CTNF 19/033,867 CTNF 88147 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (lDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered by the Examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-4, 6 and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WANG et al. (US 20250020894 A1, hereinafter “ WANG ”) . Regarding claim 1 , WANG teaches an optical imaging system ( Fig. 4A ), comprising: a first lens ( Fig. 4A: first lens 410 ), a second lens ( Fig. 4A: second lens 420 ), a third lens ( Fig. 4A: third lens 430 ), a fourth lens ( Fig. 4A: fourth lens 440 ), and a fifth lens ( Fig. 4A: fifth lens 450 ) disposed in order from an object side ( as illustrated by Fig. 4A: the optical lens assembly includes, in order from an object side to an image side along an optical axis 490: the first lens 410, the second lens 420, the third lens 430, the fourth lens 440, the fifth lens 450 and an image plane 481 ), wherein a conditional expression TTL/(2*IMG HT)≤0.57 is satisfied, where TTL is a distance along an optical axis from an object-side surface of the first lens to an image plane, and IMG HT is half a diagonal length of the image plane ( [0097]-[0099]: Using tables 12-14, where TL [mm]=3.39 and IMH[mm]=2.93; so the TL/(2*IMH)≤ (3.39/(2*2.93)=0.57 satisfies the condition expression “TTL/(2*IMG HT)≤0.57” ). Regarding claim 2 , WANG teaches the optical imaging system of claim 1, in addition WANG discloses wherein a conditional expression -0.1<f1/f3<1.0 is satisfied, where f1 is a focal length of the first lens, and f3 is a focal length of the third lens ( [0097]-[0099]: Using tables 12-14, where first lens (f1)=2.33 and third lens (f3)= -15.59 so f1/f3 = -0.149 satisfies the condition expression - 0.1<f1/f3<1.0). Regarding claim 3 , WANG teaches the optical imaging system of claim 1, in addition WANG discloses wherein a conditional expression -0.6<f1/f2<0 is satisfied, where f1 is a focal length of the first lens, and f2 is a focal length of the second lens ( [0097]-[0099]: Using tables 12-14, where first lens (f1)=2.33 and second lens (f2)= -14.92; so f1/f2 = -0.156 satisfies the condition expression -0.6<f1/f2<0). Regarding claim 4 , WANG teaches the optical imaging system of claim 1, in addition WANG discloses wherein an object-side surface of the second lens is concave ( Fig. 4A, [0092]: the object-side surface 421 of the second lens 420 is concave). Regarding claim 6 , WANG teaches the optical imaging system of claim 1, in addition WANG discloses wherein a conditional expression 70°<FOV* (2*IMG HT)/f is satisfied, where FOV is a field of view of the optical imaging system, and f is a focal length of the optical imaging system ( [0097]-[0099]: Using tables 12-14, where FOV=87.57 ° and IMH (mm)= 2.93, f (mm)= 3.01; So FOV* (2*IMG HT)/f = 170.48° satisfies the condition expression “ 70°<FOV* (2*IMG HT)/f”). Regarding claim 8 , WANG teaches the optical imaging system of claim 1, in addition WANG discloses wherein an image-side surface of the third lens is convex ( Fig. 2A, [0093]: the image-side surface 432 of the third lens 430 is convex ). Regarding claim 9 , WANG teaches the optical imaging system of claim 1, in addition WANG discloses wherein a conditional expression Fno* {TTL/(2*IMG HT)}≤1.4 is satisfied ( [0097]-[0099]: Using tables 12-14, where Fno=2.47, TL [mm]=3.39, IMH (mm)= 2.93, and f (mm)= 3.00 ; so expression Fno* {TTL/(2*IMG HT)} = 1.4 satisfies the condition expression “ Fno* {TTL/(2*IMG HT)}≤1.4”). Regarding claim 10 , WANG teaches an optical imaging system ( Fig. 4A ), comprising: a first lens having positive refractive power ( [0091]: first lens 410 with positive refractive power ); a second lens having negative refractive power ( [0092]: second lens 420 with negative refractive power ); a third lens having refractive power ( [0093]: third lens 430 with negative refractive power ); a fourth lens having refractive power ( [0094]: fourth lens 940 with positive refractive power ); and a fifth lens having negative refractive power ( [0095]: fifth lens 450 with negative refractive power ), wherein the first lens to the fifth lens are disposed in order from an object side ( as illustrated by Fig. 4A: the optical lens assembly includes, in order from an object side to an image side along an optical axis 490: the first lens 410, the second lens 420, the third lens 430, the fourth lens 440, the fifth lens 450 and an image plane 481 ), wherein a conditional expression -0.1<f1/f3<1.0 is satisfied, and where f1 is a focal length of the first lens, and f3 is a focal length of the third lens ( [0097]-[0099]: Using tables 12-14, where first lens (f1)=2.33 and third lens (f3)= -15.59 so f1/f3 = -0.149 satisfies the condition expression - 0.1<f1/f3<1.0). Regarding claim 11 , WANG teaches the optical imaging system of claim 10, in addition WANG discloses wherein an image-side surface of the first lens