DETAILED ACTION
Claims
Examiner acknowledges the preliminary amendment filed 09/05/2025.
Claims 2-17 are newly added.
Claim 1 is cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 11-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 2, the clam recites “wherein at least one Fiber Bragg Grating (FBG) sensor is embedded in the fixation,” and then later recites “” an optoelectrical coupler optically coupled to the FBG sensor”. Examiner suggest amending the limitation to “ an optoelectrical coupler optically coupled to the at least one FBG sensor,” for claim consistency.
Regarding claim 11-12, the claims recite “Braggs gratings”, it appears a typographical error is in the limitation and should read “Bragg Gratings”.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites “the at least one light source has a bandwidth ranging from 0.1 nm to 1.5 nm.”. However claim 2 introduces “a light source”. The claim should be amended for consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al US20200037895 (hereinafter “Cheng”) in view of Jain et al US6909919 (hereinafter “Jain”).
Regarding claim 2, Cheng discloses an implantable cardiac device (ICD-100, 500), comprising: wherein at least one Fiber Bragg Grating (FBG) sensor (FBG-510) is embedded, wherein the at least one FBG sensor is configured to receive an optical signal from a light source (optical source-502) interact with a transmitted spectrum of the light source over a discriminating spectral domain (Paragraphs 0137-0139), and generate a reflected optical signal representative of a change in a physical signal sensed by the at least one FBG sensor (paragraphs 0137-0139); an optoelectrical coupler (generator-104 includes an optical source, a receiver and a processor, optical source-502 includes a LED or laser diode connected with optical circulator-504, optical sensor-512 and processor-514) optically coupled to the FBG sensor, the optoelectrical coupler comprising: the light source optical source-502; a photodetector (optical sensor-512) to transform the reflected optical signal into an electrical signal; and a processor (processor-514) to: analyze the electrical signal received from the photodetector; and control a function of the implantable cardiac device based on the analysis (Paragraphs 0083-0087). (See also paragraphs 0090-0111, Figs 1 and 5, Claims 13, 16, 27 and 30)
However, Cheng fails to disclose a fixation to fix the implantable cardiac device within a subject. Jain discloses a fixation to fix the implantable cardiac device within a subject. Jain discloses a fixation (positive fixation member-42) to fix the implantable cardiac device (cardiac lead-10 includes strain gauges-36 and tines-32) within a subject (cardiac tissue of patient). (Col 3 line 13- Col 4 line 14)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Jain into Cheng for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for taking measurements from tissue directly connected to the device.
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al US20200037895 (hereinafter “Cheng”) in view of Jain et al US6909919 (hereinafter “Jain”) in further view of Webb et al US10737102 (hereinafter “Webb”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cheng in view of Jain discloses the device according to claim 2.
However, the combination fails to disclose the fixation is a spline. Webb discloses the fixation is a spline (IMD-50 includes fixation module-54 that includes fixation tines assembly-70 which includes tines-72 also called “splines”) (Col 7 line 17- Col 8 line 34). (See also Col 8 line 45-Col 9 line 39, Figs 5-15)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Webb into Cheng for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for ensuring the device does not experience undesired motion which can cause measurement errors.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Cheng in view of Jain discloses the device according to claim 3.
However, the combination fails to disclose the spline is configured to hold the implantable cardiac device in a fixed position. Webb discloses the spline (fixation tines assembly-70 includes tines-72 also called “splines”) is configured to hold the implantable cardiac device (IMD-50/100) in a fixed position. (Col 7 line 39-53, Col 8 line 61-Col 9 line 6)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Webb into Cheng for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for ensuring the device does not experience undesired motion which can cause measurement errors.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Cheng in view of Jain discloses the device according to claim 3.
However, the combination fails to disclose the spline is releasably coupled to the implantable cardiac device. Webb discloses the spline (tines-72 also called “splines”) is releasably coupled to the implantable cardiac device (device-52, 102) (Col 7 line 17-Col 8 line 2). (See also Col 9 line 8-Col 10 line 11, claim 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Webb into Cheng for the purpose of decreasing replacement cost. The modification would allow for releasably replacing the sensor device while the fixation device remains implanted.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Cheng in view of Jain discloses the device according to claim 5.
