DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 09/17/2025.
Claims 6-7 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 4, 9-10, 13, 17, 21, and 30 are amended.
Claims 31-32 are newly added.
Claims 1-5, and 9-32 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/17/2025 regarding 35 U.S.C § 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the newly amended claim elements “now require cross-player causation, namely that a second player's action directly affects a first player's score and wallet or account token balance in real time (steps (b) and (d)). Step (e) also requires that the score is mathematically linked to the digital wallet token balance. These features cannot be performed as mental steps, but instead require a technological system that captures in-game actions, updates ledger based digital wallets and computes scores as mathematical functions of those digital wallets states.” And further argues “these limitations recite a specific technological improvement that goes beyond a "fundamental economic practice" because the method sets out how cross player in-game actions are captured and how corresponding token balances are updated on ledger accounts and how scores are computed as a mathematical function.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, the claim amendments further refine the abstract idea of “calculating players balance in an online game” by clarifying that he second player causes the affect on the first player in the game environment. Furthermore, the element “calculating the game score as a direct multiple or divisor of the wallet balance or related by a predefined mathematical relationship" is also abstract as fundamental economic practice and also as mathematical calculation.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments regarding 35 U.S.C. § 101 are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/17/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C. § 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 112 of Claims 1, 9, 10, 17 and 21 has been withdrawn.
Regarding applicant’s prior art arguments.
Applicant argues that the newly amended claim elements overcome the prior art rejection. Examiner asserts that the prior art rejection now relies on Simons (US 2019/0130701 A1) and Puckett (WO 2022/016020 A1) to address the claim elements.
Furthermore, regarding element (e) examiner asserts that Washington teaches at [0353] – [0354] that’s the same score of a direct multiple of the wallet balance. ([0353] “displayed wagering content also includes bet/wager multiplier information 2712a (e.g., 30×), and a total bet/wager information 2712b (e.g., Total Bet=$0.30 or 30 credits)”)
For at least the reasons stated above applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, and 9-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
In the instant case, claims 1 and 30 are directed to a method and system.
Claim 1 recites “(b) generating during gameplay player scores for the game depending on in game actions of a second player that cause an effect on a first player within the game environment”, “(c) providing or making available to the players a … wallet or account that is configured to store and manage game tokens, currency, fiat currency …, where the … wallet or account is based on a …;” “(d) adjusting each player's token balance on the … wallet or account based on in-game actions of a second player that cause an effect on a first player within the game environment.” Therefore Claim 1 recites “calculating players balance in an online game” which is a grouped under “fundamental economic practice” and therefore an abstract idea in prong one of step 2A (MPEP 2106.04(a)). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A (MPEP 2106.04 II), the additional elements of the claim 1 such as “(a) providing or making available the multi-player online game including a game environment to each player's computing device”, “(c) …digital … digital … cryptocurrency…blockchain, distributed ledger, centralised ledger.” “(d) …digital …”, and “(e) displaying on each player's computing device each player's game score, which is dynamically linked to their token balance by calculating the dame score as a direct multiple or division of the wallet balance or related by a predefined mathematical relationship.” represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Furthermore, “providing or making available the multi-player online game including a game environment to each player's computing device” lacks detail on how “providing … the multi-player online game to each player's computing device” is accomplished, therefore it amounts to no more than “apply it” (MPEP 2106.05(f)(1)). Additionally, “displaying, during game play, on each player's computing device each player's game score, which is dynamically linked to their digital wallet token balance by calculating the dame score as a direct multiple or division of the wallet balance or related by a predefined mathematical relationship” represent the use of computer functions to perform an economic task of “calculating players balance in an online game” (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)). Therefore, it does not provide a practical application.
And, as the additional element does no more than provide a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use, it does computer functionality or improve another technology or technical field.
