DETAILED ACTION
Notice relating to Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s current claims (dated 01 SEPTEMBER 2026), have been entered. The status of the claims is as follows: Claims 1-28 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01 SEPTEMBER 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pages 9-12 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues (regarding at least claim 1) that the cited prior art combination of Jones (US 2018/0025405), Taylor (US 2021/0274260), and Wan (US 2006/0026628) does not disclose all the claimed limitations. Specifically, Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach or suggest "determining, based on the scene type of each segment, one or more second segments of the plurality of segments for outputting content associated with the one or more products", because even considering Jones and Wan in combination, the combination fails to teach "determining, based on the scene type of each segment, one or more second segments of the plurality of segments for outputting content associated with the one or more products." The Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is initially noted that Applicant appears to be arguing against the references individually when the combination is being used to fully address all of the currently presented limitations. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Furthermore, as was shown in the previous rejection, the primary reference of Jones was cited as disclosing (among other things) determining one or more products that correspond to one or more objects that are output in one or more first segments of the plurality of segments (see Jones; can determine products to recommend based on determined objects/items in the video; page 3, paragraphs 22-23, and page 5, paragraph 41, and again which includes sequences, i.e. at least a first, of frames from a content provider; page 1, paragraph 11, and page 3, paragraph 21, and page 7, paragraph 56); determining information of each segment of the plurality of segments (see Jones; can determine Q points in video, which relate to interesting portions, i.e. interesting being a broadly interpreted kind, for particular frames/segments; page 1, paragraph 11, and page 3, paragraph 21, and page 4, paragraphs 36 and 37); determining, based on the information of each segment, one or more segments of the plurality of segments for outputting content associated with the one or more products (see Jones; can determine products and output the recommended products with particular frame(s)/segment(s) based on the determination of at least one Q point relating to an interesting kind of the particular frame(s)/segment(s); page 4, paragraph 32, and page 6, paragraphs 51 and 53, and page 7, paragraph 55); and causing, based on the one or more segments and the one or more objects, content associated with at least one product of the one or more products to output during at least one segment of the one or more segments (see Jones; output the recommended products with particular frame(s)/segment(s); page 4, paragraph 32, and page 6, paragraphs 51 and 53, and page 7, paragraph 55, and Fig. 3A, elements 310 and 330). With Jones also being noted as disclosing video themes (see Jones; themes in the video can be relating to sports games or promotions, i.e. again broad kinds of content; page 5, paragraph 44), as well as displaying based on a next video frame (see Jones; can present information based on a next, i.e. second/other, video frame(s); page 6, paragraph 53, and page 7, paragraph 56), the secondary references of Taylor and Wan were brought in to cure any of the remaining deficiencies of Jones. That is, Taylor was brought in to explicitly disclose (among other things) a scene type, and the scene type (see Taylor; system can determine particular types of presented scenes, such as information in particular scenes, commercial scenes, and scenes of different categories; page 6, paragraph 40). With the already disclosed processing and determinations of Jones, as well as the disclosed themes, Taylor was being utilized to disclose how particular types of scenes could be detected/determined and utilized. Wan, was then brought in to explicitly disclose (among other things) one or more first segments of a plurality of segments (see Wan; includes at least a first, i.e. current, segment; page 6, paragraph 86); and determining based on a scene type, one or more second segments for outputting, and causing based on the one or more second segments, output during at least one second segment of the one or more second segments (see Wan; content can be inserted for output during a particular type of determined second segment, i.e. a calm segment, as compared to a prior/first segment with an action type; page 6, paragraphs 86-88, and wherein with high motion, i.e. action segment types, and crowd/substitution, i.e. slow/calm segment types; page 3, paragraph 43, and page 6, paragraph 88). That is, with Jones and Taylor already disclosing the majority of the claimed limitations relating to making determinations about products, scene types, and output of products at particular times, Wan was being utilized to disclose how particular scenes/portions in video could be determined to be appropriate for a particular output (i.e. such as the output already disclose by Jones in view of Taylor). Therefore, when taking the prior art combination of references together as a whole, a prima facie case of obviousness has been made, and all of Applicant’s claimed limitations are disclosed.
On pages 12-13 of Applicant's remarks, Applicant also argues that the motivation for the combination of the references is improper and is based on hindsight reasoning. The Examiner respectfully disagrees that the combination of references is improper. The Examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, as was shown in the previous office action, the secondary art of Taylor was being explicitly cited as disclosing certain limitations, and proper motivation to combine the references was given from the Taylor reference itself, i.e. " in order to provide an improved system and method for a media sharing and communication system, including a store section for shopping for products and listing products for sale, wherein the store section includes software that recognizes and tags items available to purchase in the media (see Taylor; page 1, paragraph 6)". Additionally, the prior art of Wan was also being explicitly cited as disclosing certain limitations, and proper motivation to combine the references was given from the Wan reference itself, i.e. “in order to provide an improved system and method for inserting additional content into a video segment of a video stream, the video segment comprising a series of video frames (see Wan; page 1, paragraph 10)”. Therefore, with the motivation not being based on improper hindsight reasoning, and when taking all the references together as a whole, all of Applicant's currently presented claim limitations have been disclosed, and a proper prima facie case of obviousness has been made.
