DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “TILT SWITCH IN AN ELECTRONIC TIMEPIECE, METHOD FOR CONTROLLING TIMEPIECE, AND RECORDING MEDIUM”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8-9, 11, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yonekura (US 20130058197).
Regarding claim 1, Yonekura teaches (Figs. 4-5) an electronic timepiece (title), the timepiece comprising: a tilt switch (abstract: “tilt detector”) mounted in a predetermined position (tilt switch 60 mounted in 40); and at least one processor ([0021]: “CPU”) that changes an operation mode of the electronic timepiece, based on a duration for which there is no change in an output signal of the tilt switch ([0047]), from a normal mode (powered on communication unit) to a first power saving mode (powered off communication unit) in which power consumption is suppressed more than in the normal mode (a powered off unit consumes less power than a powered on unit).
Regarding claim 9, Yonekura teaches (Figs. 4-5) a method for controlling an electronic timepiece (title) that includes: at least one memory ([0021]: “ROM,” “RAM”); and at least one processor ([0021]: “CPU”) executing one or more instructions stored in the at least one memory (ROM/RAM are read by processors), wherein the electronic timepiece further includes a tilt switch (abstract: “tilt detector”) mounted in a predetermined position (60 mounted in 40), and the method comprises changing an operation mode of the electronic timepiece, based on a duration for which there is no change in an output signal of the tilt switch ([0047]), from a normal mode (powered on communication unit) to a first power saving mode (powered off communication unit) in which power consumption is suppressed more than in the normal mode. Something powered off consumes less power than the thing powered on.
Regarding claim 15, Yonekura teaches (Figs. 4-5) a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium ([0021]: “ROM”/”RAM”) that stores a program (memory in the ROM/RAM), the program causing a computer ([0021]: “CPU”) of an electronic timepiece (title) that includes a tilt switch (abstract) mounted in a predetermined position (60 mounted in 40) to change an operation mode of the electronic timepiece, based on a duration for which there is no change in an output signal of the tilt switch ({0047]), from a normal mode (powered on communication unit) to a first power saving mode (powered off communication unit) in which power consumption is suppressed more than in the normal mode. Something powered off consumes less power than the thing powered on.
Regarding claim 3, Yonekura teaches (Fig. 6) the electronic timepiece according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor determines whether to change the operation mode to the first power saving mode within a period between a predetermined determination start time (S5) and a predetermined determination end time (S7), and does not determine whether to change the operation mode to the first power saving mode outside of the period between the predetermined determination start time and the predetermined determination end time ([0035]). Paragraph [0035] and Fig. 6 explain that the tilt sensor must first be inactive for 60 minutes (step S5 corresponding to the start time), then the processor will check if the timepiece is accelerating (step S7), and based on the processor’s determinations, change the operation mode to the first power saving mode. If the processor determination is outside this period, e.g., in steps S1-S4 or S8, then the processor cannot change the operation mode.
Regarding claim 11, Yonekura teaches (Fig. 6) the method according to claim 9, further comprising determining whether to change the operation mode to the first power saving mode within a period between a predetermined determination start time (S5) and a predetermined determination end time (S7), and not determining whether to change the operation mode to the first power saving mode outside of the period between the predetermined determination start time and the predetermined determination end time ([0035]). Paragraph [0035] and Fig. 6 explain that the tilt sensor must first be inactive for 60 minutes (step S5 corresponding to the start time), then the processor will check if the timepiece is accelerating (step S7), and based on the processor’s determinations, change the operation mode to the first power saving mode. If the processor determination is outside this period, e.g., in steps S1-S4 or S8, then the processor cannot change the operation mode.
Regarding claim 17, Yonekura teaches (Fig. 6) the recording medium according to claim 15, wherein the program causes the computer to determine whether to change the operation mode to the first power saving mode within a period between a predetermined determination start time (S5) and a predetermined determination end time (S7), and not to determine whether to change the operation mode to the first power saving mode outside of the period between the predetermined determination start time and the predetermined determination end time ([0035]). Paragraph [0035] and Fig. 6 explain that the tilt sensor must first be inactive for 60 minutes (step S5 corresponding to the start time), then the processor will check if the timepiece is accelerating (step S7), and based on the processor’s determinations, change the operation mode to the first power saving mode. If the processor determination is outside this period, e.g., in steps S1-S4 or S8, then the processor cannot change the operation mode.
Regarding claim 8, Yonekura teaches (Fig. 1) the electronic timepiece according to claim 1, further comprising a primary battery (64a) as a sole power source (64).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonekura.
Regarding claim 7, Yonekura discloses (Fig. 6) the electronic timepiece according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor changes the operating mode of the electronic timepiece to the first power saving mode based on the duration (S5) and on an acceleration sensor’s detected acceleration (S7).
Yonekura does not disclose the processor changing the operating mode based only on the duration.
Yonekura discloses that detecting acceleration is an additional step only for accounting for niche scenarios such as a wearer sitting in a train or crossing their arms ([0007]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yonekura’s timepiece by omitting the acceleration sensor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this omission to save energy by not needing to power the acceleration sensor and to reduce components to simplify manufacture and lower cost. Additionally, the courts have ruled that omission of an element and its function is obvious if the element’s function is not desired or required. See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 144 USPQ 347 (CCPA 1965) and MPEP 2144.04.II.A.
Claims 4, 6, 12, 14, 18, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonekura in view of Windows (PowerModes.pdf).
