DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to the Amendment filed August 21, 2026. Claims 1 and 6 are amended. Claims 1-10 are pending and have been examined in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Specifically, claims 1-10 are directed toward at least one abstract idea without significantly more. In accordance with MPEP § 2106, the rationale for this determination is explained below.
Representative claim 1 is directed towards a method, claim 6 is directed towards a non-transitory medium, which are statutory categories of invention.
Although, claim 1 is directed toward a statutory category of invention, the claim appears to be directed toward a judicial exception namely an abstract idea. The limitations that set forth the abstract idea recites: comprising: an add-on object configured to be installed on a user's computing system, run a spreadsheet application, the add-on object configured to be integrated with the spreadsheet application, the add-on object configured to communicate with at least one eCommerce platform, the add-on object configured to enable the user to manage using the spreadsheet application an advertising campaign within the at least one eCommerce platform, the add-on object further configured to write data edited in the spreadsheet application back in real time as the user edits the data. These limitations, comprise commercial interactions including, advertising, marketing or sales activities and business relations, as well as managing personal behavior including following rules or instructions. As such, the limitations are directed towards the abstract grouping of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) II).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed as a whole, under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (see MPEP 2106.04(d)), the additional elements provided by the claim amount to merely using a computer as a tool to apply an abstract idea, or instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. In particular the claim recites the additional elements: the computing system comprising at least one processor and a display, the at least one processor configured to, over a network, to the at least one eCommerce platform, which are recited at a high level of generality and are the mere use of a computer as a tool to perform the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Simply applying the abstract idea by a computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), the claim does not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), the claim does not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and the claim does not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Therefore, the claim does not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor does it effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claim is directed to abstract ideas.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the claim recites the additional elements of a processor, a display, a network, and ecommerce platform, which do not constitute significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment1. Viewing these limitations as a combination, the additional elements amount to no more than merely applying the exception using generic computer components, executing basic functions of a computer. Merely applying an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, the limitations of the claim as a whole, when viewed individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
A review of dependent claims 2-5, likewise, do not recite any limitations that would remedy the deficiencies outlined above. The claims only further add to the abstract idea, with no elements which integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or constitute significantly more. Thus, while they may slightly narrow the abstract idea by further describing it, they do not make it less abstract and are rejected accordingly. Further still, claims 6-10 suffer from substantially the same deficiencies as outlined with respect to claims 1-5 and are also rejected accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malhotra (US Publication 2007/0100789) in view of McColl (US Publication 2011/0016379).
Regarding Claims 1 and-6, Malhotra teaches, system and non-transitory medium, comprising:
an add-on object configured to be installed on a user's computing system, the computing system comprising at least one processor and a display, the at least one processor configured to run a spreadsheet application, the add-on object configured to be integrated with the spreadsheet application, the add-on object configured to communicate over a network with at least one eCommerce platform, the add-on object configured to enable the user to manage using the spreadsheet application an advertising campaign within the at least one eCommerce platform, Malhotra [0002: businesses are relying on the Internet as their sole or primary marketing and advertising conduit; commonplace for online businesses (ecommerce) to work with search engines in an effort to direct search engine users to their businesses; 0023: plug-in module may be added to a conventional spreadsheet, where the plug-in module interfaces with a bid management system and/or web analytics tool; 0025: bulk keyword import/export module serves as a plug-in to a spreadsheet application. However, those skilled in the art will note that in one or more other embodiments, the bulk keyword import/export module may serve as a plug-in for a different document format; 0007: the spreadsheet application is arranged to operate on a file having a collection of keywords for Internet advertising];
additionally and/or alternatively McColl discloses, at least one eCommerce platform, the add-on object configured to enable the user to manage using the spreadsheet application an advertising campaign within the at least one eCommerce platform; McColl [0014: list of specific application areas that may involve stream processing, although it is by no means a complete list: 0015: Business (Mobile Advertising, Marketing Intelligence, Personalized Advertising); 0016: Web and Telecommunications (Marketplaces, Online Games, Social Networks)];
Malhotra does not specifically disclose, the add-on object further configured to write data edited in the spreadsheet application back to the at least one eCommerce platform in real time as the user edits the data. This is disclosed by McColl [0052: the Excel Extensibility framework provided by the Microsoft IDTExtensibility2 interface enables seamless integration of third party extensions to Excel as plug-ins; 0056: Cloudscale Stream Processor (platform) can be used to process live time-ordered data streams, stored time-ordered data streams, and unordered tables of data; 0059: enables users to harness the powerful built-in capabilities of Excel (or another spreadsheet application) in order to coordinate, synchronize and correlate the processing of any number of stream processors (e.g., CSPs); enables users to carry out powerful real-time, highly parallel data processing from a single spreadsheet; 0121: the Cloudscale plug-in uses the Excel Object Model to read and write to cells in the Excel spreadsheet. Internally the plug-in maintains the state of the Cloudscale computation and manages the interactions with the various CSPs (platforms) using standard networking protocols; user interacts with the CSPs by making changes to the worksheets known by the plug-in to contain the various CSP specifications].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Malhotra with the teachings from McColl with the motivation to enables users to harness the built-in capabilities of existing spreadsheet programs in order to coordinate, synchronize and correlate the processing of any number of stream processors in order to carry out powerful real-time, highly parallel data processing from within a single spreadsheet. McColl [0026].