However, the combination fails to disclose the spline is configured to engage with a tissue of a ventricle within the subject. Webb discloses the spline (tines-72 also called “splines”) is configured to engage with a tissue of a ventricle within the subject (Col 6 line 36-53, Col 10 line 32-58). (See also col 16 line 46-64, Fig 16)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Webb into Cheng for the purpose of decreasing replacement cost. The modification would allow for releasably replacing the sensor device while the fixation device remains implanted.
Claims 7-8, 10, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al US20200037895 (hereinafter “Cheng”) in view of Jain et al US6909919 (hereinafter “Jain”) in further view of Eberle et al US10537255 (hereinafter “Eberle”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Cheng in view of Jain discloses the device according to claim 2.
However, the combination fails to disclose the discriminating spectral domain is a region defined by a portion of the transmitted spectrum of the light source or a portion of a reflected spectrum of the at least one FBG sensor. Eberle discloses the discriminating spectral domain is a region defined by a portion of the transmitted spectrum of the light source or a portion of a reflected spectrum of the at least one FBG sensor. (Col 11 line 66 – Col 12 line 40, Figs 4A-6A discloses the slope-406 of the FBG response on which the laser sits is a portion of the FBG’s reflected spectrum)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Eberle into Cheng for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for increasing speed and detection precision of the device.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Cheng in view of Jain discloses the device according to claim 7.
However, the combination fails to disclose a width of the discriminating spectral domain is based at least in part on a range of operation of the at least one FBG sensor. Eberle discloses a width of the discriminating spectral domain is based at least in part on a range of operation of the at least one FBG sensor (Col 11 line 60 – Col 12 line 40, Figs 4A-6A discloses the slope-406 the width of the slope-406 is based on in part a range of operation of the FBG’s which include notch-402 ). (See also Col 13 line 10-Col 14 line 41)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Eberle into Cheng for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for increasing speed and detection precision of the device.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Cheng in view of Jain discloses the device according to claim 2.
However, the combination fails to disclose in response to a shift in a reflected spectrum of the at least one FBG sensor, a power of the reflected optical signal changes monotonically over the discriminating spectral domain. Eberle discloses in response to a shift in a reflected spectrum of the at least one FBG sensor, a power of the reflected optical signal changes monotonically over the discriminating spectral domain. (Col 12 line 24-40, Col 26 line 42-54)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Eberle into Cheng for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for increasing speed and detection precision of the device.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Cheng in view of Jain in further view of Eberle discloses the device according to claim 2, Cheng discloses using a LED or laser diode and Eberle discloses using a narrow band laser.
However, the combination fails to disclose the at least one light source has a bandwidth ranging from 0.1 nm to 1.5 nm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have at least one light source having a bandwidth ranging from 0.1 nm to 1.5 nm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05 (II-A). Please note that in the instant application, paragraphs 0012-0013, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Cheng in view of Jain discloses the device according to claim 2.
However, the combination fails to disclose a diameter of the at least FBG sensor is less than 250
μ
m
.. Eberle discloses a diameter of the at least FBG sensor is less than 250
μ
m
. (Col 9 line 13-21)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Eberle into Cheng for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for ensuring the sensor fits within the fixation device.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al US20200037895 (hereinafter “Cheng”) in view of Jain et al US6909919 (hereinafter “Jain”) in further view of Eberle et al US10537255 (hereinafter “Eberle”) in further view of Mendoza US7512291.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Cheng in view of Jain in further view of Eberle discloses the device according to claim 8.
However, the combination fails to disclose the range of operation of the at least one FBG sensor is between 0.5nm to 15nm. Mendoza discloses the range of operation of the at least one FBG sensor is between 0.5nm to 15nm. (Col 12 line 14-33)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Mendoza into Cheng for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for analyzing the full range of operation linearly.
