Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
“a second sheet that is fixed to the cover, at least at a maximum peak position of magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction” of claim 1,
“second sheet is arranged … in a region from an upstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction … to a downstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction” of claim 2,
“the free end of the second sheet is disposed on a downstream of the maximum peak position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in the normal direction” of claim 3,
“the free end of the second sheet is disposed on a downstream of a downstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction” of claim 4,
“the first sheet is provided over an entire region with a developer conveyance ability of the developing rotation member from one end to another end of the region in a longitudinal direction” of claim 7,
“the second sheet is provided over an entire region with a developer conveyance ability of the developing rotation member from one end to another end of the region in a longitudinal direction” of claim 8,
“stiffness of the sheet at a maximum peak position of magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction … is higher than stiffness of the sheet at a free end of the sheet” of claim 12 (specifically the maximum peak position),
“in a region from an upstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction … to a downstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction … stiffness of the sheet is higher” of claim 13 (specifically the half maximum positions),
“in a region from a fixed end of the sheet to the maximum peak position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in the normal direction … stiffness of the sheet is higher” of claim 14 (specifically the maximum peak position),
“in a region from a fixed end of the sheet to a downstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction … stiffness of the sheet is higher” of claim 14 (specifically the half maximum position),
“in a region from a fixed end of the sheet to a downstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction … stiffness of the sheet is higher” of claim 15 (specifically the half maximum position),
“the sheet is provided over an entire region with a developer conveyance ability of the developing rotation member from one end to another end of the region in a longitudinal direction” of claim 17, and
“in a region from an upstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction … to a downstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction …. a thickness of the sheet is greater” of claim 20 (specifically the half maximum positions).
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) in view of Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270).
Regarding claim 1, Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) teach a development device (fig.1) comprising: a developer container (fig.1, #3) configured to accommodate a developer containing toner and a carrier (see fig.1; col.3, ln.39-41); a developing rotation member configured to bear and convey the developer in order to develop an electrostatic latent image formed on an image bearing member (fig.1, #4); a magnet that is fixed in a non-rotatable manner in the developing rotation member (fig.1, #5), the magnet having a first magnetic pole (fig.1, #N1) and a second magnetic pole (fig.1, #S1), the first magnetic pole being arranged in a closest portion between the developing rotation member and the image bearing member (fig.1, #N1 at #X), the second magnetic pole being arranged on an upstream of the first magnetic pole in a rotational direction of the developing rotation member (fig.1, see rotation direction #b), being adjacent to the first magnetic pole (fig.1, #S1 upstream and adjacent to #N1), and being a different pole from the first magnetic pole (see fig.1, S v. N); a regulating portion that is provided to oppose the developing rotation member in a non-contact manner and regulates an amount of the developer borne by the developing rotation member (fig.1, #6); a cover that is provided to oppose the developing rotation member in a non-contact manner and cover the developing rotation member (fig.1, #34); a first sheet that is fixed to the cover, the first sheet being arranged to contact a magnetic brush of the developer that is borne by the developing rotation member (fig.1, #18 see contact with toner on #4); at least at a maximum peak position of magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction with respect to an outer circumferential surface of the developing rotation member (fig.1, see location of #18 relative to #S1), the rotation-member-side surface of the first sheet being a surface on a side of contacting the magnetic brush of the developer that is borne by the developing rotation member, wherein, with respect to the rotational direction of the developing rotation member, a free end of the first sheet is disposed on a downstream of a position where the regulating portion opposes the developing rotation member and on an upstream of the closest portion between the developing rotation member and the image bearing member (fig.1, free tip of #18 downstream of #6 and upstream of #X).
Regarding claim 5, Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) teach a development device wherein the first sheet is arranged such that the free end of the first sheet is in contact with the image bearing member (fig.1, #18 contacting #1).
Regarding claim 7, Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) teach a development device wherein the first sheet is provided over an entire region with a developer conveyance ability of the developing rotation member from one end to another end of the region in a longitudinal direction (fig.1; col.5, ln.3-9: this would necessarily have to be the case in order to perform as disclosed).
