Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-11, 13-15, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lancaster (GB 771824 A) in view of Wilson (US 3,408,098).
In regard to claim 1, Lancaster discloses a tubing junction assembly (Fig. 1 shows a tubing junction assembly) comprising:
a body (Fig. 1, member 13 defines a body) including a body head portion (See image below, indicated head portion defines a body head portion) defining a body proximal end portion (See image below, the head portion of the body defines a proximal end portion), a body base portion (See image below, indicated base portion defines a body base portion) extending longitudinally from the body head portion (See image below, the body base portion extends from the body head portion similar to applicant’s invention), and defining a body distal end portion (See image below, the base portion defines a distal end portion opposite the body proximal end portion), a body outer surface (See image below, the body has at least one outer surface), and an intermediate portion (See image below) interposed between the body proximal end portion and the body distal end portion (See image below, the intermediate portion is interposed axially between the body proximal end portion and the body distal end portion), wherein the intermediate portion defines a lower surface of the body head portion (See image below, the intermediate portion defines a lower surface since it is a smaller section relative to the body head portion) and a first cross-sectional width of the body outer surface that tapers from the body head portion to the body base portion (See image below, the intermediate portion also defines a first cross-sectional width of the body outer surface that tapers from the body head portion to the body base portion); and
a collar couplable to the body (Fig. 1, part 21 defines a collar couplable to the body) and comprising a collar head portion (Fig. 1, flange 23 of 21 defines a collar head portion) with a collar head proximal end portion (Fig. 1, 23 has a proximal end portion in contact with the tubing 19) and a collar head distal end portion (Fig. 1, 23 has a distal end portion opposite the proximal end portion in contact with 29), a collar base portion extending longitudinally from the collar head portion (Fig. 1, the straight portion at 21 defines a collar base portion that extends longitudinally from 23), and a collar inner surface (Fig. 1, 21 has an inner surface defining a collar inner surface) that includes a second cross-sectional width that tapers from the collar head proximal end portion to the collar head distal end portion (Fig. 1, the collar inner surface from the collar head proximal end portion of 23 to the collar head distal end portion of 23 is tapered defining a second cross-sectional width),
wherein the body is configured to have a tubing sleeved over the body outer surface (Fig. 1, the body is configured to have a tubing 19 sleeved over the body outer surface as shown), the tubing having a tubing proximal end portion (Fig. 1, proximal end portion at 17), a tubing distal end portion (Fig. 1, 19 has at least an opposite end of the proximal end portion that defines a distal end portion), a tubing outer surface (Fig. 1, 19 is a tubing which has an outer surface), and a tubing inner surface (Fig. 1, 19 has an inner surface) defining a lumen extending from the tubing proximal end portion to the tubing distal end portion (Fig. 1, 19 is a tubing, therefore, the inner surface defines a lumen extending from the proximal end portion to the distal end portion),
wherein the tubing proximal end portion is stretched over at least the lower surface (Fig. 1, proximal end portion of 19 is stretched over at least the lower surface of the body head portion),
wherein the collar is couplable to the body by sleeving the collar inner surface over at least a portion of the tubing outer surface (See image below and Fig. 1, the collar inner surface of 21 is sleeved over at least a portion of the outer surface of 19) such that the tubing proximal end portion is axially compressed between the lower surface and the collar head proximal end portion (See image below and Fig. 1, the proximal end portion at 17 of the tubing 19 is axially compressed between the lower surface of the body head portion and the collar head proximal end portion as shown).
Lancaster does not expressly disclose the collar inner surface is smooth because the collar inner surface has gripping threads.
In the related field of pipe joints having a tube compressed between a collar and a body, Wilson teaches a collar having a collar inner surface that is smooth to compress a tube against a smooth outer surface of a body (Fig. 2, a collar at 1 has a smooth inner surface that compresses a tube 6 against a smooth outer surface 16 of a body at 16) in order to have at least the advantage of a reliable and efficient seal (Fig. 2 shows at least a similar connection to Lancaster except without threads in order to have a reliable and efficient seal).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the threaded collar inner surface of Lancaster for the smooth collar inner surface of Wilson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a reliable and efficient seal as taught by Wilson. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) with regard to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Also, see MPEP 2143(I)(G) with regard to a motivation to combine references may be implicit and when the ‘improvement’ is technology-independent and the combination of references results in a product or process that is more desirable, for example because it is stronger, cheaper, cleaner, faster, lighter, smaller, more durable, or more efficient. In this case, Wilson would reasonably suggest sealing a tube between a collar and a body can have the collar with a smooth inner surface in order to obtain a reliable seal without a need of a threaded surface or a non-smooth surface. Also, without the need of a threaded inner surface would allow for an easier to manufactured part such as eliminating the step of forming threads.
