Drawings
The drawings were received on 14 July 2026. New Fig.9 is acceptable.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
“a second sheet that is fixed to the cover, at least at a maximum peak position of magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction” of claim 1,
“second sheet is arranged … in a region from an upstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction … to a downstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction” of claim 2,
“the free end of the second sheet is disposed on a downstream of the maximum peak position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in the normal direction” of claim 3,
“the free end of the second sheet is disposed on a downstream of a downstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction” of claim 4.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) in view of Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270).
Regarding claim 1, Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) teach a development device (fig.1) comprising: a developer container (fig.1, #3) configured to accommodate a developer containing toner and a carrier (see fig.1; col.3, ln.39-41); a developing rotation member configured to bear and convey the developer to a developing position where an electrostatic latent image formed on an image bearing member is developed (fig.1, #4); a magnet that is fixed in a non-rotatable manner in the developing rotation member (fig.1, #5), the magnet including a first magnetic pole (fig.1, #N1) and a second magnetic pole (fig.1, #S1), the first magnetic pole being opposed to the image bearing member at the developing position (fig.1, #N1 at #X), the second magnetic pole being arranged on an upstream of the first magnetic pole in a rotational direction of the developing rotation member (fig.1, see rotation direction #b), being adjacent to the first magnetic pole (fig.1, #S1 upstream and adjacent to #N1), and being a different pole from the first magnetic pole (see fig.1, S v. N); a regulating portion that is provided to oppose the developing rotation member in a non-contact manner and regulates an amount of the developer borne by the developing rotation member (fig.1, #6); a cover that is provided to oppose the developing rotation member in a non-contact manner and cover the developing rotation member (fig.1, #34); a first sheet that is fixed to the cover, the first sheet being arranged to contact a magnetic brush of the developer that is borne by the developing rotation member (fig.1, #18 see contact with toner on #4); at least at a maximum peak position of magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction with respect to an outer circumferential surface of the developing rotation member (fig.1, see location of #18 relative to #S1), the rotation-member-side surface of the first sheet being a surface on a side of contacting the magnetic brush of the developer that is borne by the developing rotation member, wherein, with respect to the rotational direction of the developing rotation member, a free end of the first sheet is disposed on a downstream of a position where the regulating portion opposes the developing rotation member and on an upstream of a closest position between the developing rotation member and the image bearing member (fig.1, free tip of #18 downstream of #6 and upstream of #X).
Regarding claim 5, Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) teach a development device wherein the first sheet is arranged such that the free end of the first sheet is in contact with the image bearing member (fig.1, #18 contacting #1).
Regarding claim 7, Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) teach a development device wherein the first sheet is provided over an entire region with a developer conveyance ability of the developing rotation member from one end to another end of the region in a longitudinal direction (fig.1; col.5, ln.3-9: this would necessarily have to be the case in order to perform as disclosed).
However, Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) fail to teach specifics of the sheet.
Regarding claim 1, Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) teach a flexible sheet for use in a development device (fig.2, #40 in #3a) comprising: a developer container (fig.2, #20) configured to accommodate a developer containing toner and a carrier (para.0039); a developing rotation member configured to bear and convey the developer (fig.2, #22a); a magnet that is fixed in a non-rotatable manner in the developing rotation member (fig.2, #22b); a cover that is provided to oppose the developing rotation member in a non-contact manner and cover the developing rotation member (fig.2&4, #20); a first sheet that is fixed to the cover (fig.4, #40a), the first sheet being arranged to contact toner and carrier (para.0055); and a second sheet that is fixed to the cover (fig.4, #40b), the second sheet being shorter than the first sheet (fig.4, see #40b v. #40a), the second sheet being arranged to be superimposed on a first surface of the first sheet that is a surface on an opposite side to a second surface of the first sheet (fig.4, #40b opposed to ‘left’ face of #40a and the ‘right’ surface is the second surface), and the second surface of the first sheet being a surface on a side of contacting the toner and carrier (see fig.2&4 & para.0055).
Regarding claim 8, Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) teach a flexible sheet for use in a development device wherein the second sheet is provided over an entire region with a developer conveyance ability of the developing rotation member from one end to another end of the region in a longitudinal direction (fig.5, #40b the entire width of #40a).
