DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1-28-2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claims 3 and 17, the phrase “partially be sensed” makes the claim indefinite as it is unclear how a subarray can only partially sense a target. Further clarification is required.
As per claim 7, the phrase “imminent driving maneuver” makes the claim indefinite as it is unclear how the system will know a driver is about to make a maneuver. Further clarification is required.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volkel, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0333431, published October 22, 2020.
As per claims 1 and 12, Volkel discloses a method for sensing surroundings of a vehicle by means of a sensor system, wherein the sensor system comprises an antenna array, wherein antenna elements of the antenna array are arranged so as to be distributed on the vehicle (Volkel, ¶66), the method comprising:
sensing a surroundings region of the surroundings using a first subarray of the antenna array, wherein the first subarray comprises a first field of view that extends at least partially within the surroundings region; sensing the surroundings region of the surroundings using at least one second subarray of the antenna array, wherein the second subarray comprises a second field of view that extends at least partially within the surroundings region; determining an overlapping region of the first and second field of view on the basis of at least partially overlapping edge regions of the first and second field of view (Volkel, Fig. 7 and ¶42 and 69);
checking the overlapping region with regard to whether an object to be detected is located within the overlapping region, and if the object is within the overlapping region: selectively determining a combination array that is composed of antenna elements of the first and second subarray, on the basis of the overlapping region and the at least one object to be detected, wherein the combination array comprises a combination field of view that is composed of parts of the first and second field of view, wherein the at least one object is detectable using the combination field of view; and sensing the surroundings region of the surroundings using the combination array (Volkel, Fig. 7 and ¶42 using regions A and B for sensing).
Volkel fails to explicitly disclose selecting a “combination array”. Instead data from existing A and B are used. Volkel suggests using various subarray shapes and sizes (¶49) and therefore it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to combine an array, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Volkel in providing for detection of a target in an overlapping array area.
As per claims 2 and 16, Volkel further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, during the checking of the overlapping region, checking whether the at least one object to be detected can be sensed using one or more of the first subarray and the second subarray (Volkel, ¶42).
As per claims 3 and 17, as best understood by examiner, Volkel further discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the combination array is determined so that the at least one object to be detected is located within the overlapping region and the at least one object to be detected can only partially be sensed by the first subarray and by the second subarray (Volkel, ¶42).
As per claims 4 and 18, Volkel further discloses the method of claim 2, wherein, if the at least one object to be detected is located within the overlapping region and the at least one object to be detected can be sensed by the first subarray and by the second subarray, the first subarray and the second subarray is adjusted and/or at least one further subarray of the antenna array is used to sense the surroundings region (Volkel, ¶37 using beam steering).
As per claims 5 and 19, Volkel further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, if no object to be detected is located in the overlapping region, the surroundings region of the surroundings is sensed using the first and/or second subarray (Volkel, ¶69 providing surroundings scanning).
As per claims 6 and 20, Volkel further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein an item of surroundings information relating to the surroundings of the vehicle and/or a traffic situation in the surroundings of the vehicle and/or a current and/or future driving scenario of the vehicle is taken into account during determination of the combination array (Volkel, ¶69 providing vehicle control).
As per claim 7, as best understood by examiner, Volkel further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, on the basis of a current and/or immediately imminent driving maneuver of the vehicle, a region in the surroundings of the vehicle which is relevant with regard to the current and/or immediately imminent driving maneuver is specified as the surroundings region (Volkel, ¶24 and 53).
As per claim 8, Volkel further discloses the method of claim 7, wherein, on the basis of the current and/or immediately imminent driving maneuver and/or the surroundings region, it is specified which subarrays of the antenna array and/or what number of subarrays of the antenna array are used for sensing the surroundings region (Volkel, ¶24 and 53).
As per claim 9, Volkel further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the surroundings region is sensed using the combination array with regard to the at least one object to be detected and/or with regard to potential collision objects (Volkel, ¶24 and 53).
As per claim 10, Volkel further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein further subarrays of the antenna array can be adjusted on the basis of the combination array and combination field of view, wherein the further subarrays can be adjusted on an ongoing basis proceeding from the combination array (Volkel, ¶24 and 49).
As per claim 11, Volkel further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein an item of information relating to the sensed surroundings region is generated using a processor of the sensor system and is at least provided to a vehicle system and/or environment model (Volkel, ¶69, vehicle control).
As per claim 13, Volkel further discloses the sensor system of claim 12, wherein the antenna array is configurable such that individual antenna elements of the multiple antenna elements can be compiled into various subarrays (Volkel, Fig. 10).
As per claim 14, Volkel further discloses a vehicle having the sensor system of claim 12 (Volkel, ¶53).
As per claim 15, Volkel further discloses the vehicle of claim 14, wherein the multiple antenna elements of the antenna array are arranged so as to be distributed at a distance from one another on the vehicle (Fig. 10 showing separation between subarrays).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646