DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 7/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7, 9-14, and 16-20 remain pending in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9, 11-14, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greene (US 20170252124 A1) in view of Hendricks (US 20220000580 A1) and Fullerton (US 20190365279 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Greene teaches a marker sized for introduction into a target tissue region within a patient's body ([0009] a marker is provided sized for introduction into a target tissue region within a patient's body)
photosensitive diodes configured to convert external light received from a light source outside a patient's body into electrical energy ([0010] one or more photosensitive diodes to convert light received from a light source outside a patient's body into electrical energy)
an antenna; and a switch coupled with the antenna ([0009] a switch; an antenna coupled to the switch).
Greene fails to teach circuitry configured to selectively apply the electrical energy to a light emitting diode (LED) to cause the LED to emit a light, and selectively apply the electrical energy to the switch to open and close the switch.
However, Hendricks teaches circuitry configured to selectively apply the electrical energy to a light emitting diode (LED) to cause the LED to emit a light ([0077] FIG. 4A shows an example electrical circuit 400 for operating the light source 401 of the active marker device according to an exemplary embodiment of the invention. The light source is embodied as a light emitting diode (LED) 401)
and selectively apply the electrical energy to the switch to open and close the switch ([0077] the light source 401 is coupled to a switching circuit 408)
Greene and Hendricks are considered analogous because both disclose implantable medical markers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to use an LED as a light source to control a switching circuit so that the average LED temperature may be lower such that efficiency is improved and brighter light flashes may be emitted from the LED (Hendricks [0013]).
Greene as modified fails to teach the circuitry applies the electrical energy to LED and applies the electrical energy to the switch simultaneously.
However, Fullerton teaches the circuitry applies the electrical energy to LED and applies the electrical energy to the switch simultaneously ([0271] simultaneously, the probe 1020 may transmit light pulses 1038a, which may be received by the diodes 1052. The diodes 1052 may alternately generate a voltage, causing the switch 54 to open and close).
Greene as modified and Fullerton are considered analogous because both disclose medical marker tracking systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to transmit energy simultaneously in order to cause the tag 40 to change the phase of the signals reflected back to the probe 1020, which may process the signals, e.g., by subtraction, to identify and/or locate the tag 1040, and consequently the target lesion (Fullerton [0271]).
Regarding claim 3, Greene teaches the circuitry is configured such that the light from the light source causes the switch to open and close to modulate electromagnetic signals from a probe reflected by the marker ([0010] a capacitor coupled to the one or more photosensitive diodes for storing the electrical energy, a threshold element coupled to the capacitor and a switch, the threshold element configured to close the switch when the electrical energy stored by the capacitor reaches a threshold voltage to deliver electrical energy to the antenna, whereupon the antenna transmits a radio frequency (RF) pulse).
Regarding claim 4, Greene teaches a storage circuit coupled to the photosensitive diodes for storing electrical energy generated by the energy converter until a predetermined threshold is achieved, wherein the storage circuit delivers the electrical energy to the LED when the predetermined threshold is achieved ([0009] a storage circuit coupled to the energy converter for storing electrical energy generated by the energy converter until a predetermined threshold is achieved, the storage circuit coupled to the switch for closing the switch when the predetermined threshold is achieved to deliver electrical energy to the antenna).
Regarding claim 5, Greene fails to teach a sequence generator, the sequence generator configured to control application of the electrical energy to the LED based on the code sequence
However, Hendricks teaches a sequence generator, the sequence generator configured to control application of the electrical energy to the LED based on the code sequence ([0032] the pulses generated by the light source can be triggered by an external triggering signal, e.g. a RF triggering signal. In this way, the pulsed mode can be defined by an external source emitting the signal triggering the pulses of the light source).
Greene and Hendricks are considered analogous because both disclose implantable medical markers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to control operation of the device through a predetermined pulse sequence so that the specific pulsed mode can be determined during the operation of the active marker device and does not need to be determined before implanting the active marker device (Hendricks [0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Greene teaches the external light received from the light source is infrared (IR) ([0025] infrared light striking the diodes 12a. Thus, if a probe is provided that selectively delivers different segments of infrared light, the probe may be operated to transmit a segment of infrared light that activates a target marker that includes a filter passing that segment).
Regarding claim 7, Greene teaches the circuitry applies the electrical energy to the one or more of the photosensitive diodes during a first period of time, and applies the electrical energy to the switch during a second period of time ([0037] the probe 40 may transmit a first segment for a first period sufficient to activate and detect a first marker, then transmit a second segment for a second period sufficient to activate and detect a second marker, and the like).
Regarding claim 9, Greene teaches a system for localization of a target tissue region within a patient's body ([0008] systems and methods for localizing such markers within a patient's body)
a probe comprising one or more antennas for transmitting radiofrequency signals into a patient's body and receiving backscatter signals ([0011] a probe comprising a light source configured to transmit a transmit light into the patient's body towards the marker; a receive antenna configured to receive the RF signal transmitted by the marker)
and a plurality of markers sized for introduction into a target tissue region within the patient's body ([0020] delivering one or more of the markers into tissue)
photosensitive diodes configured to convert external light received from a light source outside a patient's body into electrical energy ([0010] one or more photosensitive diodes to convert light received from a light source outside a patient's body into electrical energy)
an antenna; and a switch coupled with the antenna ([0009] a switch; an antenna coupled to the switch).
