DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Pending
1-20
35 U.S.C. 103
1-20
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 06/24/2026, which are in response to USPTO Office Action mailed 03/24/2026. Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been considered with the results that follow: THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, 11-14, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welty et al. (US 2018/0201444 A1, “Welty”) and further in view of Nozawa (US 2020/0125073 A1, “Nozawa”).
Regarding claim 1: Welty teaches: A method for improving task execution efficiency of a picking robot, comprising: ([0001] improving efficiency in robot-assisted order-fulfillment operations) obtaining, by one or more processors of the picking robot, task execution information of the picking robot during execution of a picking task by the picking robot, wherein ([0029]. [0008] processors) the picking robot is provided with at least one item storage container for carrying a to-be-picked-item that corresponds to the picking task, ([0030]-[0031]) the picking robot moves between a plurality of shelves in a warehouse to transport items, and ([0033]) the plurality of shelves comprise a plurality of goods storage compartments for separate storage of different items; ([0026] shelves 12) determining, by the one or more processors of the picking robot based on the task execution information and from a plurality of preset task execution stages corresponding to the picking task, a task execution stage at which the picking robot stays, and ([0034], See Fig. 8, [0008] processors) determining, based on the task execution stage, status prompt information corresponding to the picking robot; and ([0047], [0063]-[0064]) presenting the status prompt information via information prompt hardware provided on the picking robot [. . .] ([0063]).
However, Welty does not explicitly teach: [presenting the status prompt information via information prompt hardware provided on the picking robot] to prevent intervention with the execution of the picking task, thereby improving the task execution efficiency of the picking robot, wherein the information prompt hardware comprises at least one of a sound playback device or an indicator light.
Nozawa teaches: [presenting the status prompt information via information prompt hardware provided on the picking robot] to prevent intervention with the execution of the picking task, thereby improving the task execution efficiency of the picking robot, wherein the information prompt hardware comprises at least one of a sound playback device or an indicator light ([0022] mobile robot 50. [0025] display 56. [0041] identifies whether mobile robot moves to left or right when mobile robot moves next based on acquired position information. causes display of mobile robot to display identified moving direction thereon. display arrow pointing either to left or right. [0042] causes display to display thereon leftward arrow indicating moving direction of mobile robot. operator can recognize current position, monitoring region, moving region of mobile robot based on position and light emitting mode (color of emitted light) of each of multiple light emitting sections. operator can recognize position located farthest from current position of mobile robot in moving region as subsequent movement destination position of mobile robot. operator can recognize subsequent moving direction of mobile robot by direction of arrow displayed on display. prompt operator to take appropriate measures to prevent operation of mobile robot from being interrupted. operator attempts to prevent himself or herself from coming close to regions directly in front of devices including light emitting sections emitting light in first and second modes. when operator is working in region directly in front of any one of devices of mounting line, in case where light emitting section of device in question emits light in mode other than fourth mode, operator should withdraw from region. when light emitting section of device on which operator is working emits light in third mode, although operator does not have to withdraw therefrom promptly, risk of operator interrupting movement of mobile robot when mobile robot moves toward operator. operator withdraws from device on which he or she is working as required while checking expected movement of mobile robot. when there is object directly ahead of light emitting section emitting light in any one of modes other than fourth mode, operator removes object. By prompting operator to take appropriate measures, mobile robot can be prevented from being stopped operating in surrounding environment monitoring processing, thereby suppressing deterioration in operating rate of mounting line due to halting of mounting line. See also [0043], [0045], [0047]-[0049], [0051], [0065]-[0066], [0068]).
Welty and Nozawa are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of picking robot controls. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Welty with the aspects of Nozawa to create, with a reasonable expectation for success, presenting the status prompt information via information prompt hardware provided on the picking robot to prevent intervention with the execution of the picking task, thereby improving the task execution efficiency of the picking robot, wherein the information prompt hardware comprises at least one of a sound playback device or an indicator light. The motivation for modification would have been to enable the operator to recognize moving directions of the robots based on the display, allowing the operator to take appropriate measures to prevent operation of mobile robot from being interrupted (Nozawa, [0042]).
