DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Meguro et al. (US PUB 2005/0000085), hereinafter Meguro.
With respect to claim 1, Meguro discloses a magnetic sensor comprising: at least one magnetoresistive element (See [320] in figure 3B of Meguro) including a plurality of magnetic films stacked on each other (See the plurality of layers shown in [320] in figure 3B of Meguro); a first ferromagnetic layer made of a ferromagnetic material (See [323] in figure 3B Meguro), the first ferromagnetic layer being disposed to overlap the at least one magnetoresistive element when viewed in a first direction orthogonal to a stacking direction of the plurality of magnetic films (See [321] in figure 3B Meguro); an insulating layer made of an insulating material (See [360] on the left side of [320] in figure 3B Meguro), the insulating layer being disposed on both sides of the at least one magnetoresistive element in a second direction orthogonal to each of the stacking direction and the first direction (See [360] on the right side of [320] in figure 3B Meguro); and an antiferromagnetic layer disposed on the at least one magnetoresistive element (See [327] in figure 3B Meguro), the first ferromagnetic layer, and the insulating layer, wherein the antiferromagnetic layer (See [327] in figure 3B of Meguro) includes a first antiferromagnetic portion that faces the first ferromagnetic layer (See the bottom face of [327] facing [323] in figure 3B of Meguro), and a non-facing part (See the top face of [327] in figure 3B of Meguro) that faces the at least one magnetoresistive element (See [328] in figure 3B of Meguro) and the insulating layer (See [360] on the left side of [320] in figure 3B Meguro) but does not face the first ferromagnetic layer (See [323] in figure 3B Meguro), and no magnetic layer is present between the at least one magnetoresistive element (See [326] in figure 3B of Meguro) and the antiferromagnetic layer (See [327] in figure 3B of Meguro).
With respect to claim 2, Meguro discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 1, wherein the first ferromagnetic layer (See claim 11 of Meguro) and the first antiferromagnetic portion constitute a magnetic field generator that generates a magnetic field to be applied to the at least one magnetoresistive element (See paragraph [0040] of Meguro).
With respect to claim 3, Meguro discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 1, wherein the at least one magnetoresistive element comprises a first magnetoresistive element (See [328] in figure 3B of Meguro) and a second magnetoresistive element (See [326] in figure 3B of Meguro), and the first magnetoresistive element and the second magnetoresistive element are connected in series via the antiferromagnetic layer (See [327] in figure 3B of Meguro).
With respect to claim 4, Meguro discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 3, wherein the first magnetoresistive element and the second magnetoresistive element are arranged along the first direction (See [326] and [328] in figure 3B of Meguro are arranged along a vertical direction).
With respect to claim 5, Meguro discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 3, wherein the first magnetoresistive element and the second magnetoresistive element are arranged along the second direction (See [326] and [328] in figure 3B of Meguro are arranged to extend along a horizontal direction).
With respect to claim 8, Meguro discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 1, wherein the antiferromagnetic layer (See [327] in figure 3B Meguro) is in contact with the at least one magnetoresistive element (See [326] in figure 3B of Meguro).
With respect to claim 9, Meguro discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 8, wherein the at least one magnetoresistive element (See [320] in figure 3B of Meguro) further includes a nonmagnetic metal layer (See paragraph [0040] of Meguro) that is interposed between the antiferromagnetic layer and the plurality of magnetic films and that is in contact with the antiferromagnetic layer (See paragraph [0032] of Meguro).
With respect to claim 10, Meguro discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of magnetic films include a free layer having a magnetization whose direction is variable depending on a target magnetic field (See the abstract of Meguro), the first ferromagnetic layer includes a side surface that faces the at least one magnetoresistive element (See [323] faces [322] in figure 3B of Meguro), the side surface includes an inclined part that faces the free layer (See that the far edge of the side of [323] includes an inclined side with respect to [322] along the stacked direction as shown in figure 3B of Meguro), the inclined part being inclined with respect to the stacking direction (See the inclined side with respect to the stack including [322] and [323] which comprises the elements [360], [370] and [380] as shown in figure 3B of Meguro), and an angle that the inclined part forms with respect to the stacking direction is within a range equal to or larger than 20° and equal to or smaller than 90° (See the angle of inclination shown by the edge between stacked elements [360], [370] and [380] and the face of stacked elements [320] as seen in figure 3B of Meguro).
