DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the switching mechanism is free of any one-way clutch.” The limitation is a negative limitation that is found indefinite because the original disclosure does not provide basis for the limitation. While the disclosure is silent as to the presence of a clutch, the disclosure does not disclose that the device is free of a clutch. Further, the limitation “one-way clutch” does not have clear boundaries. It is not clear what structure is encompassed by the term “one-way clutch,” in a manner that would presume exclusion of aligning structure. Therefore, the limitation is not adequately supported by the disclosure.
The remaining claims are rejected due to dependency from claim 1.
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the switching mechanism is free of any one-way clutch.” The limitation is a negative limitation that is found indefinite because the original disclosure does not provide basis for the limitation. While the disclosure is silent as to the presence of a clutch, the disclosure does not disclose that the device is free of a clutch. Further, the limitation “one-way clutch” does not have clear boundaries. It is not clear what structure is encompassed by the term “one-way clutch,” in a manner that would presume exclusion of aligning structure. Therefore, the claim is indefinite.
The remaining claims are rejected due to dependency from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-12 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2020/0001314).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a stepless switching top spray shower, comprising
a driving mechanism (3, 4) and a switching mechanism, the driving mechanism being used for driving the switching mechanism to switch water channels (Paragraphs 38-40), wherein the switching mechanism comprises:
a rack (5) connected to the driving mechanism (Figure 4);
a gear (6a) meshing with the rack (Figure 3);
a connecting shaft (8) fixedly connected to the gear (Paragraph 39); and
a switching disk (6) fixedly connected to the connecting shaft (Figure 4 and paragraph 39);
the top spray shower further comprises a sealing cover (10);
the switching disk (6) is provided with a water hole (9b) (The water hole is attached to the switching disk by an internal gear), the sealing cover (10) is provided with two or more water distribution holes (10a), and each water distribution hole (10a) is in communication with a different water outlet channel (The distribution holes are in communication with different outlet channels on the cover); the driving mechanism (3, 4) drives the rack (5) to move, the rack (5) drives the gear (6a) to rotate, and the gear (6a) drives the switching disk (6) to rotate, so that the water hole (10a) is in communication with one of the water distribution holes (10a) (Paragraphs 41-42),
wherein the switching mechanism is free of any one-way clutch or ratchet mechanism (Paragraph 39, the switching mechanism rotates bi-directionally), and the gear (6a), the connecting shaft (8), and the switching disk (6) are connected such that they rotate synchronously and bidirectionally (Paragraph 39, the elements are rotated and returned back, but fails to disclose the gear rotating the switching disk through the connecting shaft. The gear is connected integrally to the switching disk through a structure that is not in the shape of a shaft.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the gear rotating the switching disk with a shaft, as Applicant has not disclosed that the structure is for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem, and it appears the device would perform equally well as prescribed with the elements formed integrally and including a connecting shaft.
Regarding claim 2, Yang discloses the stepless switching top spray shower according to claim 1, further comprising a shower body (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), wherein the shower body is provided with a fixing seat (1); the rack (5) is mounted on the fixing seat in a sliding manner (Figure 3) (Paragraph 41, the rack slides up and down), and the gear (6a) is rotatably mounted on the fixing seat (Paragraph 41).
Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses the stepless switching top spray shower according to claim 2, wherein the fixing seat (1, 2, 13) is provided with a sliding rail or a sliding groove (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1, a first side of the rack (5) is connected to the driving mechanism (3, 4), and a second side of the rack is connected to the sliding rail or the sliding groove by sliding fit (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1, the rack is slide into the sliding rail).
Regarding claim 6, Yang discloses the stepless switching top spray shower according to claim 1, wherein a water distribution cover (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 3) is provided on water outlet channels (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 3) (Figure 10) in communication with the water distribution holes, and a first water distribution chamber (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 3) and a second water distribution chamber (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 3) are formed on an upper side and a lower side of the water distribution cover respectively (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 3);
when the rack (5) and the gear (6a) are in a first meshing position, water flows into the first water distribution chamber (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 3) via one of the water distribution holes (one of the holes 10a) and then flows out via a water outlet hole (an outlet hole of the front cover) to form first state water (The configuration provides for a first state water);
when the rack (5) and the gear (6a) are in a second meshing position, water flows into the second water distribution chamber (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 3) via other one of the water distribution holes (another hole 10a) and then flows out via the water outlet hole to form second state water (The configuration provides for a second state water).
