DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1, 3-5 and 7-8 in the reply filed on 6-16-26 is acknowledged.
Claims 2 and 6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6-16-26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the preform" in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the accommodating portion" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the flow path" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yanagisawa et al. (English abstract of JP06238742).
Regarding claim 1, Yanagisawa discloses a mold 3 for temperature adjustment comprising:
A plurality of temperature adjustment blocks 31, 32, 33, 34 aligned in an upper and lower direction,
Wherein an insulation mechanism is provided at an uppermost stage of the temperature adjustment block (abstract, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Yanagisawa discloses wherein the insulation mechanism is a groove which is formed on an upper surface of the uppermost stage of the temperature adjustment block and in which an air is interposed (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Yanagisawa discloses wherein an insulation structure is provided on a boundary between the plurality of temperature adjustment blocks (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Yanagisawa discloses wherein the insulation structure is a groove which is formed on an outer peripheral surface of the boundary and in which an air is interposed (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Yanagisawa discloses wherein the temperature adjustment blocks include:
An accommodating portion configured to accommodate a body portion or a bottom portion 11 of the preform 1; and
A flow path formed around the accommodating portion and in which a temperature adjustment medium 35 is to flow,
Wherein the insulation structure is formed so as not to reach an inner surface of the accommodating portion (see fig. 2-4 and abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Yanagisawa discloses wherein the temperature adjustment block is provided with a hollow portion between the accommodating portion and the flow path (fig. 3-4).
Conclusion
/X.H.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1742 /CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742