DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) s 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10-11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2023/0308731) and further in view of Angquist et al (US 2019/0104259).
For claim 1, Lee teaches a multimedia data generating method, comprising:
receiving text information (e.g. paragraph 73, figure 4: “speech input and text conversion”);
displaying the text information and acquiring a first reading speech of the text information (e.g. figure 4: “I went to a nice beach and saw seals and nice boats on the sandy rocks of the beach”);
obtaining a video image matched with the text information (e.g. paragraphs 74-75, figure 4, images match beach , seals boats and the sandy rock on the beach); and
generating a first multimedia data based on the video image and the first reading speech and displaying the first multimedia data (e.g. paragraphs 76-77, figure 4: “Synthesized and converted video multimedia content);
wherein each of the plurality of first multimedia segments comprises a first video segment including a video image matched with a first text segment (e.g. paragraphs 74-75, figure 4, images match beach , seals boats and the sandy rock on the beach)and a first speech segment including a reading speech of the first text segment (e.g. figure 5, paragraph 75: the video resource matching unit 130 matches caption and font resources to the sentence information as the element information and matches the audio made by converting the sentence information into speech as a sound resource to the sentence information. Furthermore, the video resource matching unit 130 matches animation information to the sentence information).
Lee does not further teach: wherein, the first multimedia data comprises a plurality of first multimedia segments, the plurality of first multimedia segments corresponding to a plurality of first text segments included in the text information, respectively, the first video segment and the first speech segment being displayed in editing tracks.
Angquist et al teach: wherein, the first multimedia data comprises a plurality of first multimedia segments, the plurality of first multimedia segments corresponding to a plurality of first text segments included in the text information, respectively, the first video segment and the first speech segment being displayed in editing tracks (e.g. figure 1: Media Editor Graphical User Interface comprises Video clip 107, audio clip 108 (or audio clip 112), caption 105). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the GUI of Angquist et al into the teaching of Lee to display video, audio and subtitle to improve editing efficiency by allowing editor to accurately specify the starting and/or ending point of a media object in the timeline (e.g. paragraph 79, Angquist et al).
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 1 above, wherein Lee teaches various processes performed by processor (e.g. paragraph 21).
For claims 2, 11 and 20, Angquist et al teach converting the text information into speech data in response to a multimedia synthesis operation; and generating second multimedia data based on the text information and the speech data, and displaying the second multimedia data; wherein the second multimedia data comprise the speech data and the video image matched with the text information; the second multimedia data comprise a plurality of second multimedia segments, the plurality of second multimedia segments corresponding to a plurality of second text segments included in the text information, respectively; each of the plurality of second multimedia segments comprises a second video segment including a video image matched with a second text segment and a second speech segment including a reading speech of the second text segment (e.g. figure 4 shows “Speech input and text conversion”, matching video image to the text such as “beach” is matched with the image of a “[U.S.A] beach resource”, and then synthesized and converted video multimedia content, also see discussion of claim 1 above.).
Claims 3, 4, 6, 8-9, 12, 13, 15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Angquist et al, as applied to claims 1-2, 10-11 and 19-20, and further in view of Rodriguez et al (US 8744239).
For claims 4 and 13, Angquist et al teach displaying the first text segment corresponding to the first speech segment, and acquiring a read segment of the first text segment; and displaying the read segment in an area corresponding to the first speech segment (e.g. figure 1 audio segment 112, video clip, subtitle, caption are display on the same column or align in the same column). Lee and Angquist et al do not further disclose deleting, in response to a rerecording operation for the first speech segment, the first speech segment. Rodriguez et al teach deleting, in response to a rerecording operation for the first speech segment, the first speech segment (.g. column 28, lines 6-16: “text is delete”). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rodriguez et al into the teaching of Lee and Angquist et al to delete speech segment to improve storage efficiency.
For claims 6 and 15, Lee and Angquist et al do not teach moving, in response to a speech segment sliding operation and sliding of a first cursor pointing to the first reading speech till the first speech segment, a second cursor pointing to the text information till the first text segment. Rodriguez et al teach moving, in response to a speech segment sliding operation and sliding of a first cursor pointing to the first reading speech till the first speech segment, a second cursor pointing to the text information till the first text segment (e.g. figure 1, column 7, lines 14-19). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rodriguez et al into the teaching of Lee and Angquist et al to correlate the scripted words with the voice of the narrator to reduce the number of take the narrator has to performs (e.g. column 1, lines 33-46) to improve convenience for the narrator.