Any of Applicant's additional remarks not explicitly addressed above are considered moot in view of the Examiner's above reply and/or the grounds citations being utilized in the office action below.
Applicant is suggested to provide more detail as to what they believe constitutes the true invention of the application. This could help distinguish over the prior art of record, alleviate misinterpretation issues, and serve to move prosecution forward on the application in a more expedited manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al., US 2018/0025405 in view of Taylor, US 2021/0274260 and further in view of Wan et al., US 2006/0026628.
Regarding claim 1, Jones discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device, a content item comprising a plurality of segments (receiving video including sequences of frames from at least a content provider; page 1, paragraph 11, and page 3, paragraph 21, and page 7, paragraph 56, and wherein with other device(s); page 7, paragraph 59);
determining one or more products that correspond to one or more objects that are output in one or more first segments of the plurality of segments (can determine products to recommend based on determined objects/items in the video; page 3, paragraphs 22-23, and page 5, paragraph 41, and again which includes sequences, i.e. at least a first, of frames from a content provider; page 1, paragraph 11, and page 3, paragraph 21, and page 7, paragraph 56);
determining information of each segment of the plurality of segments (can determine Q points in video, which relate to interesting portions, i.e. interesting being a broadly interpreted kind, for particular frames/segments; page 1, paragraph 11, and page 3, paragraph 21, and page 4, paragraphs 36 and 37);
determining, based on the information of each segment, one or more segments of the plurality of segments for outputting content associated with the one or more products (can determine products and output the recommended products with particular frame(s)/segment(s) based on the determination of at least one Q point relating to an interesting kind of the particular frame(s)/segment(s); page 4, paragraph 32, and page 6, paragraphs 51 and 53, and page 7, paragraph 55); and
causing, based on the one or more segments and the one or more objects, content associated with at least one product of the one or more products to output during at least one segment of the one or more segments (output the recommended products with particular frame(s)/segment(s); page 4, paragraph 32, and page 6, paragraphs 51 and 53, and page 7, paragraph 55, and Fig. 3A, elements 310 and 330).
While Jones does also disclose video themes (themes in the video can be relating to sports games or promotions, i.e. again broad kinds of content; page 5, paragraph 44), as well as displaying based on a next video frame (can present information based on a next, i.e. second/other, video frame(s); page 6, paragraph 53, and page 7, paragraph 56), Jones does not explicitly disclose a scene type, the scene type, and determining based on the scene type, one or more second segments for outputting, and causing based on the one or more second segments, output during at least one second segment of the one or more second segments.
In a related art, Taylor does disclose a scene type, and the scene type (system can determine particular types of presented scenes, such as information in particular scenes, commercial scenes, and scenes of different categories; page 6, paragraph 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Jones and Taylor by allowing specific segments of particular types to be determined in the video already being analyzed by Jones, in order to provide an improved system and method for a media sharing and communication system, including a store section for shopping for products and listing products for sale, wherein the store section includes software that recognizes and tags items available to purchase in the media (Taylor; page 1, paragraph 6).
Jones in view of Taylor does not explicitly disclose determining based on a scene type, one or more second segments for outputting, and causing based on the one or more second segments, output during at least one second segment of the one or more second segments.
In a related art, Wan does disclose one or more first segments of a plurality of segments (includes at least a first, i.e. current, segment; page 6, paragraph 86); and
determining based on a scene type, one or more second segments for outputting, and causing based on the one or more second segments, output during at least one second segment of the one or more second segments (content can be inserted for output during a particular type of determined second segment, i.e. a calm segment, as compared to a prior/first segment with an action type; page 6, paragraphs 86-88, and wherein with high motion, i.e. action segment types, and crowd/substitution, i.e. slow/calm segment types; page 3, paragraph 43, and page 6, paragraph 88).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Jones, Taylor, and Wan by allowing specific segments of particular types, such as those already disclosed in Jones in view of Taylor, to be determined for outputting content, in order to provide an improved system and method for inserting additional content into a video segment of a video stream, the video segment comprising a series of video frames (Wan; page 1, paragraph 10).
Regarding claim 2, Jones in view of Taylor and Wan discloses determining, based on accessing inventory data, one or more product catalogs (Jones; accessing information from an online system, i.e. inventory, including items provided by content providers and/or catalog(s); page 5, paragraph 41, and Taylor; located based on inventory and availability, i.e. catalog of inventory from particular website or store; page 5, paragraphs 31 and 33); and
determining that the one or more product catalogs include one or more products that correspond to the one or more objects that are output in the one or more first segments of the plurality of segments (Jones; can recommend the products based on the products catalog(s); page 5, paragraph 41, and again based on determined products to recommend based from the objects/items in the video; page 3, paragraphs 22-23, and page 5, paragraph 41, and again which includes sequences, i.e. at least a first, of frames from a content provider; page 1, paragraph 11, and page 3, paragraph 21, and page 7, paragraph 56, and Taylor; located based on inventory and availability, i.e. catalog of inventory from particular website or store; page 5, paragraphs 31 and 33).