Examiner’s Annotated Figure 3
Regarding claim 7, Yang discloses the stepless switching top spray shower according to claim 6, wherein the water distribution cover (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 3)) is provided with a water hole (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 3), and the water from the first water distribution chamber enters the second water distribution chamber via the water hole (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, Yang discloses the stepless switching top spray shower according to claim 7, further comprising a water outlet body (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 3), wherein the water outlet hole (Examiner’s Annotated figure 3) is formed on the water outlet body (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 3), and the water outlet hole (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 3) is misaligned with the water hole (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 3), so that the water in the water hole enters the water outlet hole after rotation (Water in the water hole enters the outlet hole after rotation of the sealing disk).
Regarding claim 9, Yang discloses the stepless switching top spray shower according to claim 8, further comprising a decorative cover (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 3), wherein the decorative cover is provided with a water outlet yield hole (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 3), the quantity and position of the water outlet yield hole correspond to those of the water outlet hole (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 3), and the diameter of the water outlet yield hole is greater than that of the water outlet hole (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, Yang discloses a sanitary ware, comprising the stepless switching top spray shower according to claim 1 (See claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Yang discloses a sanitary ware, comprising the stepless switching top spray shower according to claim 2 (See claim 2).
Regarding claim 12, Yang discloses a sanitary ware, comprising the stepless switching top spray shower according to claim 3 (See claim 3).
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses a sanitary ware, comprising the stepless switching top spray shower according to claim 6 (See claim 6).
Regarding claim 16, Yang disclosed a sanitary ware, comprising the stepless switching top spray shower according to claim 7 (See claim 7).
Regarding claim 17, Yang discloses a sanitary ware, comprising the stepless switching top spray shower according to claim 8 (See claim 8).
Regarding claim 18, Yang discloses a sanitary ware, comprising the stepless switching top spray shower according to claim 9 (See claim 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Zhou (US 9,795,974).
Regarding claim 4, Yang discloses the stepless switching top spray shower according to claim 3, wherein the driving mechanism (3, 4) is a push button (Element 3 of the mechanism is a button), the rack (5) is provided with an insertion hole (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 2), and an insertion rod (4) of the push button, but fails to disclose that the push button is insertion fit with the insertion hole.
Zhou discloses a device wherein a rod (222) of a push button is insertion fit within an insertion hole (235).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang with the disclosures of Zhou, providing a device wherein the insertion rod is insertion fit with the insertion hole, as Applicant has not disclosed that the structure solves a stated problem, or is for a particular purpose. Further, it appears the device would perform equally well with the abutting structure put forth by Yang.
Regarding claim 13, Yang in view of Zhou discloses a sanitary ware, comprising the stepless switching top spray shower according to claim 4 (See claim 4).
Examiner’s Annotated Figure 2
Claim(s) 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Quinn (US 9347208).
Regarding claim 5, Yang discloses the stepless switching top spray shower according to claim 2, wherein a water outlet chamber is provided at a water outlet end (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1, The area about holes 10a), and a sealing piece (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1) is provided in the water outlet chamber (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1);
the water hole (9b) of the switching disk is in communication with the water outlet chamber (Paragraphs 41-42), but fails to disclose a ball is provided at a water inlet end of the fixing seat (1, 2, 13).
Quinn discloses a device that includes a ball (126) provided at a water inlet end (112) of a fixing seat (Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang with the disclosures of Quinn, providing a ball (Quinn, 126, along with the bracket body) at a water inlet end of the fixing seat (Yang, 1, 2 13), in order to provide for a known structure that secures position of the showerhead for operation.
Regarding claim 14, Yang in view of Quinn discloses a sanitary ware, comprising the stepless switching top spray shower according to claim 5 (See claim 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to Applicant’s position that the limitation “wherein the switching mechanism is free of any one-way clutch,” the limitation is a negative limitation. The limitation is indefinite because it is not supported by the specification. The specification makes no mention of a one-way clutch. Further, the limitation “one-way clutch” does not have clear boundaries. It is not clear what structure is encompassed by the term “one-way clutch,” in a manner that would presume exclusion of aligning structure.
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the interpretation of the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER R. DANDRIDGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/CHRISTOPHER R DANDRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752