DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-9, 15-16 and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Brugner et al (US Publication No. 20090251832).
Regarding claim 1, Brugner discloses a leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device fig. 25; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), comprising: a switch module (i.e., such as switch module 50M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), coupled between (i.e., such as switch 50M is coupled between power source 70M and load 80M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) an input end (i.e., such as input end 70M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) and an output end (i.e., such as output end 80M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) of current-carrying lines (i.e., such as current-carrying lines phase line L and neutral line N; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) and configured to control (i.e., such as 50M is configured to control the ON/OFF state; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) a power connection (i.e., such as either power connection is ON or power connection is OFF; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) between the input end (i.e., such as input end 70M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) and the output end (i.e., such as output end 80M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), wherein the input end (i.e., such as input end 70M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) of the current-carrying lines (i.e., such as current-carrying lines phase line L and neutral line N; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) is coupled to a first plug blade (i.e., such as first plug blade 21M for the phase line L; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) and a second plug blade (i.e., such as second plug blade 22M for the neutral line N; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]); a leakage detection module (i.e., such as leakage detection module 11M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), configured to detect (i.e., such as 11M is configured to detect via 170M and 180M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) a leakage current signal (i.e., such as leakage current signal on line 41M or line 42M; for instance, in the event of a leakage current flow between one of the first and second conductors 41M and 42M and one of the first and second shields 47M and 48M, a current will flow through the conductor 115M extending through the core opening 173M of the transformer core 172M. The current flow through the conductor 108 produces a magnetic flux in the transformer core 172M enabling the amplifier driver 200M to open the disconnect switch 50M and terminates current flow as heretofore described; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) on the current- carrying lines (i.e., such as current-carrying lines phase line L and neutral line N; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) and generate a leakage fault signal (i.e., such as leakage fault signal; for instance, in the event of a leakage current flow between one of the first and second conductors 41M and 42M and one of the first and second shields 47M and 48M, a current will flow through the conductor 115M extending through the core opening 173M of the transformer core 172M. The current flow through the conductor 108 produces a magnetic flux in the transformer core 172M enabling the amplifier driver 200M to open the disconnect switch 50M and terminates current flow as heretofore described; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) when the leakage current signal (i.e., such as leakage current signal on line 41M or line 42M; for instance, in the event of a leakage current flow between one of the first and second conductors 41M and 42M and one of the first and second shields 47M and 48M, a current will flow through the conductor 115M extending through the core opening 173M of the transformer core 172M. The current flow through the conductor 108 produces a magnetic flux in the transformer core 172M enabling the amplifier driver 200M to open the disconnect switch 50M and terminates current flow as heretofore described; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) is detected (i.e., such as the leakage current signal is detected by the 170M/180M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) or when the leakage current signal exceeds a preset threshold; an over-temperature protection module (i.e., such as over-temperature protection module 13M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), including a first temperature sensor (i.e., such as first temperature sensor 91M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) and a second temperature sensor (i.e., such as second temperature sensor 92M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), wherein the first temperature sensor (i.e., such as first temperature sensor 91M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) is arranged adjacent (i.e., such as 91M is arranged adjacent to 21M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) to the first plug blade (i.e., such as first plug blade 21M for the phase line L; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) and configured to detect (i.e., such as 91M is configured to detect over-heating conditions at 21M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) a temperature (i.e., such as temperature of the over-heating conditions at 21M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) near the first plug blade (i.e., such as first plug blade 21M for the phase line L; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), and the second temperature sensor (i.e., such as second temperature sensor 92M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) is arranged adjacent (i.e., such as 92M is arranged adjacent to 22M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) to the second plug blade (i.e., such as second plug blade 22M for the neutral line N; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) and configured to detect (i.e., such as 92M is configured to detect over-heating conditions at 22M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) a temperature (i.e., such as temperature of the over-heating conditions at 22M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) near the second plug blade (i.e., such as second plug blade 22M for the neutral line N; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), wherein the over-temperature protection module (i.e., such as over-temperature protection module 13M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) is configured to generate (i.e., such as 13M is configured to generate via optocouplers 120M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) an over-temperature fault signal (i.e., such as over-temperature fault signal to be sent to 200M via 105M, 106M, respectively; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) when the temperature detected (i.e., such as the over-heating temperature detected by the 91M/92M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) by the first temperature sensor (i.e., such as first temperature sensor 91M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) and/or the second temperature sensor (i.e., such as second temperature sensor 92M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) exceeds (i.e., such as exceeds as over-heated; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) a preset threshold (i.e., such as preset threshold as predetermined value/parameter; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]); and a driving module (i.e., such as driving module 200M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), coupled (i.e., such as 200M is coupled to 50M/11M/13M via 76M and 77M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) to the switch module (i.e., such as switch module 50M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) and the leakage detection module (i.e., such as leakage detection module 11M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), and configured to receive (i.e., such as 200M is configured to receive the leakage fault signal from 170M/180M via 175M, 176M, 185M, 186M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) the leakage fault signal (i.e., such as the leakage fault signal from 170M/180M via 175M, 176M, 185M, 186M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) and drive (i.e., such as 200M is driving 50M via solenoid coil 60M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) the switch module (i.e., such as switch module 50M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) to disconnect (i.e., such as disconnect as the power connection is OFF via opening terminal contact 51M and terminal contact 52M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) the power connection (i.e., such as either power connection is ON or power connection is OFF; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) in response (i.e., such as in response; for instance, in the event of a leakage current flow between one of the first and second conductors 41M and 42M and one of the first and second shields 47M and 48M, a current will flow through the conductor 115M extending through the core opening 173M of the transformer core 172M. The current flow through the conductor 108 produces a magnetic flux in the transformer core 172M enabling the amplifier driver 200M to open the disconnect switch 50M and terminates current flow as heretofore described; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) to the leakage fault signal (i.e., such as leakage current signal on line 41M or line 42M; for instance, in the event of a leakage current flow between one of the first and second conductors 41M and 42M and one of the first and second shields 47M and 48M, a current will flow through the conductor 115M extending through the core opening 173M of the transformer core 172M. The current flow through the conductor 108 produces a magnetic flux in the transformer core 172M enabling the amplifier driver 200M to open the disconnect switch 50M and terminates current flow as heretofore described; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]).
