DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/25/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paskell (US 11,613,321) in view of Ozaki (US 2021/0281098).
Regarding claim 6,
Paskell discloses (Fig. 1):
A system (Fig. 1, all elements) for manufacturing a vehicle (Fig. 1, 106), comprising: an autonomous mobile robot (110, col. 7:23-32)
and an assembly line (128, 129, col. 7:33-55) communicatively coupling together the AMR (110) and the vehicle (106, col. 6:13-56)
Paskell does not disclose:
an autonomous mobile robot (AMR) including a communication device;
so that data can be transmitted between the AMR and the vehicle.
However, Ozaki teaches (Fig. 6):
an autonomous mobile robot (Fig. 6, 50) including a communication device (Fig. 7, 58, ¶0076);
so that data can be transmitted between the AMR (Fig. 12, 50) and the vehicle (20, ¶0043).
Regarding claim 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 9,
Paskell discloses the above elements from claim 6.
Paskell does not disclose:
wherein the AMR includes a power reservoir communicatively coupled to the communication device.
However, Ozaki teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein the AMR (Fig. 6, 50)includes a power reservoir (52) communicatively coupled to the communication device (Fig. 7, 58, part of 50, ¶0076).
Regarding claim 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 10,
Paskell discloses the above elements from claim 6.
Paskell does not disclose:
wherein the AMR includes one or more ports that are communicatively coupled to the power reservoir and the communication device.
However, Ozaki teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein the AMR (Fig. 6, 50)includes one or more ports (53) that are communicatively coupled to the power reservoir (52) and the communication device (Fig. 7, 58, part of 50, ¶0076) .
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 11,
Paskell discloses (Fig. 1):
A system (Fig. 1, all elements) for manufacturing one or more products (106, col 7:23-32), comprising: an assembly line (128, 129, col. 7:33-55) including a first end (128) and a second end (130, col. 8:4-13); and one or more autonomous mobile robots (110, Col. 7:23-32)
Paskell does not disclose:
and one or more autonomous mobile robots (AMRs) each including a power reservoir and a communication device, the AMRs each communicatively coupled to the one or more products.
However, Ozaki teaches (Fig. 6):
and one or more autonomous mobile robots (Fig. 6, 50) each including a power reservoir (52) and a communication device (58, ¶0076), the AMRs (50) each communicatively coupled to the one or more products (Fig. 12, 20, ¶0043).
Regarding claim 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paskell (US 11,613,321) in view of Ozaki (US 2021/0281098) and Diab et al. (US 2015/0094868).
Regarding claim 1,
Paskell discloses (Fig. 1):
A system (Fig. 1, all elements) for manufacturing a vehicle (Fig. 1, 106), comprising :an assembly line (128, 129, col. 7:33-55) extending between a first end (128, 129) and a second end (130, col. 8:4-13);
and an autonomous mobile robot (Fig. 1, 110) configured to selectively engage with the assembly line (128, 129)
Paskell does not disclose:
a communication conduit coupled to the assembly line and extending between the first end and the second end of the assembly line, the communication conduit defining an engagement surface between the first end and the second end; lineside equipment arranged adjacent to or on the assembly line between the first end and the second end and communicatively coupled to the communication conduit;
and an autonomous mobile robot (AMR) configured to selectively engage with the assembly line and supply power to the vehicle, the AMR comprising: a body, one or more wheels coupled to the body, a power reservoir coupled to the body, and one or more contact points coupled to the body and communicatively coupled with the power reservoir.
However, Ozaki teaches (fig. 6):
and an autonomous mobile robot (Fig. 6, 50) configured to supply power to the vehicle (Fig. 12, 20, 50 couples with 20, ¶0126), the AMR (Fig. 6, 50) comprising :a body (51), one or more wheels (511) coupled to the body (51, ¶0077),a power reservoir (52) coupled to the body (51, ¶0078), and one or more contact points (53) coupled to the body (51) and communicatively coupled with the power reservoir (52, ¶0077-¶0078, ¶0043).
Diab teaches (Fig. 1):
a communication conduit (Fig. 1, 124) coupled to the assembly line (108) and extending between the first end and the second end of the assembly line (full assembly line 108, ¶0014, ¶0016-¶0017), the communication conduit (124) defining an engagement surface between the first end and the second end (conduit can power nodes with different methods including energy harvesting like being in contact with a surface, ¶0044-¶0046); lineside equipment (110-120) arranged adjacent to or on the assembly line (108) between the first end and the second end (run full length of 108) and communicatively coupled to the communication conduit (124, ¶0014);
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
It would have been further obvious to take this system and use the communication circuit from Diab that uses ethernet and/or power with one cable in order to communicate with the AMR and the body of the vehicle and system in order to improve assembly line communication which improves efficiency as taught by Diab (¶0003). This would simplify installation which would reduce costs and improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 2,
Paskell discloses the above elements from claim 1 above.
Paskell does not disclose:
wherein the one or more contact points engage with the engagement surface of the communication conduit.
