1. In response to the Office Action dated on 05/05/2026, applicant(s) amend the application as follow:
Claims amended: 1
Claims canceled: 2-20
Claims amended: 21-25
Claims pending: 1 and 21-35
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3. Claims 1 and 21-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 (See MPEP 2106)
Claims 1-20 are directed to a method, a system and a tangible , non-transitory computer readable medium which belongs to a statutory class.
Step 2A, Prong One:
Claims recites “Determine that the plurality of LTS data segments is to be object stored; determine a number of LTS data segments of the plurality of LTS data segments to include in a data object; create a plurality of data objects for object storing the plurality of LTS data segments based on the number of LTS segments in a data object; generate configuration data that maps storage of the plurality of LTS data segments via the plurality of data objects within one or more other computing device clusters” are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation by Mental Process, but for the recitation of generic computer components. Nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the human mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation by mental process, but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two:
Claims recites computer devices and memory stored computer instructions executed by computing devices to perform the method These are generic computer components and program which use to perform abstract ideas.
The additional elements:
“Receive a dataset, wherein the dataset includes a plurality of rows of columnar data, wherein the columnar data includes a plurality of columns of data” is the process of receiving information for retrieval and storing date.
“Long term store (LTS) process the dataset to produce a plurality of LTS data segments” “Store the plurality of data objects and the configuration data within the one or more other computing device clusters” ” is the process of keeping the data, the metadata and operation data for retrieval and process.
The limitation is thus insignificant extra-solution activity. Limitations that the courts have found not to be enough to qualify as "significantly more” when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include: i. Adding the words "apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2360, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). 2106.05(g)--Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity.
At Step 2B:
The conclusions for the mere implementation using a computer are carried over and does not provide significantly more.
Looking at the claim as a whole does not change this conclusion and the claim is ineligible.
As to claims 21 and 29, the limitation:
“A data object of the plurality of data objects includes a set of LTS data segments of the plurality of LTS data segments, wherein the set of LTS segments includes one or more LTS segments” is an object of containing LTS segments which is known index to access to LTS data segments.
As to claim 22 and 30, the limitations:
“Determine that a first data object of the plurality of data objects stores a first number of LTS data segments of the plurality of LTS data segments” is a mental process.
“Determine that a second data object of the plurality of data objects stores a second number of LTS data segments, wherein the first number is equal to the second number” is a metal process.
As to claims 23 and 30, the limitations:
“Determine that a first data object of the plurality of data objects stores a first number of LTS data segments of the plurality of LTS data segments” is a mental process.
“Determine that a second data object of the plurality of data objects stores a second number of LTS data segments, wherein the first number is different from the second number” is a mental process.
As to claims 24 and 31, the limitations:
“Metadata regarding mapping between the data object and a location within the one or more other computing device clusters” is a linking process between object and location which using the metadata to retrieve information just like regular metadata table.
“Index information corresponding to LTS data segments of the plurality of LTS data segments stored in the data object, wherein the index information is used to do a first pass comparison with filtering parameter data during query execution” is the process of index different data segments and the indexing is a generic indexing concept.
“Filter information corresponding to LTS data segments of the plurality of LTS data segments stored in the data object, wherein the filter information is used to do a first pass comparison with the filtering parameter data during query execution” is the process of elimination of other data which does not meet the filtering information.
As to claims 25 and 32, the limitations:
“Partitioning the dataset into the plurality of LTS data segments based on a partitioning scheme” is the process of dividable portions for storing and is the concept of storing date.
As to claims 26 and 33, the limitations:
“Grouping LTS data segments of the plurality of LTS data segments into the data objects of the plurality of data objects based on at least one column value of the columnar data” is the process of sorting the data segments into an object such as index for easy storage and/or retrieval.
As to claims 27 and 35, the limitations:
Claims recite “determine that the second plurality of LTS data segments is to be object stored; determine a second number of LTS data segments of the plurality of LTS data segments to include in a second data object; create a second plurality of data objects for object storing the second plurality of LTS data; and generating second configuration data that maps storage of the second plurality of LTS data segments via the second plurality of data objects within the one or more other computing device clusters” are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation by Mental Process, but for the recitation of generic computer components. Nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the human mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation by mental process, but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
The additional elements:
“A second computing device cluster of the plurality of computing device clusters includes a second set of computing devices” is the computer component which allow the computer to store/retrieve data and like another generic functional computer.