Regarding claim 7, Brugner discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device fig. 25; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]); wherein the driving module (i.e., such as driving module 200M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) is further coupled (i.e., such as 200M is coupled to 50M/11M/13M via 76M and 77M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) to the over-temperature protection module (i.e., such as over-temperature protection module 13M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) and is further configured to receive (i.e., such as 200M is configured to receive the over- temperature fault signal from optocouplers 120M via 105M and 106M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) the over- temperature fault signal (i.e., such as the over-temperature fault signal from optocouplers 120M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) and drive (i.e., such as 200M is driving 50M via solenoid coil 60M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) the switch module (i.e., such as switch module 50M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) to disconnect (i.e., such as disconnect as the power connection is OFF via opening terminal contact 51M and terminal contact 52M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) the power connection (i.e., such as either power connection is ON or power connection is OFF; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) in response (i.e., such as in response; for instance, the overheating detection circuit 13M operates in a manner similar to FIG. 24 with the individual sensing of the temperatures of the first and second electrical blades 21M and 22M as fully explained with reference to FIG. 22; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) to the over-temperature fault signal (i.e., such as the over-temperature fault signal from optocouplers 120M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]).
Regarding claim 8, Brugner discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device fig. 25; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]); wherein the driving module (i.e., such as driving module 200M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) further includes: at least one first semiconductor element (i.e., such as at least one first semiconductor element 71M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), coupled (i.e., such as 200M is coupled to 50M/11M/13M via 76M and 77M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) to the leakage detection module (i.e., such as leakage detection module 11M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) and configured to receive (i.e., such as 200M is configured to receive the leakage fault signal from 170M/180M via 175M, 176M, 185M, 186M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) the leakage fault signal (i.e., such as the leakage fault signal from 170M/180M via 175M, 176M, 185M, 186M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) and change its switch state (i.e., such as change its switch state from ON-state to OFF-state; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) in response (i.e., such as in response; for instance, in the event of a leakage current flow between one of the first and second conductors 41M and 42M and one of the first and second shields 47M and 48M, a current will flow through the conductor 115M extending through the core opening 173M of the transformer core 172M. The current flow through the conductor 108 produces a magnetic flux in the transformer core 172M enabling the amplifier driver 200M to open the disconnect switch 50M and terminates current flow as heretofore described; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) to the leakage fault signal (i.e., such as the leakage fault signal from 170M/180M via 175M, 176M, 185M, 186M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]); and at least one second semiconductor element (i.e., such as at least one second semiconductor element 121M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), coupled (i.e., such as 13M is coupled to 120M via 128M, 126M, 138M, 136M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) to the over-temperature protection module (i.e., such as over-temperature protection module 13M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) and configured to receive (i.e., such as 200M is configured to receive the over- temperature fault signal from optocouplers 120M via 105M and 106M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) the over-temperature fault signal (i.e., such as the over-temperature fault signal from optocouplers 120M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) and change its switch state (i.e., such as change its switch state from ON-state to OFF-state; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) in response (i.e., such as in response; for instance, the overheating detection circuit 13M operates in a manner similar to FIG. 24 with the individual sensing of the temperatures of the first and second electrical blades 21M and 22M as fully explained with reference to FIG. 22; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) to the over-temperature fault signal (i.e., such as the over-temperature fault signal from optocouplers 120M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]).