Regarding claim 2: Welty-Nozawa further teach: The status prompt method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, based on the task execution stage, status prompt information corresponding to the picking robot comprises: determining first prompt information based on the task execution stage at which the picking robot stays, wherein each task execution stage comprises at least one task execution sub-stage; (Welty: [0033]-[0036]; [0062]) determining second prompt information based on the task execution sub-stage at which the picking robot stays; and determining, based on the first prompt information and the second prompt information, the status prompt information corresponding to the picking robot (Welty: [0033]-[0036]; [0062]).
Regarding claim 3: Welty-Nozawa further teach: The status prompt method according to claim 2, wherein the determining second prompt information based on the task execution sub-stage at which the picking robot stays comprises: determining the task execution sub-stage at which the picking robot stays, determining a task operation type corresponding to the task execution sub-stage, and determining the second prompt information based on the task operation type, wherein the task operation type is used to indicate whether the picking robot requires manual cooperation to perform a task-related operation (Welty: [0033]-[0036]; [0062]).
Regarding claim 4: Welty-Nozawa further teach: The status prompt method according to claim 3, wherein the determining the second prompt information based on the task operation type comprises: when the task operation type is used to indicate that the picking robot requires manual cooperation to perform the task-related operation, generating, as the second prompt information, operation prompt information corresponding to the task-related operation to be performed (Welty: [0063]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 7: Welty-Nozawa further teach: The status prompt method according to claim 1, wherein the information prompt hardware further comprises an information display device; and (Welty: [0033]-[0036]; [0062]-[0063]. Nozawa: [0042]-[0043]) the presenting the status prompt information via the information prompt hardware provided on the picking robot comprises at least one of the following operations: (Welty: [0063]. Nozawa: [0042]-[0043]) playing, based on the sound playback device provided on the picking robot, a sound effect corresponding to the status prompt information; determining, based on the status prompt information, light information of the indicator light provided on the picking robot, and controlling the indicator light to present the light information; and displaying the status prompt information in a preset information display form based on the information display device provided on the picking robot, wherein the information display form comprises at least one of graphics, text, an animation, and a video (Welty: [0063]-[0064]. Nozawa: [0042]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 8: Welty-Nozawa further teach: The status prompt method according to claim 1, further comprising: performing detection of an associated robot based on the picking robot, generating, based on a detection result, movement guidance information corresponding to a picker, and presenting the movement guidance information, wherein the associated robot is a picking robot that is closest to the picking robot and whose distance from the picking robot is within a preset distance range (Welty: [0033]-[0036]; [0062]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 9: Welty-Nozawa further teach: The status prompt method according to claim 8, wherein the movement guidance information comprises first guidance information and second guidance information; and the generating, based on a detection result, movement guidance information corresponding to a picker comprises: when the associated robot corresponding to the picking robot has been detected, generating the first guidance information for prompting the picker to move to the associated robot; or when the associated robot corresponding to the picking robot has not been detected, generating the second guidance information for prompting the picker to follow the picking robot (Welty: [0033]-[0036]; [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 11: Welty teaches: A picking robot, comprising: (Welty: [0008]) one or more processors; and (Welty: [0008]) a storage apparatus configured to store one or more programs, (Welty: [0033]) wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement a status prompt method, (Welty: [0033]) wherein the method comprises: (Welty: [0010]) obtaining task execution information of the picking robot during execution of a picking task by the picking robot, wherein (Welty: [0029]) the picking robot is provided with at least one item storage container for carrying a to-be-picked-item that corresponds to the picking task, (Welty: [0030]-[0031]) the picking robot moves between a plurality of shelves in a warehouse to transport items, and (Welty: [0033]) the plurality of shelves comprise a plurality of goods storage compartments for separate storage of different items; (Welty: [0026]) determining, based on the task execution information and from a plurality of preset task execution stages corresponding to the picking task, a task execution stage at which the picking robot stays, and (Welty: [0034]. See Fig. 8) determining, based on the task execution stage, status prompt information corresponding to the picking robot; and (Welty: [0047], [0063]-[0064]) presenting the status prompt information via information prompt hardware provided on the picking robot [. . .] (Welty: [0063]).