Regarding claim 12, Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) teach a development device (fig.1) comprising: a developer container (fig.1, #3) configured to accommodate a developer containing toner and a carrier (see fig.1; col.3, ln.39-41); a developing rotation member configured to bear and convey the developer in order to develop an electrostatic latent image formed on an image bearing member (fig.1, #4); a magnet that is fixed in a non-rotatable manner in the developing rotation member (fig.1, #5), the magnet having a first magnetic pole (fig.1, #N1) and a second magnetic pole (fig.1, #S1), the first magnetic pole being arranged in a closest portion between the developing rotation member and the image bearing member (fig.1, #N1 at #X), the second magnetic pole being arranged on an upstream of the first magnetic pole in a rotational direction of the developing rotation member (fig.1, see rotation direction #b), being adjacent to the first magnetic pole (fig.1, #S1 upstream and adjacent to #N1), and being a different pole from the first magnetic pole (see fig.1, S v. N); a regulating portion that is provided to oppose the developing rotation member in a non-contact manner and regulates an amount of the developer borne by the developing rotation member (fig.1, #6); a cover that is provided to oppose the developing rotation member in a non-contact manner and cover the developing rotation member (fig.1, #34); and a sheet that is fixed to the cover (fig.1, #18), the sheet being arranged to contact a magnetic brush of the developer that is borne by the developing rotation member (fig.1, #18 see contact with toner on #4).
Regarding claim 16, Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) teach a development device wherein the sheet is arranged such that the free end of the sheet is in contact with the image bearing member (fig.1, #18 contacting #1).
Regarding claim 17, Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) teach a development device wherein the sheet is provided over an entire region with a developer conveyance ability of the developing rotation member from one end to another end of the region in a longitudinal direction (fig.1; col.5, ln.3-9: this would necessarily have to be the case in order to perform as disclosed).
Regarding claim 19, Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) teach a development device (fig.1) comprising: a developer container (fig.1, #3) configured to accommodate a developer containing toner and a carrier (see fig.1; col.3, ln.39-41); a developing rotation member configured to bear and convey the developer in order to develop an electrostatic latent image formed on an image bearing member (fig.1, #4); a magnet that is fixed in a non-rotatable manner in the developing rotation member (fig.1, #5), the magnet having a first magnetic pole (fig.1, #N1) and a second magnetic pole (fig.1, #S1), the first magnetic pole being arranged in a closest portion between the developing rotation member and the image bearing member (fig.1, #N1 at #X), and the second magnetic pole being arranged on an upstream of the first magnetic pole in a rotational direction of the developing rotation member (fig.1, see rotation direction #b), being adjacent to the first magnetic pole (fig.1, #S1 upstream and adjacent to #N1), and being a different pole from the first magnetic pole (see fig.1, S v. N); a regulating portion that is provided to oppose the developing rotation member in a non-contact manner and regulates an amount of the developer borne by the developing rotation member (fig.1, #6); a cover that is provided to oppose the developing rotation member in a non-contact manner and covers the developing rotation member (fig.1, #34); and a sheet that is fixed to the cover (fig.1, #18), the sheet being arranged to contact a magnetic brush of the developer that is borne by the developing rotation member (fig.1, #18 see contact with toner on #4).
However, Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) fail to teach specifics of the sheet.
Regarding claim 1, Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) teach a flexible sheet for use in a development device (fig.2, #40 in #3a) comprising: a developer container (fig.2, #20) configured to accommodate a developer containing toner and a carrier (para.0039); a developing rotation member configured to bear and convey the developer (fig.2, #22a); a magnet that is fixed in a non-rotatable manner in the developing rotation member (fig.2, #22b); a cover that is provided to oppose the developing rotation member in a non-contact manner and cover the developing rotation member (fig.2&4, #20); a first sheet that is fixed to the cover (fig.4, #40a), the first sheet being arranged to contact toner and carrier (para.0055); and a second sheet that is fixed to the cover (fig.4, #40b), the second sheet being shorter than the first sheet (fig.4, see #40b v. #40a), the second sheet being arranged to be superimposed on a first surface of the first sheet that is a surface on an opposite side to a second surface of the first sheet (fig.4, #40b opposed to ‘left’ face of #40a and the ‘right’ surface is the second surface), and the second surface of the first sheet being a surface on a side of contacting the toner and carrier (see fig.2&4 & para.0055).