Hence, claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Claim 2 recites “wherein altering each player's balance or value in the … wallet occurs in real time during gameplay depending on the player actions and interactions.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice. The additional element of the “digital” represents the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. And, therefore, does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 3 recites “wherein altering each player's balance or value in the … wallet occurs at substantially the same time as the occurrence of the related player actions and interactions.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice. The additional element of the “digital” represents the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. And, therefore, does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 4 recites “wherein altering each player's balance or value in the … wallet involves making a debit of game token, currency, fiat currency … from one player and a corresponding credit to another player...” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice. The additional elements of the “digital”, “cryptocurrency” and “via the blockchain, distributed ledger, or centralised ledger” represents the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. And, therefore, does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the … wallet includes a feature for automatic currency conversion based on real-time exchange rates.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice. The additional element of the “digital” represents the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. And, therefore, does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 8 recites “wherein further comprising updating the player's game score and/or … wallet balance based on player to player in-game financial transactions triggered by specific player actions.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice. The additional element of the “digital” represents the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. And, therefore, does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 9 recites “wherein altering each player's balance or value in the … wallet involves transferring in-game assets including tokens, virtual goods, or other … assets from one player's wallet to another player's wallet based on predefined in-game actions or events.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice. The additional element of the “digital” represents the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. And, therefore, does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 10 recites “wherein the direct transfer of funds between players' … wallets occurs in response to game actions including one player successfully attacking or hitting another player.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice. The additional element of the “digital” represents the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. And, therefore, does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 11 recites “further comprising triggering a financial transaction between players at substantially the same time as the occurrence of the specific game action that caused the transaction.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice.
Claim 12 recites the additional element of “wherein each transaction includes a unique signature with cryptographic elements and is recorded on a blockchain, distributed ledger or centralised ledger.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 13 recites “wherein each player's game score is updated at within a predefined time period after as a financial transaction that impacts the player's … wallet.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice. The additional element of the “digital” represents the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. And, therefore, does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 14 recites “wherein altering each player's balance is subject to transaction or processing fees that may be deducted from the payer's wallet, the recipient's wallet, or split between both players.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice.
Claim 15 recites “wherein a game operator charges different transaction fees based on the specific game action, the player's in-game performance, or the volume of transactions” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice.
Claim 16 recites “wherein in-game advertising is used to reduce or eliminate the transaction fees for players.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice.
Claim 17 recites “further comprising linking each player's game score to the performance of predefined actions within the game, including completing missions, earning rewards, or defeating opponents.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice.
Claim 18 recites “wherein altering each player's balance or value in the … wallet occurs based on their individual performance, or team-based game actions.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice. The additional element of the “digital” represents the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. And, therefore, does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 19 recites “wherein the … wallet includes a feature for player to player lending and/or borrowing within the game, allowing players to lend game tokens or currency to each other.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice. The additional element of the “digital” represents the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. And, therefore, does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 20 recites “wherein the ledger or blockchain includes a smart contract that automatically triggers the financial transaction based on predefined game conditions or player actions.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice.
Claim 21 recites “wherein players can purchase game tokens using fiat currency, … or other payment methods integrated into ...” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice. The additional elements of the “the game environment” and “cryptocurrency,” represents the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. And, therefore, does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 22 recites “wherein the game includes a leaderboard displaying player rankings based on the player's … wallet balance or game score.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice. The additional element of the “digital” represents the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. And, therefore, does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 23 recites “wherein the leaderboard updates in real-time based on changes to the players' wallet balances or scores.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice.
Claim 24 recites “further comprising applying penalties or rewards based on player behavior, such as early exit from the game or completion of objectives, which affect the player's … wallet balance.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice. The additional element of the “digital” represents the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. And, therefore, does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 25 recites “wherein the penalties include token deductions for disruptive behavior, disconnection, or early exit from the game.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice.
Claim 26 recites “further comprising dynamically adjusting in- game rewards based on real-time performance metrics, game score, or wallet balance.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice.
Claim 27 recites the additional element of “wherein each transaction includes a unique signature with cryptographic elements and is recorded on a blockchain, distributed ledger or centralised ledger.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 28 recites the additional element of “wherein the digital wallet address is one or a combination of: a number or a text string or any other data string.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 29 recites “wherein direct financial transactions between players incorporates a reputation-based system to ensure fair play.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice.
