35 U.S.C. 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over (YUZO – DE 112019004040 B1) in view of (SONG – CN 20210873420 A).
With respect to claims 1, 18 and 20, the YUZO reference teaches receiving a command associated with a set of data (page 8, lines 15-20 - CGW commands a rewrite target ECU, which is a rewrite target of an application program, to write the acquired write data, and distributes the write data to the rewrite target ECU).
The YUZO reference does not teach comparing the command and a first state of metadata associated with the set of data to a set of rules for transitions of states of metadata based on receiving the command; and transitioning the metadata from the first state to a second state based on comparing the command and the first state of the metadata to the set of rules. The SONG reference teaches comparing the command and a first state of metadata associated with the set of data to a set of rules for transitions of states of metadata based on receiving the command (page 26, line 50 – page 27, line 5 - For example, the processing component 765 may match the RID and address hash of the data set to the RID and address information of the command stored in the storage device 760. If the RID and address hash of the data set correspond to the RID and address information of the read command, the processing component 765 may determine that the data set is the first data requested by the read command. Therefore, the processing component 765 can transmit the data set to another component (e.g., processing core) of the host device 705 ); and transitioning the metadata from the first state to a second state based on comparing the command and the first state of the metadata to the set of rules (page 26, line 50 – page 27, line 5 - For example, the processing component 765 may match the RID and address hash of the data set to the RID and address information of the command stored in the storage device 760. If the RID and address hash of the data set correspond to the RID and address information of the read command, the processing component 765 may determine that the data set is the first data requested by the read command. Therefore, the processing component 765 can transmit the data set to another component (e.g., processing core) of the host device 705 ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have combined the references YUZO and SONG to incorporate comparing the command and a first state of metadata associated with the set of data to a set of rules for transitions of states of metadata based on receiving the command; and transitioning the metadata from the first state to a second state based on comparing the command and the first state of the metadata to the set of rules into the claimed invention.
The motivation for comparing the command and a first state of metadata associated with the set of data to a set of rules for transitions of states of metadata based on receiving the command; and transitioning the metadata from the first state to a second state based on comparing the command and the first state of the metadata to the set of rules is for reliability (page 20, lines 13-16 - SONG).
With respect to claims 2 and 19, all of the limitations of claims 1 and 18, have been addressed.
The YUZO reference does not teach receiving, before receiving the command, signaling that indicates the set of rules for transitions of states of metadata. The SONG reference teaches receiving, before receiving the command, signaling that indicates the set of rules for transitions of states of metadata (page 26, line 50 – page 27, line 5 - For example, the processing component 765 may match the RID and address hash of the data set to the RID and address information of the command stored in the storage device 760. If the RID and address hash of the data set correspond to the RID and address information of the read command, the processing component 765 may determine that the data set is the first data requested by the read command. Therefore, the processing component 765 can transmit the data set to another component (e.g., processing core) of the host device 705 ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have combined the references YUZO and SONG to incorporate receiving, before receiving the command, signaling that indicates the set of rules for transitions of states of metadata into the claimed invention.
The motivation for receiving, before receiving the command, signaling that indicates the set of rules for transitions of states of metadata is for reliability (page 20, lines 13-16 - SONG).
With respect to claim 3, the YUZO reference teaches wherein receiving the set of rules comprises receiving data or a bit string representative of a state table comprising a plurality of entries, each entry comprising an indicator of one of a plurality of commands, a current state, and a new state (page 8, lines 15-20 - CGW commands a rewrite target ECU, which is a rewrite target of an application program, to write the acquired write data, and distributes the write data to the rewrite target ECU).
With respect to claim 4, the YUZO reference teaches wherein the signaling that indicates the set of rules for transitions of states of metadata is received based on a power up of the device, an initial configuration of the device, or both (page 8, lines 15-20 - CGW commands a rewrite target ECU, which is a rewrite target of an application program, to write the acquired write data, and distributes the write data to the rewrite target ECU).
With respect to claim 5, all of the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed.
The YUZO reference does not teach receiving a second set of rules for the transitions of states of the metadata; receiving a second command associated with the set of data; and transitioning the metadata associated with the set of data from the second state to a third state based on the second command, the second state, and the second set of rules. The SONG reference teaches receiving a second set of rules for the transitions of states of the metadata (page 26, line 50 – page 27, line 5 - For example, the processing component 765 may match the RID and address hash of the data set to the RID and address information of the command stored in the storage device 760. If the RID and address hash of the data set correspond to the RID and address information of the read command, the processing component 765 may determine that the data set is the first data requested by the read command. Therefore, the processing component 765 can transmit the data set to another component (e.g., processing core) of the host device 705 ); receiving a second command associated with the set of data; and transitioning the metadata associated with the set of data from the second state to a third state based on the second command, the second state, and the second set of rules (page 26, line 50 – page 27, line 5 - For example, the processing component 765 may match the RID and address hash of the data set to the RID and address information of the command stored in the storage device 760. If the RID and address hash of the data set correspond to the RID and address information of the read command, the processing component 765 may determine that the data set is the first data requested by the read command. Therefore, the processing component 765 can transmit the data set to another component (e.g., processing core) of the host device 705 ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have combined the references YUZO and SONG to incorporate receiving a second set of rules for the transitions of states of the metadata; receiving a second command associated with the set of data; and transitioning the metadata associated with the set of data from the second state to a third state based on the second command, the second state, and the second set of rules into the claimed invention.
