Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5, 8, 10-15, 19, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 2009/0033439 (“Igarashi” or “I”).
2: I teaches a filter module (that of figs 1-4) comprising: an input node (173/201); an output node (101/202); a filter (that of 301+302+401+402+403+404 and corresponding parts of figs 1 and 2) disposed along a signal path extending from the input node to the output node (as shown); and a strip line inductor (that of 303 and corresponding parts, 112+122+132+142a of figs 1 and 2, as described in 0078) having at least a first portion (122) and a second portion (132), the second portion connected to the first portion (as shown), the first portion disposed in a first layer (as shown) and having a first winding pattern (that of 122), the second portion (132) extending in a second layer (as shown) and having a second winding pattern (that of 132).
13: I teaches a radio frequency module (that of figs 1-4) comprising: a multilayer packaging board (as shown in fig 2); and a filter assembly (that of figs 1-4) implemented on the multilayer packaging board (as shown in fig 2), the filter assembly including: an input node (173/201); an output node (101/202); a filter (that of 301+302+401+402+403+404 and corresponding parts of figs 1 and 2) disposed along a signal path extending from the input node to the output node (as shown); and a strip line inductor (that of 303 and corresponding parts, 112+122+132+142a of figs 1 and 2, as described in 0078) having at least a first portion (122) and a second portion (132) connected to the first portion (as shown), the first portion disposed in a first layer of the multilayer packaging board (as shown) and having a first winding pattern (that of 122), the second portion (132) extending in a second layer of the multilayer packaging board (as shown) and having a second winding pattern (that of 132).
3, 15: I teaches that the strip line inductor is connected between the filter and a reference voltage (as shown in fig 3).
5: I teaches that the filter includes a series resonator (301+401, for example) and a shunt resonator (304 and 406, for example).
8, 19: I teaches that the first winding pattern and the second winding pattern each include a plurality of U-shaped bends (as shown in fig 2).
10: I teaches a multilayer package substrate (that of fig 2), the first layer and the second layer being different layers of the multilayer package substrate (as shown).
11: I teaches that the strip line inductor further includes a first connecting portion (via 136) extending between the first layer and the second layer to connect the first portion and the second portion (as shown).
12: I teaches that the strip line inductor further includes a third portion (142, for example) connected to the second portion via a second connecting portion (142 is connected to 132 by via 146), the third portion disposed in a third layer of the multilayer package substrate (as shown) and having a third winding pattern (as shown).
14: I teaches that the radio frequency module is a front-end module (see 1 in fig 7).
21: I teaches a mobile device (that of figs 1-4 and 7) comprising: an antenna (41) configured to receive a radio frequency signal (as shown); and a front end system (that of 1) configured to communicate with the antenna (as shown), the front end system including a filter module (1 is included) including an input node (173/201); an output node (101/202); a filter (that of 301+302+401+402+403+404 and corresponding parts of figs 1 and 2) disposed along a signal path extending from the input node to the output node (as shown); and a strip line inductor (that of 303 and corresponding parts 112+122+132+142a of figs 1 and 2, as described in 0078) having at least a first portion (122) and a second portion (132) connected to the first portion (as shown), the first portion disposed in a first layer (as shown) and having a first winding pattern (that of 122), the second portion (132) extending in a second layer (as shown) and having a second winding pattern (that of 132).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 7, 9, 16-18, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GRAHAM P SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845