DETAILED ACTION
The Art Unit location of your application in the PTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Group Art Unit 2691.
This communication is responsive to the claims filed 01/22/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed limitations of “an earphone housing and having an internal space formed therein” (claim 1, lines 3-4) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 6, it recites the limitation of “the low-tone yoke” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WEN et al. (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2015/0304763).
Regarding claim 1, WEN et al. disclose a speaker unit for an earphone (Fig. 5), the speaker unit configured to generate sound and output the sound externally and comprising: a speaker frame (10) accommodated within an earphone housing and having an internal space formed therein; a low-tone speaker (40) arranged within the speaker frame and configured to output low-tone; and a high-tone speaker (30) positioned above the low-tone speaker in the speaker frame and configured to output high-tone, wherein the low-tone speaker is arranged to have the same sound output direction as that of the high-tone speaker, and the high-tone speaker has a relatively smaller size compared to the low-tone speaker (Figs. 5-6 and 9).
Regarding claim 2, WEN et al. further disclose the speaker unit, wherein the speaker frame (10) is a single integrated frame (Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2014/0363035).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao et al. disclose a speaker unit (20) for an earphone, the speaker unit configured to generate sound and output the sound externally and comprising: a speaker frame (42) accommodated within an application housing and having an internal space formed therein inherently; a low-tone speaker (22) arranged within the speaker frame and configured to output low-tone; and a high-tone speaker (24) positioned above the low-tone speaker in the speaker frame and configured to output high-tone, wherein the low-tone speaker is arranged to have the same sound output direction as that of the high-tone speaker, and the high-tone speaker has a relatively smaller size compared to the low-tone speaker (Figs. 1-2) as claimed. However, Zhao et al. may not specially teach that the application is an earphone as claimed. Since providing a suitably configurated speaker unit for an application is very well known in the art (Official Notice), and Zhao et al. do not specially restrict the speaker unit for any application, it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to suitably configurated the speaker unit taught by Zhao et al. for an application, such as an earphone or headphone, in order to utilize the speaker unit.
Regarding claim 2, Zhao et al. further disclose the speaker unit, wherein the speaker frame (42) is a single integrated frame (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao et al. further disclose the speaker unit, wherein the speaker frame includes at least one of a tuning vent hole (on 42 of Fig. 1) for acoustic characteristics of the low-tone speaker or a pressure vent hole for balancing air pressure between an ear canal and an external environment on one side.
Regarding claim 4, Zhao et al. further disclose the speaker unit, wherein the tuning vent hole and the pressure vent hole are arranged together on a lateral surface of the speaker frame (on 42, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao et al. further disclose the speaker unit, wherein the low-tone yoke includes a plate-shaped structure (30).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 7-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SUHAN NI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691