DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Denoual et al (WO 2021/204827) for the same reasons as set forth in Sec. 5 of the last OA, dated 2/4/26.
Denoual, in Figs. 1, 2, and 12, discloses the same method of processing media data 230 as specified in claims 1, 13, 16, and 19 of the present invention, comprising determining, for a dependent random access point (DRAP) sample, a first sequence of samples (e.g. Fig. 1b); determining, for an extended dependent random access point (EDRAP) sample (p. 68, line 20-25), a second sequence of samples; and performing a conversion between media data and a media data file based on the determining (p. 67, line 23, ISO Base Media File Format), wherein the first sequence of samples consists of the following samples in an order listed below: 1) a closest preceding stream access point (SAP) sample of type 1, type 2, or type 3 (Fig. 12, 1200; p. 69, line 10); 2) the DRAP sample (Fig. 12, 1201, p. 68, line 10); and 3) all samples following the DRAP sample in both decoding order and output order in a first track (Fig. 12, all remaining frames after 1201), wherein the second sequence of samples consists of the following samples in an order listed below (p. 69, line 6-13): 1) SAP or EDRAP samples identified by index syntax elements in decoding order; 2) the EDRAP sample; and 3) all samples following the EDRAP sample in both decoding order and output order in a second track (p. 68, line 12-15).
Regarding claims 2, 14, 17, and 20. wherein the DRAP sample is mapped to a DRAP sample group (Fig. 13, p. 74, line 33 – p. 75, line 2).
Regarding claims 3, 15, 18, and 21. wherein for a first sample in the first sequence of samples, all data needed for processing the first sample shall be accessible in a first referenced sample entry (p. 74, line 18-25), in the first sample itself, or in any sample 1310 that precedes the first sample in decoding order and is present in the first sequence of samples 1311.
Regarding claim 4. The method of claim 1, wherein for some video codecs, all data (p. 69, line 4-17) for processing a third sample in the first sequence of samples comprises parameter sets needed for decoding the third sample (p. 74, line 25-p. 75, line 2).
Regarding claim 5. The method of claim 1, wherein for a fourth sample in the second sequence of samples, all data needed for processing the fourth sample shall be accessible in a second referenced sample entry, in the fourth sample itself, or in any sample that precedes the fourth sample in decoding order and is present in the second sequence of samples (p. 69, line 4-17).
Regarding claim 6. The method of claim 5, wherein the EDRAP sample is mapped to an EDRAP sample group (p. 69, line 4-17).
Regarding claim 7. The method of claim 5, wherein for some video codecs, all data for processing a fifth sample in the second sequence of samples comprises parameter sets (p. 68, line 20-25) needed for decoding the fifth sample (p. 69, line 4-17).
Regarding claim 9. The method of claim 1, wherein the DRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order and in output order can be correctly decoded (p. 69, line 6-13) if a closest SAP sample of type 1, type 2, or type 3 preceding the DRAP sample is available for reference (p. 67, line 18-22).
Regarding claim 10. The method of claim 1, wherein DRAP samples are only used in combination with SAP samples of type 1, type 2, and type 3.
Regarding claim 11. The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion comprises generating the media data file from the media data (p. 3, line 30).
Regarding claim 12. The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion comprises parsing the media data from the media data file (p. 3, line 13).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/1/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts on p. 11-13 of the Remarks that Denoual fails to disclose the amended limitations of a second sequence of samples identified by an index syntax element. However, Denoual discloses all data for processing the second DRAP sample is accessible in one of the samples preceding the second DRAP sample in decoding order and present in the sequence of samples (Pg 68, In 20-25 "a player can decode a stream starting at an EDRAP or at a DRAP sample with the constraint that it first decodes the one or more reference samples needed for correct decoding of the bit-stream starting from this EDRAP or DRAP sample. Thus, random access in a bit- stream can also be done at other samples than sync or partial sync samples provided that the player has indication to retrieve the preceding sync sample or preceding EDRAP or DRAP samples.").