Claim 30 recites “…to generate , during gameplay, player scores for the game depending on in game actions of a second player that cause an effect on a first player within the game environment”, “a … wallet or account that is configured to store and manage game tokens, currency, fiat currency or crypto currency, where the …”, and “ (c… to (i) (i) adjust, in real-time, each player's token balance or value on the … wallet or account based on in-game actions of a second player that cause an effect on a first player within the game environment.” Therefore claim 30 recites “calculating players balance in a game” the abstract idea of “calculating players balance in an online game” which is a grouped under “fundamental economic practice” and therefore an abstract idea in prong one of step 2A (MPEP 2106.04(a)). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A (MPEP 2106.04 II), the additional elements of the claim 1 such as “(a) a game server configured to provide or make available the multi-player online game including a game environment to each player's computing device and …”, “(b) a … digital wallet is based on a, blockchain, distributed ledger, centralised ledger”, “(c) a transaction module subsystem configured to … digital …and (ii) display, during game play, on each player's game score, which is dynamically linked to their digital wallet token balance by calculating the game score as a direct multiple or divisor of the wallet balance or related by a predefined mathematical relationship.” represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Furthermore, “… provide or make available the multi-player online game including a game environment to each player's computing device” lacks detail on how “provide … multi-player online game including a game environment to each player's computing device” is accomplished, therefore it amounts to no more than “apply it” (MPEP 2106.05(f)(1)). Additionally, “display, during game play, on each player's game score, which is dynamically linked to their digital wallet token balance by calculating the game score as a direct multiple or divisor of the wallet balance or related by a predefined mathematical relationship” represent the use of computer functions to perform an economic task of “calculating players balance in an online game” (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)). Therefore, it does not provide a practical application.
And, as the additional element does no more than provide a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use, it does computer functionality or improve another technology or technical field.
Hence, claim 30 is not patent eligible.
Claim 31 recites “wherein generating the player scores further depends on the interactions among multiple players.” However, this merely describes the abstract idea of fundamental economic practice.
Claim 32 recites the additional element of “wherein the digital wallet or account is based on a blockchain or distributed ledger, that is configured to support external wallet integration, allowing for interoperability with a player's external digital wallet, wherein the digital wallet is provided with a unique address representing the player account with a related custody system or is one or a combination of a number, text, or string.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
The claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because the claims do not affect an improvement to another technology or technical field, the claims do not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer system itself, and the claims do not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, there are no meaningful limitations in the claims that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-11, 13-15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washington (US 2016/0171835 A1) in view of Simons (US 2019/0130701 A1) and Puckett (WO 2022/016020 A1)
Regarding claims 1 and 30
Washington discloses:
A computer implemented method for calculating scores for players participating in a multi-player online game, the method comprising: providing or making available the multi-player online game including a game environment to each player's computing device; [0688] and [0076]
(e) displaying, during game play, on each player's computing device each player's game score, which is dynamically linked to their digital wallet token balance by calculating the dame score as a direct multiple or division of the wallet balance or related by a predefined mathematical relationship. Fig. 10, [0114], [0353] and [0354]
Washington does not specifically teach: (b) generating, during gameplay, player scores for the game depending on in game actions of a second player that cause an effect on a first player within the game environment (c) providing or making available to the players a digital wallet or account that is configured to store and manage game tokens, currency, fiat currency or crypto currency, where the digital wallet or account is based on a, blockchain, distributed ledger, centralised ledger;
.
However, Simons teaches:
(b) generating, during gameplay, player scores for the game depending on in game actions of a second player that cause an effect on a first player within the game environment; [0035]
(c) providing or making available to the players a digital wallet or account that is configured to store and manage game tokens, currency, fiat currency or crypto currency, where the digital wallet or account is based on a, blockchain, distributed ledger, centralised ledger; [0049]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of with the management of virtual goods in distributed ledger gambling architecture as taught by Simons in order to secure and transparent transactions which can also be accessed by auditors, tax authorities, partners. (Simons (abstract)).
Simons does not specifically teach: (d) adjusting, in real-time, each player's token balance on the digital wallet or account based on in-game actions of a second player that cause an effect on a first player within the game environment.
However Puckett teaches:
(d) adjusting, in real-time, each player's token balance on the digital wallet or account based on in-game actions of a second player that cause an effect on a first player within the game environment; [000194] [000269] – [000275]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington and Simons in view of the method for playing online webcam poker as taught by Puckett in order to combat cheating on online games. (Pickett [000150]).
Regarding claim 2
Washington discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein altering each player's balance or value in the digital wallet occurs in real time during gameplay depending on the player actions and interactions. [0279]
Regarding claim 3
Washington discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein altering each player's balance or value in the digital wallet occurs at substantially the same time as the occurrence of the related player actions and interactions. [0279]
Regarding claim 4
Washington does not specifically teach: wherein altering each player's balance or value in the digital wallet involves making a debit of game token, currency, fiat currency or cryptocurrency from one player and a corresponding credit to another player via the blockchain, distributed ledger, or centralised ledger.
