The instant application having Application No. 19/032,990 filed on 1/21/2025 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 200, 214, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on application JP2022-117511 (Japan).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araya (JP 2008141798 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Jung (US 20100091392 A1), in view of Ifuku (JP 2013218259 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Liu (CN 112782825 A)(see attached machine translation), and further in view of Manabe (US 20060221472 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Araya discloses a lens driving apparatus, in at least Figure 2, comprising:
a fixed member (4 “sensor cover”, Figure 2);
a lens holding member (3 “drive mechanism”, Figure 2) capable of holding a lens body (8 “lens unit”, page 8, paragraph 2 of translation states “Reference numeral 3 denotes a drive mechanism unit that accommodates the piezoelectric element unit 7 in the piezoelectric element mounting portion 31 and accommodates the lens barrel of the lens unit 8 and is formed in a ring shape”, Figure 2);
a piezoelectric driving part (7 “piezoelectric element unit”, Figure 2) provided on a first member from among a movable member (3 “drive mechanism”, 41 “guide shaft”, Figure 2) including the lens holding member (3 “drive mechanism”, page 8, paragraph 2 of translation states “Reference numeral 3 denotes a drive mechanism unit that accommodates the piezoelectric element unit 7 in the piezoelectric element mounting portion 31 and accommodates the lens barrel of the lens unit 8 and is formed in a ring shape”, therefore 7 “piezoelectric element unit” is provided on 3 “drive mechanism”) and the fixed member (4 “sensor cover”), and having a piezoelectric element (70 “piezoelectric element”, Figure 2) extending in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis direction (Figure 2 shows that 70 “piezoelectric element” extends in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis direction);
a receiving member (41 “guide shaft”, Figure 2) which is provided on a second member from among the movable member (3 “drive mechanism”, 41 “guide shaft”) and the fixed member (4 “sensor cover”, page 11, paragraph 5 of translation states “the guide shaft 41 provided in the sensor cover 4 is inserted into the guide bearing 86 and the guide shaft hole 32 provided in the drive mechanism unit 3”); and
a biasing member (5 “leaf spring”, Figure 2) configured to bias the piezoelectric driving part (7 “piezoelectric element unit”) in a direction of the receiving member (41 “guide shaft”),
wherein the lens holding member (3 “drive mechanism”) is configured to move relative to the fixed member (4 “sensor cover”) by movement of the piezoelectric element (7 “piezoelectric element unit”, page 7, paragraph 8 of translation states “a drive mechanism unit 3 that houses a drive mechanism for moving the lens 2 in the optical axis direction”, page 8, paragraph 3 of translation states “FIG. 3 is a perspective view showing a main part of a drive mechanism using the piezoelectric element 70 used in the camera module 1”),
wherein the biasing member (5 “leaf spring”) is composed of a leaf spring member (55 “piezoelectric element pressing spring”, Figure 2), and includes a fixed part (52 “leaf spring (friction plate)”, Figure 2) fixed to the first member from among the movable member (3 “drive mechanism”, 41 “guide shaft”, first paragraph of page 1 of translation states “A leaf spring (friction plate) 52 is a fixing screw for fixing one end of the leaf spring 5 to the drive mechanism unit 3”) and the fixed member (4 “sensor cover”), a supporting part (see examiner’s markup of Figure 2) configured to support the piezoelectric driving part (7 “piezoelectric element unit”), and an elastic deformation part (704 “support portion”, 705 “support portion”, Figures 8A-E) that is capable of elastically deforming (page 10, paragraph 6 of translation states “The piezoelectric element pad 72 is provided with the roles of the support portions 704 and 705 made of an elastic body”, Figures 8A-E) and provided between the fixed part (52 “leaf spring (friction plate)”) and the supporting part (see examiner’s markup of Figure 2, page 10, paragraph 6 of translation states “The piezoelectric element pad 72 is provided with the roles of the support portions 704 and 705),
wherein the piezoelectric driving part (7 “piezoelectric element unit”) includes a contact member (707 “driving head”, Figure 2) fixed to one surface of the piezoelectric element (7 “piezoelectric element unit”) facing the receiving member (41 “guide shaft”, Figure 2).