Regarding claim 9, Brugner discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device fig. 25; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]); wherein the driving module (i.e., such as driving module 200M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) further includes: a reset switch (i.e., such as reset switch 63; see for example figs. 1-6, para. [0060]- [0067]), operable (i.e., such as operable; for instance, the latch 62 is shown as a mechanical latch comprising a reset button 63 having a return spring 64. The reset button 63 extends from the housing 20 as shown in FIGS. 1 and 2. A latch bar 66 having a latch shoulder 68 is connected to the reset button 63. The disconnect switch 50 is reset by depressing the reset button 63 against the urging of the return spring 64. The latch shoulder 68 of the latch bar 66 reengages with the shoulder 59 of the switch operator 57. The reset button 63 moves the first and second switches 51 and 52 into the closed position against the urging of the resilient metallic conductors 55 and 56; see for example figs. 1-6, para. [0060]- [0067]) to: drive (i.e., such as 200M is driving 50M via solenoid coil 60M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) the switch module (i.e., such as switch module 50M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) to connect the power connection (i.e., such as connect the power connection as switch 50 is ON; for instance, FIGS. 3 and 4 illustrate the disconnect switch 50 in the closed position. The latch shoulder 68 of the latch bar 66 engages with the shoulder 59 defined by the aperture 58 of the switch operator 57. The return spring 64 is selected to be stronger than the resilient metallic conductors 55 and 56 biasing the first and second switches 51 and 52 into an open position. The return spring 64 retains the first and second switches 51 and 52 in the closed position against the urging of the resilient metallic conductors 55 and 56; see for example figs. 1-6, para. [0060]- [0067]) again after (i.e., such as switch 50 is ON again after being OFF; see for example figs. 1-6, para. [0060]- [0067]) the driving module (i.e., such as driving module 200M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) drives (i.e., such as 200M is driving 50M via solenoid coil 60M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) the switch module (i.e., such as switch module 50M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) to disconnect the power connection (i.e., such as disconnect the power connection as switch 50 is OFF; for instance, FIGS. 5 and 6 illustrate the disconnect switch 50 in an open position. An electrical current through the solenoid coil 60 extends the plunger 61 to displace the latch bar 66. The plunger 61 displaces the latch bar 66 to disengage the latch shoulder 68 of the latch bar 66 from the shoulder 57 of the switch operator 55. The disengagement of the latch shoulder 68 from the shoulder 59 permits the resilient metallic conductors 55 and 56 to move the first and second switches 51 and 52 into the open position. The first and second switches 51 and 52 remain in the open position until the disconnect switch 50 is manually reset by the reset button 63. Concomitantly therewith, the return spring 64 moves the reset button 63 into an extended position. The reset button 63 extends from the housing 20 as shown in FIG. 1. The latch bar 66 and the latch shoulder 68 move in unison with the reset button 63; see for example figs. 1-6, para. [0060]- [0067]) in response (i.e., such as in response; for instance, in the event of a leakage current flow between one of the first and second conductors 41M and 42M and one of the first and second shields 47M and 48M, a current will flow through the conductor 115M extending through the core opening 173M of the transformer core 172M. The current flow through the conductor 108 produces a magnetic flux in the transformer core 172M enabling the amplifier driver 200M to open the disconnect switch 50M and terminates current flow as heretofore described; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) to the leakage fault signal (i.e., such as the leakage fault signal from 170M/180M via 175M, 176M, 185M, 186M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), and keep the power connection disconnected (i.e., such keep the power connection disconnected as switch 50 is still OFF; see for example figs. 1-6, para. [0060]- [0067]) after the driving module (i.e., such as driving module 200M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) drives (i.e., such as 200M is driving 50M via solenoid coil 60M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) the switch module (i.e., such as switch module 50M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) to disconnect the power connection (i.e., such as disconnect the power connection as switch 50 is OFF; for instance, FIGS. 5 and 6 illustrate the disconnect switch 50 in an open position. An electrical current through the solenoid coil 60 extends the plunger 61 to displace the latch bar 66. The plunger 61 displaces the latch bar 66 to disengage the latch shoulder 68 of the latch bar 66 from the shoulder 57 of the switch operator 55. The disengagement of the latch shoulder 68 from the shoulder 59 permits the resilient metallic conductors 55 and 56 to move the first and second switches 51 and 52 into the open position. The first and second switches 51 and 52 remain in the open position until the disconnect switch 50 is manually reset by the reset button 63. Concomitantly therewith, the return spring 64 moves the reset button 63 into an extended position. The reset button 63 extends from the housing 20 as shown in FIG. 1. The latch bar 66 and the latch shoulder 68 move in unison with the reset button 63; see for example figs. 1-6, para. [0060]- [0067]) in response (i.e., such as in response; for instance, the overheating detection circuit 13M operates in a manner similar to FIG. 24 with the individual sensing of the temperatures of the first and second electrical blades 21M and 22M as fully explained with reference to FIG. 22; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) to the over-temperature fault signal (i.e., such as the over-temperature fault signal from optocouplers 120M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]).