In regard to claim 2, Lancaster and Wilson disclose the tubing junction assembly of Claim 1, and Lancaster further discloses wherein the lumen of the tubing has a diameter approximately equal to a third cross-sectional width of the body outer surface at the body base portion in an unstretched state of the tubing such that an interference fit is formed between the tubing inner surface and the body (See image above for claim 1, a diameter of 19 is approximately equal to a third cross-sectional width of the body outer surface at the body base portion in an unstretched state of 19 such that an interference fit as shown is formed between the inner surface of 19 and the body 13 to cause a slight deformation to 19 in order to create a tight joint. On page 1, lines 74-94 discloses the interference fit causes a slight deformation of 19 against the threads of 21 in order to form a tight connection.).
In regard to claim 3, Lancaster and Wilson disclose the tubing junction assembly of Claim 2, and Lancaster further discloses wherein the collar inner surface at the collar base portion has a fourth cross-sectional width approximately equal to a sum of the third cross-sectional width and a thickness of the tubing sleeved over the body outer surface at the body base portion such that the tubing is radially compressed by the collar (Fig. 1, the inner surface at the base portion of 21 has a fourth cross-sectional width approximately equal to a sum of the third cross-sectional width and a thickness of the tubing sleeved over the outer surface of the body at the body base portion because the collar base portion of 21 fits over both 19 and the base portion of the body to radially compress 19 similar to applicant’s invention).
In regard to claim 4, Lancaster and Wilson disclose the tubing junction assembly of Claim 1, and Lancaster further discloses wherein the second cross-sectional width is approximately equal to the first cross-sectional width such that the tubing proximal end portion is compressed by the collar (See image above for claim 1 and Fig. 1, the second cross-sectional width is approximately equal to the first cross-sectional width such that the tubing proximal end portion is compressed by the collar 21. The first and second cross-sectional widths are approximately equal enough to fit and compress the tubing 19 similar to applicant’s invention.).
In regard to claim 5, Lancaster and Wilson disclose the tubing junction assembly of Claim 1, and Lancaster further discloses wherein the tubing proximal end portion forms at least a flared shape (Fig. 1, at 17 of 19 forms at least a flared shape) corresponding to a shape of the body outer surface at the intermediate portion (Fig. 1 and see image above for claim 1, the flared shape of 19 at 17 corresponds to a shape of the intermediate portion as shown).
In regard to claim 6, Lancaster and Wilson disclose the tubing junction assembly of Claim 5, and Lancaster further discloses wherein the tubing proximal end portion forms a fifth cross-sectional width that tapers from the body head portion to the body base portion (See image above for claim 1 and Fig. 1, the tubing proximal end portion at 17 of 19 forms a fifth cross-sectional width that tapers from the head portion of the body to the base portion of the body).
In regard to claim 9, Lancaster and Wilson disclose the tubing junction assembly of Claim 1, and Lancaster further discloses wherein the collar head proximal end portion is configured to be ultrasonically welded to the lower surface (Fig. 1, the collar head proximal end portion of 23 is configured to be ultrasonically welded to the lower surface of the head portion of 13 similar to the applicant’s invention. See note below.).
It is noted that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647. See MPEP § 2114. In this case, the recitation “configured to be ultrasonically welded” is a functional recitation that does not structurally differentiate the claimed proximal end portion of the head portion of the collar and the lower surface of the head portion of the body to Lancaster’s proximal end portion of the head portion of the collar and the lower surface of the head portion of the body. Therefore, the proximal end portion of the head portion of the collar of Lancaster is configured to be ultrasonically welded to the lower surface of the head portion of the body in the same manner as applicant’s claimed invention.