Claims 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al US20200037895 (hereinafter “Cheng”) in view of Jain et al US6909919 (hereinafter “Jain”) in further view of Deliwala US10969254.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Cheng in view of Jain discloses the device according to claim 2.
However, the combination fails to disclose the discriminating spectral domain is a region defined by a portion of a reflected spectrum of the at least one FBG sensor, wherein a width of the discriminating spectral domain is based at least in part on an arrangement of Braggs gratings of the at least one FBG sensor. Deliwala discloses the discriminating spectral domain is a region defined by a portion of a reflected spectrum of the at least one FBG sensor, wherein a width of the discriminating spectral domain is based at least in part on an arrangement of Braggs gratings of the at least one FBG sensor (Col 8 line 47-66, Col 10 line 62-Col 11 line 57, discloses using chirping to broaden the reflected spectrum and edge detection) (See also Figs 2-3 and 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Deliwala into Cheng for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for increasing a reflected band wide enough for the strain range.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Cheng in view of Jain discloses the device according to claim 11.
However, the combination fails to disclose the arrangement comprises an increase in a number of the Braggs gratings, a decrease in a number of the Braggs gratings, or a change in a periodicity of the Braggs gratings. Deliwala discloses the arrangement comprises an increase in a number of the Braggs gratings, a decrease in a number of the Braggs gratings, or a change in a periodicity of the Braggs gratings (Col 8 line 28-60 discloses using linear variation in the grating period)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Deliwala into Cheng for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for increasing a reflected band wide enough for the strain range.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Cheng in view of Jain discloses the device according to claim 2.
However, the combination fails to disclose the at least one FBG sensor has a bandwidth between 0.25 nm to 15.25 nm. Deliwala discloses the at least one FBG sensor has a bandwidth between 0.25 nm to 15.25 nm. (Col 10 line 44-50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Deliwala into Cheng for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for increasing wavelength resolution, increased measurement precision and enhanced multiplexing capacity.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al US20200037895 (hereinafter “Cheng”) in view of Jain et al US6909919 (hereinafter “Jain”) in further view of Cinbis et al US8165662 (hereinafter “Cinbis”).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Cheng in view of Jain discloses the device according to claim 2.
However, the combination fails to disclose the processor is coupled to a power management unit (PMU). Cinbis discloses the processor (microprocessor-142) is coupled to a power management unit (PMU) (control circuit-144) (Col 4 line 53-Col 5 line 48). (See also Col 6 line 24-Col 8 line 13, Fig 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Cinbis into Cheng for the purpose of increasing the life of the device. The modification would allow for controlling power consumption of components which can increase the life of the device.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Cheng in view of Jain discloses the device according to claim 16.
However, the combination fails to disclose the PMU is configured to operate in an event-triggered mode, an event-gated mode, a pulse width modulation mode, or an adaptive power mode. Cinbis discloses the PMU is configured to operate in an event-triggered mode, an event-gated mode, a pulse width modulation mode, or an adaptive power mode (control circuit-144) (Col 4 line 53-Col 5 line 48). (See also Col 6 line 24-Col 8 line 13, Fig 1, 4E-H)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Cinbis into Cheng for the purpose of increasing the life of the device. The modification would allow for controlling power consumption of components which can increase the life of the device.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3, 7, 9-10, 13-18, 23-25 and 27 of U.S. Patent No.11874187 to Cheng et al (hereinafter “Cheng 187’”) in view of Jain et al US6909919 (hereinafter “Jain”).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in claims 2 and 7-17 of the instant application, applicant claims, an implantable cardiac device, comprising: a fixation to fix the implantable cardiac device within a subject, wherein at least one Fiber Bragg Grating (FBG) sensor is embedded in the fixation, wherein the at least one FBG sensor is configured to receive an optical signal from a light source, interact with a transmitted spectrum of the light source over a discriminating spectral domain, and generate a reflected optical signal representative of a change in a physical signal sensed by the at least one FBG sensor; an optoelectrical coupler optically coupled to the FBG sensor, the optoelectrical coupler comprising: the light source; a photodetector to transform the reflected optical signal into an electrical signal; and a processor to: analyze the electrical signal received from the photodetector; and control a function of the implantable cardiac device based on the analysis.
