DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on 4/2/26, 3/3/25 and 1/21/25 were considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 2-3 and 11-12 show “VT” as an input to processor 400, but the Examiner could not find any description of “VT” in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “luminance control unit”, “pixel compensation unit”, “first statistics acquisition unit”, second statistics acquisition unit” and “abnormality detection unit” in claims 1, 3, 5-8, 11-12 and 15-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takumi (JP 2011158499 A, cited by Applicant, machine translation enclosed). Regarding claim 1, Takumi discloses an image display control device having a local dimming function, comprising (Figs. 1-3, machine translation, page 1, abstract, page 2, last 5 paragraphs, display control device 3 with backlight control unit 34 having a local dimming function for LCD panel 41 of display device 4 by controlling light sources depending on the brightness of the area of the image displayed on the screen): a luminance control unit configured to generate backlight control information used for controlling a plurality of light sources included in a backlight based on first image information indicating an input image (Figs. 1-3, page 3, 6th paragraph, page 4, second paragraph, backlight control unit 34 as a luminance control unit configured to generate backlight control information (light source control amount) used for controlling a plurality of LED light sources included in a backlight 42 based on first image information (brightness of the area of the input image F1) indicating an input image); a pixel compensation unit configured to generate second image information indicating an output image by correcting one or more pixel values included in the first image information based on luminance of the plurality of light sources (Figs. 1-3, page 4, first paragraph, image corrector unit 33 as a pixel compensation unit configured to generate second image information (amplifies the input image to generate an amplified image as the second image information) indicating an output image by correcting one or more pixel values included in the first image information based on luminance of the plurality of light sources (Page 4, sixth paragraph, luminance of the input image F1 is amplified according to the light source control amount at each position)); a first statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire first statistical data of the pixel values included in the first image information (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, maximum brightness detector 342 as a first statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire first statistical data (maximum brightness detector 342 derives the maximum value Ym of the luminance of the input image as first statistical data) of the pixel values included in the first image information); a second statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire second statistical data of one or more luminance values included in the backlight control information, the luminance values corresponding to the light sources (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, abnormality determination unit 343 as a second statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire second statistical data of one or more luminance values included in the backlight control information, the luminance values corresponding to the light sources (abnormality determination unit 343 uses the maximum value Lm of the light source control amount as luminance values for the light sources; the maximum value Lm is second statistical data acquired from the backlight control information); and an abnormality detection unit configured to detect an abnormality of the luminance control unit according to whether or not the second statistical data is included in a range between an upper limit value and a lower limit value, the upper limit value and the lower limit value being determined by the first statistical data (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, abnormality determination unit 343 that determines whether or not the light source control amount Lm is abnormally high compared to the maximum value of the luminance of the image input Ym. Abnormality determination unit 343 subtracts the maximum value Ym of the luminance of the input image from the maximum value Lm of the light source control amount, and derives the result as the abnormality determination value, and then check if this value is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value; under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the abnormality detection logic that identifies values exceeding an abnormally high threshold (Lm >= Ym + threshold) is functionally equivalent to detecting whether the second statistical data Lm is included within a normal operating range; In this context, the normal range is defined by a lower limit value of zero (as luminance values are inherently non-negative) and a dynamic upper limit value (Ym + threshold); because this upper limit is directly calculated using the maximum value Ym or first statistical data, the range is considered to be determined by the first statistical data). Regarding claim 3, Takumi discloses an image display control device having a local dimming function, comprising (Figs. 1-3, machine translation, page 1, abstract, page 2, last 5 paragraphs, display control device 3 with backlight control unit 34 having a local dimming function for LCD panel 41 of display device 4 by controlling light sources depending on the brightness of the area of the image displayed on the screen): a luminance control unit configured to generate backlight control information used for controlling a plurality of light sources included in a backlight based on first image information indicating an input image (Figs. 1-3, page 3, 6th paragraph, page 4, second paragraph, backlight control unit 34 as a luminance control unit configured to generate backlight control information (light source control amount) used for controlling a plurality of LED light sources included in a backlight 42 based on first image information (brightness of the area of the input image F1) indicating an input image); a pixel compensation unit configured to generate second image information indicating an output image by correcting one or more pixel values included in the first image information based on luminance of the plurality of light sources (Figs. 1-3, page 4, first