The motivation for receiving a second set of rules for the transitions of states of the metadata; receiving a second command associated with the set of data; and transitioning the metadata associated with the set of data from the second state to a third state based on the second command, the second state, and the second set of rules is for reliability (page 20, lines 13-16 - SONG).
With respect to claim 6, all of the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed.
The YUZO reference does not teach receiving a second command associated with the set of data after execution of the command; and maintaining the metadata associated with the set of data at the second state based on the second command, the second state, and the set of rules. The SONG reference teaches receiving a second command associated with the set of data after execution of the command (page 26, line 50 – page 27, line 5 - For example, the processing component 765 may match the RID and address hash of the data set to the RID and address information of the command stored in the storage device 760. If the RID and address hash of the data set correspond to the RID and address information of the read command, the processing component 765 may determine that the data set is the first data requested by the read command. Therefore, the processing component 765 can transmit the data set to another component (e.g., processing core) of the host device 705 ); and maintaining the metadata associated with the set of data at the second state based on the second command, the second state, and the set of rules (page 26, line 50 – page 27, line 5 - For example, the processing component 765 may match the RID and address hash of the data set to the RID and address information of the command stored in the storage device 760. If the RID and address hash of the data set correspond to the RID and address information of the read command, the processing component 765 may determine that the data set is the first data requested by the read command. Therefore, the processing component 765 can transmit the data set to another component (e.g., processing core) of the host device 705 ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have combined the references YUZO and SONG to incorporate receiving a second command associated with the set of data after execution of the command; and maintaining the metadata associated with the set of data at the second state based on the second command, the second state, and the set of rules into the claimed invention.
The motivation for receiving, before receiving the command, signaling that indicates the set of rules for transitions of states of metadata is for reliability (page 20, lines 13-16 - SONG).
With respect to claim 7, the YUZO reference teaches wherein the device comprises a memory device storing the set of data (page 8, lines 15-20 - CGW commands a rewrite target ECU, which is a rewrite target of an application program, to write the acquired write data, and distributes the write data to the rewrite target ECU).
With respect to claim 8, all of the limitations of claim 7 have been addressed.
The YUZO reference does not teach decoding a codeword associated with the set of data to access the metadata associated with the codeword based on receiving the command, wherein transitioning the metadata associated with the set of data is based on decoding the codeword.
The SONG reference teaches decoding a codeword associated with the set of data to access the metadata associated with the codeword based on receiving the command, wherein transitioning the metadata associated with the set of data is based on decoding the codeword (page 26, line 25-34 - the data bus interface 745 may transmit the data set and the metadata to the storage device 760, and then the data set and the metadata may be forwarded to the processing component 765).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have combined the references YUZO and SONG to incorporate receiving, before receiving the command, signaling that indicates the set of rules for transitions of states of metadata into the claimed invention.
The motivation for receiving, before receiving the command, signaling that indicates the set of rules for transitions of states of metadata is for reliability (page 20, lines 13-16 - SONG).
With respect to claim 9, all of the limitations of claim 8 have been addressed.
The YUZO reference does not teach encoding the codeword associated with the set of data to write the metadata associated with the second state to the codeword based on decoding the codeword, accessing the metadata, and transitioning the metadata from the first state to the second state.
The SONG reference teaches encoding the codeword associated with the set of data to write the metadata associated with the second state to the codeword based on decoding the codeword, accessing the metadata, and transitioning the metadata from the first state to the second state (page 26, line 25-34 - the data bus interface 745 may transmit the data set and the metadata to the storage device 760, and then the data set and the metadata may be forwarded to the processing component 765).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have combined the references YUZO and SONG to incorporate encoding the codeword associated with the set of data to write the metadata associated with the second state to the codeword based on decoding the codeword, accessing the metadata, and transitioning the metadata from the first state to the second state into the claimed invention.
The motivation for encoding the codeword associated with the set of data to write the metadata associated with the second state to the codeword based on decoding the codeword, accessing the metadata, and transitioning the metadata from the first state to the second state is for reliability (page 20, lines 13-16 - SONG).
With respect to claim 10, the YUZO reference teaches transmitting, from the memory device, a response associated with execution of the command and the first state of the metadata based on receiving the command and the set of rules (page 8, lines 15-20 - For example, if the read command ID is five bits, then the read command ID may be indicated by the signaling in the UI 12 to 17. A read command ID may be transmitted on one of the metadata for transmitting the validity flag (e.g., the metadata at which the DMI pin 1 is terminated)).