“Receive a second dataset” is the process of receiving information for retrieval and storing date.
“Long term store (LTS) process the second dataset to produce a second plurality of LTS data segments” is the permanent storage for keeping the data storage for a long term solution.
“Store the second plurality of data objects and the second configuration data within the one or more other computing device clusters” is the process of keeping the data, the metadata and operation data for retrieval and process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1 and 21-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reza et al. (Patent No. US 11,093,453 B1) and further in view of Buckler et al. (Pub. No. US 2009/0063123 A1).
As to claim 1, (Currently amended) Reza discloses a database system comprises:
a plurality of computing device clusters, wherein a first computing device cluster of the plurality of computing device clusters includes a first set of computing devices (the persistent storage may be a distributed storage. In the other word, the persistent storage may include physical storage devices of multiple computing devices) (col. 3, lines 49-60) that is operably coupled to:
receive a dataset (data to-be stored in object storages), wherein the dataset includes a plurality of rows of columnar data, wherein the columnar data includes a plurality of columns of data (col. 3, lines 30-32);
long term store (LTS) process the dataset to produce a plurality of LTS data segments (retrieve number of segments) (col. 10, lines 15-17);
determine that the plurality of LTS data segments is to be object stored (the LTR data object A (174A) may be data structure for storing segments of data in LTR data objects) (col. 10, lines 21-24);
determine a number of LTS data segments of the plurality of LTS data segments to include in a data object (the LTR data object A (174A) may include an identifier (225) that uniquely, identifies the object and a data region (227) (col. 10, lines 20-27);
create a plurality of data objects for object storing the plurality of LTS data segments based on the number of LTS segments in a data object (the LTR data object A (174A) may include an identifier (225) that uniquely, identifies the object and a data region (227) (col. 10, lines 20-27);
Reza does not discloses generate configuration data that maps storage of the plurality of LTS data segments via the plurality of data objects within one or more other computing device clusters; and store the plurality of data objects and the configuration data within the one or more other computing device clusters (at step 20003, when the file does not already exist, storage system control program 1206 identifies the file system in which the file is stored by searching FS ID in file system table 13002 and determines whether the state 15006 of the file system is “UP”) (paragraph 0197).
However, Buckler discloses generate configuration data that maps storage of the plurality of LTS data segments via the plurality of data objects within one or more other computing device clusters; and store the plurality of data objects and the configuration data within the one or more other computing device clusters (at step 20003, when the file does not already exist, storage system control program 1206 identifies the file system in which the file is stored by searching FS ID in file system table 13002 and determines whether the state 15006 of the file system is “UP”) (paragraph 0197). This suggest the file system table 13002 map the data object with storage system in distributed system (nodes) and the file system 13002 include metadata which is configuration data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the instant application to modify teaching of Reza to include generate configuration data that maps storage of the plurality of LTS data segments via the plurality of data objects within one or more other computing device clusters; and store the plurality of data objects and the configuration data within the one or more other computing device clusters as disclosed Reza in order to retrieve stored data.
2-20. (Cancelled)
As to claim 21. (New) Reza discloses the database system of claim 1, wherein a data object of the plurality of data objects includes a set of LTS data segments of the plurality of LTS data segments, wherein the set of LTS segments includes one or more LTS segments stored (the LTR data object A (174A) may be data structure for storing segments of data in LTR data objects) (col. 10, lines 21-24).
As to claim 22. (New) Reza discloses the database system of claim 1, wherein the first set of computing devices is further operable to: determine that a first data object of the plurality of data objects stores a first number of LTS data segments of the plurality of LTS data segments; and determine that a second data object of the plurality of data objects stores a second number of LTS data segments, wherein the first number is equal to the second number (stored (the LTR data object A (174A) may be data structure for storing segments of data in LTR data objects) (col. 10, lines 21-24).
As to claim 23. (New) Raze discloses the database system of claim 1, wherein the first set of computing devices is further operable to:
determine that a first data object of the plurality of data objects stores a first number of LTS data segments of the plurality of LTS data segments (stored (the LTR data object A (174A) may be data structure for storing segments of data in LTR data objects) (col. 10, lines 21-24); and
determine that a second data object of the plurality of data objects stores a second number of LTS data segments, wherein the first number is different from the second number (multiple LTR data objects) (col. 10, lines 3537).