paragraph, image corrector unit 33 as a pixel compensation unit configured to generate second image information (amplifies the input image to generate an amplified image as the second image information) indicating an output image by correcting one or more pixel values included in the first image information based on luminance of the plurality of light sources (Page 4, sixth paragraph, luminance of the input image F1 is amplified according to the light source control amount at each position)); a first statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire first statistical data of the pixel values included in the first image information (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, maximum brightness detector 342 as a first statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire first statistical data (maximum brightness detector 342 derives the maximum value Ym of the luminance of the input image as first statistical data) of the pixel values included in the first image information); a second statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire second statistical data of the pixel values included in the second image information (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, abnormality determination unit 343 as a second statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire second statistical data of one or more luminance values included in the backlight control information, the luminance values corresponding to the light sources (abnormality determination unit 343 uses the maximum value Lm of the light source control amount as luminance values for the light sources; the maximum value Lm is second statistical data acquired from the backlight control information in the second image); a third statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire third statistical data of one or more luminance values included in the backlight control information, the luminance values corresponding to the light sources (Figs. 1-3, page 4, second paragraph, light amount adjustment unit 341 as a third statistics acquisition unit acquires third statistical data as luminance expressed in 8 bits); and an abnormality detection unit configured to detect an abnormality of the luminance control unit according to whether or not output statistical data acquired based on the second statistical data and the third statistical data is included in a range between an upper limit value and a lower limit value, the upper limit value and the lower limit value being determined by input statistical data acquired based on the first statistical data (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, abnormality determination unit 343 that determines whether or not the light source control amount Lm is abnormally high compared to the maximum value of the luminance of the image input Ym. Abnormality determination unit 343 subtracts the maximum value Ym of the luminance of the input image from the maximum value Lm of the light source control amount, and derives the result as the abnormality determination value, and then check if this value is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value; under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the abnormality detection logic that identifies values exceeding an abnormally high threshold (Lm >= Ym + threshold) is functionally equivalent to detecting whether the second statistical data Lm and third statistical data (8 bits) is included within a normal operating range; In this context, the normal range is defined by a lower limit value of zero (as luminance values as third statistical data (0 bits) are inherently non-negative) and a dynamic upper limit value (Ym + threshold); because this upper limit is directly calculated using the maximum value Ym or first statistical data and third statistical data value in bits less than 255 bits, the range is considered to be determined by the first statistical data; output occurs from abnormality detection unit 343 to switching unit 344 and duty control unit 345 and backlight 42 when in range).
Regarding claim 9, Takumi discloses an image display control device having a display engine configured to perform a local dimming process and a processor configured to control an operation of the display engine (Figs. 1-3, machine translation, page 1, abstract, page 2, last 5 paragraphs, display control device 3 with backlight control unit 34 having a local dimming function for LCD panel 41 of display device 4 by controlling light sources depending on the brightness of the area of the image displayed on the screen using controller 30 as processor to control operation of display engine or display control device 3 formed as an ASIC), wherein the display engine is configured to: receive first image information indicating an image to be displayed on a display unit (Figs. 1-3, page 3, 6th paragraph, page 4, second paragraph, backlight control unit 34 as a luminance control unit configured to generate backlight control information (light source control amount) used for controlling a plurality of LED light sources included in a backlight 42 based on received first image information (brightness of the area of the input image F1) indicating an input image to be displayed on the display unit 4); store the first image information (Figs. 1-3, page 3, seventh paragraph, the image input unit 31 stores the first image information as 8 bits of information that is then supplies it to other functional units); generate backlight control information used for controlling a plurality of light sources included in a backlight based on the first image information (Figs. 1-3, page 3, sixth and ninth paragraphs, backlight control unit 34 generates backlight control information used for controlling a plurality of light sources 44 included in a backlight 42 based on the first image information); generate second image information indicating an output image by correcting one or more pixel values included in the first image information based on luminance of the plurality of light sources (Figs. 1-3, page 4, first paragraph, image corrector unit 33 as a pixel compensation unit configured to generate second image information (amplifies the input image to generate an amplified image as the second image information) indicating an output image by correcting one or more pixel values included in the first image information based on luminance of the plurality of light sources (Page 4, sixth paragraph, luminance of the input image F1 is amplified according to the