Greene fails to teach circuitry configured to selectively apply the electrical energy to a light emitting diode (LED) to cause the LED to emit a light, and selectively apply the electrical energy to the switch to open and close the switch.
However, Hendricks teaches circuitry configured to selectively apply the electrical energy to a light emitting diode (LED) to cause the LED to emit a light ([0077] FIG. 4A shows an example electrical circuit 400 for operating the light source 401 of the active marker device according to an exemplary embodiment of the invention. The light source is embodied as a light emitting diode (LED) 401)
and selectively apply the electrical energy to the switch to open and close the switch ([0077] the light source 401 is coupled to a switching circuit 408)
Greene as modified fails to teach the circuitry applies the electrical energy to LED and applies the electrical energy to the switch simultaneously.
However, Fullerton teaches the circuitry applies the electrical energy to LED and applies the electrical energy to the switch simultaneously ([0271] simultaneously, the probe 1020 may transmit light pulses 1038a, which may be received by the diodes 1052. The diodes 1052 may alternately generate a voltage, causing the switch 54 to open and close).
Greene as modified and Fullerton are considered analogous because both disclose medical marker tracking systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to transmit energy simultaneously in order to cause the tag 40 to change the phase of the signals reflected back to the probe 1020, which may process the signals, e.g., by subtraction, to identify and/or locate the tag 1040, and consequently the target lesion (Fullerton [0271]).
Greene and Hendricks are considered analogous because both disclose implantable medical markers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to use an LED as a light source to control a switching circuit so that the average LED temperature may be lower such that efficiency is improved and brighter light flashes may be emitted from the LED (Hendricks [0013]).
Regarding claim 11, Greene teaches the circuitry is configured such that the light from the light source causes the switch to open and close to modulate electromagnetic signals from a probe reflected by the marker ([0010] a capacitor coupled to the one or more photosensitive diodes for storing the electrical energy, a threshold element coupled to the capacitor and a switch, the threshold element configured to close the switch when the electrical energy stored by the capacitor reaches a threshold voltage to deliver electrical energy to the antenna, whereupon the antenna transmits a radio frequency (RF) pulse).
Regarding claim 12, Greene teaches a storage circuit coupled to the photosensitive diodes for storing electrical energy generated by the energy converter until a predetermined threshold is achieved, wherein the storage circuit delivers the electrical energy to the LED when the predetermined threshold is achieved ([0009] a storage circuit coupled to the energy converter for storing electrical energy generated by the energy converter until a predetermined threshold is achieved, the storage circuit coupled to the switch for closing the switch when the predetermined threshold is achieved to deliver electrical energy to the antenna).
Regarding claim 13, Greene fails to teach a sequence generator, the sequence generator configured to control application of the electrical energy to the LED based on the code sequence
However, Hendricks teaches a sequence generator, the sequence generator configured to control application of the electrical energy to the LED based on the code sequence ([0032] the pulses generated by the light source can be triggered by an external triggering signal, e.g. a RF triggering signal. In this way, the pulsed mode can be defined by an external source emitting the signal triggering the pulses of the light source).
Greene and Hendricks are considered analogous because both disclose implantable medical markers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to control operation of the device through a predetermined pulse sequence so that the specific pulsed mode can be determined during the operation of the active marker device and does not need to be determined before implanting the active marker device (Hendricks [0032]).
Regarding claim 14, Greene teaches the circuitry applies the electrical energy to the one or more of the photosensitive diodes during a first period of time, and applies the electrical energy to the switch during a second period of time ([0037] the probe 40 may transmit a first segment for a first period sufficient to activate and detect a first marker, then transmit a second segment for a second period sufficient to activate and detect a second marker, and the like).
Regarding claim 16, Greene fails to teach an imaging device configured to detect the light from the LED, analyze a blinking pattern from the LED, and identify a marker based on the blinking pattern.
However, Hendricks teaches an imaging device configured to detect the light from the LED, analyze a blinking pattern from the LED, and identify a marker based on the blinking pattern sequence ([0032] the pulses generated by the light source can be triggered by an external triggering signal, e.g. a RF triggering signal. In this way, the pulsed mode can be defined by an external source emitting the signal triggering the pulses of the light source).
Greene and Hendricks are considered analogous because both disclose implantable medical markers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to control operation of the device through a predetermined pulse sequence so that the specific pulsed mode can be determined during the operation of the active marker device and does not need to be determined before implanting the active marker device (Hendricks [0032]).
