DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on January 21, 2025, August 22, 2025, December 23, 2025, and August 20, 2026 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
¶[0004] on page 2 recites “when the locking element is engaged with the second connecting seat and the engagement part is engaged with the limiting part, the first connecting seat is capable of pivoting relative to the second connecting seat along an opposite direction of the circumferential direction”. Claim 1 recites an opposite statement, specifying that under similar conditions, “the first connecting seat is not capable of pivoting relative to the second connecting seat”. Examiner has concluded that, based on the description of the second locked state in ¶[0046] and ¶[0064], the specification is missing the word “not” and claim 1 is the correct version of the statement.
¶[0021] on page 6 recites “the second connecting seat is provided with two engagement parts”. The recitation contradicts ¶[0058], ¶[0069], ¶[0075], and figures 12-18, all of which indicate the locking element is provided with two engagement parts. Examiner has therefore understood the above excerpt of ¶[0021] as “the locking element is provided with two engagement parts”.
¶[0017] on page 5, recites “an end face of the side of the first tooth”. Considering that the side of the first tooth is a planar surface, an end face of a plane does not constitute a logical aspect. Examiner has understood the excerpt as “an end face of the first tooth”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites, on lines 8 and 9 of the claim, a locking element “engaged with the first connecting seat and the second connecting seat” which can be understood as a locking element continuously engaged with the first and second connecting seats. However, the last paragraph of claim 1 as well as the disclosure (¶[0004], ¶[0005], ¶[0010], and ¶[0017]) are clear about such engagement occurring conditionally and temporarily: “when the locking element is engaged…”. Examiner has therefore understood the excerpt in question as “capable of engaging with the first connecting seat and the second connecting seat”.
Claim 7 contains an improper verb form and lacks clarity in the excerpt: “the stopping surface abut against the abutting surface by each other”. Examiner has understood the excerpt as “the stopping surface and the abutting surface abut against each other”.
Claim 14 recites “an end face of the side of the first tooth”. Considering that the side of the first tooth is a planar surface, an end face of a plane does not constitute a logical aspect. Examiner has understood the excerpt as “an end face of the first tooth”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lan (US 5,765,958 A).
Regarding claim 1, Lan discloses a locking joint (pivot joint 3, figs. 5-6, col. 3, lines 52-55), comprising: a first connecting seat (pivotable seat member 4); a second connecting seat (stationary seat member 31), the first connecting seat and the second connecting seat being capable of mutually pivoting around an axial direction and along a circumferential direction (“pivot seat member rotates relative to the stationary seat member”, col. 3, lines 8-10); and a locking element (retaining member 5) arranged between the first connecting seat and the second connecting seat along the axial direction and movable relative to the first connecting scat and the second connecting seat along the axial direction and engaged with the first connecting seat and the second connecting seat (“retaining member 5 has a first side that faces the pivotable seat member 4 and … a second side that faces the stationary seat member 31”, col. 4, lines 25-28), wherein the first connecting seat is provided with a limiting part (cam face 432) extending along a direction parallel to the axial direction, and the locking element is provided with an engagement part (follower face 532) extending along the direction parallel to the axial direction, when the locking element is engaged with the second connecting seat and the engagement part is engaged with the limiting part, the first connecting seat is capable of pivoting relative to the second connecting seat along a positive direction of the circumferential direction, and the first connecting seat is not capable of pivoting relative to the second connecting seat along an opposite direction of the circumferential direction (pivotable seat member 4 capable of rotation relative to stationary seat member 31 in the counter-clockwise but not in the clockwise direction, as described in col. 5, lines 27-48).