light source control amount at each position)); acquire first statistical data of the pixel values included in the first image information (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, maximum brightness detector 342 as a first statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire first statistical data (maximum brightness detector 342 derives the maximum value Ym of the luminance of the input image as first statistical data) of the pixel values included in the first image information); acquire second statistical data of one or more luminance values included in the backlight control information, the luminance values corresponding to the light sources (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, abnormality determination unit 343 as a second statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire second statistical data of one or more luminance values included in the backlight control information, the luminance values corresponding to the light sources (abnormality determination unit 343 uses the maximum value Lm of the light source control amount as luminance values for the light sources; the maximum value Lm is second statistical data acquired from the backlight control information); and output the second image information to the display unit (Figs. 1-3, backlight control unit 34 outputs second image information to the display unit 4), wherein the processor is configured to detect an abnormality in a generation process of the backlight control information according to whether or not the second statistical data is included in a range of an upper limit value and a lower limit value, the upper limit value and the lower limit value being determined by the first statistical data (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, abnormality determination unit 343 that determines whether or not the light source control amount Lm is abnormally high compared to the maximum value of the luminance of the image input Ym. Abnormality determination unit 343 subtracts the maximum value Ym of the luminance of the input image from the maximum value Lm of the light source control amount, and derives the result as the abnormality determination value, and then check if this value is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value; under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the abnormality detection logic that identifies values exceeding an abnormally high threshold (Lm >= Ym + threshold) is functionally equivalent to detecting whether the second statistical data Lm is included within a normal operating range; In this context, the normal range is defined by a lower limit value of zero (as luminance values are inherently non-negative) and a dynamic upper limit value (Ym + threshold); because this upper limit is directly calculated using the maximum value Ym or first statistical data, the range is considered to be determined by the first statistical data).
Regarding claim 10, Takumi discloses an image display control device having a display engine configured to perform a local dimming process and a processor configured to control an operation of the display engine (Figs. 1-3, machine translation, page 1, abstract, page 2, last 5 paragraphs, display control device 3 with backlight control unit 34 having a local dimming function for LCD panel 41 of display device 4 by controlling light sources depending on the brightness of the area of the image displayed on the screen using controller 30 as processor to control operation of display engine or display control device 3 formed as an ASIC), wherein the display engine is configured to: receive first image information indicating an image to be displayed on a display unit (Figs. 1-3, page 3, 6th paragraph, page 4, second paragraph, backlight control unit 34 as a luminance control unit configured to generate backlight control information (light source control amount) used for controlling a plurality of LED light sources included in a backlight 42 based on received first image information (brightness of the area of the input image F1) indicating an input image to be displayed on the display unit 4); store the first image information (Figs. 1-3, page 3, seventh paragraph, the image input unit 31 stores the first image information as 8 bits of information that is then supplies it to other functional units); generate backlight control information used for controlling a plurality of light sources included in a backlight based on the first image information (Figs. 1-3, page 3, sixth and ninth paragraphs, backlight control unit 34 generates backlight control information used for controlling a plurality of light sources 44 included in a backlight 42 based on the first image information); generate second image information indicating an output image by correcting one or more pixel values included in the first image information based on luminance of the plurality of light sources (Figs. 1-3, page 4, first paragraph, image corrector unit 33 as a pixel compensation unit configured to generate second image information (amplifies the input image to generate an amplified image as the second image information) indicating an output image by correcting one or more pixel values included in the first image information based on luminance of the plurality of light sources (Page 4, sixth paragraph, luminance of the input image F1 is amplified according to the light source control amount at each position)); acquire first statistical data of the pixel values included in the first image information (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, maximum brightness detector 342 as a first statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire first statistical data (maximum brightness detector 342 derives the maximum value Ym of the luminance of the input image as first statistical data) of the pixel values included in the first image information); acquire second statistical data of the pixel values included in the second image information (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, abnormality determination unit 343 as a second statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire second statistical data of one or more luminance values included in the backlight control information, the luminance values corresponding to the light sources (abnormality determination unit 343 uses the maximum value Lm of the light source control amount as luminance values for the light sources; the maximum value Lm is second statistical data acquired from