However, Simons teaches:
wherein altering each player's balance or value in the digital wallet involves making a debit of game token, currency, fiat currency or cryptocurrency from one player and a corresponding credit to another player via the blockchain, distributed ledger, or centralised ledger. [0043]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of with the management of virtual goods in distributed ledger gambling architecture as taught by Simons in order to secure and transparent transactions which can also be accessed by auditors, tax authorities, partners. (Simons (abstract)).
Regarding claim 5
Washington discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the digital wallet includes a feature for automatic currency conversion based on real-time exchange rates. [0122]
Regarding claim 8
Washington discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein further comprising updating the player's game score and/or digital wallet balance based on player to player in-game financial transactions triggered by specific player actions. [0354]
Regarding claim 9
Washington does not specifically teach: wherein altering each player's balance or value in the digital wallet involves transferring in-game assets including tokens, virtual goods, or other digital assets from one player's wallet to another player's wallet based on predefined in-game actions or events
However, Simons teaches:
wherein altering each player's balance or value in the digital wallet involves transferring in-game assets including tokens, virtual goods, or other digital assets from one player's wallet to another player's wallet based on predefined in-game actions or events. [0043]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of with the management of virtual goods in distributed ledger gambling architecture as taught by Simons in order to secure and transparent transactions which can also be accessed by auditors, tax authorities, partners. (Simons (abstract)).
Regarding claim 10
Washington does not specifically teach: wherein the direct transfer of funds between players' digital wallets occurs in response to game actions including one player successfully attacking or hitting another player.
However, Simons teaches:
wherein the direct transfer of funds between players' digital wallets occurs in response to game actions including one player successfully attacking or hitting another player. [0043]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of with the management of virtual goods in distributed ledger gambling architecture as taught by Simons in order to secure and transparent transactions which can also be accessed by auditors, tax authorities, partners. (Simons (abstract)).
Regarding claim 11
Washington does not specifically teach: further comprising triggering a financial transaction between players at substantially the same time as the occurrence of the specific game action that caused the transaction
However, Simons teaches:
further comprising triggering a financial transaction between players at substantially the same time as the occurrence of the specific game action that caused the transaction. [0096]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of with the management of virtual goods in distributed ledger gambling architecture as taught by Simons in order to secure and transparent transactions which can also be accessed by auditors, tax authorities, partners. (Simons (abstract)).
Regarding claim 13
Washington discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein each player's game score is updated at withing a predefined time period after as a financial transaction that impacts the player's digital wallet. [0354]
Regarding claim 14
Washington does not specifically teach: wherein altering each player's balance is subject to transaction or processing fees that may be deducted from the payer's wallet, the recipient's wallet, or split between both players.
However, Simons teaches:
wherein altering each player's balance is subject to transaction or processing fees that may be deducted from the payer's wallet, the recipient's wallet, or split between both players. [0040]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of with the management of virtual goods in distributed ledger gambling architecture as taught by Simons in order to secure and transparent transactions which can also be accessed by auditors, tax authorities, partners. (Simons (abstract)).
Regarding claim 15
Washington does not specifically teach: wherein a game operator charges different transaction fees based on the specific game action, the player's in-game performance, or the volume of transactions.
However, Simons teaches:
wherein a game operator charges different transaction fees based on the specific game action, the player's in-game performance, or the volume of transaction. [0044]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of with the management of virtual goods in distributed ledger gambling architecture as taught by Simons in order to secure and transparent transactions which can also be accessed by auditors, tax authorities, partners. (Simons (abstract)).
Regarding claim 17
Washington discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising linking each player's game score to the performance of predefined actions within the game, including completing missions, earning rewards, or defeating opponents. [0124]
Regarding claim 18
Washington discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein altering each player's balance or value in the digital wallet occurs based on their individual performance, or team-based game actions. [0124]
Regarding claim 20
Washington does not specifically teach: wherein the ledger or blockchain includes a smart contract that automatically triggers the financial transaction based on predefined game conditions or player actions.
