DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on (1/21/25 4/6/26) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
1. Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Addanki et al. (US 9,884,545).
[CLAIM 1] Regarding claim 1, Addanki discloses a battery pack comprising: a first portion (Addanki, annotated FIG 2); a second portion (Addanki, annotated FIG 2), attached to the first portion (Addanki, annotated FIG 2) and forming an enclosed cavity with the first portion (Addanki, annotated FIG 2), wherein: the second portion comprises a set of support assemblies (Addanki, annotated FIG 2), each positioned adjacent to one corner of the second portion (Addanki, annotated FIG 2) and configured to attach to a vehicle frame (Addanki, annotated FIG 2), and each support assembly in the set of support assemblies comprises (a) a support bracket (Addanki, annotated FIG 2) configured to fixedly attached to the vehicle frame (Addanki, annotated FIG 2) and (b) a support bushing (Addanki, annotated FIG 2) fixedly attached to the second portion (Addanki, annotated FIG 2) and attached to the support bracket (Addanki, annotated FIG 2); and a set of battery modules (Addanki, FIG 1, cells 18 equally spaced gaps) positioned within the enclosed cavity and separated by a set of module gaps (Addanki, FIG 1, cells 18 equally spaced gaps).
[CLAIM 3] Regarding claim 3, Addanki discloses the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the support bushing comprises an opening for receiving a bolt to attach to a vehicle frame extending in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the vehicle frame (Addanki, annotated FIG 2 illustrates an exemplary bolt 116 within the bushing structure adapted to ultimately connect to the vehicle frame 58 vis mount 70).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Addanki et al. (US 9,884,545) in view of Tanigaki et al. (US 9,742,043).
[CLAIM 5] Regarding claim 5, Addanki discloses the battery pack of claim 1.
-However, it fails to disclose wherein the set of support assemblies is configured to attach to cross-members of the vehicle frame.
-Nevertheless, Tanigaki discloses a plurality of cross members with battery pack connections in FIG 2.
- Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Addanki to have cross member connection as taught by Tanigaki with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase mounting orientations suitable for a plurality of vehicle applications.
2. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Addanki et al. (US 9,884,545) in view of Sweet et al. (US PG PUB NO 2021/0184290).
[CLAIM 19] Regarding claim 19, Sweet discloses the battery pack of claim 1.
-However, it fails to disclose further comprises a battery management system (BMS) positioned within the enclosed cavity and connected to each battery module in the set of battery modules.
-Nevertheless, Sweet discloses a BMS (104) adapted for a battery pack (100).
- Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Addanki to have a BMS as taught by Sweet with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase vehicle communication with the battery functions such as temperature, state of charge and degradation.
3. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Addanki et al. (US 9,884,545).
[CLAIM 20] Regarding claim 20, Addanki discloses an electric vehicle comprising: a vehicle frame (58); and a set of battery packs (Addanki discloses a single module having sub-assemblies 18 containing individual cells that are gapped and afforded the overall mounting enclosure which can if desired be duplicated to create a set for large volume vehicles and would be a matter of duplication of parts. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) regarding a duplication. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Addanki to have a set of modules with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide adequate energy and storage thereof for a large vehicle application), enclosed within and attached to the vehicle frame (Addanki, annotated FIG 2), wherein: each pack in the set of battery packs comprises a first portion (Addanki, annotated FIG 2), a second portion (Addanki, annotated FIG 2), attached to the first portion (Addanki, annotated FIG 2) and forming an enclosed cavity (Addanki, annotated FIG 2) with the first portion, and a set of battery modules (18) positioned within the enclosed cavity, the second portion comprises a set of support assemblies (Addanki, annotated FIG 2), each positioned adjacent to one corner of the second portion and attached to the vehicle frame (Addanki, annotated FIG 2 illustrates the battery mounting supports adjacent the front and rear at the sides of the enclosure at the lateral frame rails 58), and each support assembly in the set of support assemblies comprises (a) a support bracket (Addanki, annotated FIG 2) fixedly attached to the vehicle frame and (b) a support bushing (Addanki, annotated FIG 2) fixedly attached to the second portion and attached to the support bracket.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4 and 6-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Addanki et al. (US 9,884,545) represents the most similar battery mounting structure as that claimed by Applicants but fails to disclose the additional limitations as set forth in Claim 2: (a rigid bushing enclosure bolted to the second portion of each pack in the set of battery packs, and an elastomeric bushing supported and surrounded by the rigid bushing enclosure.), Claim 6: (each pack in the set of battery packs further comprises a set of pressure-relief valves positioned in and protruding through a wall of the first portion, and each valve in the set of pressure-relief valves is configured to provide a fluid path from the enclosed cavity to environment outside of the battery pack when pressure inside the enclosed cavity is at or exceeds a set threshold and is further configured to fluidically isolate the enclosed cavity from the environment when the pressure inside the enclosed cavity is below the set threshold.), Claim 11: (an enclosure comprising a first set of side walls, a first thermal wall, and a second thermal wall, wherein: the first set of side walls and the first thermal wall define a first enclosure portion, and a thermal portion is defined, at least in part, by the first thermal wall and the second thermal wall collectively forming a thermal cavity therebetween; and a first set of batteries, positioned within the first enclosure portion, surrounded by the first set of side walls, and thermally coupled to the first thermal wall.), Claim 14: (an enclosure comprising a first set of side walls, a first thermal wall, and a second thermal wall, wherein: the first set of side walls and the first thermal wall define a first enclosure portion, and a thermal portion is defined, at least in part, by the first thermal wall and the second thermal wall collectively forming a thermal cavity therebetween; and a first set of batteries, positioned within the first enclosure portion, surrounded by the first set of side walls, and thermally coupled to the first thermal wall.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES J TRIGGS/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/MARC Q JIMENEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615