the backlight control information); acquire third statistical data of one or more luminance values included in the backlight control information, the luminance values corresponding to the light sources (Figs. 1-3, page 4, second paragraph, light amount adjustment unit 341 as a third statistics acquisition unit acquires third statistical data as luminance expressed in 8 bits that is included in the backlight control information); and output the second image information to the display unit (Figs. 1-3, backlight control unit 34 outputs second image information to the display unit 4); wherein the processor is configure to detect an abnormality in a generation process of the backlight control information according to whether or not output statistical data acquired based on the second statistical data and the third statistical data is included in a range of an upper limit value and a lower limit value, the upper limit value and the lower limit value being determined by input statistical data acquired based on the first statistical data (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, abnormality determination unit 343 that determines whether or not the light source control amount Lm is abnormally high compared to the maximum value of the luminance of the image input Ym. Abnormality determination unit 343 subtracts the maximum value Ym of the luminance of the input image from the maximum value Lm of the light source control amount, and derives the result as the abnormality determination value, and then check if this value is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value; under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the abnormality detection logic that identifies values exceeding an abnormally high threshold (Lm >= Ym + threshold) is functionally equivalent to detecting whether the second statistical data Lm and third statistical data (8 bits) is included within a normal operating range; In this context, the normal range is defined by a lower limit value of zero (as luminance values as third statistical data (0 bits) are inherently non-negative) and a dynamic upper limit value (Ym + threshold); because this upper limit is directly calculated using the maximum value Ym or first statistical data and third statistical data value in bits less than 255 bits, the range is considered to be determined by the first statistical data; output occurs from abnormality detection unit 343 to switching unit 344 and duty control unit 345 and backlight 42 when in range).
Regarding claim 11, Takumi discloses an image display control device having a local dimming function, comprising (Figs. 1-3, machine translation, page 1, abstract, page 2, last 5 paragraphs, display control device 3 with backlight control unit 34 having a local dimming function for LCD panel 41 of display device 4 by controlling light sources depending on the brightness of the area of the image displayed on the screen): a luminance control unit configured to generate backlight control information used for controlling a plurality of light sources included in a backlight based on first image information indicating an input image (Figs. 1-3, page 3, 6th paragraph, page 4, second paragraph, backlight control unit 34 as a luminance control unit configured to generate backlight control information (light source control amount) used for controlling a plurality of LED light sources included in a backlight 42 based on first image information (brightness of the area of the input image F1) indicating an input image); a pixel compensation unit configured to generate second image information indicating an output image by correcting one or more pixel values included in the first image information based on luminance of the plurality of light sources (Figs. 1-3, page 4, first paragraph, image corrector unit 33 as a pixel compensation unit configured to generate second image information (amplifies the input image to generate an amplified image as the second image information) indicating an output image by correcting one or more pixel values included in the first image information based on luminance of the plurality of light sources (Page 4, sixth paragraph, luminance of the input image F1 is amplified according to the light source control amount at each position)); a first statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire first statistical data of one or more luminance values included in the backlight control information, the luminance values corresponding to the light sources (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, maximum brightness detector 342 as a first statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire first statistical data (maximum brightness detector 342 derives the maximum value Ym of the luminance of the input image as first statistical data) of the pixel values included in the first image information as part of the backlight control information, the luminance values corresponding to the light sources 44 luminances); and an abnormality detection unit configured to detect an abnormality of the luminance control unit according to whether or not the first statistical data is included in a range of an upper limit value and a lower limit value, the upper limit value and the lower limit value being determined by an image to be displayed (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, abnormality determination unit 343 that determines whether or not the light source control amount Lm is abnormally high compared to the maximum value of the luminance of the image input Ym. Abnormality determination unit 343 subtracts the maximum value Ym of the luminance of the input image from the maximum value Lm of the light source control amount, and derives the result as the abnormality determination value, and then check if this value is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value; under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the abnormality detection logic that identifies values exceeding an abnormally high threshold (Lm >= Ym + threshold) is functionally equivalent to detecting whether a second statistical data Lm is included within a normal operating range; In this context, the normal range is defined by a lower limit value of zero (as luminance values are inherently non-negative) and a dynamic upper limit value (Ym + threshold); because this upper limit is directly calculated using the maximum value Ym or first statistical data, the range is considered to be determined by the first statistical data).
