DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claims 4 and 11 be found allowable, respective claims 5 and 12 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicates thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Pub No 2025/0126431 A1 to Takahashi.
As to claim 1, Takahashi discloses a spatial audio playback device, which is communicatively connected to a head-mounted device (see figure 5; pg. 2, ¶ 0046 - ¶ 0047), comprising: a transceiver unit, which communicates with the head-mounted device through wireless communication (see figure 5; pg. 3, ¶ 0052 - ¶ 0053), is configured to receive information of a motion of the head-mounted device on a motion sensing signal (see pg. 2, ¶ 0047 - ¶ 0049) and receive information or a transmission standard of the wireless communication from the head-mounted device (see pg. 3, ¶ 0050, ¶ 0053; pg. 5, ¶ 0081, ¶ 0084 - ¶ 0085); and a processing unit, which is coupled to the transceiver unit, is configured to predict head information after a predetermined time based on the information of the motion (see figure 5; pg. 3, ¶ 0052 - ¶ 0055), adjust spatial audio based on the predicted head information after the predetermined time to generate adjusted spatial audio (see pgs. 3-4, ¶ 0057 - ¶ 0059) and transmit the adjusted spatial audio to the head-mounted device through the transceiver unit (see figure 5; pg. 3, ¶ 0053); and wherein the predetermined time changes according to the information or the transmission standard of the wireless communication (see figure 10; pg. 4, ¶ 0067 - ¶ 0074; pg. 5, ¶ 0081, ¶ 0084 - ¶ 0085).
As to claim 2, Takahashi further discloses wherein the information or the transmission standard of the wireless communication includes Bluetooth Codec Type or Bluetooth Profile (see figure 10; pg. 5, ¶ 0081).
As to claim 3, Takahashi further discloses wherein the predetermined time is calculated based on a signal delay time period of the spatial audio playback device and/or the head-mounted device (see figures 6-10; pg. 4, ¶ 0067 - ¶ 0074; pg. 5, ¶ 0081).
As to claim 6, Takahashi further discloses wherein the signal delay time period includes signal transmission and processing time of the transceiver unit and the processing unit (see figures 6-10; pg. 4, ¶ 0067 - ¶ 0074).
As to claim 7, Takahashi further discloses wherein the processing unit includes a plurality of sub-processing units (see figure 5), and the signal delay time period includes signal transmission and processing time of one or more sub-processing units (see figures 8 and 10B-10C; pg. 4, ¶ 0068 - ¶ 0074).
As to claim 8, Takahashi further discloses wherein the motion information of the head-mounted device on the motion sensing signal includes instantaneous head position information or instantaneous head posture information (position P_t0, see figures 4 and 6-7; pg. 2, ¶ 0043, ¶ 0045; pg. 3, ¶ 0055).
As to claim 9, Takahashi further discloses wherein the motion sensing signal includes continuous head position information or continuous head posture information (position time series for continuous motion, see pg. 3, ¶ 0054).
As to claim 10, Takahashi discloses a spatial audio playback device, which is communicatively connected to a head-mounted device (see figure 5; pg. 2, ¶ 0046 - ¶ 0047), comprising: a transceiver unit, which communicates with the head-mounted device through wireless communication (see figure 5; pg. 3, ¶ 0052 - ¶ 0053), is configured to receive information of a motion of the head-mounted device on a motion sensing signal (see pg. 2, ¶ 0047 - ¶ 0049); and a processing unit, which is coupled to the transceiver unit, is configured to predict head information after a predetermined time based on the information of the motion (see figure 5; pg. 3, ¶ 0052 - ¶ 0055), adjust spatial audio based on the predicted head information after the predetermined time to generate adjusted spatial audio (see pgs. 3-4, ¶ 0057 - ¶ 0059); and wherein the predetermined time is calculated based on a signal delay time period of the spatial audio playback device and/or the head-mounted device (see figure 10; pg. 4, ¶ 0067 - ¶ 0074; pg. 5, ¶ 0081, ¶ 0084 - ¶ 0085).
As to claim 13, Takahashi further discloses wherein the signal delay time period includes signal transmission and processing time of the transceiver unit and the processing unit (see figures 6-10; pg. 4, ¶ 0067 - ¶ 0074; pg. 5, ¶ 0081).
As to claim 14, Takahashi further discloses wherein the signal delay time period includes signal transmission and processing time of the transceiver unit, the processing unit and the head-mounted device (see figures 6-10; pg. 4, ¶ 0067 - ¶ 0074; pg. 5, ¶ 0081).