However, Simons teaches:
wherein the ledger or blockchain includes a smart contract that automatically triggers the financial transaction based on predefined game conditions or player actions. [0114]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of with the management of virtual goods in distributed ledger gambling architecture as taught by Simons in order to secure and transparent transactions which can also be accessed by auditors, tax authorities, partners. (Simons (abstract)).
Regarding claim 24
Washington discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising applying penalties or rewards based on player behavior, such as early exit from the game or completion of objectives, which affect the player's digital wallet balance. [0324] and [0335]
Regarding claim 26
Washington discloses:
The method of claim 24, further comprising dynamically adjusting in- game rewards based on real-time performance metrics, game score, or wallet balance. [0719]
Regarding claim 31
Washington discloses:
Washington does not specifically teach: wherein generating the player scores further depends on the interactions among multiple players.
However, Simons teaches:
wherein generating the player scores further depends on the interactions among multiple players. [0035]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of with the management of virtual goods in distributed ledger gambling architecture as taught by Simons in order to secure and transparent transactions which can also be accessed by auditors, tax authorities, partners. (Simons (abstract)).
Claims 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washington (US 2016/0171835 A1) in view of Simons (US 2019/0130701 A1) and Puckett (WO 2022/016020 A1) and further in view of Dalmia (US 2023/0055064 A1)
Regarding claim 12
Washington does not specifically teach: wherein each transaction includes a unique signature with cryptographic elements and is recorded on a blockchain, distributed ledger or centralised ledger.
However, Dalmia teaches:
wherein each transaction includes a unique signature with cryptographic elements and is recorded on a blockchain, distributed ledger or centralised ledger. [0096]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of the cross channel blockchains solutions for gaming systems as taught by Dalmia in order to enable gaming solutions across multiple gaming channels using non-fungible tokens and a blockchain infrastructure to manage one or more aspects of gameplay. (Dalmia (abstract)).
Regarding claim 19
Washington does not specifically teach: wherein the digital wallet includes a feature for player to player lending and/or borrowing within the game, allowing players to lend game tokens or currency to each other.
However, Dalmia teaches:
wherein the digital wallet includes a feature for player to player lending and/or borrowing within the game, allowing players to lend game tokens or currency to each other. [0317] and [0320]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of the cross channel blockchains solutions for gaming systems as taught by Dalmia in order to enable gaming solutions across multiple gaming channels using non-fungible tokens and a blockchain infrastructure to manage one or more aspects of gameplay. (Dalmia (abstract)).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washington (US 2016/0171835 A1) in view of Simons (US 2019/0130701 A1) and Puckett (WO 2022/016020 A1) and further in view of Washington (US 20180005483 A1) (hereafter Washington2)
Regarding claim 16
Washington does not specifically teach: wherein in-game advertising is used to reduce or eliminate the transaction fees for players.
However, Washington2 teaches:
wherein in-game advertising is used to reduce or eliminate the transaction fees for players. [0256]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington and Dalmia in view of dynamic placement of in-game ads, in game product placement, and in-game promotions in wager-based game environments as taught by Washington2 in order to provide the ability for traditional video-type wager-based gaming machines to be quickly and easily converted to wager-based games which support in-game advertising . (Washington2 (abstract)).
Claims 21, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washington (US 2016/0171835 A1) Simons (US 2019/0130701 A1) and Puckett (WO 2022/016020 A1) and further in view of Khan (US 2023/0128945 A1)
Regarding claim 21
Washington does not specifically teach: wherein players can purchase game tokens using fiat currency, cryptocurrency, or other payment methods integrated into the game environment.
However, Khan teaches:
wherein players can purchase game tokens using fiat currency, cryptocurrency, or other payment methods integrated into the game environment. [0096]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of the method for monetization of time and activity on a digital ledger as taught by Khan in order to creating an economic system and associated processes to enable earning of income in a local currency based on time invested in activities conducted on-line. (Khan (abstract)).
Regarding claim 29
Washington does not specifically teach: wherein direct financial transactions between players incorporates a reputation-based system to ensure fair play.
However, Khan teaches:
wherein direct financial transactions between players incorporates a reputation-based system to ensure fair play. [0096]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of the method for monetization of time and activity on a digital ledger as taught by Khan in order to creating an economic system and associated processes to enable earning of income in a local currency based on time invested in activities conducted on-line. (Khan (abstract)).