Regarding claim 17, Greene teaches a method for localization of a target tissue region within a patient's body ([0008] systems and methods for localizing such markers within a patient's body)
introducing a marker into the target tissue region ([0011] transmit light into the patient's body towards the marker)
photosensitive diodes configured to convert external light received from a light source outside a patient's body into electrical energy ([0010] one or more photosensitive diodes to convert light received from a light source outside a patient's body into electrical energy)
an antenna; a switch coupled with the antenna ([0009] a switch; an antenna coupled to the switch)
placing the probe adjacent the target tissue region; and activating the probe, whereupon the probe transmits the external light to the marker ([0011] a probe comprising a light source configured to transmit a transmit light into the patient's body towards the marker; a receive antenna configured to receive the RF signal transmitted by the marker; a processor coupled to the receive antenna for correlating a frequency of the RF signals from the marker to a distance from the probe to the target tissue region within which the marker is introduced; and an output device coupled to the processor for providing information related to the distance)
Greene fails to teach circuitry configured to selectively apply the electrical energy to a light emitting diode (LED) to cause the LED to emit a light, and selectively apply the electrical energy to the switch to open and close the switch.
However, Hendricks teaches circuitry configured to selectively apply the electrical energy to a light emitting diode (LED) to cause the LED to emit a light ([0077] FIG. 4A shows an example electrical circuit 400 for operating the light source 401 of the active marker device according to an exemplary embodiment of the invention. The light source is embodied as a light emitting diode (LED) 401)
and selectively apply the electrical energy to the switch to open and close the switch ([0077] the light source 401 is coupled to a switching circuit 408)
Greene and Hendricks are considered analogous because both disclose implantable medical markers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to use an LED as a light source to control a switching circuit so that the average LED temperature may be lower such that efficiency is improved and brighter light flashes may be emitted from the LED (Hendricks [0013]).
Regarding claim 19, Greene teaches the circuitry of the marker is configured such that the external light from the probe causes the switch to open and close to modulate electromagnetic signals from a probe reflected by the marker ([0031] the distal end 62b may include a band or other feature, e.g., formed from radiopaque, echogenic, or other material, which may facilitate monitoring the distal end 62b during introduction, e.g., using fluoroscopy, ultrasound, electromagnetic signals, and the like).
Regarding claim 20, Greene teaches a storage circuit coupled to the photosensitive diodes for storing electrical energy generated by the energy converter until a predetermined threshold is achieved, wherein the storage circuit delivers the electrical energy to the LED when the predetermined threshold is achieved ([0009] a storage circuit coupled to the energy converter for storing electrical energy generated by the energy converter until a predetermined threshold is achieved, the storage circuit coupled to the switch for closing the switch when the predetermined threshold is achieved to deliver electrical energy to the antenna).
Claim(s) 2, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greene in view of Hendricks as applied to claims 1, 9, and 17 respectively above, and further in view of Sharma (US 20190388105 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Greene as modified fails to teach a relaxation oscillator coupled to the one or more photosensitive diodes.
However, Sharma teaches a relaxation oscillator coupled to the one or more photosensitive diodes ([0053] This synchronization can be achieved by implementing an ultra low power relaxation oscillator)
Greene as modified and Sharma are considered analogous because both disclose medical applications of tracking markers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to couple a relaxation oscillator to an electronic component such as a diode in order for an on-chip clock to synchronize the time for the components (Sharma [0053]).
Regarding claim 10 Greene as modified fails to teach a relaxation oscillator coupled to the one or more photosensitive diodes.
However, Sharma teaches a relaxation oscillator coupled to the one or more photosensitive diodes ([0053] This synchronization can be achieved by implementing an ultra low power relaxation oscillator)
Greene as modified and Sharma are considered analogous because both disclose medical applications of tracking markers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to couple a relaxation oscillator to an electronic component such as a diode in order for an on-chip clock to synchronize the time for the components (Sharma [0053]).
Regarding claim 18, Greene as modified fails to teach a relaxation oscillator coupled to the one or more photosensitive diodes.
However, Sharma teaches a relaxation oscillator coupled to the one or more photosensitive diodes ([0053] This synchronization can be achieved by implementing an ultra low power relaxation oscillator)
Greene as modified and Sharma are considered analogous because both disclose medical applications of tracking markers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to couple a relaxation oscillator to an electronic component such as a diode in order for an on-chip clock to synchronize the time for the components (Sharma [0053]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended the independent claim to include the limitation “the circuitry applies the electrical enemy to the LED and applies the electrical enemy to the switch simultaneously” previously present in the dependent claims. Applicant persuasively argues the fact that this amendment overcomes the previous rejection under Greene in view of Hendricks, however, applicant has not made a persuasive case in overcoming the rejection of this limitation in view of the tertiary Fullerton reference as was applied to the now canceled dependent claims in the prior office action.
Applicant alleges that the Fullerton reference cannot be applied to the limitation in question due to the assertion that in the pending claims the energy is emitted by the marker while in the Fullerton reference energy is emitted by the probe. However, based on the way the claims are currently written this is not immediately apparent. The claims simply state that this energy is applied by ‘circuitry’ and under broadest reasonable interpretation it can be deduced that the probe circuitry in Fullerton is an analogous teaching. In order to overcome the outstanding rejection applicant is advised to amend the claim to make it readily clear that the circuitry emitting the energy is part of the marker and not the probe. For at least the aforementioned reasons, the claims remain rejected under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GABRIEL VICTOR POPESCU/Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/SERKAN AKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797