Cheng 187’ discloses an implantable cardiac device comprising: a lead configured for cardioversion/defibrillation, pacing, and/or sensing, wherein the lead is embedded with at least one Fiber Bragg Grating (FBG) sensor, wherein the FBG sensor is configured to receive an optical signal from a light source, interact with a transmitted spectrum of the light source over a discriminating spectral domain, and generate a reflected optical signal representative of a change in a physical signal sensed by the FBG sensor; an interface unit coupled to the lead; an optoelectrical coupler disposed within the interface unit, the optoelectric coupler comprising: the light source; a photodetector to transform a reflected optical signal into an electrical signal; and a processor configured to: analyze the electrical signal received from the photodetector; and control a function of the implantable cardiac device based on the analysis.
However, Cheng 187’ fails to disclose the use of a fixation to fix the implantable cardiac device within a subject. Jain discloses a fixation (positive fixation member-42) to fix the implantable cardiac device (cardiac lead-10 includes strain gauges-36 and tines-32) within a subject (cardiac tissue of patient). (Col 3 line 13- Col 4 line 14)
Although the scope of claims 2 and 7-17 of the instant applicant and claims 3, 7, 9-10, 13-18, 23-25 and 27 of the Cheng 187’ are very similar, the difference between the present claimed invention and the Cheng 187’ patent is that the instant application utilizes a fixation to fix the implantable cardiac device within a subject. Cheng 187’ utilizes a lead.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the teaching of Cheng 187’ as a general teaching to arrive at the instant application because the same elements are used to arrive at the same invention and it would have been obvious to use the tines of Jain at the time of the effective filing date to increase taking measurements from tissue directly connected to the device and securely attaching the device to tissue.
Dependent claim 7 of the instant application corresponds to claims 13 and 18 of Cheng 187’.
Dependent claim 8 of the instant application corresponds to claims 14 of Cheng 187’.
Dependent claim 9 of the instant application corresponds to claim 15 of Cheng 187’.
Dependent claim 10 of the instant application corresponds to claims18 of Cheng 187’.
Dependent claim 11 of the instant application corresponds to claim 16 of Cheng 187’.
Dependent claim 12 of the instant application corresponds to claim 17 of Cheng 187’.
Dependent claim 13 of the instant application corresponds to claim 7 of Cheng 187’.
Dependent claim 14 of the instant application corresponds to claim 9 of Cheng 187’.
Dependent claim 15 of the instant application corresponds to claim 10 of Cheng 187’.
Dependent claim 16 of the instant application corresponds to claims 3, 24 and 29 of Cheng 187’.
Dependent claim 17 of the instant application corresponds to claim 25 of Cheng 187’.
Conclusion
The prior art as cited on the PTO-892 is made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsai et al US20160320555 discloses a thermal-compensated fiber Bragg grating wavelength filter comprises an outer low thermal expansion coefficient metallic tube and an inner high thermal expansion coefficient cylindrical coil spring jacketed by the outer metallic tube and pre-stressed beforehand. The thermal-induced length difference of the outer metallic tube and the inner spring generates a stress-relieving effect or stress-increasing effect on the pre-stressed high thermal expansion coefficient cylindrical coil spring, whereby to increase or decrease the refractive index and compensate for the thermal-induced wavelength shift of the fiber Bragg grating.
Scherer et al US9154235 discloses an optically powered transducer with a photovoltaic collector. An optical fiber power delivery method and system and a free space power delivery method are also provided. A fabrication process for making an optically powered transducer is further described, together with an implantable transducer system based on optical power delivery.
/NIGEL H PLUMB/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/Eric S. McCall/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855