DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,786,722 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US 11,786,722 has been found to anticipate each and every element of the present invention, for instance both provide a neuromodulation apparatus for a medical treatment comprising: a plurality of active electrodes electrically isolated from each other and arranged in at least one electrodes array, wherein each active electrode comprises an electrically conductive element configured to be applied to a skin of a patient; at least one reference electrode configured to be applied to the skin of the patient; an electrical pulse generator electrically connected to each active electrode of the plurality of active electrodes and configured to selectively transmit electrical pulses for the neuromodulation medical treatment to each of the plurality of active electrodes; a control unit coupled to the electrical pulse generator and adapted to measure a resistance and/or a current-voltage characteristic between each active electrode of the plurality of active electrodes and the at least one reference electrode, wherein the control unit is adapted to evaluate active electrodes arranged in the same electrode array based on the measured resistance and/or current voltage characteristic, wherein from the evaluated active electrodes the control unit is adapted to select for a reception of the electrical pulses generated by the electrical pulse generator to one or more active electrodes.
As set forth above, the present invention is not viewed to be patentably distinct from US 11,786,722.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,226,624 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US 12,226,624 B2 has been found to anticipate each and every element of the present invention, for instance both provide a neuromodulation apparatus for a medical treatment comprising: a plurality of active electrodes electrically isolated from each other and arranged in at least one electrodes array, wherein each active electrode comprises an electrically conductive element configured to be applied to a skin of a patient; at least one reference electrode configured to be applied to the skin of the patient; an electrical pulse generator electrically connected to each active electrode of the plurality of active electrodes and configured to selectively transmit electrical pulses for the neuromodulation medical treatment to each of the plurality of active electrodes; a control unit coupled to the electrical pulse generator and adapted to measure a resistance and/or a current-voltage characteristic between each active electrode of the plurality of active electrodes and the at least one reference electrode, wherein the control unit is adapted to evaluate active electrodes arranged in the same electrode array based on the measured resistance and/or current voltage characteristic, wherein from the evaluated active electrodes the control unit is adapted to select for a reception of the electrical pulses generated by the electrical pulse generator to one or more active electrodes.
As set forth above, the present invention is not viewed to be patentably distinct from US 12,226,624 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by King (US 8,108,049 B2).
As to claim 1, King discloses a neuromodulation apparatus comprising: a plurality of active electrodes (depicted as 40 in Figure 3; col. 8, lines 17-29) electrically isolated from each other and arranged in at least one electrodes array (Figure 3; col. 8, lines 17-29), wherein each active electrode comprises an electrically conductive element configured to be applied to or under a skin of a patient (via the lead; Figure 3; col. 8, lines 17-45); at least one reference electrode configured to be applied to or under the skin of the patient (col. 9, lines 42-47); an electrical pulse generator (signal generation circuitry; depicted as 42 in Figure 3; col. 8, lines 30-64) electrically connected to each active electrode of the plurality of active electrodes and configured to selectively transmit electric pulses for the neuromodulation medical treatment to each of the plurality of active electrodes (col. 8, lines 30-64); a control unit (processor, depicted as 44 in Figure 3) coupled to the electrical pulse generator (signal generation circuitry) and adapted to measure a resistance and/or a current-voltage characteristic between each active electrode of the plurality of active electrodes and the at least one reference electrode (impedance measure; depicted as 52 in Figure 3, for example; col. 8, line 65 - col. 10, line 17), wherein from the evaluated active electrodes the control unit is configured to select one or more active electrodes with the lowest measured values of resistance and/or one or more active electrodes with current voltage characteristics showing the lowest voltage drop for the same value of passing current to receive the electrical pulses generated by the electrical pulse generator (col. 8, line 65 - col. 10, line 17; also see Figure 5).
As to claim 2, King discloses the control unit is adapted to control a shape of the electrical pulses generated by the electrical pulse generator (since King discloses controlling or adjusting the parameters of electrical stimulation (amplitude, etc.), King controls the “shape of the electrical pulses” generated) based on the measured value of resistance and/or the measured current voltage characteristic of the selected one or more active electrodes (col. 8, lines 30-67, col. 9, lines 1-67 and col. 10, lines 1-32; also Figures 4-5; Furthermore, since King discloses controlling or adjusting the parameters of electrical stimulation (amplitude, etc.), King controls the “shape of the electrical pulses” generated).
As to claim 3, King discloses the control unit is configured to repeatably measure the resistance and/or the current-voltage characteristic between each active electrode of the plurality of active electrodes and the at least one reference electrode (Figures 4-5; cols. 9-10, lines 3-67 and 1-32), wherein the control unit is further configured to update the selection of which of an active electrode or active electrodes of the plurality of active electrodes are to receive the electrical pulses for the neuromodulation medical treatment generated by the pulse generator (Figures 4-5; cols. 9- 10, lines 3-67 and 1-32, respectively).
As to claim 4, King discloses at least one detector (sensor, depicted as 54 in Figures 3) configured to detect a response of the patient to at least one electrical pulse generated by the electrical pulse generator, wherein the detector is further adapted to provide feedback on the detected response to the control unit (Figures 4-5; e.g., col. 10, lines 33-65).
As to claim 5, King discloses the at least one detector (sensor, depicted as 54 in Figure 3) is at least one motion detector configured to detect a movement of the patient and adapted to provide feedback on the movement to the control unit, wherein the movement of the patient body is in response to the at least one pulse of the pulse generator (Figures 4-5; col. 10, lines 33-65).