is concave ( Fig. 4A, [0091]: the image-side surface 412 of the first lens 410 is concave ), and wherein a conditional expression D1/f<0.1 is satisfied, where D1 is a distance between an image-side surface of the first lens and an object-side surface of the second lens, and f is a focal length of the optical imaging system ( [0097]-[0099]: Using tables 12-14, where D1=0.039 and f= 3.01 mm; so D1/f = 0.013 satisfies the condition expression “D1/f<0.1”). Regarding claim 12 , WANG teaches the optical imaging system of claim 10, in addition WANG discloses wherein an object-side surface of the second lens is concave ( Fig. 4A, [0092]: the object-side surface 421 of the second lens 420 is concave ). Regarding claim 13 , WANG teaches the optical imaging system of claim 10, in addition WANG discloses wherein a conditional expression 80°≤FOV is satisfied, where FOV is a field of view of the optical imaging system ( [0097]-[0099]: Using tables 12-14, where FOV=87.57 °; so satisfies the condition expression “ 80°≤FOV”). Regarding claim 14 , WANG teaches the optical imaging system of claim 10, in addition WANG discloses wherein a conditional expression TTL/(2*IMG HT)≤0.57 is satisfied, where TTL is a distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to an image plane on an optical axis, and IMG HT is half a diagonal length of the image plane ( [0097]-[0099]: Using tables 12-14, where TL [mm]=3.39 and IMH[mm]=2.93; so the TL/(2*IMH)≤ (3.39/(2*2.93)=0.57 satisfies the condition expression “TTL/(2*IMG HT)≤0.57” ). Regarding claim 15 , WANG teaches the optical imaging system of claim 10, in addition WANG discloses wherein the third lens has negative refractive power and a concave object-side surface ( Fig. 4A, [0093]: the third lens 430 with negative refractive power and a concave object-side surface ). Regarding claim 16 , WANG teaches the optical imaging system of claim 10, in addition WANG discloses wherein a conditional expression 3<|f4/f| is satisfied, where f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens, and f is a focal length of the optical imaging system ( [0097]-[0099]: Using tables 12-14, where fourth lens (f4)=2.20 mm and f=3.01 mm; so , f4/f = 0.73 satisfies the condition expression “ 3<|f4/f|”) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by the Chinese Patent Publication No. 116047723 A to WANG El al. (employing the provided machine translation and hereafter “ WANG’723 ”) . Regarding claim 1 , WANG’723 teaches an optical imaging system ( Fig. 1 ), comprising: a first lens ( Fig. 1: first lens L1 ), a second lens ( Fig. 1: second lens L2 ), a third lens ( Fig. 1: third lens L3 ), a fourth lens ( Fig. 1: fourth lens L4 ), and a fifth lens ( Fig. 1: fifth lens L5 ) disposed in order from an object side ( as illustrated by Fig. 1, Pg. 8: optical lens assembly includes, in order from an object side to an image side along an optical axis O: the first lens L1, the second lens L2, the third lens L3, the fourth lens L4, the fifth lens L5 and an image plane 101 ), wherein a conditional expression TTL/(2*IMG HT)≤0.57 is satisfied, where TTL is a distance along an optical axis from an object-side surface of the first lens to an image plane, and IMG HT is half a diagonal length of the image plane ( Pg. 9: Using table 13, the optical lens 100 satisfy the following relational expression: 0.54 <TTL/Imgh <0.571; so the TL/(2*IMH)≤ (0.571)/2=0.28 satisfies the condition expression “TTL/(2*IMG HT)≤0.57” ). Regarding claim 5 , WANG’723 teaches the optical imaging system of claim 1, in addition WANG’723 discloses wherein a conditional expression 0<v1-v4<45 is satisfied, where v1 is an Abbe number of the first lens, and v4 is an Abbe number of the fourth lens ( Pg. 9: Using table 12, where v1=56.04 and v4= 19.24, v1-v4= 36.8 satisfying the condition expression “ 0<v1-v4<45” ). Regarding claim 7 , WANG’723 teaches the optical imaging system of claim 1, in addition WANG’723 discloses wherein an object-side surface of the fourth lens is convex ( Fig. 1, Pg. 8: fourth lens L4 has an object-side surface 41 being convex ). Contact 07-101 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ABDELAAZIZ TISSIRE whose telephone number is (571)270-7204 . The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 8 AM to 5 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.usp to. gov/interviewpractice . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ye Lin can be reached on 571-272-7372 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000 . /ABDELAAZIZ TISSIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/033,867 Page 2 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/033,867 Page 3 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/033,867 Page 4 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/033,867 Page 5 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/033,867 Page 6 Art Unit: 2638