Regarding claim 15, Brugner discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device fig. 25; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]); a specific element (i.e., such as specific element first plug blade 21M for the phase line L and specific element second plug blade 22M for the neutral line N; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), a specific position (i.e., such as the specific position of thermistor 91M is arranged adjacent to blade 21M, and the specific position of thermistor 92M is arranged adjacent to blade 22M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), at least one first semiconductor element (i.e., such as at least one first semiconductor element 71M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), at least one second semiconductor element (i.e., such as at least one second semiconductor element 121M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), change its switch state (i.e., such as change its switch state from ON-state to OFF-state; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), in response (i.e., such as in response; for instance, the overheating detection circuit 13M operates in a manner similar to FIG. 24 with the individual sensing of the temperatures of the first and second electrical blades 21M and 22M as fully explained with reference to FIG. 22; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Regarding claim 16, Brugner discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device fig. 25; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]); at least one first semiconductor element (i.e., such as at least one first semiconductor element 71M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), at least one second semiconductor element (i.e., such as at least one second semiconductor element 121M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 9. {See rejection of claim 9}
Regarding claim 23, Brugner discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device fig. 25; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]); an electrical connection device (i.e., such as electrical connection device 20G; see for example figs. 13-14, para. [0128]- [0134]), comprising: a housing (i.e., such as housing 25G; see for example figs. 13-14, para. [0128]- [0134]); and the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device fig. 25; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) disposed (i.e., such as disposed as the circuit of fig. 25 is physically accommodated by the housing 25G depicted in fig. 13; for instance, FIG. 14 is a block diagram of a first example of an overheating detection circuit 11H cooperating with the leakage current detection circuit 13H for disconnecting electrical power upon detecting an overheated condition. The overheating detection circuit 11H and the leakage current detection circuit 13H is suitable for use in the electrical power strip 150G of FIG. 13; see for example fig. 13-14, para. [0128]- [0134]) in the housing (i.e., such as housing 25G; see for example figs. 13-14, para. [0128]- [0134]).
Regarding claim 24, Brugner discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device fig. 25; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]); an electrical appliance (i.e., such as any electrical appliance to be plugged in 150G; see for example figs. 13-14, para. [0128]- [0134]), comprising: an electrical load (i.e., such as any electrical load/appliance to be plugged in 150G; see for example figs. 13-14, para. [0128]- [0134]); and the electrical connection device (i.e., such as electrical connection device 20G; see for example figs. 13-14, para. [0128]- [0134]), coupled (i.e., such as 20G is coupled to 150G via power cable 40G; see for example figs. 13-14, para. [0128]- [0134]) to the electrical load (i.e., such as any electrical load/appliance to be plugged in 150G; see for example figs. 13-14, para. [0128]- [0134]) and configured to supply power (i.e., such as 20G is configured to supply power to 150G via 40G; see for example figs. 13-14, para. [0128]- [0134]) to the electrical load (i.e., such as any electrical load/appliance to be plugged in 150G; see for example figs. 13-14, para. [0128]- [0134]).
Regarding claim 25, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 23. {See rejection of claim 23}
Regarding claim 26, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 24. {See rejection of claim 24}
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brugner et al (US Publication No. 20090251832) in view of Kuehn et al (US Patent No. 4392782).
Regarding claim 2, Brugner discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device fig. 25; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]); wherein the over-temperature protection module (i.e., such as over-temperature protection module 13M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) further includes: a first voltage divider element (i.e., such as first voltage divider element 137M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), coupled in series (i.e., such as 137M is coupled in series with 91M via 138M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) with the first temperature sensor (i.e., such as first temperature sensor 91M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]); a second voltage divider element (i.e., such as second voltage divider element 127M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), coupled in series (i.e., such as 127M is coupled in series with 92M via 128; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]) with the second temperature sensor (i.e., such as second temperature sensor 92M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]).
Brugner does not explicitly disclose a first comparison unit, coupled to the first voltage divider element and the second voltage divider element, wherein when the temperature detected by the first temperature sensor and/or the second temperature sensor exceeds the preset threshold, the first voltage divider element and/or the second voltage divider element provides an over-temperature detection signal to the first comparison unit, and wherein the first comparison unit is configured to generate the over- temperature fault signal in response to the over-temperature detection signal.