In regard to claim 10, Lancaster and Wilson disclose the tubing junction assembly of Claim 1, and Lancaster further discloses wherein the tubing comprises a chemical-inert, solvent-inert or adhesive-inert tubing (Fig. 1 and on page 1, lines 58-67 discloses 19 can be made of polyethylene which is at least a chemical-inert, solvent-inert or adhesive-inert material since it is a durable plastic that has chemical resistance).
In regard to claim 11, Lancaster and Wilson disclose the tubing junction assembly of Claim 1, and Lancaster further discloses wherein the tubing comprises a non-polyvinyl chloride tubing (See claim 10 above, the tubing is non-polyvinyl chloride tubing such as polyethylene).
In regard to claim 13, Lancaster discloses a method of forming a tubing junction assembly (Fig. 1 shows a tubing junction assembly), the method comprising:
providing a body including body a head portion defining a body proximal end portion, a body base portion extending longitudinally from the body head portion and defining a body distal end portion, a body outer surface and an intermediate portion interposed between the body proximal end portion and the body distal end portion, wherein the intermediate portion defines a lower surface of the body head portion and a first cross-sectional width of the body outer surface that tapers from the body head portion to the body base portion (See claim 1 above that requires the same limitation of “providing a body…to the body base portion”);
sleeving a tubing over the body outer surface and stretching a tubing proximal end portion over the lower surface (See claim 1 above that requires the same limitation of “sleeving a tubing…the lower surface”);
sleeving a collar over the tubing and body such that the tubing is interposed between a smooth inner surface of the collar and the body outer surface, and the tubing proximal end portion is axially compressed between the lower surface and a proximal end portion of a head portion of the collar (See claim 1 above that requires the same limitation of “sleeving a collar…of the collar” and with regard to Lancaster in view of Wilson about a smooth inner surface).
In regard to claim 14, Lancaster and Wilson disclose the method of Claim 13, and Lancaster further discloses wherein sleeving the tubing over the body outer surface comprises sleeving the tubing over the body outer surface with an interference fit (See claim 2 above for the same reasons with regard to forming an interference fit), and sleeving the collar over the tubing comprises press-fitting the collar over at least a portion of the tubing (Fig. 1, 21 is sleeved over 19 and at least press-fitted over a portion of 19 by the internal surface of 21 in order to form a tight connection over a portion of the outer surface of 19 and also press-fitted over the proximal end portion at 17 by the nut 25).
In regard to claim 15, Lancaster and Wilson disclose the method of Claim 13, and Lancaster further discloses comprising connecting the lower surface to the proximal end portion of the head portion of the collar (Fig. 1, the proximal end portion of 23 is connected to the lower surface of the head portion of the body).
In regard to claim 19, Lancaster and Wilson disclose the method of Claim 13, and Lancaster further discloses wherein sleeving the tubing over the body outer surface comprises sleeving at least one of a chemical-inert, solvent-inert or adhesive-inert tubing over the body outer surface (See claim 10 above for the same reasons).
In regard to claim 20, Lancaster and Wilson disclose the method of Claim 13, and Lancaster further discloses wherein sleeving the collar over the tubing comprising radially compressing the tubing (Fig. 1, 21 is sleeved over 19 and bites into the outer surface of 19 which radially compresses 19. This allows a tight and compressed fit of 19 between 21 and the base portion of 13.).
In regard to claim 21, Lancaster and Wilson disclose the tubing junction assembly of Claim 1, wherein the body outer surface is smooth (See claim 1 above for the same reasons to combine Lancaster and Wilson and that Wilson discloses a smooth body outer surface).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lancaster (GB 771824 A) in view of Wilson (US 3,408,098) and further in view of Patzer (US 5,578,059).
In regard to claim 7, Lancaster and Wilson disclose the tubing junction assembly of Claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the collar head proximal end portion is solvent bonded to the lower surface.