Regarding claim 2, Lan discloses the locking joint according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of first teeth (engaging grooves 43 shaped by “substantially V-shaped formation” of perpendicular walls 431 and 434, col. 4, lines 64-66) arranged at intervals along the circumferential direction are arranged on an inner circumference of the first connecting seat, a plurality of second teeth (engaging grooves 314 “defined by two perpendicular walls 315”, col. 3, lines 65-66) arranged at intervals along the circumferential direction are arranged on an inner circumference of the second connecting seat, a plurality of engagement teeth (“plurality of teeth 53” formed on the peripheral edge of retaining member 5, col. 4, lines 22-25) arranged at intervals along the circumferential direction and capable of engaging with the first teeth and the second teeth are arranged on an outer circumference of the locking element (“teeth 53 engage simultaneously the first and second engaging grooves 314, 43 of the stationary seat member 31 and the pivotable seat member 4”, col. 5, lines 22-25), the limiting part is arranged at an end face of one of the first teeth close to the second connecting seat in the direction parallel to the axial direction (“cam face 432 diverges gradually in a direction from the base wall 420 to the end face 435”, col. 5, lines 4-6), and the engagement part is arranged at an end face of one of the engagement teeth away from the second connecting seat in the direction parallel to the axial direction (in reference to teeth 53 of retaining member 5, “first retaining wall 530 has one end chamfered to define a follower face 532”, col. 5, lines 10-12), the first connecting seat is also provided with a blocking surface (perpendicular wall 431) at a side of the limiting part in the circumferential direction, both the blocking surface and the limiting part are positioned on the same first tooth (perpendicular wall 431 and cam face 432 on same groove 43); the locking element is also provided with a contact surface (retaining wall 531) at a side of the engagement part in the circumferential direction, both the contact surface and the engagement part are positioned on the same engagement tooth (retaining wall 531 and follower face 532 on same tooth 53); when the locking element is engaged with the second connecting seat, and the engagement part is engaged with the limiting part, the plurality of engagement teeth are alternately engaged with the plurality of second teeth along the circumferential direction, and at least one of the engagement teeth is opposite to at least one of the first teeth along the direction parallel to the axial direction (engaged state of biased retaining member 5 and stationary seat member 31 as described in col. 5, lines 21-26); the blocking surface and the contact surface abut against each other along the circumferential direction, and the contact surface is positioned on a side of the blocking surface along the opposite direction of the circumferential direction, to limit the limiting part from pivoting relative to the engagement part along the opposite direction to the circumferential direction (perpendicular wall 431 and retaining wall 531 preventing clockwise rotation of pivot joint 3 when retaining member 5 is biased, cols. 5-6, lines 60-2).
Regarding claim 3, Lan discloses the locking joint according to claim 2, wherein the engagement part is formed by protruding from the end face of the corresponding engagement tooth away from the second connecting seat toward the first connecting seat along the direction parallel to the axial direction (follower face 532 formed on teeth 53 away from stationary seat member 31 toward pivotable seat member 4 as shown in fig. 5), and the contact surface is positioned on a surface of the engagement part on a side along the positive direction of the circumferential direction (retaining wall 531 on a side along the counter-clockwise direction, fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Lan discloses the locking joint according to claim 3, wherein the engagement part is positioned on the side of the corresponding engagement tooth along the opposite direction of the circumferential direction and does not extend to the side of the corresponding engagement tooth along the positive direction of the circumferential direction (follower face 532 defined on retaining wall 530 along the clockwise direction and does not extend to retaining wall 531 on a side along the counter-clockwise direction, fig. 5); the limiting part is formed by recessing from the end face of the corresponding first tooth close to the second connecting seat towards a side away from the second connecting seat along the direction parallel to the axial direction (“cam face 432 diverges gradually in a direction from the base wall 420 to the end face 435 of the surrounding wall 424”, col. 5, lines 3-6), the limiting part is positioned on the side of the corresponding first tooth along the opposite direction of the circumferential direction, and penetrates through the corresponding first teeth along the opposite direction of the circumferential direction (cam face 432 positioned along the clockwise direction as shown in fig. 5, and “inclines radial inward from the inner surface of the surrounding wall 424 and toward the base wall 420”, col. 5, lines 3-6), and the blocking surface is positioned on the side of the limiting part along the positive direction of the circumferential direction (perpendicular wall 431 along the counter-clockwise direction, fig. 5); when the limiting part is engaged with the engagement part, the engagement part is at least partially embedded in the limiting part (“cam faces 432 push the follower faces 532 so that the retaining member 5 can be retracted entirely into the cylindrical recess 311 of the stationary seat member 31 when the pivotable seat member 5 rotates relative to the stationary seat member 31 in a certain direction, i.e., in the counter-clockwise direction”, col. 5, lines 14-20).
Regarding claim 5, Lan discloses the locking joint according to claim 4, wherein the blocking surface and the contact surface are parallel to the axial direction (perpendicular wall 431 and retaining wall 531 described as “perpendicular to base wall 420 of pivotable seat member 4” and are therefore parallel to the axial direction, fig. 5, cols. 4-5, lines 60-20).