Regarding Claims 2 and 7, Malhotra discloses, further comprising a server intermediate and in signal communication with the add-on object and at least one eCommerce platform. Malhotra [0032: spreadsheet application after keywords have been imported according to the selections shown in FIG. 5. As can be seen in FIG. 7, the keywords are organized by columns entitled, for example, Campaign Name, Campaign Budget, Campaign Geographical (Geo) Target, Campaign Language, Campaign Status, and Content Network].
Regarding Claim 3, Malhotra discloses, wherein the server is configured to provide the add-on object to the user's computing system to enable integration of the add-on object with the spreadsheet application. Malhotra [0037: integration between the spreadsheet application and the web analytics tool may be enhanced and additional functionality may be added to the toolbar; 0024: the plug-in module may interface with a bid management system such as, for example, SearchCenter by Omniture, Inc. Further, such a bid management system may interface with a web analytics tool such as, for example, SiteCatalyst by Omniture, Inc].
Regarding Claims 4 and 9, Malhotra discloses, wherein the add-on object is configured to enable data in the spreadsheet to be synchronized with the at least one eCommerce platform at the same time that the user is editing the data. Malhotra [0024: the plug-in module may interface with a bid management system such as, for example, SearchCenter by Omniture, Inc. Further, such a bid management system may interface with a web analytics tool such as, for example, SiteCatalyst by Omniture, Inc].
Regarding Claims 5 and 10, Malhotra discloses, wherein the add-on object is configured to enable the user to alter parameters of an advertising campaign presented on the at least one eCommerce platform. Malhotra [0033: after keywords have been imported to the spreadsheet application, the user may make changes to the keywords and attendant attributes; 0006: plug-in module arranged to at least one of automatically export at least a portion of the collection of keywords from the spreadsheet application to the bid management system and import at least a portion of the collection of keywords to the spreadsheet application from the bid management system].
Regarding Claim 8, Malhotra discloses, wherein the one or more processing devices are configured to communicate with the at least one eCommerce platform via marketplace ad application program interfaces provided by respective ones of the at least one eCommerce Platform. Malhotra [0026: spreadsheet application maintains a collection of keywords for the user, and the bid management system relies on all or part of this collection when purchasing or pricing keywords. The bid management system is operatively connected to a search engine and communicates with the search engine for the placement of keywords, transfer of advertising content].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's filed arguments have been fully considered but have not been found persuasive.
A. Regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection Applicant submits that the claims are not directed to advertising or to a commercial interaction. They are directed to a particular technological tool: an add-on object that is installed on a computing system, integrated with a spreadsheet application running on that system, and configured to communicate over a network with an eCommerce platform so as to manage an advertising campaign within that platform from within the spreadsheet. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims are directed to the abstract grouping of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, because they entail commercial interactions including, advertising, marketing or sales activities and business relations, as well as managing personal behavior (enabling user to manage advertising campaign and edit spreadsheets).
Using concrete software components to apply the abstract idea is not sufficient to move the claims from the sphere of the abstract idea, neither does limiting the abstract idea to an eCommerce platform. See at least, TLI Communications LLC v. AV Automotive LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (“It is well-settled that mere recitation of concrete, tangible components is insufficient to confer patent eligibility to an otherwise abstract idea”). Unlike Enfish, this does not provide an improvement to, for instance, a network, an add-on, a computer platform or any technology.
Applicant argues that the claims integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s independent claim provides as additional element(s) a processor, display, an add-on object, computer network, an ecommerce platform, which amounts to merely applying the abstract idea via computer components and linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. That the invention solves the problem of a manual process that “takes a user too much time in exporting, organizing, filtering, uploading … new data back to the eCommerce platform” solves an entrepreneurial problem rather than a technological one. Thus, in contrast to DDR, Applicant’s proffered improvement essentially addresses the abstract idea and not a technology.
Applicant submits that as an ordered combination, the add-on object integrated within the spreadsheet application, communicating over a network with an eCommerce platform, and writing edited data back to that platform in real time, is a non-conventional and non-generic arrangement that does more than recite generic computer components performing generic functions. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims provide for automating the manual transfer of data from a spreadsheet over a network to an ecommerce platform, which does not amount significantly more than the abstract idea. In BASCOM, the court agreed that the concept of filtering content was an abstract idea; however, the claims were found to be significantly more since they did not merely recite the abstract idea along with the requirement to perform it on the Internet, or on a set of generic computer components. The inventive concept was found in the non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of known, conventional pieces, because although, filtering content on the Internet was already a known concept, the patent described how its particular arrangement of elements was a technical improvement over prior art ways of filtering content. Thus, like BASCOM, Applicant’s claims are directed to an abstract concept but unlike BASCOM, they do not improve any technology neither are they unconventional. (See 101 analysis above). Moreover, Applicant’s specification does not provide any evidence that describes a technical solution to any technical problem. Merely applying the abstract idea via computer components does not amount to significantly more. See TLI at 1748 (mere recitation of concrete or tangible components is not an inventive concept).
As such, the claims, in view of Alice, do not connote an improvement to another technology or technical field; the claims do not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer itself; and the claims do not move beyond a general link of the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection is maintained.
B. Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
a) Clark et al. (U.S. Pub 2006/0112123) discloses spreadsheet user-interfaced business data visualization and publishing system
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E CARVALHO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622
1 See, Alice Corp. Pty Ltd. v. CLS Bank lnt'l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2360 (2014) (noting that none of the hardware recited “offers a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking ‘the use of the [method] to a particular technological environment,’ that is, implementation via computers” (citing Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 610-11 (2010))).