Regarding claim 3, Jones in view of Taylor and Wan discloses the scene type comprises one or more of an advertisement scene, a calm scene, an action scene, or a slow scene (Jones; content relating to promotions, i.e. advertisements; page 5, paragraph 44, and Taylor; types of presented scenes, such as information in particular scenes, commercial scenes, and scenes of different categories such as sports, i.e. action; page 6, paragraph 40, and Wan; high motion, i.e. action segment types, and crowd/substitution, i.e. slow/calm segment types; page 3, paragraph 43, and page 6, paragraph 88).
Regarding claim 4, Jones in view of Taylor and Wan discloses causing, based on the one or more second segments and one or more parameters associated the one or more objects, content associated with the at least one product of the one or more products to be output during the at least one second segment of the one or more second segments (Jones; output the recommended products with particular frame(s)/segment(s); page 4, paragraph 32, and page 6, paragraphs 51 and 53, and page 7, paragraph 55, and Fig. 3A, elements 310 and 330, and wherein this can be based on parameters such as similar types/brands/characteristics; page 5, paragraphs 41-42, and page 6, paragraph 53, and with categories of the products, sizing, etc.; pages 5-6, paragraph 45, and Taylor; products can also be based on interest of user(s); page 4, paragraph 31, and the type of item; page 5, paragraph 33, and Wan; content can be inserted for output during a particular type of determined second segment, i.e. a calm segment, as compared to a prior/first segment with an action type; page 6, paragraphs 86-88, and wherein with high motion, i.e. action segment types, and crowd/substitution, i.e. slow/calm segment types; page 3, paragraph 43, and page 6, paragraph 88).
Regarding claim 5, Jones in view of Taylor and Wan discloses the one or more parameters comprise one or more of a category, a size, a duration of output, a duration since output, a decay, a sponsor vendor, or a context relevance score (Jones; with at least categories of the products, sizing, etc.; pages 5-6, paragraph 45, and Taylor; the type of item; page 5, paragraph 33).
Regarding claim 6, Jones in view of Taylor and Wan discloses the content associated with the at least one product comprises product information (Jones; can provide information about the products, such as price, size, brand, etc.; page 4, paragraph 31, and Fig. 3A, elements 332, 333, 334, and 335, and page 6, paragraph 52, and Taylor; can include at least price/source; page 5, paragraphs 31 and 33).
Regarding claim 7, Jones in view of Taylor and Wan discloses the content associated with the at least one product comprises one or more of a URL or a QR code (Taylor; can also display QR code; page 2, paragraph 10, and page 5, paragraphs 31 and 39), wherein a second device outputs product information associated with the at least one product based on accessing the URL or the QR code (Taylor; secondary user device can output information for the item(s)/product(s) based on accessing/reading the code; page 5, paragraphs 31 and 39).
Claim 8, which discloses an apparatus, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 1. The following additional limitations are also disclosed:
one or more processors (Jones; including at least one processor; page 7, paragraphs 59-60); and
a memory storing processor-executable instructions (Jones; computer program instructions/code stored on a storage medium/memory, and that can be executed by a processor; page 7, paragraphs 59-60).
Claim 9, which discloses an apparatus, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 2.
Claim 10, which discloses an apparatus, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 3.
Claim 11, which discloses an apparatus, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claims 1 and 4.
Claim 12, which discloses an apparatus, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 5.
Claim 13, which discloses an apparatus, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 6.
Claim 14, which discloses an apparatus, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 7.
Claim 15, which discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 1. The following additional limitations are also disclosed:
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing processor-executable instructions (Jones; computer program instructions/code stored on a storage medium/memory, and that can be executed by a processor; page 7, paragraphs 59-60, and wherein can include non-transitory media; page 7, paragraph 61).
Claim 16, which discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 2.
Claim 17, which discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 3.
Claim 18, which discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claims 1 and 4.
Claim 19, which discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 5.
Claim 20, which discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 6.
Claim 21, which discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 7.
Claim 22, which discloses a system, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 1. The following additional limitations are also disclosed:
a first computing device, and a second computing device (Jones; with server service(s); page 3, paragraph 26, and at least client device(s); page 2, paragraph 14, and Fig. 1, elements 110, and/or other device(s); page 7, paragraph 59).
Claim 23, which discloses a system, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 2.
Claim 24, which discloses a system, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 3.
Claim 25, which discloses a system, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claims 1 and 4.
Claim 26, which discloses a system, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 5.
Claim 27, which discloses a system, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 6.
Claim 28, which discloses a system, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 7.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RANDY A FLYNN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424