Regarding claim 6, Lan discloses the locking joint according to claim 4, wherein at least one of the first connecting seat and the locking element is provided with a guide inclined surface, and the guide inclined surface is configured to guide the first tooth provided with the limiting part to cross the engagement part along the positive direction of the circumferential direction; the guide inclined surface is arranged on a surface of a side of the first tooth provided with the limiting part along the positive direction of the circumferential direction, and inclined to the direction parallel to the axial direction and the circumferential direction (inclined surface of cam face 432 as described relevant to claims 1, 2, and 4, and configured to guide perpendicular wall 434 of grooves 43 with cam face 432 to cross follower face 532 of retaining wall 530 along the counter-clockwise direction); and/or the guide inclined surface is arranged on a surface of the side of the engagement part along the opposite direction of the circumferential direction and inclined to the direction parallel to the axial direction and the circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 7, Lan discloses the locking joint according to claim 4, wherein the first connecting seat is also provided with a stopping surface (uninclined portion of perpendicular wall 434) at a side of the blocking surface along the circumferential direction, and both the stopping surface and the blocking surface are positioned on the same first tooth (perpendicular walls 431 and 434 of same groove 43); the locking element is also provided with an abutting surface (unchamfered portion of retaining wall 530) at a side of the contact surface along the circumferential direction, and both the abutting surface and the contact surface are positioned on the same engagement tooth (retaining walls 530 and 531 of same tooth 53); when the locking element is engaged with the second connecting seat and the engagement part is engaged with the limiting part, the stopping surface abuts against the abutting surface along the direction parallel to the axial direction (uninclined portion of perpendicular wall 434 and unchamfered portion of retaining wall 530 are positioned against each other and parallel to the axial direction when retaining member 5 is engaged with both seat members 4 and 31, fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Lan discloses the locking joint according to claim 7, wherein the stopping surface is positioned at the side of the blocking surface along the opposite direction of the circumferential direction and the side of the limiting part in the direction parallel to the axial direction, and the abutting surface is positioned at the side of the contact surface along the opposite direction of the circumferential direction and the side of the engagement part in the direction parallel to the axial direction (as shown in fig. 5, unchamfered portion of retaining wall 530 and uninclined portion of perpendicular wall 434 are positioned along the clockwise direction); or the stopping surface is positioned at the side of the blocking surface along the positive direction of the circumferential direction, and the abutting surface is positioned at the side of the contact surface along the positive direction of the circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 9, Lan discloses the locking joint according to claim 3, wherein the engagement part is positioned at an outer end of the corresponding engagement tooth along a radial direction (follower face 532 is positioned radially outward on tooth 53); the limiting part is formed by protruding from an end face of the corresponding first tooth close to the second connecting seat toward the second connecting seat along the direction parallel to the axial direction (cam face 432 extends axially from groove 43 toward seat member 31), the limiting part is positioned at a side of the corresponding first tooth along the positive direction of the circumferential direction and does not extend to the side of the corresponding first tooth along the opposite direction of the circumferential direction (cam face 432 is positioned on wall 434 along the counter-clockwise direction and does not extend to wall 431 along the clockwise direction), and the blocking surface is positioned on a surface of the side of the limiting part along the opposite direction of the circumferential direction (perpendicular wall 431 positioned along the clockwise direction); when the limiting part is engaged with the engagement part, the engagement part abuts against the limiting part along the circumferential direction (engaged state of biased retaining member 5 and stationary seat member 31 as described in col. 5, lines 21-26).
Regarding claim 10, Lan discloses the locking joint according to claim 9, wherein both the blocking surface and the contact surface are inclined to the radial direction and the circumferential direction (perpendicular wall 431 and retaining wall 531 are both inclined to the radial and circumferential direction, as clearly shown in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Lan discloses the locking joint according to claim 10, wherein at least one of the first connecting seat and the locking element is provided with a guide inclined surface, and the guide inclined surface is configured to guide the limiting part to cross the engagement part along the positive direction of the circumferential direction; the guide inclined surface is arranged on a surface of a side of the limiting part along the positive direction of the circumferential direction and inclined to the radial direction and the circumferential direction (inclined surface of cam face 432 as described relevant to claims 1 and 2, and configured to guide perpendicular wall 434 of groove 43 with cam face 432 to cross follower face 532 of retaining wall 530 along the counter-clockwise direction); and/or the guide inclined surface is arranged on a surface of a side of the engagement part along the opposite direction of the circumferential direction, and inclined to the radial direction and the circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 12, Lan discloses the locking joint according to claim 11, wherein an inclination angle of the contact surface is greater than an inclination angle of the guide inclined surface (chamfer of retaining wall 530 which defines follower face 532 matching the incline of cam face 432 means retaining wall 531 without the chamfer has a greater inclination angle).