In the related field of pipe couplings, Patzer teaches pipe components that are frictionally fitted (Fig. 1, pipe components 17, 18, and 20 are coupled together and in 2:55-67 discloses the pipe components 17, 18, and 20 can be frictionally fitted) can be mechanically equivalently bonded together by solvent bonding (In 2:55-67 discloses 17, 18, and 20 can also mechanically equivalently bonded together by solvent bonding, UV adhesive, ultrasonic welding, or snap-fitted together) in order to have at least the advantage of a known reliable coupling connection that is mechanically equivalent to other known types of coupling connections between pipe components.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connection between the collar head proximal end portion and the lower surface of the head portion of the body of Lancaster in view of Wilson to be solvent bonded with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a known reliable coupling connection as taught by Patzer. Additionally, solvent bonding is a known method of joining that provides advantages of at least a good process to employ to seal edges as disclosed at https://radiofrequencywelding.com/benefits-of-solvent-bonding/.
In regard to claim 16, Lancaster and Wilson disclose the tubing junction assembly of Claim 15, and Lancaster in view of Wilson and Patzer disclose wherein connecting the lower surface of the head portion of the body to the proximal end portion of the of the head portion of the collar comprises any of solvent bonding and ultraviolet adhesive bonding the lower surface of the head portion of the body to the proximal end portion of the head portion of the collar (See claim 7 above for the same reasons to combine Lancaster, Wilson, and Patzer to disclose solvent bonding).
Claims 8 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lancaster (GB 771824 A) in view of Wilson (US 3,408,098) and further in view of Davidson et al. (US 2021/0138214 A1, hereinafter “Davidson”).
In regard to claims 8 and 16-17, Lancaster and Wilson disclose the tubing junction assembly of Claim 1 and the method of Claims 13 and 15, but do not expressly disclose wherein the collar head proximal end portion is ultraviolet adhesive bonded or ultrasonically welded to the lower surface of the head portion of the body.
In the related field of pipe couplings, Davidson teaches pipe components can be suitably coupled together by ultraviolet adhesive bonding, ultrasonically welding, snap-fitting, or threading (Fig. 4, coupling between 20 and 50 and in [0081] and [0106] discloses suitable coupling arrangements can include adhesive, welding, ultrasonic welding, UV glue, interference fit, mechanical interlock, threaded engagement, snap fit engagement, or fasteners).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connection between the proximal end portion of the head portion of the collar and the lower surface of the head portion of the body of Lancaster in view of Wilson to be ultraviolet adhesive bonded or ultrasonically welded with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a known reliable and suitable coupling connection as taught by Davidson.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lancaster (GB 771824 A) in view of Wilson (US 3,408,098) and further in view of Blake et al. (US 2017/0138518 A1, hereinafter “Blake”).
Lancaster and Wilson disclose the tubing junction assembly of Claim 10, but do not expressly disclose wherein the tubing comprises a thermoplastic elastomer tubing.
In the related field of pipe couplings, Blake teaches a tubing (Fig. 2, tubing 2 which similarly to Lancaster and the applicant’s invention is interference fitted) can be made of silicone or thermoplastic elastomer in order to have at least the advantage of suitable flexibility and a suitable material for interference fitting (In [0004] discloses tubing 2 can be made of silicone or thermoplastic elastomer which provides at least suitable flexibility and suitability for engaging an interference fit)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the tubing of Lancaster in view of Wilson to be made of thermoplastic elastomer with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of suitable flexibility and a suitable material for interference fitting as taught by Blake.
Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the tubing of Lancaster to be made of a known material such as thermoplastic elastomer to have at least the advantage of ease of manufacturing and good elasticity as disclosed at https://www.xometry.com/resources/materials/tpe-vs-silicone/.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/23/2026 have been fully considered with respect to claims 1-17 and 19-21 but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same reference applied in the prior rejection of record for all teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See the updated rejection above that includes the prior art Wilson that teaches a similar type of connection to Lancaster and applicant’s invention that has a smooth inner collar surface and a smooth body outer surface in order to seal against a compressed tube. Also, see Bloom (US 3,269,756), Romanelli (US 4,029,345), and Bjalme et al. (US 3,710,428) of prior arts not relied upon listed in the IDS filed on 04/04/2025 that also show a similar type of connection to that of Wilson and applicant’s invention having at least a smooth inner collar surface. Therefore, compressing a tube to form a seal by way of a smooth inner collar surface does not appear to be new and inventive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679