However, Welty does not explicitly teach: [presenting the status prompt information via information prompt hardware provided on the picking robot] to prevent intervention with the execution of the picking task, thereby improving the task execution efficiency of the picking robot, wherein the information prompt hardware comprises at least one of a sound playback device or an indicator light.
Nozawa teaches: [presenting the status prompt information via information prompt hardware provided on the picking robot] to prevent intervention with the execution of the picking task, thereby improving the task execution efficiency of the picking robot, wherein the information prompt hardware comprises at least one of a sound playback device or an indicator light ([0022], [0025], [0041]-[0043], [0045], [0047]-[0049], [0051], [0065]-[0066], [0068]).
Welty and Nozawa are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of picking robot controls. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Welty with the aspects of Nozawa to create, with a reasonable expectation for success, presenting the status prompt information via information prompt hardware provided on the picking robot to prevent intervention with the execution of the picking task, thereby improving the task execution efficiency of the picking robot, wherein the information prompt hardware comprises at least one of a sound playback device or an indicator light. The motivation for modification would have been to enable the operator to recognize moving directions of the robots based on the display, allowing the operator to take appropriate measures to prevent operation of mobile robot from being interrupted (Nozawa, [0042]).
Regarding claim 12: Welty-Nozawa further teach: The picking robot according to claim 11, wherein the one or more processors is further caused to: determining first prompt information based on the task execution stage at which the picking robot stays, wherein each task execution stage comprises at least one task execution sub-stage; (Welty: [0033]-[0036]; [0062]-[0063]) determining second prompt information based on the task execution sub-stage at which the picking robot stays; and (Welty: [0033]-[0036]; [0062]-[0063]) determining, based on the first prompt information and the second prompt information, the status prompt information corresponding to the picking robot (Welty: [0033]-[0036]; [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 13: Welty-Nozawa further teach: The picking robot according to claim 12, wherein the one or more processors is further caused to: determining the task execution sub-stage at which the picking robot stays, determining a task operation type corresponding to the task execution sub-stage, and determining the second prompt information based on the task operation type, wherein the task operation type is used to indicate whether the picking robot requires manual cooperation to perform a task-related operation (Welty: [0033]-[0036]; [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 14: Welty-Nozawa further teach: The picking robot according to claim 13, wherein the one or more processors is further caused to: when the task operation type is used to indicate that the picking robot requires manual cooperation to perform the task-related operation, generating, as the second prompt information, operation prompt information corresponding to the task-related operation to be performed (Welty: [0033]-[0036]; [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 17: Welty-Nozawa further teach: The picking robot according to claim 11, wherein the information prompt hardware further comprises an information display device; and (Welty: [0033]-[0036]; [0062]-[0063]. Nozawa: [0042]-[0043]) the presenting the status prompt information via information prompt hardware provided on the picking robot comprises at least one of the following operations: (Welty: [0063]. Nozawa: [0042]-[0043]) playing, based on the sound playback device provided on the picking robot, a sound effect corresponding to the status prompt information; determining, based on the status prompt information, light information of the indicator light provided on the picking robot, and controlling the indicator light to present the light information; and displaying the status prompt information in a preset information display form based on the information display device provided on the picking robot, wherein the information display form comprises at least one of graphics, text, an animation, and a video (Welty: [0062]-[0063]. Nozawa: [0042]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 18: Welty-Nozawa further teach: The picking robot according to claim 11, wherein the one or more processors is further caused to: performing detection of an associated robot based on the picking robot, generating, based on a detection result, movement guidance information corresponding to a picker, and presenting the