ¶0114). Takagi does not disclose the conductive member is disposed on the side surface of the lens barrel.
However, He further teaches the lens barrel (12) comprises a front surface (upper part of 12 in Fig. 5c), a rear surface facing the display module (17, 18, 19) (lower part of 12 in Fig. 5c), and a side surface surrounding the front and rear surfaces (body of 12 in Fig. 5c), and wherein the conductive member (22) is disposed on the side surface of the lens barrel (12) (Fig. 5c). It has been held that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device only involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Additionally, it has been held that making in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in multiple pieces involves only routine skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified Takagi to incorporate the conductive member being disposed on the side surface of the lens barrel as taught by He for the purpose of forming a monitoring circuit (¶0096 of He).
Regarding claim 6, Takagi in view of He discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1, as set forth above. Takagi does not disclose the conductive member is electrically connected to ground of the display module.
However, He teaches an embodiment (Fig. 6c) with a conductive member (23; Fig. 6b; ¶0106) and a display module (17, 18, 19; Fig. 6b; ¶0094) wherein the conductive member (23) is electrically connected to ground (25; Fig. 6b; ¶0106) of the display module (17, 18, 19) (¶0106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takagi in view of He to incorporate the conductive member being electrically connected to ground as taught by He for the purpose of reducing damage by static electricity (¶0007 of He).
Regarding claim 7, Takagi in view of He discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1, as set forth above. Takagi does not disclose the conductive member has a greater width than the power wire of the display module.
However, He further teaches the conductive member (22) has a greater width than the power wire (21) of the display module (17, 18, 19) (Fig. 5c).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified Takagi to incorporate the conductive member having a greater width than the power wire as taught by He for the purpose of forming a monitoring circuit (¶0096 of He).
Regarding claim 8, Takagi in view of He discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1. Takagi further discloses the housing (32) comprises an end piece (34; Figs. 3-5; ¶0105) extending in one direction from an end (Fig. 3), and wherein the display module (311) and the lens barrel (body tube) are disposed in an inner space of the end piece (35) (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Takagi in view of He discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1, as set forth above. Takagi further discloses the lens unit (312) of the lens barrel (body tube) is a convex lens (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 16, Takagi discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 10, as set forth above. Takagi further discloses a conductive member (5; Fig. 6; ¶0145) to be connected to the display module (311) (Fig. 6; ¶0145). Takagi does not disclose the conductive member is disposed on one surface of the lens barrel and electrically connected to a power wire of the display module.
However, He teaches a similar device comprising a display module (17, 18, 19; Fig. 5c; ¶0094), a lens barrel (12; Fig. 5c; ¶0092) comprising a lens unit (13; Fig. 5c; ¶0092) disposed to face the display module (17, 18, 19) (Fig. 5c), and a conductive member (22; Fig. 5c; ¶0097) disposed on one surface of the lens barrel (12) to be electrically connected to a power wire (21; Fig. 5c; ¶0097) of the display module (17, 18) (Fig. 5c; ¶0098).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified Takagi to incorporate the conductive member being electrically connected to a power wire of the display module as taught by He for the purpose of forming a monitoring circuit (¶0096 of He).
Regarding claim 19, Takagi in view of He discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 16, as set forth above. Takagi does not disclose the conductive member is electrically connected to ground of the display module.
However, He teaches an embodiment (Fig. 6c) with a conductive member (23; Fig. 6b; ¶0106) and a display module (17, 18, 19; Fig. 6b; ¶0094) wherein the conductive member (23) is electrically connected to ground (25; Fig. 6b; ¶0106) of the display module (17, 18, 19) (¶0106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takagi in view of He to incorporate the conductive member being electrically connected to ground as taught by He for the purpose of reducing damage by static electricity (¶0007 of He).
Regarding claim 20, Takagi in view of He discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 16, as set forth above. Takagi does not disclose the conductive member has a greater width than the power wire of the display module.
However, He further teaches the conductive member (22) has a greater width than the power wire (21) of the display module (17, 18, 19) (Fig. 5c).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified Takagi to incorporate the conductive member having a greater width than the power wire as taught by He for the purpose of forming a monitoring circuit (¶0096 of He).
Claim(s) 2 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi (US 20160179148 A1) in view of He (US 20210341702 A1) and further in view of Huang et al. (US 20220357572 A1), hereinafter Huang.
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Takagi in view of He discloses the wearable electronic device of claims 1 and 16, as set forth above. Takagi does not disclose the conductive member is disposed on the one surface of the lens barrel facing the display module, and wherein the conductive member is in contact with the power wire.
However, He further teaches the conductive member (22) is in contact with the power wire (21) of the display module (18) (Fig. 5c; ¶0097).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified Takagi to incorporate the conductive member being in contact with the power wire of the display module as taught by He for the purpose of forming a monitoring circuit (¶0096 of He).
He does not disclose the conductive member is disposed on the one surface of the lens barrel facing the display module.
