DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2002/0198447 (Van Muiswinkel)
Regarding claim 1, Van Muiswinkel disclose a method for dedicated medical imaging, comprising:
acquiring medical scan data from an investigation region of a patient ([0029], step 1, survey scan);
automatically performing an image recognition based on the acquired medical scan data ([0029]-[0032]); and
automatically taking an enabling decision which relates to medical image data generated based on the medical scan data, based on the image recognition [0032].
Regarding claim 2, Van Muiswinkel disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the medical scan data comprises data of a raw data type, an image data type, or a pre-scan data type [0029].
Regarding claim 3, Van Muiswinkel disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the image recognition comprises:
comparing the medical scan data with known reference scan data [0029];
automatically performing pattern recognition based on the acquired medical scan data [0030]; or performing image data recognition based on a model which is based upon artificial intelligence, which is applied to the medical scan data.
Regarding claim 4, Van Muiswinkel disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein in a context of the image recognition, an organ situated in the investigation region or a body region comprising the investigation region is recognized ([0029]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 5, Van Muiswinkel disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the image recognition comprises classifying the acquired medical scan data and/or of the generated medical image data, and wherein the enabling decision is taken dependent upon the classification of the acquired medical scan data and/or the generated medical image data [0032].
Regarding claim 6, Van Muiswinkel disclose the method as claimed in claim 5, wherein the classifying comprises allocating the medical image data to a type of investigation region, and wherein the enabling decision is taken dependent upon the allocated type of the investigation region and only medical image data is enabled from one or more types of investigation regions [0032].
Regarding claim 7, Van Muiswinkel disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the enabling decision is taken based on specification data from a database which stores specification data for the enabling of approved investigation regions ([0029]-[0032]).
Regarding claim 8, Van Muiswinkel disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the enabling decision comprises enabling the medical image data with limited image quality dependent upon a result of the image recognition carried out ([0029]-[0032]).
Regarding claim 9, Van Muiswinkel disclose the method as claimed in claim 8, wherein the enabling with limited image quality comprises: enabling the medical image data with a reduced resolution, and/or enabling the medical image data with a reduced matrix size ([0029]-[0032]).
Regarding claim 10, Van Muiswinkel disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein a limited enabling of only a pre-determined number of image recordings takes place based on the image recognition ([0029]-[0032]).
Regarding claim 11, Van Muiswinkel disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein if no enabling is granted, one of the following additional measures takes place:
terminating of the medical imaging [0032];
outputting an error message [0032];
deactivating the medical imaging system used for the dedicated medical imaging for a pre-determined duration; or automatically removing the patient from the medical imaging system [0032].
Regarding claim 12, Van Muiswinkel disclose a monitoring facility, comprising:
an input interface configured to receive medical scan data from an investigation region of a patient from a medical imaging system ([0029], step 1, survey scan);
an image recognition unit configured to automatically perform an image recognition based on the received medical scan data ([0029]-[0032]); and
an enabling unit configured to automatically take an enabling decision which relates to medical image data generated based on the medical scan data, based on the image recognition [0032].
Regarding claim 13, Van Muiswinkel disclose a medical imaging system, comprising:
a scanning unit for generating medical image data from a patient (Fig. 1 and 2); and
a monitoring facility as claimed in claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, Van Muiswinkel disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising commands which, on execution by way of a computer cause the computer to carry out the steps of the method as claimed in claim 1 ([0029]-[0032]).
Conclusion
/DANI FOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884