Denoual discloses generating a sequence of samples (sampleSeq) comprising a closest preceding stream access point (SAP) of type 1, type 2, or type 3 (Pg. 69, In 6-13 "Typically, for each EDRAP sample in a VVC track, all APSs (or other non-VCL NAL units in a VVC track or HEVC track) needed for decoding of the corresponding video elementary stream from that decoding time forward are in the initial sample (the initial sample is a SAP sample of SAP type 1, 2 or 3 that is marked as such either by being a Sync sample or by the SAP sample group for example sample 1200 in figure 12) or in the zero or more other identified EDRAP samples in the EDRAP sample group or in the succeeding samples."), a first extended dependent random access point (EDRAP) sample (sampleA) identified by ref_edrap_idx_delta[i] for i in the range of 0 to num ref edrap samples - 1, inclusive, in decoding order (Pg 69, in 24 - Pg 70, In 10), and all samples following the first EDRAP sample in both decoding order and output order in a track including at least one second EDRAP sample (sampleB) (Pg 68, In 20-25 "a player can decode a stream starting at an EDRAP or at a DRAP sample with the constraint that it first decodes the one or more reference samples needed for correct decoding of the bit-stream starting from this EDRAP or DRAP sample. Thus, random access in a bit- stream can also be done at other samples than sync or partial sync samples provided that the player has indication to retrieve the preceding sync sample or preceding EDRAP or DRAP samples."); ensuring, for each of the second EDRAP samples in the sequence of samples, that all data for processing the second EDRAP sample is accessible (Pg. 67, in 24-30 "A dependent random access point (DRAP) sample is a sample after which all samples In decoding order can be correctly decoded if the closest initial sample preceding the DRAP sample is available for reference. An EDRAP sample is a sample after which all samples in decoding order can be correctly decoded if the closest initial sample preceding the EDRAP sample and one or more other identified EDRAP samples earlier in decoding order than the EDRAP sample are available for reference."); and performing a conversion between a video comprising the video data and a bitstream of the video data based on the data (Pg. 69, In 13-23 "This can be done by configuring the video encoder or when no such configuration is done on encoding, by copying during encapsulation, the non-VCL NALUs required for random access in one of the above listed samples. This additional constraint or the copy during encapsulation makes sure that non-VCL NAL units needed for decoding the bit-stream starting at the EDRAP or DRAP sample are present in the reconstructed bit-stream. In case of copy, the additional non-VCL NAL units for random access may be encapsulated - within a metadata part of a file-as described in corresponding embodiment and variants, - within a data part of a file as described in corresponding embodiment and variants, or - within both a metadata and a data part of a file.").
Denoual also discloses all data for processing the second EDRAP sample is accessible in a referenced sample entry (Pg 74, In 18-25 "The DRAP or EDRAP samples and their dependencies to previous DRAP or EDRAP samples are described by the 'edrp' sample grouping (SampleToGroupBox 1310 and SampleGroupDescriptionBox 1311). DRAP or EDRAP samples may have dependencies to previous samples. These dependencies are recorded by the encapsulation module as VisualEdrapEntry in the SampleGroupDescriptionBox 1311. In this embodiment, the VisualEdrapEntry are extended with a groupID parameter, i.e. an identifier allowing to reference a particular entry describing the dependencies for a DRAP or EDRAP sample").
Denoual further discloses all data for processing the second EDRAP sample is accessible in the second EDRAP sample itself (Pg 74, In 25 - Pg 75, In 2 "Dependencies may be either on non-VCL or on VCL NAL units or on both. For example, as dashed arrows illustrate, sample 1301 depends on both the non-VCL 1300-1 and VCL NAL 1300-2 units from sample 1300 and sample 1302 depends on VCL NAL units 1301-2 from sample 1301 while sample 1303 depends on non-VCL NAL units 1301-1 from sample 1301 and VCL NAL units 1300-2 from sample 1300. Samples referenced in the 'edrp' sample group description 1311 may be further described into a 'nalm' sample group (SampleToGroupBox 1320 and SampleToGroupDescriptionBox 1321 with grouping type equal to 'nalm'). The SampleToGroupBox 1320 has its grouping_type_parameter 1325 set to a four-character code, e.g. 'edrp', corresponding to the grouping type providing the list of sample dependencies for DRAP or EDRAP samples. This allows the NALU mapping described in box 1321 to further refine the dependencies for DRAP or EDRAP samples.").
Denoual fnally discloses all data for processing the second EDRAP sample is accessible in one of the samples preceding the second EDRAP sample in decoding order and present in the sequence of samples (Pg 68. In 20-25 "a player can decode a stream starting at an EDRAP or at a DRAP sample with the constraint that it first decodes the one or more reference samples needed for correct decoding of the bit-stream starting from this EDRAP or DRAP sample. Thus, random access in a bit- stream can also be done at other samples than sync or partial sync samples provided that the player has indication to retrieve the preceding sync sample or preceding EDRAP or DRAP samples.").
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250373849 discloses SIGNALING PARAMETER SETS FOR GEOMETRY-BASED POINT CLOUD STREAMS
US 20250294151 discloses TRANSMISSION DEVICE FOR POINT CLOUD DATA, METHOD PERFORMED BY TRANSMISSION DEVICE, RECEPTION DEVICE FOR POINT CLOUD DATA, AND METHOD PERFORMED BY RECEPTION DEVICE
US 20250260784 discloses Enhanced Signalling Of Preselection In A Media File
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485