Kuehn discloses a liquid level controller (i.e., see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+); wherein a first comparison unit (i.e., such as first comparison unit 36; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+), coupled (i.e., such comparator 36 is coupled directly to high-side line 32 and indirectly/via 38 to low-side line 30; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) to the first voltage divider element (i.e., such as the first voltage divider element resistor 170 at high-side line 32; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) and the second voltage divider element (i.e., such as the second voltage divider element resistor 152 at low-side line 30; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+), wherein when the temperature detected (i.e., such as the temperature detected by the high-side thermistor 78 and the low-side thermistor 79; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) by the first temperature sensor (i.e., such as the first temperature sensor 78; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) and/or the second temperature sensor (i.e., such as the second temperature sensor 79; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) exceeds (i.e., such as exceeds; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) the preset threshold (i.e., such as the preset threshold/predetermined parameters; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+), the first voltage divider element (i.e., such as the first voltage divider element resistor 170 at high-side line 32; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) and/or the second voltage divider element (i.e., such as the second voltage divider element resistor 152 at low-side line 30; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) provides an over-temperature detection signal (i.e., such as over-temperature detection signal of high-side line 32 and low-side line 30 to be output by comparator 36; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) to the first comparison unit (i.e., such as first comparison unit 36; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+), and wherein the first comparison unit (i.e., such as first comparison unit 36; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) is configured to generate (i.e., such as comparator 36 is configured to generate the over-temperature fault signal output to be sent to comparator 53; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) the over-temperature fault signal (i.e., such as the over-temperature fault signal as of the output of comparator 36; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) in response (i.e., such as in response; for instance, high side comparator 36 activates when the oil level rises above high side thermistor 78. When the high side thermistor is submerged, the oil transfers heat away from the self-heating thermistor more rapidly than did the air and the temperature of the thermistor drops, increasing its resistance. This increases the voltage taken in by high side comparator 36 from its connection to lead 32 since the power supplied is a substantially constant current and the voltage is there for directly proportional to the resistance. Under these conditions, the signal voltage taken from lead 32 exceeds the input from power supply 12, and this is the state that activates this comparator. Activated, the high side comparator sends its output to switching comparator 53, activating it which in turn outputs to transistor 20 activating it to complete the circuit containing relay system 18; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) to the over-temperature detection signal (i.e., such as over-temperature detection signal as the inputs to comparator 36 of high-side line 32 and low-side line 30; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the comparison circuit unit in Brugner, as taught by Kuehn, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Regarding claim 3, Brugner in view of Kuehn and the teachings of Brugner as modified by Kuehn have been discussed above.
Kuehn further discloses the liquid level controller (i.e., see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+); wherein the over-temperature protection module (i.e., such as the over-temperature protection module 31; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) further includes: a first isolation element (i.e., such as first isolation element diode 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+), coupled between (i.e., such as diode 160 is coupled between thermistor 78 and comparator 36; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) the first temperature sensor (i.e., such as the first temperature sensor 78; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) and the first comparison unit (i.e., such as first comparison unit 36; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+); and a second isolation element (i.e., such as second isolation element diode 146; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+), coupled between (i.e., such as diode 146 is coupled between thermistor 79 and comparator 36; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) the second temperature sensor (i.e., such as the second temperature sensor 79; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) and the first comparison unit (i.e., such as first comparison unit 36; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+), wherein the first isolation element (i.e., such as first isolation element diode 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) and the second isolation element (i.e., such as second isolation element diode 146; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) are configured to isolate (i.e., such as diodes 146, 160 are configured to isolate the reading of the high-side line 32 from the reading of the low-side line 30; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) temperature detection signals (i.e., such as temperature detection signals of the high-side line 32 sensed by thermistor 78 and the low-side line 30 sensed by thermistor 79 and both lines are the input terminals to comparator 36 to output the fault signal to comparator 53; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) of the first temperature sensor (i.e., such as the first temperature sensor 78; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) and the second temperature sensor (i.e., such as the second temperature sensor 79; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+).
Regarding claim 4, Brugner in view of Kuehn and the teachings of Brugner as modified by Kuehn have been discussed above.
Kuehn further discloses the liquid level controller (i.e., see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+); wherein the first isolation element (i.e., such as first isolation element diode 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) and the second isolation element (i.e., such as second isolation element diode 146; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) are diodes (i.e., such as diodes diode-160 and diode-146; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brugner et al (US Publication No. 20090251832) in view of Kuehn, III et al (US Patent No. 4392782) and further in view of Vasquez et al (US Publication No. 20170117697).
Regarding claim 5, Brugner in view of Kuehn and the teachings of Brugner as modified by Kuehn have been discussed above.
Neither Brugner nor Kuehn explicitly discloses wherein the leakage protection module includes a leakage detection chip, coupled to the first comparison unit and configured to provide a reference voltage to the first comparison unit; or the over-temperature protection module further includes a third voltage divider element and a fourth voltage divider element coupled in series, wherein the third voltage divider element and the fourth voltage divider element are coupled to the first comparison unit and configured to provide a reference voltage to the first comparison unit.
Vasquez discloses an intelligent switchable device (i.e., see for example fig. 7, para. [0056]- [0057]); wherein the leakage protection module (i.e., such as the leakage protection module 60; see for example fig. 7, para. [0056]- [0057]) includes a leakage detection chip (i.e., such as leakage detection chip IC13-IC14; see for example fig. 7, para. [0056]- [0057]), coupled (i.e., such as IC13 is coupled to IC7 via TR2 for the hot-line 23 and IC14 is coupled to IC7 via TR3 for the neutral-line 24; see for example fig. 7, para. [0056]- [0057]) to the first comparison unit (i.e., such as the first comparison unit IC6; see for example fig. 7, para. [0056]- [0057]) and configured to provide (i.e., such as IC13-IC14 are configured to provide reference voltage via IC7 as reference pin HV-3 for the hot-line 23 and reference pin NV-3 for the neutral-line 24; see for example fig. 7, para. [0056]- [0057]) a reference voltage (i.e., such as reference voltage via IC7 as reference pin HV-3 for the hot-line 23 and reference pin NV-3 for the neutral-line 24; see for example fig. 7, para. [0056]- [0057]) to the first comparison unit (i.e., such as the first comparison unit IC6; see for example fig. 7, para. [0056]- [0057]); or the over-temperature protection module further includes a third voltage divider element and a fourth voltage divider element coupled in series, wherein the third voltage divider element and the fourth voltage divider element are coupled to the first comparison unit and configured to provide a reference voltage to the first comparison unit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the leakage detection chip in Brugner, as taught by Vasquez, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Claims 10-11, 17-18, 20-21 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brugner et al (US Publication No. 20090251832) in view of Randazzo et al (US Publication No. 20230187922).