For claims 9 and 18, Angquist et al teach wherein the generating a first multimedia data based on the text information and the first reading speech and displaying the first multimedia data comprises: generating the first multimedia data based on the text information and the fourth reading speech, and displaying the first multimedia data (e.g. figure 1 audio segment 112, video clip, subtitle, caption are display on the same column or align in the same column). Lee and Angquist et al do not further disclose subjecting, after the first reading speech is acquired, the first reading speech to voice change processing and/or speed change processing to obtain a fourth reading speech. Rodriguez et al teach subjecting, after the first reading speech is acquired, the first reading speech to voice change processing and/or speed change processing to obtain a fourth reading speech (e.g. column 7, lines 20-30). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rodriguez et al into the teaching of Lee and Angquist et al to correlate the scripted words with the voice of the narrator to reduce the number of take the narrator has to performs (e.g. column 1, lines 33-46) to improve convenience for the narrator.
For claims 3 and 12, Lee teaches acquiring a second reading speech of the text information; and generating a third multimedia data based on the text information and the second reading speech, and displaying the third multimedia data to overwrite the second multimedia data; wherein the third multimedia data comprise the second reading speech and the video image matched with the text information; the third multimedia data comprise a plurality of third multimedia segments, the plurality of third multimedia segments corresponding to a plurality of third text segments included in the text information, respectively; each of the plurality of third multimedia segments includes a third video segment including a video image matched with a third text segment and a third target speech segment including a reading speech of the third text segment (e.g. figure 1 audio segment 112, video clip, subtitle, caption are display on the same column or align in the same column; figure 4 matching text with video image). Lee and Angquist et al do not further disclose displaying, in response to a recording trigger operation after the second multimedia data are generated, the text information. Rodriguez et al teach displaying, in response to a recording trigger operation for the text information, the text information (e.g. column 7, lines 50-58). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rodriguez et al into the teaching of Lee and Angquist et al to correlate the scripted words with the voice of the narrator to reduce the number of take the narrator has to performs (e.g. column 1, lines 33-46) to improve convenience for the narrator.
For claims 8 and 17, Lee teaches editing, after the first multimedia data are generated and displayed, the text information in response to an edit operation for the text information to obtain a modified target text information; updating the first reading speech based on the target modified reading speech of the modified text information to obtain a third reading speech; and generating a fourth multimedia data based on the modified text information and the third reading speech, and displaying the fourth multimedia data; wherein the fourth multimedia data comprise the third reading speech and the video image matched with the text information; the fourth multimedia data comprise a plurality of fourth multimedia segments, the plurality of fourth multimedia segments corresponding to a plurality of fourth text segments included in the text information, respectively; a fourth target each of the plurality of fourth multimedia segments comprises a fourth target video segment including a video image matched with a fourth text segment and a fourth target speech segment including a reading speech of the fourth text segment. (e.g. figure 1 audio segment 112, video clip, subtitle, caption are display on the same column or align in the same column; figure 4 matching text with video image). Lee and Angquist et al do not further displaying, in response to a recording trigger operation for the modified text information, the target modified text information and acquiring a reading speech of the modified text information. Rodriguez et al teaches displaying, in response to a recording trigger operation for the modified text information, the target modified text information and acquiring a reading speech of the modified text information (e.g. column 7, lines 50-58). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rodriguez et al into the teaching of Lee and Angquist et al to correlate the scripted words with the voice of the narrator to reduce the number of take the narrator has to performs (e.g. column 1, lines 33-46) to improve convenience for the narrator.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Angquist et al, as applied to claims 1-2, 10-11 and 19, and further in view of Tokunaka et al (US 2008/0002949).
For claims 7 and 16, Lee and Angquist et al do not further disclose prominently displaying a text segment currently read by the user while acquiring the first reading speech. Tokunaka et al teach prominently displaying a text segment currently read by the user while acquiring the first reading speech (e.g. figure 6, paragraph 132, Bar IB). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Tokunaka et al into the teaching of Lee and Angquist et al to improve editing efficiency.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-13, and 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,206,955 B2 in view of Rodriquez et al (US 8,744,239).
Claims 1-4, 6-13, and 15-20 of the instant application corresponds to claims 1-18 of the Patent, respectively. Independent claims 1, 9 and 17 of the Patent do not further specify the first target video segment and the first target speech segment is displayed in editing tracks.
Rodriguez et al teach the first target video segment and the first target speech segment is displayed in editing tracks (e.g. figure 1, video and text are displayed on the same screen. Column 4, line 62-column 5, line 5: The composite display area 130 includes multiple tracks that span a timeline 160, and displays one or more graphical representations of media clips in the composite presentation. As shown, the composite display area 130 displays a music clip representation 165 and a video clip representation 170.).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rodriguez et al into claims 1-18 of the Patent to correlate the scripted words with the voice of the narrator to reduce the number of take the narrator has to performs (e.g. column 1, lines 33-46) to improve convenience for the narrator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Email: daquan.zhao1@uspto.gov.
Phone: (571)270-1119
/DAQUAN ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484