However, Huang teaches a similar device comprising a power supply device (Fig. 11; ¶0196), lens barrel (21; Fig. 11; ¶0210) comprising a lens unit (10; Fig. 11; ¶0143) disposed to face the power supply device (Fig. 11; ¶0196), a conductive member (40; Fig. 11; ¶0196) disposed on one surface of the lens barrel (21) to be electrically connected to a power wire (50; Fig. 11; ¶0196) of the power supply device (Fig. 11; ¶0196), and further wherein the conductive member (40) is disposed on the one surface of the lens barrel (21) facing the power supply device (Fig. 11; ¶0196). It has been held that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device only involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takagi in view of He to incorporate the conductive member being on an inside surface of the lens barrel as taught by Huang, thus being disposed on the one surface of the lens barrel facing the display module, for the purpose of smoothly supplying electric power to the conductive member (¶0200 of Huang).
Regarding claim 18, Takagi in view of He and further in view of Huang discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 17, as set forth above. Takagi further discloses a conductive adhesive (¶0269) disposed between the conductive member (5) and a connection target (¶0269).
Takagi does not disclose the connection target is the power wire, however He already teaches the conductive member and the power wire being connected. Further, Huang also teaches a conductive adhesive member (60; Fig. 15C; ¶0222) disposed between the conductive member (40) and the power wire (50) of the power supply device (Figs. 11, 15C; ¶0222).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takagi in view of He to incorporate the conductive adhesive as taught by Takagi for the purpose of conducting heat from the display module (¶0269 of Takagi).
Claim(s) 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi (US 20160179148 A1) in view of Tazoe (US 20120062790 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Takagi discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 10. Takagi further discloses the lens barrel (body tube) comprises a front surface facing the optical unit (313) (right side of body tube in Fig. 5), a rear surface facing the display module (311) (left side of body tube in Fig. 5), and a side surface surrounding the front and rear surfaces (part around the lens unit 312; Fig. 5; ¶0114). Takagi does not disclose the at least one hole of the lens barrel is formed on the side surface of the lens barrel.
However, Tazoe teaches a similar lens barrel (Fig. 4A) comprising a lens unit (34; Fig. 4A; ¶0060), the lens barrel (Fig. 4A) comprising a front surface (31; Fig. 4A; ¶0060), a rear surface (33; Fig. 4A; ¶0060), and a side surface (36 and outer edge of 31/33; Fig. 4A; ¶0060) surrounding the front and rear surfaces (Fig. 4A), and further comprising at least one hole (39; Figs. 4A-4B; ¶0060) formed on the side surface (36) of the lens barrel (Figs. 4A-4B; ¶0063).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takagi to incorporate the hole on the side surface of the lens barrel as taught by Tazoe for the purpose of preventing possible damage upon the rise of internal pressure by gas in the lens barrel during the manufacturing process (¶0009 of Tazoe).
Regarding claim 12, Takagi in view of Tazoe discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 11, as set forth above. Takagi does not disclose the at least one hole of the lens barrel has a porous material disposed therein.
However, Tazoe further teaches the at least one hole (39) of the lens barrel has a porous material (37; Fig. 4A; ¶0060) disposed therein (Fig. 4A; ¶0060).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takagi to incorporate the hole having a porous material disposed therein as taught by Tazoe for the purpose of preventing possible damage upon the rise of internal pressure by gas in the lens barrel during the manufacturing process (¶0009 of Tazoe).
Regarding claim 13, Takagi discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 10, as set forth above. Takagi does not disclose a blocking member disposed on one surface of the lens barrel and facing the at least one hole of the lens barrel.
However, Tazoe teaches a similar lens barrel (Fig. 4A) comprising a lens unit (34; Fig. 4A; ¶0060), the lens barrel (Fig. 4A) comprising a front surface (31; Fig. 4A; ¶0060), a rear surface (33; Fig. 4A; ¶0060), and a side surface (36 and outer edge of 31/33; Fig. 4A; ¶0060) surrounding the front and rear surfaces (Fig. 4A), and further comprising at least one hole (39; Figs. 4A-4B; ¶0060) formed on one surface (36) of the lens barrel (Figs. 4A-4B; ¶0063), and further comprising a blocking member (37; Fig. 4A; ¶0060) disposed on one surface (36) of the lens barrel and facing the at least one hole (39) of the lens barrel (Fig. 4A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takagi to incorporate the hole on the side surface of the lens barrel as taught by Tazoe for the purpose of preventing invasion of foreign articles into the lens barrel (¶0006 of Tazoe).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sauer et al. (US 20220089102 A1), Rakalowski et al. (US 20200379206 A1), Liu et al. (US 20200314311 A1), and Jao (US 20070237519 A1) disclose similar lens barrels comprising a conductive member connected to a wire. Riel et al. (US 20160306265 A1) and Peng et al. (US 9154670 B1) disclose similar lens barrels comprising a hole in a side surface.
/NATASHA NIGAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 August 31st, 2026
/George G. King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872