Regarding claim 10, Brugner discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device fig. 25; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]).
Brugner does not explicitly disclose further comprising: an over-temperature self-test module, coupled to the over-temperature protection module and the driving module, and configured to detect whether the over-temperature protection module has failed and to generate an over-temperature self-test fault signal when the over- temperature protection module has failed, and wherein the driving module is further configured to receive the over-temperature self-test fault signal and to drive the switch module to disconnect the power connection in response to the over-temperature self-test fault signal.
Randazzo discloses an electronic fuse system (i.e., see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]); wherein further comprising: an over-temperature self-test module (i.e., such as over-temperature self-test module 124; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]), coupled (i.e., such as 124 is coupled to 114 via line TO-CTRL-LOGIG and to 116 via GD-LOGIC-CTRL; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) to the over-temperature protection module (i.e., such as the over-temperature protection module 114; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) and the driving module (i.e., such as the driving module 116; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]), and configured to detect (i.e., such as 124 is configured to detect; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) whether the over-temperature protection module (i.e., such as the over-temperature protection module 114; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) has failed (i.e., such as failed; for instance, the logic gate receives the output comparison signals and outputs a test signal indicating a result of the self-test (e.g., pass or fail). The OR gate 148 thus outputs a logical high (or “1”) indicating that the self-test is failed if either of the outputs of the first and second comparators are high, thereby indicating that the self-test digital voltage is either higher than the first threshold Vthh or lower than the second threshold Vth1; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) and to generate (i.e., such as to generate high logic "1"; for instance, the logic gate receives the output comparison signals and outputs a test signal indicating a result of the self-test (e.g., pass or fail). The OR gate 148 thus outputs a logical high (or “1”) indicating that the self-test is failed if either of the outputs of the first and second comparators are high, thereby indicating that the self-test digital voltage is either higher than the first threshold Vthh or lower than the second threshold Vth1; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) an over-temperature self-test fault signal (i.e., such as over-temperature self-test fault signal output of 128; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) when the over- temperature protection module (i.e., such as the over-temperature protection module 114; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) has failed (i.e., such as failed; for instance, the logic gate receives the output comparison signals and outputs a test signal indicating a result of the self-test (e.g., pass or fail). The OR gate 148 thus outputs a logical high (or “1”) indicating that the self-test is failed if either of the outputs of the first and second comparators are high, thereby indicating that the self-test digital voltage is either higher than the first threshold Vthh or lower than the second threshold Vth1; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]), and wherein the driving module (i.e., such as the driving module 116; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) is further configured to receive (i.e., such as 116 is configured to receive signal "GD-LOGIC-CTRL"; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) the over-temperature self-test fault signal (i.e., such as over-temperature self-test fault signal output of 128; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) and to drive (i.e., such as 116 drives 104 via gate signal "EXT-FET-G"; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) the switch module (i.e., such as the switch module 104; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) to disconnect (i.e., such as disconnect the power connection as switch 104 is OFF and load 106 has no power to be fed by battery 108; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) the power connection (i.e., such as disconnect the power connection as switch 104 is OFF and load 106 has no power to be fed by battery 108; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) in response (i.e., such as in response; for instance, the logic gate receives the output comparison signals and outputs a test signal indicating a result of the self-test (e.g., pass or fail). The OR gate 148 thus outputs a logical high (or “1”) indicating that the self-test is failed if either of the outputs of the first and second comparators are high, thereby indicating that the self-test digital voltage is either higher than the first threshold Vthh or lower than the second threshold Vth1; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) to the over-temperature self-test fault signal (i.e., such as over-temperature self-test fault signal output of 128; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the over-temperature self-test module in Brugner, as taught by Randazzo, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Regarding claim 11, Brugner in view of Randazzo and the teachings of Brugner as modified by Randazzo have been discussed above.