Below is an examiner’s markup of Figure 2 of Araya pointing out a supporting part, a base part, and a portion.
However, Araya does not disclose a receiving member configured to be in contact with the piezoelectric driving part, a flexible printed circuit fixed to another surface of the piezoelectric element, and wherein the piezoelectric element and the contact member are fixed with one adhesive, wherein the flexible printed circuit and the supporting part are fixed with another adhesive, and wherein a Young's modulus of the another adhesive is smaller than a Young's modulus of the one adhesive.
Jung teaches a receiving member (112 “guide axis”, Figures 1 and 2) configured to be in contact with the piezoelectric driving part (120 “piezoelectric driving unit”, paragraph 0035 states “The piezoelectric driving unit 120 may move the guide axis 112 in a direction in which the guide axis 112 extends since a center portion of the piezoelectric driving unit 120 contacts the guide axis 112”, paragraph 0036).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the lens driving apparatus of Araya modified by a receiving member configured to be in contact with the piezoelectric driving part, as taught by Jung, in order to move the lens carrier in an axial direction (paragraph 0036).
Ifuku teaches a flexible printed circuit fixed (420 “flexible printed circuit board”, Figures 3 and 4) to another surface of the piezoelectric element (430 “piezoelectric element”, Figures 3 and 4, last paragraph of page 6 of translation states “The piezoelectric element 430 and the flexible printed circuit board 420 can be fixed by a material having at least a polymer compound component such as an ACF (anisotropic conductive film) or resin, for example, a conductive adhesive”), wherein the flexible printed circuit (420 “flexible printed circuit board”) and the supporting part (431 “piezoelectric material”, Figure 3) are fixed with another adhesive (page 4, paragraph 9 of translation states “The piezoelectric element 430 includes a piezoelectric material 431”, and last paragraph of page 6 of translation states “The piezoelectric element 430 and the flexible printed circuit board 420 can be fixed by a material having at least a polymer compound component such as an ACF (anisotropic conductive film) or resin, for example, a conductive adhesive”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the lens driving apparatus of Araya modified by a flexible printed circuit fixed to another surface of the piezoelectric element, wherein the flexible printed circuit and the supporting part are fixed with another adhesive, as taught by Ifuku, in order to not impair the adhesiveness in high operating temperatures (last paragraph of page 6 of translation).
Liu teaches wherein a Young's modulus of the another adhesive (2231 “second adhesive element”) is smaller than a Young's modulus of the one adhesive (2271 “first adhesive element”, (page 31, paragraph 4 of translation).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the lens driving apparatus of Araya modified by wherein a Young's modulus of the another adhesive is smaller than a Young's modulus of the one adhesive, as taught by Liu, in order to transmit the driving force through the one adhesive and to allow the another adhesive to maintain flexibility (page 31, paragraph 4 of translation).
Manabe teaches wherein the piezoelectric element (112 “piezoelectric element”, Figure 6) and the contact member (160 “support member”, Figure 6) are fixed with one adhesive (paragraph 0078 states “the support member 160 is bonded to the piezoelectric element 112 via an adhesive agent”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the lens driving apparatus of Araya modified by wherein the piezoelectric element and the contact member are fixed with one adhesive, as taught by Manabe, in order to secure the components.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Araya, Jung, Ifuku, Li, and Manabe disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Araya does not disclose wherein the piezoelectric element and the flexible printed circuit are fixed via an anisotropic conductive film.
