Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Lotem does not teach or suggest “simulating network traffic to and from a set of nodes”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Lotem discloses in paragraph 135 that security measures can be determined by applying an attack simulation to a model of the network (for example, in a manner illustrated in U.S. Pat. No. 6,952,779 of Cohen et al., which is incorporated herein by reference).” Cohen states that each attack route has a start point and an end point and col 6, line 54 to col 7, line 8 states:
“To generate the start points automatically, the system finds the perimeters of the network by analyzing all of the ACLs and filtering rule sets collected by the information discovery agents from network routers and firewalls or use information gathered from an Intrusion Detection System. These lists of IP addresses are concatenated to calculate all possible ranges of inbound and outbound IP traffic which represent the possible starting points for an attack on the network.
End points are automatically generated by examining the network topology model and calculating the role of each component of the network. Business rules detailing network threats, damages, and dependencies for various components are interpreted to determine, according to role, which components represent logical end points for attacks.
The system then simulates attacks through the network topology from each start point to each end point by performing attack simulations, step 120. In some embodiments, all attacks from any starting point are simulated without guidance to a certain end point. Attack simulation is the process of creating attack simulation attack graphs for a given network identifying possible attacks through attack paths of the graph.” This indicates that the simulation is run on
Paragraph 135 goes on to further state “The attack simulation can determine the possible multi step attacks from source nodes on which an attacker might reside to nodes and business assets within the network. The feasibility of each attack step to be added to the reported multi-step attacks is examined using the process described in steps 40 and 50, taking in account the effectiveness of one or more IDP devices. In the network example, the attack simulation can find for example a multi-step attack from the Internet to h4 of network n1. At the first attack step, the attacker takes control on h2 within the DMZ by exploiting v3 (which was found to be non-protected by IPS rules). In the next step, the attacker compromises h4 of network n2 by exploiting vulnerability v6. The attack simulation does not report on an attack on h1 from the Internet as the two vulnerabilities of h1 are protected by IPS rules. The attack simulation first invokes feasibility checks of attacks from the Internet. After finding that the attacker can take control on h2, attack feasibility checks are performed from h2. The attack simulation can include risk calculation which takes computes the probability to succeed in the attacks, and combines it with the expected damage to business assets.” To take control of a node and proceed to attempt to take control of another node, it is implicit that there is communication both to and from that node.
It is clear that Lotem, with Cohen incorporated by reference) discloses network traffic to and from the identified set of the plurality of nodes.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,142,364. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 10,142,364.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,440,045. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 10,440,045.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,075,940. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 11,075,940.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,575,701. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 11,575,701.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,729,205. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 11,729,205.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,962,613. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 11,962,613.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,244,633. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 12,244,633.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 12-13, 16-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radlein et al. (US 9,742,795) hereafter Radlein in view of Lotem et al. (US 2006/0218640) hereafter Lotem.
1. Radlein discloses a method comprising:
responsive to determining that network traffic detected by the internal network introduces an above-threshold level of risk to an internal network (col 24:33-67, threshold less than or equal to the threshold number of accessing computing devices is inverse of risk, therefore an amount less than or equal to is considered above-threshold level of risk):
identifying a set of the plurality of nodes corresponding to the network traffic that introduces the above-threshold level of risk (col 24:46-col 26:12); and
isolating the set of nodes by instructing a DNS server of the internal network to prevent resolution of DNS requests for IP addresses corresponding to the set of nodes until the risk introduced by the network traffic falls below the threshold level of risk (col 24:46-col 26:12; col 29:15-col 30:16) until the attack is mitigated (col 28, 42-col 29, 14; figure 6).
Radlein does not explicitly disclose “until a simulation of the network traffic and effects of the network traffic to and from the identified set of the plurality of nodes indicates that the risk introduced by the network traffic falls below the threshold level of risk”. However, in an analogous art, Lotem discloses evaluating a security characteristic including a simulation of the network traffic and effects of the network traffic to and from the identified set of the plurality of nodes indicates that the risk introduced by the network traffic falls below the threshold level of risk (para 128, 135, 173). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Radlein with the implementation of Lotem in order to evaluate a sequence of attack attempts (para 128).
2. Radlein and Lotem disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the DNS server is located within the internal network (Radlein, figure 1).
5. Radlein and Lotem disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the set of nodes are reconfigured based on the above-threshold level of risk (Radlein, col 24:46-col 26:12; col 29:15-col 30:16).
6. Radlein and Lotem disclose the method of claim 5, wherein reconfiguring the set of nodes comprises implementing one or more reconfiguration policies on the set of nodes (Radlein, col 24:46-col 26:12; col 29:15-col 30:16).
Claims 8-9, 12-13, 16-17, and 19-20 are similar in scope to claims 1-2 and 5-6 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 10-11, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radlein and Lotem as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of He et al. (US 2013/0338990) hereafter He.
3. Radlein and Lotem disclose the method of claim 1, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the simulated network traffic comprises network traffic received in a time interval immediately preceding the isolation of the set of nodes. However, in an analogous art, He discloses network traffic simulation including disclose wherein the simulated network traffic comprises network traffic received in a time interval immediately preceding the isolation of the set of nodes (para 25-47). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Radlein and Lotem with the implementation of He in order to increase flexibility and emulation degree of traffic simulation (para 4).
4. Radlein, Lotem, and He disclose the method of claim 3, wherein the above-threshold level of risk is computed based on previously received network traffic (Radlein, col 24:33-67).
Claims 10-11, 17-18 are similar in scope to claims 3-4 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 7, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radlein and Lotem as applied to claims 1, 8 above, and further in view of Teeple et al. (US 2016/0308898) hereafter Teeple.
7. Radlein and Lotem disclose the method of claim 1, but do not explicitly disclose further comprising logging network traffic associated with the set of nodes. However, in an analogous art, Teeple discloses tracking, analyzing, and mitigating security threats including logging network traffic associated with the set of nodes (para 7, 9, 68). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Radlein and Lotem with the implementation of Teeple in order to track, analyze and mitigate security threats (para 7, 9).
Claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 7 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES R TURCHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439