1. In response to the Office Action dated on 02/02/2026, applicant(s) the amendment as follow:
Claims amended: none
Clams canceled: 1-20
Claims newly added: 21-38
Claims pending: 21-38
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21 and 38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant(s) argues “claim 1-20 are been rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 (US. Patent No. 12,271,381).”
The amendment has overcome the Obvious Double Patenting rejection.
Applicant argues “the applicant has made substantial amendment to the claims while continuing to pursue similar inventive subject matter…”
Please see the new rejection below for the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 21-27, 29-26 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaiwal et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0179864 A1) in view of Ghit et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/039427 A1).
1-20. (Cancelled)
As to claim 21. (New) Jaiwal discloses a query and response sub-system of a database system comprises:
a plurality of computing device clusters, wherein a computing device cluster of the plurality of computing device clusters includes a plurality of computing devices, wherein a computing device of the plurality of computing devices includes a plurality of computing nodes (in a large system having possibly plurality of nodes) (paragraph 0071), wherein a computing node of the plurality of computing nodes includes a plurality of processing core resources (processor resources and memory resources…) (paragraph 0054), wherein a set of processing core resources of the plurality of processing core resources is operable to:
commence execution of a query plan associated with a query that is regarding a dataset wherein the dataset includes a plurality of rows of columnar data (… a selection of rows of the common external table is based on a predicate included in a query blocks..) (paragraphs 0041 and 0042) wherein the columnar data includes a plurality of columns of data (for example, in FIG 3, the common projection list 206 includes columns T2D, T2E, T2F and T2G…) (paragraph 0040), wherein the query includes a plurality of query operations;
while executing the query plan, determine whether a query operation of the plurality of query operations is regarding data stored in accordance with a primary storage protocol or a secondary storage protocol (the database query that contains multiple query blocks 302 and 304…) (paragraphs 0034-0035);
when the query operation is regarding the data stored in accordance with the secondary storage protocol (accessing an object 114 from the remote data store 104 over the network 108 by the DBMS 102…) (paragraphs 0026-0027):
obtain a set of instructions based on the query operation (in which case the DBMS 102 can convert the data of the objects 114 into relational table format) (paragraph 0036);
execute the set of instructions to:
retrieve the data stored in accordance with the secondary storage protocol (retrieves information from definitions and tables or other data records) (paragraph 0030); and
convert format of the data from the secondary storage protocol to the primary storage protocol to produce a set of rows in accordance with the primary storage protocol (the RDBMS 102 can convert the data of the objects 114 into relational table format) (paragraph 0037); and
execute a subsequent query operation of the plurality of query operations on the set of rows to produce an intermediate operational data (the query block 304 contain query logic for performing a join of tables T2 and T3. In the query block 304, the SELECT clause projects columns T2.F and T2.G and WHERE clause is a predicate that….) (paragraph 0040).
While Jaiwal does not disclose data stored in different protocol; however, Jaiwal data stored in RDBMS and remote storage which the data is required to be converted to relational database for processing. Ghit discloses data stored in different protocol (1. Protocol versioning is used to determine the session capability, namely the ability to use cloud fetch , on opening a session, the client and the cloud storage system negotiate the protocol version to use (e.g., the minimum supported version both support, the maximum version support, etc.); 2) in addition, the client can use the protocol version…) (paragraph 0034). This suggests at least a protocol negotiation between the client and the cloud server is a diff. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify teaching of Jaiwal to include the data in different protocol as disclosed by Ghit in order to provide additional information.
As to claim 22. (New) Jaiwal discloses the query and response sub-system of claim 21, wherein the set of processing resources includes one or more processing core resources (processor resources and memory resources…) (paragraph 0054).
As to claim 23. (New) Jaiwal discloses the query and response sub-system of claim 21, wherein the primary storage protocol is block storage (block-based storage) (paragraph 0019)
As to claim 24. (New) Jaiwal discloses the query and response sub-system of claim 21, wherein the primary storage protocol is the default storage protocol for the database system (RDBMS) (paragraph 0019).
As to claim 25. (New) Jaiwal discloses the query and response sub-system of claim 21, wherein the set of processing core resources is further operable to: when the query operation is regarding data stored in accordance with the primary storage protocol: execute the query operation on the data (
As to claim 26. (New) Jaiwal discloses the query and response sub-system of claim 21, wherein the secondary storage protocol is object storage (object storage) (paragraph 0019).
As to claim 27. (New) Jaiwal discloses the query and response sub-system of claim 21, wherein the data is a table associated with the dataset (… a selection of rows of the common external table is based on a predicate included in a query blocks..) (paragraphs 0041 and 0042).
As to claim 29. (New) Jaiwal discloses the query and response sub-system of claim 21, wherein the set of processing core resources is further operable to:
while executing the query plan, determine whether a second query operation of the plurality of query operations is regarding second data stored in accordance with the primary storage protocol or the secondary storage protocol (the database query that contains multiple query blocks 302 and 304…) (paragraphs 0034-0035);
when the second query operation is regarding the second data stored in accordance with the secondary storage protocol (the database query that contains multiple query blocks 302 and 304…) (paragraphs 0034-0035):
obtain a second set of instructions based on the second query operation (in which case the DBMS 102 can convert the data of the objects 114 into relational table format) (paragraph 0036);
execute the second set of instructions to: retrieve the second data stored in accordance with the secondary storage protocol (retrieves information from definitions and tables or other data records) (paragraph 0030); and
convert format of the second data from the secondary storage protocol to the primary storage protocol to produce a second set of rows in accordance with the primary storage protocol (the RDBMS 102 can convert the data of the objects 114 into relational table format) (paragraph 0037); and
execute a second subsequent query operation of the plurality of query operations on the second set of rows to produce second intermediate operational data (the query block 304 contain query logic for performing a join of tables T2 and T3. In the query block 304, the SELECT clause projects columns T2.F and T2.G and WHERE clause is a predicate that….) (paragraph 0040).
Claim 30 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 1, Jaiwal discloses a computer-readable memory comprises: a first memory section that stores operational instructions (non-transitory machine readable or computer-readable medium 404 that stores machine-readable instructions) (paragraph 0063) that, when executed by a set of processing core resources of a plurality of processing core resources (hardware processors) (paragraph 0063) of a query and response sub-system of a database system (execution plan also include sub system to process subset of the data) (paragraphs 59-61).
Claim 31 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 22.
Claim 32 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 23.
Claim 33 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 24.
Claim 34 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 25.
Claim 35 is rejected under the same reason at to claim 26.
Claim 36 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 27.
4. Claim(s) 28 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaiwal et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0179864 A1) in view of Ghit et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/039427 A1) and further in view of SALEMAN (Pub. No. US 2011/0202539 A1).
As to claim 28. (New) Jaiwal discloses the query and response sub-system of claim 21 excepting for wherein the secondary storage protocol is in a geospatial format. However, SALEMAN discloses the secondary storage protocol is in a geospatial format (the disclosure is for a hybrid database that store some geospatial information in voxel records (a raster-based storage format) and other geospatial information in a feature records (a vector-based storage format) indexes maintained between the voxel…) (paragraph 0005). This suggested the claim language the secondary storage protocol is in a geospatial format. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify teaching of Jaiwal to include the secondary storage protocol is in a geospatial format as disclosed SALEMAN in order to retrieve different data format.
Claim 37 is rejected under the same reason as to claim 28.
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BAOQUOC N. TO
Examiner
Art Unit 2154
/BAOQUOC N TO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154