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washington (US 2016/0171835 A1) in view of Simons (US 2019/0130701 A1) and Puckett (WO 2022/016020 A1) and further in view of Carpenter et al (US 2013/0116809 A1)
Regarding claim 22
Washington does not specifically teach: wherein the game includes a leaderboard displaying player rankings based on the player's digital wallet balance or game score.
However, Carpenter teaches:
wherein the game includes a leaderboard displaying player rankings based on the player's digital wallet balance or game score. [0060]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of the tournament game methos with team management as taught by Khan in order for the player video feeds and the team leaderboard may be broadcast to wireless devices, such as cellular phones. (Carpenter [0062])
Regarding claim 23
Washington does not specifically teach: wherein the leaderboard updates in real-time based on changes to the players' wallet balances or scores. [0499]
However, Carpenter teaches:
wherein the leaderboard updates in real-time based on changes to the players' wallet balances or scores. [0060]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of the tournament game methos with team management as taught by Khan in order for the player video feeds and the team leaderboard may be broadcast to wireless devices, such as cellular phones. (Carpenter [0062])
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washington (US 2016/0171835 A1) in view of Simons (US 2019/0130701 A1) and Puckett (WO 2022/016020 A1) and further in view of Chow (US 11,090,556 B1)
Regarding claim 25
Washington does not specifically teach: wherein the penalties include token deductions for disruptive behavior, disconnection, or early exit from the game.
However, Chow teaches:
wherein the penalties include token deductions for disruptive behavior, disconnection, or early exit from the game. Col 39 lines 26-49)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of the method for determining player behavior as taught by Chow in order to Maintaining the quality of the game play of the game by encouraging good behavior and retaining or incentivizing players exhibiting good behavior. (Chow (Col 11 lines 14-17)).
Claims 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washington (US 2016/0171835 A1) in view of Simons (US 2019/0130701 A1) and Puckett (WO 2022/016020 A1) and further in view of UHR (US 2018/0343128 A1)
Regarding claim 27
Washington does not specifically teach: wherein the digital wallet which has a unique address representing the player account within the related custody system.
However UHR teaches:
wherein the digital wallet which has a unique address representing the player account within the related custody system. [0042]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of the tampering verification system for financial institution certificated based on blockchain as taught by UHR in order to tampering verification system and method for financial institution certificates, based on blockchain. (UHR (abstract)).
Regarding claim 28
Washington does not specifically teach: wherein the digital wallet address is one or a combination of: a number or a text string or any other data string.
However UHR teaches:
wherein the digital wallet address is one or a combination of: a number or a text string or any other data string. [0042]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of the tampering verification system for financial institution certificated based on blockchain as taught by UHR in order to tampering verification system and method for financial institution certificates, based on blockchain. (UHR (abstract)).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washington (US 2016/0171835 A1) in view of Simons (US 2019/0130701 A1) and Puckett (WO 2022/016020 A1) and further in view of Dalmia (US 2023/0055064 A1) and UHR (US 2018/0343128 A1)
Regarding claim 31
Washington does not specifically teach: wherein the digital wallet or account is based on a blockchain or distributed ledger, that is configured to support external wallet integration, allowing for interoperability with a player's external digital wallet.
However, Dalmia teaches:
wherein each transaction includes a unique signature with cryptographic elements and is recorded on a blockchain, distributed ledger or centralised ledger. [0096], [0119]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of the cross channel blockchains solutions for gaming systems as taught by Dalmia in order to enable gaming solutions across multiple gaming channels using non-fungible tokens and a blockchain infrastructure to manage one or more aspects of gameplay. (Dalmia (abstract)).
Dalmia does not specifically teach: wherein the digital wallet is provided with a unique address representing the player account with a related custody system or is one or a combination of a number, text, or string.
However UHR teaches:
wherein the digital wallet is provided with a unique address representing the player account with a related custody system or is one or a combination of a number, text, or string. [0042]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first person shooter, RPG and Sports themed hybrid arcade-type wager -based gaming techniques of Washington in view of the tampering verification system for financial institution certificated based on blockchain as taught by UHR in order to tampering verification system and method for financial institution certificates, based on blockchain. (UHR (abstract)).
Prior Art of Record Not Currently Relied Upon
Pelc et al. (US 2023/0226451 A1) Teaches: Method for delivering a multiplayer gaming experience in a distributed computer system.
Kim et al. (US 2020/0273296 A1) Teaches Method for holding club-competition web board game contest.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).