Regarding claim 12, Takumi discloses an image display control device having a local dimming function, comprising (Figs. 1-3, machine translation, page 1, abstract, page 2, last 5 paragraphs, display control device 3 with backlight control unit 34 having a local dimming function for LCD panel 41 of display device 4 by controlling light sources depending on the brightness of the area of the image displayed on the screen): a luminance control unit configured to generate backlight control information used for controlling a plurality of light sources included in a backlight based on first image information indicating an input image (Figs. 1-3, page 3, 6th paragraph, page 4, second paragraph, backlight control unit 34 as a luminance control unit configured to generate backlight control information (light source control amount) used for controlling a plurality of LED light sources included in a backlight 42 based on first image information (brightness of the area of the input image F1) indicating an input image); a pixel compensation unit configured to generate second image information indicating an output image by correcting one or more pixel values included in the first image information based on luminance of the plurality of light sources (Figs. 1-3, page 4, first paragraph, image corrector unit 33 as a pixel compensation unit configured to generate second image information (amplifies the input image to generate an amplified image as the second image information) indicating an output image by correcting one or more pixel values included in the first image information based on luminance of the plurality of light sources (Page 4, sixth paragraph, luminance of the input image F1 is amplified according to the light source control amount at each position)); a first statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire first statistical data of the pixel values included in the second image information (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, maximum brightness detector 342 as a first statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire first statistical data (maximum brightness detector 342 derives the maximum value Ym of the luminance of the input image as first statistical data) of the pixel values included in the second image information output to the backlight 42); a second statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire second statistical data of one or more luminance values included in the backlight control information, the luminance values corresponding to the light sources (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, abnormality determination unit 343 as a second statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire second statistical data of one or more luminance values included in the backlight control information, the luminance values corresponding to the light sources (abnormality determination unit 343 uses the maximum value Lm of the light source control amount as luminance values for the light sources; the maximum value Lm is second statistical data acquired from the backlight control information); and an abnormality detection unit configured to detect an abnormality of the luminance control unit according to whether or not output statistical data acquired based on the first statistical data and the second statistical data is included in a range of an upper limit value and a lower limit value, the upper limit value and the lower limit value being determined by an image to be displayed (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, abnormality determination unit 343 that determines whether or not the light source control amount Lm is abnormally high compared to the maximum value of the luminance of the image input Ym. Abnormality determination unit 343 subtracts the maximum value Ym of the luminance of the input image from the maximum value Lm of the light source control amount, and derives the result as the abnormality determination value, and then check if this value is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value; under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the abnormality detection logic that identifies values exceeding an abnormally high threshold (Lm >= Ym + threshold) is functionally equivalent to detecting whether the second statistical data Lm is included within a normal operating range; In this context, the normal range is defined by a lower limit value of zero (as luminance values are inherently non-negative) and a dynamic upper limit value (Ym + threshold); because this upper limit is directly calculated using the maximum value Ym or first statistical data, the range is considered to be determined by the first statistical data).
Regarding claim 13, Takumi discloses an image display system comprising: the image display control device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection); a display unit (Figs. 1-3, page 2, second paragraph, display unit 4); the backlight disposed to face the display unit (Fig. 2, backlight 42 is disposed to face the lcd panel 41 of the display unit 4); and a head unit configured to generate an image and output the first image information indicating a generated image to the image display control device (Fig. 1, page 2, last paragraph, camera input unit 22 as a head unit (i.e., a beginning unit) configured to generate an image and output the first image information indicating a generated image to the image display control device 3).
Regarding claim 14, Takumi discloses an image display system comprising: the image display control device according to claim 3 (see claim 3 rejection); a display unit (Figs. 1-3, page 2, second paragraph, display unit 4); the backlight disposed to face the display unit (Fig. 2, backlight 42 is disposed to face the lcd panel 41 of the display unit 4); and a head unit configured to generate an image and output the first image information indicating a generated image to the image display control device (Fig. 1, page 2, last paragraph, camera input unit 22 as a head unit (i.e., a beginning unit) configured to generate an image and output the first image information indicating a generated image to the image display control device 3).