With respect to claim 11, the YUZO reference teaches transmitting, from the memory device, a response associated with execution of the command and the second state of the metadata based on receiving the command and the set of rules (page 8, lines 15-20 - For example, the memory device can transmit the validity flag through one or more metadata, the read command ID of the second read command, and the address hash associated with the second data. In some instances, different subset of the second data (e.g., different bits) parallel transmit the validity flag, read command ID and address hash.).
With respect to claim 12, all of the limitations of claim 7 have been addressed.
The YUZO reference does not teach modifying a set of parity bits associated with the first state of the metadata to a second set of parity bits associated with the second state of the metadata based on transitioning the metadata and the set of rules.
The SONG reference teaches modifying a set of parity bits associated with the first state of the metadata to a second set of parity bits associated with the second state of the metadata based on transitioning the metadata and the set of rules. (page 83, lines 10-22 - When the data verification value is used as the determination information, the rewrite target ECU calculates 19th also in this case a CRC value for each block of the program that is stored in the flash memory, compares the respective CRC value (CRC ( B1 to Bn)) for the old data attached to the received difference data and the respective CRC value (CRC (B1 'to Bn') for the new data with the calculated CRC value and determines the consistency of the difference data no new program has been written in the flash memory).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have combined the references YUZO and SONG to incorporate modifying a set of parity bits associated with the first state of the metadata to a second set of parity bits associated with the second state of the metadata based on transitioning the metadata and the set of rules. into the claimed invention.
The motivation for modifying a set of parity bits associated with the first state of the metadata to a second set of parity bits associated with the second state of the metadata based on transitioning the metadata and the set of rules. is for reliability (page 20, lines 13-16 - SONG).
With respect to claim 13, all of the limitations of claim 7 have been addressed.
The YUZO reference does not teach transmitting, from the memory device, the second set of parity bits based on executing the command..
The SONG reference teaches transmitting, from the memory device, the second set of parity bits based on executing the command. (page 83, lines 10-22 - When the data verification value is used as the determination information, the rewrite target ECU calculates 19th also in this case a CRC value for each block of the program that is stored in the flash memory, compares the respective CRC value (CRC ( B1 to Bn)) for the old data attached to the received difference data and the respective CRC value (CRC (B1 'to Bn') for the new data with the calculated CRC value and determines the consistency of the difference data no new program has been written in the flash memory).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have combined the references YUZO and SONG to incorporate transmitting, from the memory device, the second set of parity bits based on executing the command.. into the claimed invention.
The motivation for transmitting, from the memory device, the second set of parity bits based on executing the command. is for reliability (page 20, lines 13-16 - SONG).
With respect to claim 1, the YUZO reference teaches receiving a command associated with a set of data (page 8, lines 15-20 - CGW commands a rewrite target ECU, which is a rewrite target of an application program, to write the acquired write data, and distributes the write data to the rewrite target ECU).
With respect to claim 14, the YUZO reference teaches wherein the device comprises a controller coupled with a plurality of memory devices storing the set of data (page 8, lines 15-20 - CGW commands a rewrite target ECU, which is a rewrite target of an application program, to write the acquired write data, and distributes the write data to the rewrite target ECU).
With respect to claim 15, the YUZO reference teaches accessing, at the plurality of memory devices, a codeword associated with the set of data based on receiving the command (page 8, lines 15-20 - For example, the memory device can transmit the validity flag through one or more metadata, the read command ID of the second read command, and the address hash associated with the second data. In some instances, different subset of the second data (e.g., different bits) parallel transmit the validity flag, read command ID and address hash.); and decoding the codeword to access the metadata, wherein the metadata is associated with the codeword (page 8, lines 15-20 - For example, the memory device can transmit the validity flag through one or more metadata, the read command ID of the second read command, and the address hash associated with the second data. In some instances, different subset of the second data (e.g., different bits) parallel transmit the validity flag, read command ID and address hash.).
With respect to claim 16, the YUZO reference teaches writing a second codeword that includes a second set of data that is based on an execution of an operation on the set of data associated with the command, the second codeword including the second state of the metadata based on transitioning the metadata (page 8, lines 15-20 - For example, the memory device can transmit the validity flag through one or more metadata, the read command ID of the second read command, and the address hash associated with the second data. In some instances, different subset of the second data (e.g., different bits) parallel transmit the validity flag, read command ID and address hash.).
With respect to claim 17, the YUZO reference teaches writing the second codeword to the plurality of memory devices based on encoding the codeword with the metadata associated with the second state (page 8, lines 15-20 - CGW commands a rewrite target ECU, which is a rewrite target of an application program, to write the acquired write data, and distributes the write data to the rewrite target ECU).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Enam Ahmed whose telephone number is 571-270-1729. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri from 8:30 A.M. to 5:30 P.M. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Albert Decady, can be reached on 571-272-3819. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
EA
7/29/26
/ALBERT DECADY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2112