Randazzo further discloses the electronic fuse system (i.e., see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]); wherein the over-temperature self-test module (i.e., such as over-temperature self-test module 124; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) includes a third comparison unit (i.e., such as third comparison unit 122; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]), coupled (i.e., such as 124 is coupled to sensing terminal NTC/Rntc-Rd and sensing terminal NTC-M/Rd; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) to the first temperature sensor (i.e., such as the first temperature sensor sensing terminal NTC/Rntc-Rd; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) and the second temperature sensor (i.e., such as the second temperature sensor sensing terminal NTC-M/Rd; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) and configured to be triggered (i.e., such as 122 is configured to be triggered via 256; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) to generate (i.e., such as to generate high logic "1"; for instance, the logic gate receives the output comparison signals and outputs a test signal indicating a result of the self-test (e.g., pass or fail). The OR gate 148 thus outputs a logical high (or “1”) indicating that the self-test is failed if either of the outputs of the first and second comparators are high, thereby indicating that the self-test digital voltage is either higher than the first threshold Vthh or lower than the second threshold Vth1; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) the over-temperature self-test fault signal (i.e., such as over-temperature self-test fault signal output of 128; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) when the first temperature sensor (i.e., such as the first temperature sensor sensing terminal NTC/Rntc-Rd; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) and/or the second temperature sensor (i.e., such as the second temperature sensor sensing terminal NTC-M/Rd; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) has failed (i.e., such as failed; for instance, the logic gate receives the output comparison signals and outputs a test signal indicating a result of the self-test (e.g., pass or fail). The OR gate 148 thus outputs a logical high (or “1”) indicating that the self-test is failed if either of the outputs of the first and second comparators are high, thereby indicating that the self-test digital voltage is either higher than the first threshold Vthh or lower than the second threshold Vth1; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]).
Regarding claim 17, Brugner in view of Randazzo and the teachings of Brugner as modified by Randazzo have been discussed above.
Randazzo further discloses the electronic fuse system (i.e., see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]); the at least one second semiconductor element (i.e., such as the at least one second semiconductor element transistor 252; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]), change its switch state (i.e., such as change its switch state from ON to OFF; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 10. {See rejection of claim 10}
Regarding claim 18, Brugner in view of Randazzo and the teachings of Brugner as modified by Randazzo have been discussed above.
Randazzo further discloses the electronic fuse system (i.e., see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]); wherein the over-temperature protection module (i.e., such as the over-temperature protection module 114; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]), at least one temperature sensor (i.e., such as at least one temperature sensor sensing terminal NTC/Rntc-Rd; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 11. {See rejection of claim 11}
Regarding claim 20, Brugner in view of Randazzo and the teachings of Brugner as modified by Randazzo have been discussed above.
Brugner further discloses the leakage protection device (i.e., such as leakage protection device fig. 25; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]); a specific component (i.e., such as specific component first plug blade 21M for the phase line L and second plug blade 22M for the neutral line N; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]), a specific position (i.e., such as the specific position of thermistor 91M is arranged adjacent to blade 21M, and the specific position of thermistor 92M is arranged adjacent to blade 22M; see for example fig. 25, para. [0212]- [0215]). Randazzo furthermore discloses the electronic fuse system (i.e., see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]); an over-temperature self-test module (i.e., such as over-temperature self-test module 124; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]), coupled (i.e., such as 124 is coupled to 114 via line TO-CTRL-LOGIG and to 116 via GD-LOGIC-CTRL; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) to the over-temperature protection module (i.e., such as the over-temperature protection module 114; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) and the driving module (i.e., such as the driving module 116; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]), and configured to detect (i.e., such as 124 is configured to detect; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) whether the over-temperature protection module (i.e., such as the over-temperature protection module 114; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) has failed (i.e., such as failed; for instance, the logic gate receives the output comparison signals and outputs a test signal indicating a result of the self-test (e.g., pass or fail). The OR gate 148 thus outputs a logical high (or “1”) indicating that the self-test is failed if either of the outputs of the first and second comparators are high, thereby indicating that the self-test digital voltage is either higher than the first threshold Vthh or lower than the second threshold Vth1; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) and to generate (i.e., such as to generate high logic "1"; for instance, the logic gate receives the output comparison signals and outputs a test signal indicating a result of the self-test (e.g., pass or fail). The OR gate 148 thus outputs a logical high (or “1”) indicating that the self-test is failed if either of the outputs of the first and second comparators are high, thereby indicating that the self-test digital voltage is either higher than the first threshold Vthh or lower than the second threshold Vth1; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) an over-temperature self-test fault signal (i.e., such as over-temperature self-test fault signal output of 128; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) when the over- temperature protection module (i.e., such as the over-temperature protection module 114; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) has failed (i.e., such as failed; for instance, the logic gate receives the output comparison signals and outputs a test signal indicating a result of the self-test (e.g., pass or fail). The OR gate 148 thus outputs a logical high (or “1”) indicating that the self-test is failed if either of the outputs of the first and second comparators are high, thereby indicating that the self-test digital voltage is either higher than the first threshold Vthh or lower than the second threshold Vth1; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]), and wherein the driving module (i.e., such as the driving module 116; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) is further configured to receive (i.e., such as 116 is configured to receive signal "GD-LOGIC-CTRL"; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) the over-temperature self-test fault signal (i.e., such as over-temperature self-test fault signal output of 128; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) and to drive (i.e., such as 116 drives 104 via gate signal "EXT-FET-G"; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) the switch module (i.e., such as the switch module 104; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) to disconnect (i.e., such as disconnect the power connection as switch 104 is OFF and load 106 has no power to be fed by battery 108; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) the power connection (i.e., such as disconnect the power connection as switch 104 is OFF and load 106 has no power to be fed by battery 108; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) in response (i.e., such as in response; for instance, the logic gate receives the output comparison signals and outputs a test signal indicating a result of the self-test (e.g., pass or fail). The OR gate 148 thus outputs a logical high (or “1”) indicating that the self-test is failed if either of the outputs of the first and second comparators are high, thereby indicating that the self-test digital voltage is either higher than the first threshold Vthh or lower than the second threshold Vth1; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]) to one or more of the leakage fault signals (i.e., such as the leakage fault signal of circuit block 112; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]), the over-temperature fault signal (such as the over-temperature fault signal of circuit block 114; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]), the over-temperature self-test fault signal (i.e., such as over-temperature self-test fault signal output of 128; see for example figs. 1 and 12, para. [0062]- [0203]). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Regarding claim 21, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 18. {See rejection of claim 18}
Regarding claim 27, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 23. {See rejection of claim 23}
Regarding claim 28, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 24. {See rejection of claim 24}
Claims 12-13, 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brugner et al (US Publication No. 20090251832) in view of Randazzo et al (US Publication No. 20230187922) and further in view of Kuehn, III et al (US Patent No. 4392782).
