DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argus that the cited references do not disclose in response to detecting the movement of the first electronic device: while the second display device remains detectable via the one or more cameras during the movement of the first electronic device, maintaining display of the first object that includes the first content at the first location in the three-dimensional environment. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Chaillan discloses in response to detecting the movement of the first electronic device: while the second display device remains detectable via the one or more cameras during the movement of the first electronic device, maintaining display of the first object that includes the first content at the first location in the three-dimensional environment. For example, Chaillan discloses that if the user’s head movement are slight and they are still looking at the same screen, the AR layer will maintain synchronization with the screen; see at least paragraphs 0060-0061.
Claims 1, 9 and 17 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaillan (US 2016/0242035) in view of Ninan (US 2025/0104581).
Regarding claim 1, Chaillan discloses a method comprising:
at a first electronic device (wearable devices) in communication with one or more displays (wearable devices have displays), one or more input devices (computing devices 102 and 104), and one or more cameras (wearable devices 106 have cameras and sensors and communicate with other computing devices 102 and 104; see at least Fig. 1 and paragraphs 0038-0039 and 0043):
detecting, via the one or more cameras, a second display, different from the one or
more displays, in communication with a second electronic device, different from the first electronic device, at a first location in a physical environment of the first electronic device (instructing a camera of a wearable device to search for display identifiers and capture an image of the display identifier so the display can be detected, wherein the display can be the monitor 102 or displays 402 and 404; see at least Figs. 1 and 4-5 and paragraphs 0043 and 0056-0066); and
in response to detecting the second display:
in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied, displaying, via the one or more displays, a first object at a first location in a three- dimensional environment that corresponds to the first location in the physical environment, wherein the first object includes first content (if a user is authorized to access content, an AR layer is pushed to that user on the wearable devices, see at least paragraphs 0043, 0057-0059 and 0138); and
in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied, forgoing display of the first object at the first location in the three-dimensional environment (depending on the user’s rights and setting, the user will see what it is authorized to see. So, content is not displayed for an unauthorized user; see at least paragraphs 0057-0059);
while displaying the first content in the first object at the first location in the three-dimensional environment, detecting, via the one or more input devices, movement of the first electronic device (when the users move their heads, the AR layer is disabled and enabled according to their movement; see at least paragraphs 0060-0061); and
in response to detecting the movement of the first electronic device:
while the second display device remains detectable via the one or more cameras during the movement of the first electronic device, maintaining display of the first object that includes the first content at the first location in the three-dimensional environment (if the user’s head movement are slight and they are still looking at the same screen, the AR layer will maintain synchronization with the screen; see at least paragraphs 0060-0061).
Chaillan discloses the detecting the movement of the electronic devices and in accordance with a determination that the movement of the devices causes the display to no longer be detectable via the cameras, disable the AR layer in the three-dimensional environment; see at least paragraphs 0060-0061, but Chaillan is not clear about displaying content at a second location different from the first location when movement is detected.
Ninan discloses the above missing limitation; there are two ways of presenting content in an AR display device, a world-locked (static) view and a head-locked (following) view. In the head-locked (following) view, the augmented content may move based on the user’s head movement and may be always in the user’s field of view; see at least paragraph 0063.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chaillan x by the teachings of Ninan by having the above limitations so to be able to enhance brightness and power efficiency in AR display devices; see at least the Abstract.
Regarding claim 2, Chaillan in view of Ninan disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more criteria include a criterion that is satisfied in accordance with a determination that the second display is displaying the first content (Chaillan; adding the AR layer on image/video being displayed; see at least paragraphs 0038, 0041 and 0067).
Regarding claim 3, Chaillan in view of Ninan disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more criteria include a criterion that is satisfied in accordance with a determination that the first content is content of a first type and that is not satisfied in accordance with a determination that the first content is content of a second type, different from the first type (Chaillan; different content can be displayed based on user’s rights and settings; see at least paragraphs 0057-0059).
Regarding claim 4, Chaillan in view of Ninan disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more criteria include a criterion that is satisfied in accordance with a determination that gaze of a user of the first electronic device is directed to the second display when the second display is detected (Chaillan; looking at a display; see at least paragraphs 0038, 0060-0061 and 0130).
Regarding claim 5, Chaillan in view of Ninan disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more criteria include a criterion that is satisfied in accordance with a determination that, based on one or more physical properties of the second display, content displayed via the second display is visually detectable via the one or more cameras (Chaillan; location, dimension, shape and angles of the screens; see at least paragraph 0040, 0043 and 0067).
Regarding claim 6, Chaillan in view of Ninan disclose the method of claim 1, wherein, while the first object is displayed at the first location in the three-dimensional environment in accordance with the determination that the one or more criteria are satisfied in response to detecting the second display, the first object visually occludes the second display from a viewpoint of a user of the first electronic device (Chaillan; rendering the AR layer on the displays of wearable devices on top of the image/video being displayed on the displays; see at least paragraphs 0038, 0041 and 0138 in combination with Ninan’s head movement and head locked view; see at least the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Chaillan in view of Ninan disclose the method of claim 1, wherein displaying the first object that includes the first content includes:
identifying, in one or more images of the second display captured via the one or
more cameras, one or more features of the first content (Chaillan; recognizing the content being displayed; see at least the Abstract and paragraphs 0010, 0012, 0067 and 0069); and
obtaining, based on the identification of the one or more features of the first
content, the first content for display in the first object in the three-dimensional environment (Chaillan; pushing the AR layer to the wearable devices; see at least paragraphs 0009, 0038 and 0070).
Regarding claim 8, Chaillan in view of Ninan disclose the method of claim 1, wherein:
the one or more criteria include a criterion that is satisfied in accordance with a determination that the second display is displaying the first content (Chaillan; adding the AR layer on image/video being displayed; see at least paragraphs 0038, 0041 and 0067);
displaying the first content in the first object includes presenting audio corresponding to the first content (Chaillan; AR layer is rendered onto the screens of the wearable devices and specific audible content to the audio portions of the wearable devices; see at least paragraph 0073); and
in accordance with the determination that the one or more criteria are satisfied, playback of the first content and presentation of the audio corresponding to the first content are synchronized between the first electronic device and the second electronic device (Chaillan; the AR layer is synchronized with the client devices; see at least paragraphs 0043, 0061, 0071 and 0124).
Claim 9 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 6.
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 7.
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 8.
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
Claim 21 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.
Claim 22 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 6.
Claim 23 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 7.
Claim 24 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 8.
Conclusion
/YASSIN ALATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426