As to claim 24. (New) Meza discloses the database system of claim 1, wherein the configuration data further comprises: for a data object of the plurality of data objects:
metadata regarding mapping between the data object and a location within the one or more other computing device clusters (LTR meta-data object A (134 A) may be a data structure for storing…) (col. 9, lines 58-62); and
index information corresponding to LTS data segments of the plurality of LTS data segments stored in the data object, wherein the index information is used to do a first pass comparison with filtering parameter data during query execution (data objects is an index information) (col. 4, line 21); and
filter information corresponding to LTS data segments of the plurality of LTS data segments stored in the data object, wherein the filter information is used to do a first pass comparison with the filtering parameter data during query execution (deduplication is a filtering) (abstract).
As to claim 25. (New) Reza discloses the database system of claim 1, wherein the first set of computing devices is further operable LTS process the dataset by: partitioning the dataset into the plurality of LTS data segments based on a partitioning scheme (dividing the to-be stored data into segments) (col. 3, lines 30-36).
As to claim 26. (New) Reza discloses the database system of claim 1, wherein the first set of computing devices is further operable to create the plurality of data objects for object storing the plurality of LTS data segments by:
grouping LTS data segments of the plurality of LTS data segments into the data objects of the plurality of data objects based on at least one column value of the columnar data (LTR data objects data structure storing segments…) (col. 10, lines 21-22).
As to claim 27. (New) Reza discloses the database system of claim 1 further comprises:
a second computing device cluster of the plurality of computing device clusters includes a second set of computing devices that is operably coupled to:
receive a second dataset (data to-be stored in object storages) (col. 3, lines 30-32);
long term store (LTS) process the second dataset to produce a plurality of LTS data segments (retrieve number of segments) (col. 10, lines 15-17);
determine that the second plurality of LTS data segments is to be object stored (the LTR data object A (174A) may be data structure for storing segments of data in LTR data objects) (col. 10, lines 21-24);
determine a second number of LTS data segments of the plurality of LTS data segments to include in a second data object (the LTR data object A (174A) may include an identifier (225) that uniquely, identifies the object and a data region (227)) (col. 10, lines 20-27);
create a second plurality of data objects for object storing the second plurality of LTS data (the LTR data object A (174A) may include an identifier (225) that uniquely, identifies the object and a data region (227)) (col. 10, lines 20-27);
Reza does not disclose generating second configuration data that maps storage of the second plurality of LTS data segments via the second plurality of data objects within the one or more other computing device clusters; and store the second plurality of data objects and the second configuration data within the one or more other computing device clusters. However, Buckler discloses generating second configuration data that maps storage of the second plurality of LTS data segments via the second plurality of data objects within the one or more other computing device clusters; and store the second plurality of data objects and the second configuration data within the one or more other computing device clusters (at step 20003, when the file does not already exist, storage system control program 1206 identifies the file system in which the file is stored by searching FS ID in file system table 13002 and determines whether the state 15006 of the file system is “UP”) (paragraph 0197) (different metadata mapping different objects to different segments. This suggest the file system table 13002 map the data object with storage system in distributed system (nodes) and the file system 13002 include metadata which is configuration data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the instant application to modify teaching of Reza to include generating second configuration data that maps storage of the second plurality of LTS data segments via the second plurality of data objects within the one or more other computing device clusters; and store the second plurality of data objects and the second configuration data within the one or more other computing device clusters as disclosed Reza in order to retrieve stored data.
Claim 28 is rejected under same reason as to claim 1, Reza discloses a computer-readable memory (persistent storage) (col. 4, line 57) comprises: a first memory section that stores operational instructions (persistent storage may store computer instructions…) (col. 4, lines 57-58) that, when executed by a first set of computing devices of a first computing device cluster of a plurality of computing device clusters of a database system, causes the first set of computing devices (computing device) (col. 4, line 59-64).
Claim 29 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 21
Claim 30 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 22.
Claim 31 is rejected under the same reason a to claim 23.
Claim 32 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 24.
Claim 33 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 25.
Claim 34 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 26.
Claim 35 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 27.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BAOQUOC N. TO
Examiner
Art Unit 2154
/BAOQUOC N TO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154