Regarding claim 15, Takumi discloses an image display control method by an image display control device having a local dimming function, comprising (Figs. 1-3, machine translation, page 1, abstract, page 2, last 5 paragraphs, method performed by display control device 3 with backlight control unit 34 having a local dimming function for LCD panel 41 of display device 4 by controlling light sources depending on the brightness of the area of the image displayed on the screen): generating, by a luminance control unit included in the image display control device, backlight control information used for controlling a plurality of light sources included in a backlight based on first image information indicating an input image (Figs. 1-3, page 3, 6th paragraph, page 4, second paragraph, backlight control unit 34 as a luminance control unit configured to generate backlight control information (light source control amount) used for controlling a plurality of LED light sources included in a backlight 42 based on first image information (brightness of the area of the input image F1) indicating an input image); generating, by a pixel compensation unit included in the image display control device, second image information indicating an output image by correcting one or more pixel values included in the first image information based on luminance of the plurality of light sources (Figs. 1-3, page 4, first paragraph, image corrector unit 33 as a pixel compensation unit configured to generate second image information (amplifies the input image to generate an amplified image as the second image information) indicating an output image by correcting one or more pixel values included in the first image information based on luminance of the plurality of light sources (Page 4, sixth paragraph, luminance of the input image F1 is amplified according to the light source control amount at each position)); acquiring, by a first statistics acquisition unit included in the image display control device, first statistical data of the pixel values included in the first image information (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, maximum brightness detector 342 as a first statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire first statistical data (maximum brightness detector 342 derives the maximum value Ym of the luminance of the input image as first statistical data) of the pixel values included in the first image information); acquiring, by a second statistics acquisition unit included in the image display control device, second statistical data of one or more luminance values included in the backlight control information, the luminance values corresponding to the light sources (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, abnormality determination unit 343 as a second statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire second statistical data of one or more luminance values included in the backlight control information, the luminance values corresponding to the light sources (abnormality determination unit 343 uses the maximum value Lm of the light source control amount as luminance values for the light sources; the maximum value Lm is second statistical data acquired from the backlight control information); and detecting by an abnormality detection unit included in the image display control device, an abnormality of the luminance control unit according to whether or not the second statistical data is included within a range between an upper limit value and a lower limit value, the upper limit value and the lower limit value being determined by the first statistical data (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, abnormality determination unit 343 that determines whether or not the light source control amount Lm is abnormally high compared to the maximum value of the luminance of the image input Ym. Abnormality determination unit 343 subtracts the maximum value Ym of the luminance of the input image from the maximum value Lm of the light source control amount, and derives the result as the abnormality determination value, and then check if this value is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value; under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the abnormality detection logic that identifies values exceeding an abnormally high threshold (Lm >= Ym + threshold) is functionally equivalent to detecting whether the second statistical data Lm is included within a normal operating range; In this context, the normal range is defined by a lower limit value of zero (as luminance values are inherently non-negative) and a dynamic upper limit value (Ym + threshold); because this upper limit is directly calculated using the maximum value Ym or first statistical data, the range is considered to be determined by the first statistical data).
Regarding claim 16, Takumi discloses an image display control method by an image display control device having a local dimming function, comprising (Figs. 1-3, machine translation, page 1, abstract, page 2, last 5 paragraphs, method performed by display control device 3 with backlight control unit 34 having a local dimming function for LCD panel 41 of display device 4 by controlling light sources depending on the brightness of the area of the image displayed on the screen): generating, by a luminance control unit included in the image display control device, backlight control information used for controlling a plurality of light sources included in a backlight based on first image information indicating an input image (Figs. 1-3, page 3, 6th paragraph, page 4, second paragraph, backlight control unit 34 as a luminance control unit configured to generate backlight control information (light source control amount) used for controlling a plurality of LED light sources included in a backlight 42 based on first image information (brightness of the area of the input image F1) indicating an input image); generating, by a pixel compensation unit included in the image display control device, second image information indicating an output image by correcting one or more pixel values included in the first image information based on luminance of the plurality of light sources (Figs. 1-3, page 4, first paragraph, image corrector unit 33 as a pixel compensation unit configured to generate second image information (amplifies the input image to generate an amplified image as the second image information) indicating an output image by correcting one or more pixel values included in the first image information based on luminance of the plurality of light sources (Page 4, sixth paragraph, luminance of the input image F1 is amplified according to the light source control amount at each position)); acquiring, by a first statistics acquisition unit included in the image display control