DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “16” has been used to designate both Clamp screw connection in Fig.3 and a blank location on the second clamp location on Fig.2. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the clamp screw location on Fig.1 and Fig.2 as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: spelling error configuerd should be configured. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koneczny (US 5263665 A).
Regarding claim 1, Koneczny teaches A clamp holder for securing components to a structural component a vehicle, the clamp holder comprising: a first clamp member(FIG.1 #5); a second clamp member (FIG.1 #4); and a component attachment portion ( Fig.4 #16; Abstract; Col 3 line 19); wherein an inner side of the first clamp member configured to correspond to a shape of a first side the structural component (Fig.8 #8,14, Fig.4 #13; Col 3 lines 48-49); wherein an inner side of the second clamp member configured to correspond to a shape of a second side of the structural component, the second side lying opposite the first side (Fig.2 # 10A,10B; Col 2 lines 64-66); wherein the first clamp member and the second clamp member are connectable to each other so that the clamp holder engages the structural component with the inner side of the first clamp member and with the inner side of the second clamp member (Col 1 lines 47-57), such that the clamp holder surrounds the structural component at least in sections when the clamp holder is attached to the structural component (Fig.1 & 8); and wherein the component attachment portionconfiguerd to fasten a component to the clamp holder (Fig.4 Col 2 lines50-51, Col 3 lines 31-35).
Regarding claim 2, The clamp holder of claim 1, wherein the component attachment portion is configured to receive and hold a cable as a component (Fig.4 #16, Col 3 lines 14-15, 20-21).
Regarding claim 3, The clamp holder of claim 1, wherein the component attachment portion is a through hole in the first clamp member configured to receive an elongate component (Col 3 lines 56-57).
Regarding claim 4, The clamp holder of claim 3, wherein the through hole extends along a longitudinal direction of the structural component when the clamp holder is attached to the structural component (Fig.4 #16; Col 3 lines 56-57).
Regarding claim 7, Smith does not teach wherein the clip is 3-D printed. However, the process of being 3-D printed is considered a product-by-process limitation, and the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113). Accordingly, Smith teaches the clip of claim 7, wherein at least one of the first clamp member or the second clamp member is an element manufactured by 3D printing (Col 2 lines 28-29).
Regarding claim 8, The clamp holder of claim 1, wherein the clamp holder configured to be attached to a stringer a frame of an aircraft (Abstract; Col 1 lines 47-50).
Regarding claim 9, A vehicle, comprising: a vehicle shell; at least one structural component; and at least one clamp holder; wherein the at least one clamp holder is attached to one of the at least one structural components and secures a component to the structural component (Abstract; Col 1 lines 47-50).
Regarding claim 10, The vehicle of claim 9, wherein the vehicle is an aircraft; and where in the at least one structural component is a stringer or a frame of the aircraft (Abstract; Col 1 lines 47-50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koneczny (US 5263665 A) in view of Boswell (Us 20210114743 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Koneczny teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except wherein the first clamp member and the second clamp member are connectable to each another via a clamp screw connection.
Regarding claim 5, Boswell does teach the first clamp member (Boswell: Fig.1 #100) and the second clamp member (Boswell: Fig.1 #200) are connectable to each another via a clamp screw connection (Boswell: Abstract; Fig.1 #300; ¶14).
Koneczny with Boswell within the same field of endeavor, devices for fastening or securing constructional elements or machine parts tighter. It would been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Koneczny in view of Boswell to incorporate the teachings of Boswell to provide screw connection between the first and second clamp. Doing so provides greater strength of compression on the fitting, securing the device to the structural component.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koneczny (US 5263665 A) in view of Marandi (US 6364372 B1).
Regarding claim 6, Koneczny teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except wherein at least one of the first clamp member or the second clamp member comprises an adhesive coating on the inner side facing the structural component in the installed state.
Regarding claim 6, Marandi teaches at least one of the first clamp member or the second clamp member comprises an adhesive coating on the inner side facing the structural component in the installed state (Marandi: Col 2, Lines 44-47).
Koneczny and Marandi are within the same field of endeavor, general measurements for producing and maintaining effective functioning of machines or installations. It would been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Koneczny in view of Marandi to incorporate the methods of Marandi to prevent disengagement from the structural component. By applying adhesives directly to the first and second clamp inner surfaces that interact with the structural component increasing the strength of engagement of the device. Doing so would improve the securing strength of the clamp to the structural component.
Conclusion
/K.J.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3631
/JONATHAN LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3631