Regarding claim 8, Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) teach a flexible sheet for use in a development device wherein the second sheet is provided over an entire region with a developer conveyance ability of the developing rotation member from one end to another end of the region in a longitudinal direction (fig.5, #40b the entire width of #40a).
Regarding claim 9, Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) teach a flexible sheet for use in a development device wherein stiffness of the second sheet is higher than stiffness of the first sheet (para.0075).
Regarding claim 10, Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) teach a flexible sheet for use in a development device wherein the first sheet is a urethane sheet (para.0055: #40a is urethane).
Regarding claim 11, Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) teach a flexible sheet for use in a development device wherein the second sheet is a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) sheet (para.0055: #40B is PET).
Regarding claim 12, Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) teach a flexible sheet for use in a development device (fig.2, #40 in #3a) comprising: a developer container (fig.2, #20) configured to accommodate a developer containing toner and a carrier (para.0039); a developing rotation member configured to bear and convey the developer (fig.2, #22a); a magnet that is fixed in a non-rotatable manner in the developing rotation member (fig.2, #22b); a cover that is provided to oppose the developing rotation member in a non-contact manner and cover the developing rotation member (fig.2&4, #20); and a sheet that is fixed to the cover (fig.4, #40 fixed to #20 at #42), the sheet being arranged to contact toner and carrier (para.0055), wherein stiffness of the sheet closest to the attachment point is higher than stiffness of the sheet at a free end of the sheet (para.0055&0075-0076).
Regarding claim 18, Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) teach a flexible sheet for use in a development device wherein the sheet is a urethane sheet (para.0055: #40a is urethane).
Regarding claim 19, Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) teach a flexible sheet for use in a development device (fig.2, #40 in #3a) comprising: a developer container (fig.2, #20) configured to accommodate a developer containing toner and a carrier (para.0039); a developing rotation member configured to bear and convey the developer (fig.2, #22a); a magnet that is fixed in a non-rotatable manner in the developing rotation member (fig.2, #22b); a cover that is provided to oppose the developing rotation member in a non-contact manner and covers the developing rotation member (fig.2&4, #20); and a sheet that is fixed to the cover (fig.4, #40 fixed to #20 at #42), the sheet being arranged to contact toner and carrier (para.0055), wherein a thickness of the sheet at a position closest to the attachment point is greater than a thickness of the sheet at a free end of the sheet (see fig.4, thickness of #40 in #L2 section versus #D+ section).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the undefined sheet of Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) by thinking to try using the two layer, varied length sheet of Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) because the two are used for a similar purpose of preventing scattering or backflow from a specified direction in a developing device (para.0055,0068&0075-0076) and in a manner that enhances the resilience of the sheet to prevent deformation (para.0075-0076) while preventing damage to the developing rotation member and drum upon contact (para.0066&0076).
Upon combination, the two-sheet/thickness/rigidity sheet, when applied to the cover position in Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027), would necessarily fall within the positional relationships recited in claims 1, 12, and 19 and dependents.
Regarding claim 2, Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) teach a flexible sheet for use in a development device wherein the second sheet is arranged to be superimposed on the first surface of the first sheet (fig.4, #40b on #40a; para.0055)
Regarding claim 2, upon combination, since the sheet of Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) is arranged, as best the Office can ascertain, in a region from an upstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction with respect to the outer circumferential surface of the developing rotation member to a downstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction with respect to the outer circumferential surface of the developing rotation member (fig.1, see attachment and location of #18 relative to #S1), the claim limitations would be met.
Regarding claim 3, Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) teach a flexible sheet for use in a development device the free end of the second sheet is disposed about half-way down the length of the sheet (fig.4, #40b/#L2 vs. #40a in section #D+)
Regarding claim 3, upon combination, since the sheet of Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) is arranged, as best the Office can ascertain, such that the half-way point, with respect to the rotational direction of the developing rotation member, is disposed on a downstream of the maximum peak position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in the normal direction with respect to the outer circumferential surface of the developing rotation member (fig.2, orientation of #S1 relative to #18), this limitation would be met.
