DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2008/0064980) in view of Adams (US 2004/0054352).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses substantially the same invention as claimed, including a method for monitoring the health of a patient (abstract), the method comprising: obtaining physiological measurements via a sensing element of an implantable device (Figure 3: 78) while the device is implanted within the patient, wherein the sensing element includes an electro-optical sensing element (Paragraph 41); determining at least one physiological parameter based on the physiological measurements, wherein the at least one physiological parameter includes a temperature parameter (Paragraph 39); comparing the temperature parameter to a predetermined temperature threshold (Paragraph 57); and based on the comparison, providing an indication that the patient is septic (Paragraph 57).
Further regarding claim 1, Lee discloses the principles of the invention can be applicable to any implanted device (Paragraph 61), since infections can begin at the pocket area where the device is implanted (Paragraph 4). Lee does not explicitly disclose an implantable vascular access device. However, Adams teaches an implantable vascular access device comprises a housing containing a reservoir, a septum adjacent the reservoir and configured to receive a needle therethrough for delivery of a fluid agent to the reservoir (Figure 1; Paragraph 2), which is implanted at a subcutaneous pocket (abstract; Paragraph 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee as taught by Adams to include an implantable vascular access device as recited, since infections can begin at the pocket area where a device is implanted.
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses sensing elements can be integrated with the housing (Figure 6; Paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses PPG (Paragraph 41), which implies a window as recited.
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the sensing element can further comprise an accelerometer and an electrode as recited (Paragraphs 33, 36).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses body temperature outside of 96-100 degrees F as recited (Paragraph 57).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stewart (US 3,618,592) shows body temperature may be used as an index of sepsis.
Ofek (US 2017/0086746) shows body temperature with other parameters to indicate sepsis.
Ebner (US 2003/0181815) shows body temperature comparison for sepsis.
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796