Regarding claim 13, Lan discloses the locking joint according to claim 9, wherein the locking element is provided with a recess, and the recess is formed by being recessed from an end face of the engagement tooth provided with the engagement part away from the second connecting seat towards the second connecting seat along the direction parallel to the axial direction, and is formed between the engagement part and the corresponding engagement tooth along the radial direction (chamfer of retaining wall 530 defining follower face 532 and recessed from flat surface 52 of retaining member 5, as shown in fig. 5, towards seat member 31 along the direction parallel to the axial direction).
Regarding claim 14, Lan discloses the locking joint according to claim 9, wherein the first connecting seat is also provided with a stopping surface, and the stopping surface is positioned at an end face of the first tooth provided with the limiting part close to the second connecting seat in the direction parallel to the axial direction and positioned at the side of the blocking surface along the opposite direction of the circumferential direction (uninclined portion of perpendicular wall 434 positioned on same end face of groove 43 as cam face 432 axially close to seat member 31 and at the side of perpendicular wall 431 along the clockwise direction, fig. 5), and the locking element is also provided with an abutting surface, and the abutting surface is positioned at the end face of the engagement part away from the second connecting seat in the direction parallel to the axial direction (unchamfered portion of retaining wall 530 positioned at follower face 532 axially away from seat member 31); when the locking element is engaged with the second connecting seat, and the engagement part is engaged with the limiting part, the stopping surface abuts against the abutting surface along the direction parallel to the axial direction (uninclined portion of perpendicular wall 434 and unchamfered portion of retaining wall 530 are positioned against each other and parallel to the axial direction when retaining member 5 is engaged with both seat members 4 and 31, fig. 5).
Regarding claim 18, Lan discloses the locking joint according to claim 2, wherein the first connecting seat is provided with two limiting parts respectively arranged on two first teeth (any two cam faces 432 arranged on perpendicular walls 434 of two grooves 43 of pivotable seat member 4), the locking element is provided with two engagement parts, the two engagement parts are respectively arranged on two engagement teeth (any two follower face 532 arranged on retaining walls 530 of two teeth 53 of retaining member 5).
Regarding claim 19, Lan discloses a child carrier, comprising: a frame (stroller frame 7, fig. 4); and the locking joint (pivot joint 3' of the “pair of pivot joints 3' similar to the pivot joint 3 … mounted on the stroller frame”, col. 3, lines 45-48) according to claim 1, wherein the frame comprises a handle and a linkage rod pivoted with the handle through the locking joint (pivot joint 3' “for interconnecting an upper frame portion 741 and a handle frame portion 742”, col. 3, lines 47-48, fig. 4), wherein the handle is connected with the first connecting seat (pivotable seat member 4) and the linkage rod is connected with the second connecting seat (stationary seat member 31); the handle pivots towards the linkage rod along the positive direction of the circumferential direction to realize folding between the handle and the linkage rod; and the handle pivots away from the linkage rod along the opposite direction of the circumferential direction to realize unfolding between the handle and the linkage rod (pivoting operation of the pivot joint described in cols. 2-3, lines 24-10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 15, the prior art does not teach or suggest the locking joint according to claim 3, wherein except for the first tooth provided with the limiting part, each of the first teeth remained has a groove that is formed by being recessed from the end face of the corresponding first tooth, in combination with all other limitations recited in claim 15. Claim 16 depends on claim 15. Regarding claim 17, the prior art does not teach or suggest the locking joint according to claim 2, wherein except for the engagement tooth provided with the engagement part, each of the engagement teeth remained has a groove, the groove is formed by being recessed from the end face of the corresponding engagement tooth, in combination with all other limitations recited in claim 17. The closest reference, Yang (CN 103112486 A), discloses a rotary joint (figs. 1-10) comprising a limiting mechanism for unidirectional rotation with grooves formed between guiding ribs (25) along the circumferential surface of a toothed disc (22). However, the grooves are positioned on the disc body and not recessed from the end face of teeth as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional art of record relates to stroller locking joints having features relevant to the claimed invention.
/MOHAMMAD OMID NEYZARI/Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613