Regarding claim 4, upon combination, since the sheet of Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) is arranged, as best the Office can ascertain, such that the half-way point, with respect to the rotational direction of the developing rotation member, is between the #S1 and #N1 poles, the free end of the second sheet very well may be disposed on a downstream of a downstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction with respect to the outer circumferential surface of the developing rotation member (fig.2, orientation of #S1 and #N1 relative to #18). Even if it is not by default, One of ordinary skill in the art may easily arrive at that configuration without undue experimentation when optimizing the configuration of the sheet of Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) for applicability in the device of Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027).
Regarding claim 6, upon combination, when the two-tiered sheet of Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) is applied to the device of Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027), the following limitations would be necessarily met: wherein the second sheet is arranged such that the free end of the second sheet does not contact the image bearing member.
Regarding claims 13-15, Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) teach a flexible sheet for use in a development device wherein closer to the attachment point until about half-way down the sheet (see fig.4, relation of sheet #40b to #40a), the stiffness of the sheet is higher than the stiffness of the sheet at the free end of the sheet (para.0075).
Regarding claim 13, upon combination, since the sheet of Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) is arranged, as best the Office can ascertain, in a region from an upstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction with respect to the outer circumferential surface of the developing rotation member to a downstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction with respect to the outer circumferential surface of the developing rotation member (fig.1, see attachment and location of #18 relative to #S1), the claim limitations would be met.
Regarding claim 14, upon combination, since the sheet of Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) is arranged, as best the Office can ascertain, such that a half-way point of the sheet extends beyond a region from a fixed end of the sheet to the maximum peak position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in the normal direction with respect to the outer circumferential surface of the developing rotation member (fig.1, see attachment and location of #18 relative to #S1), the claim limitations would be met.
Regarding claim 15, upon combination, since the sheet of Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) is arranged, as best the Office can ascertain, such that a half-way point of the sheet extends from a fixed end of the sheet to approximately a downstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction with respect to the outer circumferential surface of the developing rotation member (fig.1, see attachment and location of #18 relative to #S1), the claim limitations would be met.
Regarding claim 20, Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) teach a flexible sheet for use in a development device wherein closer to the attachment point until about half-way down the sheet (see fig.4, relation of sheet #40b to #40a), a thickness of the sheet is greater than the thickness of the sheet at the free end of the sheet (see fig.4).
Regarding claim 20, upon combination, since the sheet of Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) is arranged, as best the Office can ascertain, in a region from an upstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction with respect to the outer circumferential surface of the developing rotation member to a downstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction with respect to the outer circumferential surface of the developing rotation member (fig.1, see attachment and location of #18 relative to #S1), the claim limitations would be met.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kimura (US Pub.2008/0013982) disclose a flexible member downstream of the regulating member in the rotating direction of a developing sleeve wherein the flexible member contacts a photosensitive drum.
Ohmichi et al. (US Pub.2007/0025757) disclose a developing device with a flexible sheet downstream of the developer regulating member in contact with the magnetic brush and comprising a second sheet attached thereto with a higher rigidity; however, the sheets are not directly attached to the cover.
Takeda et al. (US 4,792,831) disclose a developing device with a magnetic sleeve wherein a flexible sheet is attached downstream of the regulating member so as to be in contact with a magnetic brush.
Haneda et al. (US 4,901,116) disclose a developing device with a magnetic sleeve wherein a flexible sheet is attached to a cover downstream of the regulating member so as to be in contact with a magnetic brush.
Yamagishi et al. (US Pub.2020/0096933) disclose a developing device with a magnetic sleeve wherein a flexible sheet is attached to a cover downstream of the regulating member; however, it is unclear if the sheet contacts the magnetic brush.
Kimura et al. (US Pub.2016/0170329) disclose a developing device with a magnetic sleeve wherein a two flexible sheets are attached to a cover downstream of the regulating member so as to be in contact with a magnetic brush.
Contact Information
/LKR/
1/7/2026
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852