Regarding claim 9, Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) teach a flexible sheet for use in a development device wherein stiffness of the second sheet is higher than stiffness of the first sheet (para.0075).
Regarding claim 10, Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) teach a flexible sheet for use in a development device wherein the first sheet is a urethane sheet (para.0055: #40a is urethane).
Regarding claim 11, Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) teach a flexible sheet for use in a development device wherein the second sheet is a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) sheet (para.0055: #40B is PET).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the undefined sheet of Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) by thinking to try using the two layer, varied length sheet of Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) because the two are used for a similar purpose of preventing scattering or backflow from a specified direction in a developing device (para.0055,0068&0075-0076) and in a manner that enhances the resilience of the sheet to prevent deformation (para.0075-0076) while preventing damage to the developing rotation member and drum upon contact (para.0066&0076).
Upon combination, the two-sheet/thickness/rigidity sheet, when applied to the cover position in Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027), would necessarily fall within the positional relationships recited in claim 1 and dependents.
Regarding claim 2, Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) teach a flexible sheet for use in a development device wherein the second sheet is arranged to be superimposed on the first surface of the first sheet (fig.4, #40b on #40a; para.0055)
Regarding claim 2, upon combination, since the sheet of Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) is arranged, as best the Office can ascertain, in a region from an upstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction with respect to the outer circumferential surface of the developing rotation member to a downstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction with respect to the outer circumferential surface of the developing rotation member (fig.1, see attachment and location of #18 relative to #S1), the claim limitations would be met.
Regarding claim 3, Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) teach a flexible sheet for use in a development device the free end of the second sheet is disposed about half-way down the length of the sheet (fig.4, #40b/#L2 vs. #40a in section #D+)
Regarding claim 3, upon combination, since the sheet of Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) is arranged, as best the Office can ascertain, such that the half-way point, with respect to the rotational direction of the developing rotation member, is disposed on a downstream of the maximum peak position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in the normal direction with respect to the outer circumferential surface of the developing rotation member (fig.2, orientation of #S1 relative to #18), this limitation would be met.
Regarding claim 4, upon combination, since the sheet of Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) is arranged, as best the Office can ascertain, such that the half-way point, with respect to the rotational direction of the developing rotation member, is between the #S1 and #N1 poles, the free end of the second sheet very well may be disposed on a downstream of a downstream-side half maximum position of the magnetic flux density of the second magnetic pole in a normal direction with respect to the outer circumferential surface of the developing rotation member (fig.2, orientation of #S1 and #N1 relative to #18). Even if it is not by default, One of ordinary skill in the art may easily arrive at that configuration without undue experimentation when optimizing the configuration of the sheet of Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) for applicability in the device of Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027).
Regarding claim 6, upon combination, when the two-tiered sheet of Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270) is applied to the device of Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027), the following limitations would be necessarily met: wherein the second sheet is arranged such that the free end of the second sheet does not contact the image bearing member.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicants argue against the objections to the drawings and state that the claimed positions are shown in the annotated fig.4 included with the arguments on p.8. The Office contends that if an annotated drawing is needed to include the information lacking from the original drawings for depiction of the claimed subject matter, this supports the Office’s point that this information is lacking from the drawings as filed. Thus the Objections to the drawings regarding claims 1-4 are maintained. Additionally, even if a drawing that clearly showed the peak and half-maximums were to be included, it would still not appear to show the second sheet fixed to the cover at least at a maximum peak. This area seems to be at a different place entirely.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In the case of the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Murasaki et al. (US 4,819,027) in view of Gyoutoku et al. (US Pub.2011/0052270), the applicants correctly interpret the reference of Gyoutoku in the final paragraph at the bottom of p.10, but then argue against the reference. Gyoutoku is not being used to teach the exact configuration of “the second surface of the first sheet being a surface on a side of contacting the magnetic brush of the developer that is borne by the developing rotation member”, but to teach the concept of the second sheet on a surface of a first sheet to reinforce the first sheet against the force of developer and carrier contacting the opposing side. In the case of Gyouyoku, this force is coming from the stirring chamber. In the case of Murasaki, the force would be coming from the magnetic brush itself. The Office maintains that one of ordinary skill in the art would think to try to use the sheet of Gyoutoku in the developer brush contacting area of Murasaki and thereby easily arrive at the claimed invention.
As such, the applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/LKR/
9/10/2026
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852