As to claim 15, Takahashi further discloses wherein the processing unit includes a plurality of sub-processing units (see figure 5), and the signal delay time period includes signal transmission and processing time of one or more sub-processing units (see figures 8 and 10B-10C; pg. 4, ¶ 0068 - ¶ 0074).
As to claim 16, Takahashi further discloses wherein the motion information of the head-mounted device on the motion sensing signal includes instantaneous head position information or instantaneous head posture information (position P_t0, see figures 4 and 6-7; pg. 2, ¶ 0043, ¶ 0045; pg. 3, ¶ 0055).
As to claim 17, Takahashi further discloses wherein the motion sensing signal includes continuous head position information or continuous head posture information (position time series for continuous motion, see pg. 3, ¶ 0054).
As to claim 18, Takahashi discloses a method for spatial audio playback, comprising: receiving information of a motion (see pg. 2, ¶ 0047 - ¶ 0049) and receiving information or a transmission standard of wireless communication from a head-mounted device (see figure 5; pg. 2, ¶ 0046 - ¶ 0047; pg. 3, ¶ 0050, ¶ 0053; pg. 5, ¶ 0081, ¶ 0084 - ¶ 0085); predicting head information after a predetermined time based on the information of the motion (see figure 5; pg. 3, ¶ 0052 - ¶ 0055); and adjusting spatial audio based on the predicted head information after the predetermined time to generate adjusted spatial audio (see pgs. 3-4, ¶ 0057 - ¶ 0059); and transmitting the adjusted spatial audio to the head-mounted device (see figure 5; pg. 5, ¶ 0053); wherein the predetermined time changes according to the wireless communication information or transmission standard (see figure 10; pg. 4, ¶ 0067 - ¶ 0074; pg. 5, ¶ 0081, ¶ 0084 - ¶ 0085).
As to claim 19, Takahashi further discloses wherein the predetermined time is calculated based on a signal delay time period of the spatial audio playback device and the head-mounted device (see figures 6-10; pg. 4, ¶ 0067 - ¶ 0074; pg. 5, ¶ 0081).
As to claim 20, Takahashi further discloses wherein the information or the transmission standard of the wireless communication includes Bluetooth Codec Type or Bluetooth Profile (see figure 10; pg. 5, ¶ 0081).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi.
As to claims 4-5, Takahashi discloses the spatial audio playback device of claim 3.
Takahashi does not expressly disclose wherein the signal delay time period is a time difference between the time when the head-mounted device transmits or sends the information of the motion of the head-mounted device and the time when the head-mounted device receives the adjusted spatial audio. However it does disclose the delay time being a sum of delays including the transmitting of sensor information and the receiving of a reproduction signal (see figures 8 and 10; pg. 4, ¶ 0068 - ¶ 0074), and further wherein only part of the delays can be added up, and some amounts can be assumed to be zero (see pg. 5, ¶ 0083 - ¶ 0084). The proposed modification is therefore considered obvious given the teachings of Takahashi, as Takahashi already teaches the time delay period including the time when the head-mounted device transmits the information of the motion of the head-mounted device and the time when the head-mounted device receives the adjusted spatial audio, and further depending on the type of devices being used, particularly as some devices can have a default amount of delay that is calculated as zero and therefore would not affect the delay time, which would then mainly be directed to the transmission and reception of data (see pg. 4, ¶ 0068 - ¶ 0074; pg. 5, ¶ 0081, ¶ 0083 - ¶ 0084).
As to claims 11 and 12, Takahashi does not expressly disclose wherein the signal delay time period is a time difference between the time when the head-mounted device transmits or sends the information of the motion of the head-mounted device and the time when the head-mounted device receives the adjusted spatial audio. However it does disclose the delay time being a sum of delays including the transmitting of sensor information and the receiving of a reproduction signal (see figures 8 and 10; pg. 4, ¶ 0068 - ¶ 0074), and further wherein only part of the delays can be added up, and some amounts can be assumed to be zero (see pg. 5, ¶ 0083 - ¶ 0084). The proposed modification is therefore considered obvious given the teachings of Takahashi, as Takahashi already teaches the time delay period including the time when the head-mounted device transmits the information of the motion of the head-mounted device and the time when the head-mounted device receives the adjusted spatial audio, and further depending on the type of devices being used, particularly as some devices can have a default amount of delay that is calculated as zero and therefore would not affect the delay time, which would then mainly be directed to the transmission and reception of data (see pg. 4, ¶ 0068 - ¶ 0074; pg. 5, ¶ 0081, ¶ 0083 - ¶ 0084).
Conclusion
/SABRINA DIAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2693
/AHMAD F. MATAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2693