However, Ozaki teaches (fig. 6):
wherein the one or more contact points (Fig. 6, 53) engage with the engagement surface of the communication conduit (engage through charger, ¶0085-¶0086).
Regarding claim 2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
It would have been further obvious to take this system and use the communication circuit from Diab that uses ethernet and/or power with one cable in order to communicate with the AMR and the body of the vehicle and system in order to improve assembly line communication which improves efficiency as taught by Diab (¶0003). This would simplify installation which would reduce costs and improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 3,
Paskell discloses the above elements from claim 1 above.
Paskell does not disclose:
wherein the lineside equipment includes one or more contact points that are configured to engage with the engagement surface of the communication conduit.
However, Diab teaches (fig. 6):
wherein the lineside equipment (Fig. 1, 110-120) includes one or more contact points that are configured to engage with the engagement surface of the communication conduit (through cables, for example, ¶0044-¶0046).
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
It would have been further obvious to take this system and use the communication circuit from Diab that uses ethernet and/or power with one cable in order to communicate with the AMR and the body of the vehicle and system in order to improve assembly line communication which improves efficiency as taught by Diab (¶0003). This would simplify installation which would reduce costs and improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 4,
Paskell discloses the above elements from claim 1 above.
Paskell does not disclose:
wherein the AMR includes a storage device coupled to the body.
However, Ozaki teaches (fig. 6):
wherein the AMR (Fig. 6, 50) includes a storage device (52) coupled to the body (51, ¶0076).
Regarding claim 4, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
It would have been further obvious to take this system and use the communication circuit from Diab that uses ethernet and/or power with one cable in order to communicate with the AMR and the body of the vehicle and system in order to improve assembly line communication which improves efficiency as taught by Diab (¶0003). This would simplify installation which would reduce costs and improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 5,
Paskell discloses the above elements from claim 1 above.
Paskell does not disclose:
wherein the AMR includes one or more ports arranged on the body, the one or more ports being communicatively coupled to the power reservoir.
However, Ozaki teaches (fig. 6):
wherein the AMR includes one or more ports (53) arranged on the body (51), the one or more ports being communicatively coupled to the power reservoir (52, ¶0076).
Regarding claim 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
It would have been further obvious to take this system and use the communication circuit from Diab that uses ethernet and/or power with one cable in order to communicate with the AMR and the body of the vehicle and system in order to improve assembly line communication which improves efficiency as taught by Diab (¶0003). This would simplify installation which would reduce costs and improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 7,
Paskell discloses the above elements from claim 6 above.
Paskell does not disclose:
wherein the assembly line includes a communication conduit extending between a first end and second end of the assembly line.
However, Diab teaches (fig. 6):
wherein the assembly line (Fig. 1, 108) includes a communication conduit (124) extending between the first end and the second end of the assembly line (assembly line path, 108, ¶0016-¶0017).
Regarding claim 7, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
It would have been further obvious to take this system and use the communication circuit from Diab that uses ethernet and/or power with one cable in order to communicate with the AMR and the body of the vehicle and system in order to improve assembly line communication which improves efficiency as taught by Diab (¶0003). This would simplify installation which would reduce costs and improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 8,
Paskell discloses the above elements from claim 7 above.
Paskell does not disclose:
wherein the AMR and the vehicle each include contact points that engage with the communication conduit.
However, Ozaki teaches (Fig. 12):
wherein the AMR (Fig. 12, 50) and the vehicle (20) each include contact points (53, 32, ¶0110-¶0111)
Diab teaches (fig. 6):
that engage with the communication conduit (124, ¶0016-¶0017).
Regarding claim 8, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
It would have been further obvious to take this system and use the communication circuit from Diab that uses ethernet and/or power with one cable in order to communicate with the AMR and the body of the vehicle and system in order to improve assembly line communication which improves efficiency as taught by Diab (¶0003). This would simplify installation which would reduce costs and improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 12,
Paskell discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the AMRs (Fig. 1, 110) and the one or more products (106, col. 7:23-32)
Paskell does not disclose:
are each coupled together with a cable
However, Diab teaches (fig. 6):
are each coupled together with a cable (124, ¶0016).
Regarding claim 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
It would have been further obvious to take this system and use the communication circuit from Diab that uses ethernet and/or power with one cable in order to communicate with the AMR and the body of the vehicle and system in order to improve assembly line communication which improves efficiency as taught by Diab (¶0003). This would simplify installation which would reduce costs and improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 13,
Paskell discloses the above elements from claim 11.
Paskell does not disclose:
wherein the assembly line includes a communication conduit extending between the first end and the second end of the assembly line.
However, Diab teaches (fig. 6):
wherein the assembly line (Fig. 1, 108) includes a communication conduit (124) extending between the first end and the second end of the assembly line (assembly line path, 108, ¶0016-¶0017).
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
It would have been further obvious to take this system and use the communication circuit from Diab that uses ethernet and/or power with one cable in order to communicate with the AMR and the body of the vehicle and system in order to improve assembly line communication which improves efficiency as taught by Diab (¶0003). This would simplify installation which would reduce costs and improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 14,
Paskell discloses (Fig. 1):
from one of the AMRs (Fig. 1, 110) to at least one of the products (106)
Paskell does not disclose:
, wherein power is transmitted
via the communication conduit
However, Diab teaches (fig. 6):
wherein power is transmitted (Fig. 1, ¶0016-¶0017)
via the communication conduit (124, ¶0016-¶0017).
Regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
It would have been further obvious to take this system and use the communication circuit from Diab that uses ethernet and/or power with one cable in order to communicate with the AMR and the body of the vehicle and system in order to improve assembly line communication which improves efficiency as taught by Diab (¶0003). This would simplify installation which would reduce costs and improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 15,
Paskell discloses (Fig. 1):
from one of the AMRs (Fig. 1, 110) to at least one of the products (106)
Paskell does not disclose:
, wherein data is transmitted
via the communication conduit
However, Diab teaches (fig. 6):
wherein data is transmitted (Fig. 1, ¶0016-¶0017)
via the communication conduit (124, ¶0016-¶0017).
Regarding claim 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
It would have been further obvious to take this system and use the communication circuit from Diab that uses ethernet and/or power with one cable in order to communicate with the AMR and the body of the vehicle and system in order to improve assembly line communication which improves efficiency as taught by Diab (¶0003). This would simplify installation which would reduce costs and improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 16,
Paskell discloses the above elements from claim 13.
Paskell does not disclose:
further comprising lineside equipment communicatively coupled to the communication conduit between the first end and the second end of the assembly line.
However, Diab teaches (fig. 6):
further comprising lineside equipment (Fig. 1, 110-120) communicatively coupled to the communication conduit (124) between the first end and the second end of the assembly line (108, ¶0014, ¶0016-¶0017).
Regarding claim 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
It would have been further obvious to take this system and use the communication circuit from Diab that uses ethernet and/or power with one cable in order to communicate with the AMR and the body of the vehicle and system in order to improve assembly line communication which improves efficiency as taught by Diab (¶0003). This would simplify installation which would reduce costs and improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 17,
Paskell discloses the above elements from claim 16.
Paskell does not disclose:
wherein the lineside equipment is powered by the AMR via the communication conduit.
However, Ozaki teaches (Fig. 6):
powered by the AMR (Fig. 6, 50, via 52, ¶0076)
However, Diab teaches (fig. 6):
the lineside equipment (Fig. 1, 110-120)
via the communication conduit (124, ¶0016-¶0017).
Regarding claim 17, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
It would have been further obvious to take this system and use the communication circuit from Diab that uses ethernet and/or power with one cable in order to communicate with the AMR and the body of the vehicle and system in order to improve assembly line communication which improves efficiency as taught by Diab (¶0003). This would simplify installation which would reduce costs and improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 18,
Paskell discloses (Fig. 1):
the AMR (Fig. 1, 110)
Paskell does not disclose:
wherein data is transmitted between the lineside equipment and the AMR via the communication conduit.
However, Diab teaches (fig. 6):
wherein data is transmitted between the lineside equipment (Fig. 1, 110-120)
via the communication conduit (124, ¶0016-¶0017).
Regarding claim 18, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
It would have been further obvious to take this system and use the communication circuit from Diab that uses ethernet and/or power with one cable in order to communicate with the AMR and the body of the vehicle and system in order to improve assembly line communication which improves efficiency as taught by Diab (¶0003). This would simplify installation which would reduce costs and improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 19,
Paskell discloses (Fig. 1):
the product (106, col 7:23-32) and the AMR (110).
Paskell does not disclose:
wherein the communication conduit is arranged below the product and the AMR.
However, Diab teaches (fig. 6):
wherein the communication conduit is arranged below (Fig. 1, 124, ¶0016-¶0017, can have multiple network topologies)
Regarding claim 19, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
It would have been further obvious to take this system and use the communication circuit from Diab that uses ethernet and/or power with one cable in order to communicate with the AMR and the body of the vehicle and system in order to improve assembly line communication which improves efficiency as taught by Diab (¶0003). This would simplify installation which would reduce costs and improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 20,
Paskell discloses (Fig. 1):
the product (106, col 7:23-32) and the AMR (110).
Paskell does not disclose:
wherein the communication conduit is arranged above the product and the AMR.
However, Diab teaches (fig. 6):
wherein the communication conduit is arranged above (Fig. 1, 124, ¶0016-¶0017, can have multiple network topologies)
Regarding claim 20, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the manufacturing system from Paskell that uses AMRs to manufacture vehicles in order to provide a system that is reconfigurable (col. 5:29-40), and use the autonomous robot from Ozaki that is used to charge a cleaning robot while mobile in order to improve efficiency (¶0075). This would improve the efficiency of the system.
It would have been further obvious to take this system and use the communication circuit from Diab that uses ethernet and/or power with one cable in order to communicate with the AMR and the body of the vehicle and system in order to improve assembly line communication which improves efficiency as taught by Diab (¶0003). This would simplify installation which would reduce costs and improve efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Muramatsu et al. (US 2025/0269525) – robot system
/C.S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2837 /KAWING CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837