device, first statistical data of the pixel values included in the first image information (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, maximum brightness detector 342 as a first statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire first statistical data (maximum brightness detector 342 derives the maximum value Ym of the luminance of the input image as first statistical data) of the pixel values included in the first image information); acquiring, by a second statistics acquisition unit included in the image display control device, second statistical data of the pixel values included in the second image information (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, abnormality determination unit 343 as a second statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire second statistical data of one or more luminance values included in the backlight control information, the luminance values corresponding to the light sources (abnormality determination unit 343 uses the maximum value Lm of the light source control amount as luminance values for the light sources; the maximum value Lm is second statistical data acquired from the backlight control information in the second image); acquiring, by a third statistics acquisition unit included in the image display control device, third statistical data of one or more luminance values included in the backlight control information, the luminance values corresponding to the light sources (Figs. 1-3, page 4, second paragraph, light amount adjustment unit 341 as a third statistics acquisition unit acquires third statistical data as luminance expressed in 8 bits); and detecting, by an abnormality detection unit included in the image display control device, an abnormality of the luminance control unit according to whether or not output statistical data acquired based on the second statistical data and the third statistical data is included in a range of an upper limit value and a lower limit value, the upper limit value and the lower limit value being determined by input statistical data acquired based on the first statistical data (Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, abnormality determination unit 343 that determines whether or not the light source control amount Lm is abnormally high compared to the maximum value of the luminance of the image input Ym. Abnormality determination unit 343 subtracts the maximum value Ym of the luminance of the input image from the maximum value Lm of the light source control amount, and derives the result as the abnormality determination value, and then check if this value is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value; under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the abnormality detection logic that identifies values exceeding an abnormally high threshold (Lm >= Ym + threshold) is functionally equivalent to detecting whether the second statistical data Lm and third statistical data (8 bits) is included within a normal operating range; In this context, the normal range is defined by a lower limit value of zero (as luminance values as third statistical data (0 bits) are inherently non-negative) and a dynamic upper limit value (Ym + threshold); because this upper limit is directly calculated using the maximum value Ym or first statistical data and third statistical data value in bits less than 255 bits, the range is considered to be determined by the first statistical data; output occurs from abnormality detection unit 343 to switching unit 344 and duty control unit 345 and backlight 42 when in range).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takumi in view of KR 20110068321 (cited by Applicant, hereinafter KR ‘321, machine translation enclosed). Regarding claim 2, Takumi discloses the image display control device according to claim 1, wherein: the first statistical data is a value of luminance of the input image, the value being found based on the pixel values of the first image information (Takumi, Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, maximum brightness detector 342 as a first statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire first statistical data (maximum brightness detector 342 derives the maximum value Ym of the luminance of the input image as first statistical data) of the pixel values included in the first image information), and the second statistical data is a value of the luminance values included in the backlight control information, the luminance values corresponding to the light sources (Takumi, Figs. 1-3, page 3, last paragraph, page 8, fifth paragraph, abnormality determination unit 343 as a second statistics acquisition unit configured to acquire second statistical data of one or more luminance values included in the backlight control information, the luminance values corresponding to the light sources (abnormality determination unit 343 uses the maximum value Lm of the light source control amount as luminance values for the light sources; the maximum value Lm is second statistical data acquired from the backlight control information). Takumi does not explicitly disclose the first statistical data is an average value of luminance of the input image, the average value being found based on the pixel values of the first image information, and the second statistical data is an average value of the luminance values included in the backlight control information. KR ‘321 teaches to use average values for statistical data (machine translation page 8, fifth paragraph, “the light source controller 921 compares an average value of the input image signals R, G, and B with a predetermined setting value for a plurality of pixels corresponding to each pixel block, and has a lower average value than the predetermined value … ,” to achieve statistical verification of the backlight). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image display control device of Takumi to have the first statistical data is an average value of luminance of the input image, the average value being found based on the pixel values of the first image information, and the second statistical data is an average value of the luminance values included in the backlight control information, such as taught by KR ‘321, for the purpose of providing local control of pixel brightness values. Regarding claim 6, Takumi discloses the image display control device according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein, when the abnormality of the luminance control unit is detected, the abnormality detection unit is configured to cause the first image information to be output as the second image information regardless of an operation of the pixel compensation unit and cause the plurality of light sources to be turned on regardless of the operation of the luminance control unit.