With respect to claim 11, Meguro discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 1, wherein the at least one magnetoresistive element includes a first surface (See the bottom surface of [328] in figure 3B of Meguro) that faces the non-facing part (See the top face of [327] in figure 3B of Meguro) and a second surface opposite the first surface (See the top surface of [328] in figure 3B of Meguro), and a distance between at least a part of the non-facing part and the second surface is the same as a distance between the first surface and the second surface (See the equal distance between the top face of [327] and the top surface of [328] is the same as the bottom surface of [328] the top surface of [328] as shown in figure 3B of Meguro).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meguro, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Haratani et al. (US PUB 2007/0023807), hereinafter Haratani.
With respect to claim 12, Meguro discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising: two yokes disposed on both sides of the at least one magnetoresistive element in the second direction, each of the two yokes being made of a soft magnetic material, wherein the antiferromagnetic layer is disposed on the at least one magnetoresistive element, the first ferromagnetic layer, the insulating layer, and the two yokes. However, Haratani does disclose two yokes (See [20C] in figure 5 of Haratani) disposed on both sides of the at least one magnetoresistive element in the second direction (See [4] in figure 5 of Haratani), each of the two yokes being made of a soft magnetic material (See paragraph [0071] of Haratani), wherein the antiferromagnetic layer is disposed on the at least one magnetoresistive element (See [26] in figure 5 of Haratani), the first ferromagnetic layer (See [4A] in figure 6 of Haratani), the insulating layer (See [4C] in figure 5 of Haratani), and the two yokes (See [20C] in figure 5 of Haratani). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device disclosed by Meguro to include the features disclosed by Haratani because doing so enables field isolation and noise reduction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 6, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements further comprising: a second ferromagnetic layer made of a ferromagnetic material, the second ferromagnetic layer being disposed at a position where the at least one magnetoresistive element is interposed between the second ferromagnetic layer and the first ferromagnetic layer in the first direction, wherein the antiferromagnetic layer further includes a second antiferromagnetic portion that faces the second ferromagnetic layer, the first ferromagnetic layer and the first antiferromagnetic portion constitute a first magnetic field generator that generates a first magnetic field to be applied to the at least one magnetoresistive element, and the second ferromagnetic layer and the second antiferromagnetic portion constitute a second magnetic field generator that generates a second magnetic field to be applied to the at least one magnetoresistive element.
Claim 7 depends from objected to claim 6 and is therefore also objected to.
With respect to claim 13, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements comprising a first port; a second port; a third port; a first resistor section disposed between the first port and the second port in circuit configuration; and a second resistor section disposed between the second port and the third port in circuit configuration, wherein each of the first resistor section and the second resistor section includes the at least one magnetoresistive element, the first ferromagnetic layer, the insulating layer, and the antiferromagnetic layer, the plurality of magnetic films include a free layer having a magnetization whose direction is variable depending on a target magnetic field, in the first resistor section, the first ferromagnetic layer and the first antiferromagnetic portion constitute a first magnetic field generator that generates a first magnetic field to be applied to the at least one magnetoresistive element, in the second resistor section, the first ferromagnetic layer and the first antiferromagnetic portion constitute a second magnetic field generator that generates a second magnetic field to be applied to the at least one magnetoresistive element, the first magnetic field includes, as a main component, a component in a first magnetic field direction that is one direction parallel to the first direction, the second magnetic field includes, as a main component, a component in a second magnetic field direction opposite to the first magnetic field direction, in the first resistor section, the magnetization of the free layer includes a component in the first magnetic field direction in a case where the target magnetic field is not applied to the magnetic sensor, and in the second resistor section, the magnetization of the free layer includes a component in the second magnetic field direction in a case where the target magnetic field is not applied to the magnetic sensor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US PUB 2006/0038213 discloses a magnetic memory adopting synthetic antiferromagnet as free magnetic layer.
/TEMILADE S RHODES-VIVOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858