Regarding claim 12, Brugner in view of Randazzo and further in view of Kuehn and the teachings of Brugner as modified by Randazzo have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Brugner as modified by Kuehn have been discussed above as well.
Kuehn further discloses the liquid level controller (i.e., see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+); wherein the over-temperature self-test module (i.e., such as the over-temperature self-test module 12; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) further includes: a first voltage regulator component (i.e., such as first voltage regulator component 38/24; for instance, voltage regulator 24 is regulating comparators 36, 38, 28, and 53; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+), coupled (i.e., such as coupled; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) to the first temperature sensor (i.e., such as the first temperature sensor 78; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) and the third comparison unit (i.e., such as the third comparison unit 53; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+); a second voltage regulator component (i.e., such as second voltage regulator component 28/24; for instance, voltage regulator 24 is regulating comparators 36, 38, 28, and 53; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+), coupled (i.e., such as coupled; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) to the second temperature sensor (i.e., such as the second temperature sensor 79; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) and the third comparison unit (i.e., such as the third comparison unit 53; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+), wherein the first voltage regulator component (i.e., such as first voltage regulator component 38/24; for instance, voltage regulator 24 is regulating comparators 36, 38, 28, and 53; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) and the second voltage regulator component (i.e., such as second voltage regulator component 28/24; for instance, voltage regulator 24 is regulating comparators 36, 38, 28, and 53; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) are configured to increase (i.e., such as 38/24 and 28/24 configured to increase and regulate the activation voltage for the switching and latching comparator 53; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) a trigger voltage (i.e., such as trigger voltage as the activation voltage for the switching and latching comparator 53; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) of the third comparison unit (i.e., such as the third comparison unit 53; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+).
Regarding claim 13, Brugner in view of Randazzo and further in view of Kuehn and the teachings of Brugner as modified by Randazzo have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Brugner as modified by Kuehn have been discussed above as well.
Kuehn further discloses the liquid level controller (i.e., see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+); wherein the over-temperature self-test module (i.e., such as the over-temperature self-test module 12; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) further includes: a third isolation element (i.e., such as third isolation element diode 192; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+), coupled (i.e., such as diode 192 is coupled between thermistor 78 and comparator 53; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) between the first temperature sensor (i.e., such as the first temperature sensor 78; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) and the third comparison unit (i.e., such as the third comparison unit 53; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+); and a fourth isolation element (i.e., such as fourth isolation element diode 180; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+), coupled (i.e., such as diode 180 is coupled between thermistor 79 and comparator 53; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) between the second temperature sensor (i.e., such as the second temperature sensor 79; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) and the third comparison unit (i.e., such as the third comparison unit 53; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+), wherein the third isolation element (i.e., such as third isolation element diode 192; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) and the fourth isolation element (i.e., such as fourth isolation element diode 180; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) are configured to isolate (i.e., such as diodes 192 and 180 are configured to isolate the reading high-side line 32 from the reading of the low-side line 30, respectively; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) temperature detection signals (i.e., such as temperature detection signals of the high-side line 32 and the low-side line 30; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) of the first temperature sensor (i.e., such as the first temperature sensor 78; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+) and the second temperature sensor (i.e., such as the second temperature sensor 79; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+).
Regarding claim 19, Brugner in view of Randazzo and further in view of Kuehn and the teachings of Brugner as modified by Randazzo have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Brugner as modified by Kuehn have been discussed above as well.
Kuehn further discloses the liquid level controller (i.e., see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+); at least one voltage regulator component (i.e., such as at least one voltage regulator component 28/24; for instance, voltage regulator 24 is regulating comparators 36, 38, 28, and 53; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 17+). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 12. {See rejection of claim 12}
Regarding claim 22, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 19. {See rejection of claim 19}
Claims 6 and 14 are not elected.
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838