As to claim 6, King discloses the at least one motion detector includes at least one of an accelerometer (col. 10, lines 51-65).
As to claims 7-8, King discloses at least one electromyography based (EMG) detector is configured to detect a change in an electrical activity produced by muscles of the patient in response to the at least one electrical pulse generated by the electrical pulse generator (col. 10, lines 33-42).
As to claim 9, King discloses the control unit is adapted to receive a patient's response detected by the detector (sensor, depicted as 54 in Figure 3) in response to the at least one electrical pulse generated by the electrical pulse generator conveyed by the one or more selected active electrodes and the control unit is adapted to control the shape of the electrical pulses generated by the electrical pulse generator based on the measured value of resistance and/or the current- voltage characteristic and the detected response by the at least one detector (Figures 4-5; col. 10, lines 33-65; also see Abstract).
As to claim 10, King discloses the control unit is further configured to determine current density of electrical pulses for flowing through each of selected active electrodes and based on the result selectively employ active electrodes neighboring to the each of the selected active electrodes within the same electrodes array to also receive electrical pulses for the neuromodulation medical treatment for the neuromodulation medical treatment generated by the pulse generator (cols. 8-9, lines 65- 67 and 1-65, respectively).
As to claim 11, King discloses the control unit is configured to control a slope of rising edge of the electric pulses and/or a magnitude of the electric pulses for the neuromodulation medical treatment (since King discloses controlling or adjusting the parameters of electrical stimulation (amplitude, etc.), King controls the “shape of the electrical pulses” generated; Figures 4-5; col. 5, lines 51-66).
As to claims 12-13, King discloses a probe (i.e., leads 16) having a contact surface which bears the electrode array, the contact surface comprising a bump which has at least part of the active electrodes of the electrode array (col. 8, lines 17-29) wherein the electrode array extends on the contact surface around the bump (col. 8, lines 17-29).
As to claim 14, King discloses the contact surface has in first direction a general concave shape from which the bumps protrudes, wherein the contact surface has in second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction a general convex shape (col. 8, lines 17-29).
As to claim 15, King discloses a neuromodulation apparatus comprising: a plurality of active electrodes (depicted as 40 in Figure 3; col. 8, lines 17-29) electrically isolated from each other and arranged in at least one electrodes array (Figure 3; col. 8, lines 17-29), wherein each active electrode comprises an electrically conductive element configured to be applied to or under a skin of a patient (via the lead; see Figure 3; col. 8, lines 17-45); at least one reference electrode configured to be applied to or under the skin of the patient (col. 9, lines 42-47); a pulse generator (signal generation circuitry; depicted as 42 in Figure 3; col. 8, lines 30-64) electrically connected to each active electrode of the plurality of active electrodes and configured to selectively transmit electric pulses for the neuromodulation medical treatment to each of the plurality of active electrodes (col. 8, lines 30-64); a control unit (processor, depicted as 44 in Figure 3) coupled to the electrical pulse generator (signal generation circuitry) and adapted to measure a resistance and/or a current-voltage characteristic between each active electrode of the plurality of active electrodes and the at least one reference electrode (impedance measure; depicted as 52 in Figure 3, for example; col. 8, line 65 - col. 10, line 17), wherein from the evaluated active electrodes the control unit is adapted to select for a reception of the electrical pulses generated by the electrical pulse generator a one or more active electrodes with the lowest measured values of resistance and/or a one or more active electrodes with current voltage characteristics showing the lowest voltage drop for the same value of passing current (col. 8, line 65 - col. 10, line 17; also see Figure 5).
As to claim 16, King discloses controlling by the control unit a shape of the electrical pulses generated by the electrical pulse generator (since King discloses controlling or adjusting the parameters of electrical stimulation (amplitude, etc.), King controls the “shape of the electrical pulses” generated) based on the measured value of resistance and/or the measured current voltage characteristic of the selected one or more active electrodes (col. 8, lines 30-67, col. 9, lines 1-67 and col. 10, lines 1-32; also see Figures 4-5, for example; Furthermore, since King discloses controlling or adjusting the parameters of electrical stimulation (amplitude, etc.), King controls the “shape of the electrical pulses” generated).
As to claim 17, King discloses the target nerve is at least one of sciatic, pudendal, peroneal, cavernous, sacral plexus, vagus or a tibial nerve (col. 5, lines 37-50).
As to claim 18, King discloses repeatably measuring the resistance and/or the current- voltage characteristic between each of active electrodes arranged within each of the at least one electrodes array and each of the at least one reference electrode and updating the measured values with the new measurements for each of the at least one electrode array (Figures 4-5).
As to claim 19, King discloses detecting a response of the patient's body to the at least one electrical pulse generated by the pulse generator and providing feedback on the detected response to the control unit (Figures 4-5; col. 10, lines 33-65).
As to claim 20, King discloses receiving by a control unit a patient's response detected by the detector (sensor, depicted as 54 in Figure 3) in response to the at least one electrical pulse generated by the electrical pulse generator and controlling the shape of the electrical pulses based on the measured value of resistance and/or current-voltage characteristic and the detected response by the at least one detector (Figures 4-5; col. 10, lines 33-65; also see Abstract).
As to claim 21, King discloses determining current density of electrical pulses flowing through each of selected active electrodes and based on the result selectively employing active electrodes neighboring to the each of the selected active electrodes within the same electrodes array to also receive electrical pulses for the neuromodulation medical treatment generated by the pulse generator (cols. 8-9, lines 65-67 and 1-65, respectively).
/ALYSSA M ALTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792