Ifuku teaches wherein the piezoelectric element (430 “piezoelectric element”, Figures 3 and 4) and the flexible printed circuit (420 “flexible printed circuit board”, Figures 3 and 4) are fixed via an anisotropic conductive film (last paragraph of page 6 of translation states “The piezoelectric element 430 and the flexible printed circuit board 420 can be fixed by a material having at least a polymer compound component such as an ACF (anisotropic conductive film)”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the lens driving apparatus of Araya modified by wherein the piezoelectric element and the flexible printed circuit are fixed via an anisotropic conductive film, as taught by Ifuku, in order to not impair the adhesiveness in high operating temperatures (last paragraph of page 6 of translation).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Araya, Jung, Ifuku, Li, and Manabe disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Araya further discloses the lens driving apparatus of claim 1 (Figure 2); a lens body (8 “lens unit”, Figure 2) held by the lens holding member (3 “drive mechanism”, page 8, paragraph 2 of translation states “Reference numeral 3 denotes a drive mechanism unit that accommodates the piezoelectric element unit 7 in the piezoelectric element mounting portion 31 and accommodates the lens barrel of the lens unit 8 and is formed in a ring shape”, Figure 2); and an imaging sensor (9 “sensor unit”, Figure 2) arranged so as to face the lens body (8 “lens unit”, Figure 2).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araya (JP 2008141798 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Jung (US 20100091392 A1), in view of Ifuku (JP 2013218259 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Liu (CN 112782825 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Manabe (US 20060221472 A1), and further in view of Kurita (JP 2008127544 A)(see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Araya, Jung, Ifuku, Li, and Manabe disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Araya does not disclose wherein a glass transition temperature of the another adhesive is -10°C or less.
Kurita teaches wherein a glass transition temperature of the another adhesive is -10°C or less (page 4, paragraph 8 of translation states “The pressure-sensitive adhesive binder polymer has a glass transition temperature having a lower limit of −100 ° C. and an upper limit of 100 ° C”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the lens driving apparatus of Araya modified by wherein a glass transition temperature of the another adhesive is -10°C or less, as taught by Kurita, in order to prevent adhesive residue and maintain adequate strength (page 4, paragraph 8 of translation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Araya, Jung, Ifuku, Li, and Manabe disclose all the limitations of claim 2, however Araya does not disclose wherein a Young's modulus of the anisotropic conductive film is smaller than the Young's modulus of the one adhesive.
Araya (JP 2008141798 A), Jung (US 20100091392 A1), Ifuku (JP 2013218259 A), Liu (CN 112782825 A), Manabe (US 20060221472 A1), Kurita (JP 2008127544 A), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest wherein a Young's modulus of the anisotropic conductive film is smaller than the Young's modulus of the one adhesive, among other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Araya, Jung, Ifuku, Li, and Manabe disclose all the limitations of claim 2, however Araya does not disclose wherein a glass transition temperature of the anisotropic conductive film is higher than a glass transition temperature of the another adhesive, and a glass transition temperature of the one adhesive is 600C or more and higher than the glass transition temperature of the anisotropic conductive film.
Araya (JP 2008141798 A), Jung (US 20100091392 A1), Ifuku (JP 2013218259 A), Liu (CN 112782825 A), Manabe (US 20060221472 A1), Kurita (JP 2008127544 A), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest wherein a glass transition temperature of the anisotropic conductive film is higher than a glass transition temperature of the another adhesive, and a glass transition temperature of the one adhesive is 600C or more and higher than the glass transition temperature of the anisotropic conductive film, among other claim limitations.
Claims 6 and 7 depend on claim 5, so they are allowable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Araya, Jung, Ifuku, Li, Manabe, and Kurita disclose all the limitations of claim 4 and Araya further discloses wherein the supporting part (see examiner’s markup of Figure 2) has a base part (see examiner’s markup of Figure 2) that is plate shaped (examiner’s markup of Figure 2 shows that a base part is plate shaped) and opposite to the piezoelectric driving part (7 “piezoelectric element unit”) at a distance from the piezoelectric driving part (7 “piezoelectric element unit”, see examiner’s markup of Figure 2), and a portion (see examiner’s markup of Figure 2) protruding from the base part (see examiner’s markup of Figure 2) toward the piezoelectric driving part (7 “piezoelectric element unit”, Figure 5A).
However, Araya does not disclose the flexible printed circuit and the portion are fixed with the another adhesive.
Araya (JP 2008141798 A), Jung (US 20100091392 A1), Ifuku (JP 2013218259 A), Liu (CN 112782825 A), Manabe (US 20060221472 A1), Kurita (JP 2008127544 A), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest the flexible printed circuit and the portion are fixed with the another adhesive, among other claim limitations.
Contact Information
/ALAINA MARIE SWANSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872