movement guidance information, wherein the associated robot is a picking robot that is closest to the picking robot and whose distance from the picking robot is within a preset distance range (Welty: [0033]-[0036]; [0062]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 19: Welty-Nozawa further teach: The picking robot according to claim 11, wherein the one or more processors is further caused to: determining abnormality information when an abnormality is detected in the picking robot, and displaying at least one abnormality candidate item on the picking robot based on the abnormality information; and reporting, in response to an item selection operation for the abnormality candidate item, the selected abnormality candidate item to a management terminal (Welty: [0033]-[0036]; [0062]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 20: Welty teaches: A storage medium comprising computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by a computer processor, are used to perform a status prompt method, (Welty: [0008], [0033], [0010]) wherein the method comprises: (Welty: [0010]) obtaining task execution information of the picking robot during execution of a picking task by the picking robot, wherein (Welty: [0029]) the picking robot is provided with at least one item storage container for carrying a to-be-picked-item that corresponds to the picking task, (Welty: [0030]-[0031]) the picking robot moves between a plurality of shelves in a warehouse to transport items, and (Welty: [0033]) the plurality of shelves comprise a plurality of goods storage compartments for separate storage of different items; (Welty: [0026]) determining, based on the task execution information and from a plurality of preset task execution stages corresponding to the picking task, a task execution stage at which the picking robot stays, and (Welty: [0034]. See Fig. 8) determining, based on the task execution stage, status prompt information corresponding to the picking robot; and (Welty: [0047], [0063]-[0064]) presenting the status prompt information via information prompt hardware provided on the picking robot [. . .] (Welty: [0063]).
However, Welty does not explicitly teach: [presenting the status prompt information via information prompt hardware provided on the picking robot] to prevent intervention with the execution of the picking task, thereby improving the task execution efficiency of the picking robot, wherein the information prompt hardware comprises at least one of a sound playback device or an indication light.
Nozawa teaches: [presenting the status prompt information via information prompt hardware provided on the picking robot] to prevent intervention with the execution of the picking task, thereby improving the task execution efficiency of the picking robot, wherein the information prompt hardware comprises at least one of a sound playback device or an indication light ([0022], [0025], [0041]-[0043], [0045], [0047]-[0049], [0051], [0065]-[0066], [0068]).
Welty and Nozawa are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of picking robot controls. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Welty with the aspects of Nozawa to create, with a reasonable expectation for success, presenting the status prompt information via information prompt hardware provided on the picking robot to prevent intervention with the execution of the picking task, thereby improving the task execution efficiency of the picking robot, wherein the information prompt hardware comprises at least one of a sound playback device or an indicator light. The motivation for modification would have been to enable the operator to recognize moving directions of the robots based on the display, allowing the operator to take appropriate measures to prevent operation of mobile robot from being interrupted (Nozawa, [0042]).
Claim(s) 5-6, 10, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welty et al. (US 2018/0201444 A1, “Welty”) and Nozawa (US 2020/0125073 A1, “Nozawa”), and further in view of Galluzzo et al. (US 2020/0242544 A1, “Galluzzo”).
Regarding claim 5: Welty-Nozawa further teach: The status prompt method according to claim 1, further comprising: obtaining a device running status of the picking robot, and determining status prompt information corresponding to the device running status (Welty: [0062]-[0064]). However, Welty-Nozawa does not explicitly teach: wherein the device running status comprises at least one of a device alarm state, a device sleep state, a device charging state, and a cloud offline state, and the cloud offline state comprises a device unconnected state and/or a device upgrade state.
Galluzzo teaches: wherein the device running status comprises at least one of a device alarm state, a device sleep state, a device charging state, and a cloud offline state, and the cloud offline state comprises a device unconnected state and/or a device upgrade state ([0073]-[0076]).