KR ‘321 teaches to bypass local control operation when the local control operation is performed abnormally, and control the operation of the light source in a global control mode (page 10, lines 1-9, “releases the local control mode and controls the operation of the light source device 970 in the global control mode”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image display control device of Takumi to have wherein, when the abnormality of the luminance control unit is detected, the abnormality detection unit is configured to cause the first image information to be output as the second image information regardless of an operation of the pixel compensation unit and cause the plurality of light sources to be turned on regardless of the operation of the luminance control unit, such as taught by KR ‘321, for the purpose of providing global control of the backlight when an abnormality is detected and bypassing pixel compensation and output of the input image. Regarding claim 8, Takumi discloses the image display control device according to claim 3, wherein, when the abnormality of the luminance control unit is detected, the abnormality detection unit is configured to cause the first image information to be output as the second image information regardless of an operation of the pixel compensation unit and cause the plurality of light sources to be turned on regardless of the operation of the luminance control unit.
KR ‘321 teaches to bypass local control operation when the local control operation is performed abnormally, and control the operation of the light source in a global control mode (page 10, lines 1-9, “releases the local control mode and controls the operation of the light source device 970 in the global control mode”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image display control device of Takumi to have wherein, when the abnormality of the luminance control unit is detected, the abnormality detection unit is configured to cause the first image information to be output as the second image information regardless of an operation of the pixel compensation unit and cause the plurality of light sources to be turned on regardless of the operation of the luminance control unit, such as taught by KR ‘321, for the purpose of providing global control of the backlight when an abnormality is detected and bypassing pixel compensation and output of the input image.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takumi in view of Akiba (US 2023/0245627). Regarding claim 5, Takumi discloses the image display control device according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the abnormality detection unit is configured to prevent a process of detecting an abnormality of the luminance control unit for a duration of at least one frame when a content of the image which is to be displayed on a display unit and indicated by the second image information is switched, or when the image display control device starts. Akiba teaches “when the display image data IMD corresponding to the dimming control is output from the color correction circuit 30 to the display device 100 before the dimming control based on the calculation result of the dimming amount of the dimming amount calculation circuit 54 is performed, a problem occurs in image display on the display device 100. In this case, a method of performing the color correction, luminance analysis, and calculation of the dimming amount on the image data IM corresponding to the input image data IMI to output the display image data IMD, for example, with a delay of one frame may be considered”([0067]; note, for the “input image data IMI” to be analyzed and color corrected, it would have to be input into the system, which would cause a change in the content of the images displayed). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image display control device of Takumi to have wherein the abnormality detection unit is configured to prevent a process of detecting an abnormality of the luminance control unit for a duration of at least one frame when a content of the image which is to be displayed on a display unit and indicated by the second image information is switched, or when the image display control device starts, such as taught by Akiba, for the purpose of preventing conflicts of processing time between the various processes involved in the anomaly detection process. Regarding claim 7, Takumi discloses the image display control device according to claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the abnormality detection unit is configured to prevent a process of detecting an abnormality of the luminance control unit for a duration of at least one frame when a content of the image which is to be displayed on a display unit and indicated by the second image information is switched, or when the image display control device starts. Akiba teaches “when the display image data IMD corresponding to the dimming control is output from the color correction circuit 30 to the display device 100 before the dimming control based on the calculation result of the dimming amount of the dimming amount calculation circuit 54 is performed, a problem occurs in image display on the display device 100. In this case, a method of performing the color correction, luminance analysis, and calculation of the dimming amount on the image data IM corresponding to the input image data IMI to output the display image data IMD, for example, with a delay of one frame may be considered”([0067]; note, for the “input image data IMI” to be analyzed and color corrected, it would have to be input into the system, which would cause a change in the content of the images displayed). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image display control device of Takumi to have wherein the abnormality detection unit is configured to prevent a process of detecting an abnormality of the luminance control unit for a duration of at least one frame when a content of the image which is to be displayed on a display unit and indicated by the second image information is switched, or when the image display control device starts, such as taught by Akiba, for the purpose of preventing conflicts of processing time between the various processes involved in the anomaly detection process.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 4, Takumi discloses the image display control device according to claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose wherein: the first statistical data is an average value of luminance of the input image, the average value being found based on the pixel values of the first image information; the input statistical data is the first statistical data or a value found by multiplying the first statistical data by a coefficient; the second statistical data is an average value of luminance of the output image, the average value being found based on the pixel values of the second image information; the third statistical data is an average value of the luminance values included in the backlight control information, the luminance values corresponding to the light sources; and the output statistical data has a value corresponding to an average value of the luminance of the input image, the value corresponding to the average value being found by multiplying the second statistical data by the third statistical data.
Conclusion
JOSEPH PATRICK FOX
Examiner
Art Unit 2622
/J.P.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622