Welty-Nozawa and Galluzzo are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of warehouse robot controls. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Welty-Nozawa with the aspects of Galluzzo to create, with a reasonable expectation for success, a status prompt wherein the device running status comprises at least one of a device alarm state, a device sleep state, a device charging state, and a cloud offline state, and the cloud offline state comprises a device unconnected state and/or a device upgrade state. The motivation for modification would have been to improve system accuracy (Galluzzo, [0086]-[0089]) and thus overall efficiency and effectiveness of the system (Galluzzo, [0124]).
Regarding claim 6: Welty-Nozawa-Galluzzo further teach: The status prompt method according to claim 5, wherein the determining status prompt information corresponding to the device running status comprises: when the device running status comprises the device alarm state, determining a device alarm type corresponding to the picking robot, wherein the device alarm type comprises a serious failure and a temporary fault; and determining, based on the device alarm type, the status prompt information corresponding to the device running status (Galluzzo, [0073]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 10: Welty-Nozawa further teach: The status prompt method according to claim 1. However, Welty-Nozawa does not explicitly teach: further comprising: determining abnormality information when an abnormality is detected in the picking robot, and displaying at least one abnormality candidate item on the picking robot based on the abnormality information; and reporting, in response to an item selection operation for the abnormality candidate item, the selected abnormality candidate item to a management terminal.
Galluzzo teaches: further comprising: determining abnormality information when an abnormality is detected in the picking robot, and displaying at least one abnormality candidate item on the picking robot based on the abnormality information; and reporting, in response to an item selection operation for the abnormality candidate item, the selected abnormality candidate item to a management terminal ([0073]-[0076]).
Welty-Nozawa and Galluzzo are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of warehouse robot controls. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Welty-Nozawa with the aspects of Galluzzo to create, with a reasonable expectation for success, a status prompt device further comprising: determining abnormality information when an abnormality is detected in the picking robot, and displaying at least one abnormality candidate item on the picking robot based on the abnormality information; and reporting, in response to an item selection operation for the abnormality candidate item, the selected abnormality candidate item to a management terminal. The motivation for modification would have been to improve system accuracy (Galluzzo, [0086]-[0089]) and thus overall efficiency and effectiveness of the system (Galluzzo, [0124]).
Regarding claim 15: Welty-Nozawa further teach: The picking robot according to claim 11, wherein the one or more processors is further caused to: obtaining a device running status of the picking robot, and determining status prompt information corresponding to the device running status (Welty: [0062]-[0064]). However, Welty-Nozawa does not explicitly teach: wherein the device running status comprises at least one of a device alarm state, a device sleep state, a device charging state, and a cloud offline state, and the cloud offline state comprises a device unconnected state and/or a device upgrade state.
Galluzzo teaches: wherein the device running status comprises at least one of a device alarm state, a device sleep state, a device charging state, and a cloud offline state, and the cloud offline state comprises a device unconnected state and/or a device upgrade state ([0073]-[0076]).
Welty-Nozawa and Galluzzo are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of warehouse robot controls. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Welty-Nozawa with the aspects of Galluzzo to create, with a reasonable expectation for success, a status prompt wherein the device running status comprises at least one of a device alarm state, a device sleep state, a device charging state, and a cloud offline state, and the cloud offline state comprises a device unconnected state and/or a device upgrade state. The motivation for modification would have been to improve system accuracy (Galluzzo, [0086]-[0089]) and thus overall efficiency and effectiveness of the system (Galluzzo, [0124]).
Regarding claim 16: Welty-Nozawa-Galluzzo further teach: The picking robot according to claim 15, wherein the one or more processors is further caused to: when the device running status comprises the device alarm state, determining a device alarm type corresponding to the picking robot, wherein the device alarm type comprises a serious failure and a temporary fault; and determining, based on the device alarm type, the status prompt information corresponding to the device running status (Galluzzo, [0073]-[0076]).
Response to Arguments
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 Rejections: Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/24/2026, with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The subject matter eligibility rejections of claims 1-20 have been withdrawn.
Regarding the Prior Art Rejections: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MADISON B EMMETT/Examiner, Art Unit 3658