Regarding claim 4, Yonekura discloses the electronic timepiece according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor changes the operation mode, based on a duration for which the tilt switch remains in either an ON state or an OFF state in the first power saving mode ([0047]).
Yonekura does not show changing from the first power saving mode to a second power saving mode in which the power consumption is suppressed more than in the first power saving mode based on the duration for which the tilt switch remains in an ON or OFF state in the first power saving mode.
Windows teaches changing operation mode to a first power saving mode (screen turn off) when a first duration has passed (“10 minutes”), and then changing the first power saving mode to a second power saving mode (“sleep”) when a second duration of inactivity has passed (“30 minutes”) in which power consumption is suppressed more than in the first power saving mode.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Windows’s first power saving mode with Yonekura’s timepiece so that Yonekura is switched to a first power saving mode (Windows’s screen turn off), and then to a second power saving mode (Yonekura, [0046]) in which power is suppressed more, as suggested by Windows. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination so that Yonekura’s timepiece can more efficiently save power while also speeding up waking up time if a user activates their watch in the first power saving mode.
Regarding claim 12, Yonekura discloses the method according to claim 9, further comprising changing the operation mode, based on a duration for which the tilt switch remains in either an ON state or an OFF state in the first power saving mode ([0047]).
Yonekura does not show changing from the first power saving mode to a second power saving mode in which the power consumption is suppressed more than in the first power saving mode based on the duration for which the tilt switch remains in an ON or OFF state in the first power saving mode.
Windows teaches changing operation mode to a first power saving mode (screen turn off) when a first duration has passed (“10 minutes”), and then changing the first power saving mode to a second power saving mode (“sleep”) when a second duration of inactivity has passed (“30 minutes”) in which power consumption is suppressed more than in the first power saving mode.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Windows’s first power saving mode change with Yonekura’s method so that Yonekura is switched to a first power saving mode (Windows’s screen turn off), and then to a second power saving mode (Yonekura, [0046]) in which power is suppressed more, as suggested by Windows. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination so that Yonekura’s timepiece can more efficiently save power while also speeding up waking up time if a user activates their watch in the first power saving mode.
Regarding claim 18, Yonekura discloses the recording medium according to claim 15, wherein the program causes the computer to change the operation mode, based on a duration for which the tilt switch remains in either an ON state or an OFF state in the first power saving mode ([0047]).
Yonekura does not show changing from the first power saving mode to a second power saving mode in which the power consumption is suppressed more than in the first power saving mode based on the duration for which the tilt switch remains in an ON or OFF state in the first power saving mode.
Windows teaches changing operation mode to a first power saving mode (screen turn off) when a first duration has passed (“10 minutes”), and then changing the first power saving mode to a second power saving mode (“sleep”) when a second duration of inactivity has passed (“30 minutes”) in which power consumption is suppressed more than in the first power saving mode.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Windows’s first power saving mode change program with Yonekura’s recording medium so that Yonekura is switched to a first power saving mode (Windows’s screen turn off), and then to a second power saving mode (Yonekura, [0046]) in which power is suppressed more, as suggested by Windows. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination so that Yonekura’s timepiece can more efficiently save power while also speeding up waking up time if a user activates their watch in the first power saving mode.
Regarding claim 6, Yonekura in view of Windows discloses the electronic timepiece according to claim 4, wherein the at least one processor communicates data with an external device via a communicator ([0004]: “Bluetooth”) at a predetermined time interval in the first power saving mode (only the screen/display is turned off in the first power saving mode), and does not communicate the data with the external device via the communicator in the second power saving mode. In the second power saving mode, communication is turned off (S10 in Fig. 6 of Yonekura).
Regarding claim 14, Yonekura in view of Windows discloses the method according to claim 12, further comprising communicating data with an external device via a communicator ([0004]: “Bluetooth”) at a predetermined time interval in the first power saving mode (only the screen/display is turned off in the first power saving mode), and not communicating the data with the external device via the communicator in the second power saving mode. In the second power saving mode, communication is turned off (S10 in Fig. 6 of Yonekura).
Regarding claim 20, Yonekura in view of Windows discloses the recording medium according to claim 18, wherein the program causes the computer to communicate data with an external device via a communicator ([0004]: “Bluetooth”) at a predetermined time interval in the first power saving mode (only the screen/display is turned off in the first power saving mode), and not to communicate the data with the external device via the communicator in the second power saving mode. In the second power saving mode, communication is turned off (S10 in Fig. 6 of Yonekura).
Claims 2, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonekuro in view of Chou (US 20230028369).
Regarding claim 2, Yonekura discloses (Figs. 4-5) the electronic timepiece according to claim 1, wherein the tilt switch includes a body (60) with electrical conductivity ([0021]: “a circuit 61 for the tilt sensor 60”), the body has one end (top of 60) and another end (bottom of 60) opposite to the one end, and the predetermined position of the tilt switch is such that a direction from the other end to the one end and a direction from 6 o'clock to 12 o'clock of the electronic timepiece are the same or form an acute angle. Fig. 5 shows that the tilt switch extends longitudinally along the x-axis and Fig. 4 shows that the x-axis extends from 6 o’clock to 12 o’clock of the timepiece, so the direction from the switch’s other end to the one end and the direction from the 6 o’clock to 12 o’clock positions are the same.
Yonekura does not show that the tilt switch includes a passage in which the body moves, the passage having one end and another end opposite to the one end, the one end being provided with a contact configured to conduct electricity when brought into contact with the body.
Chou teaches (Figs. 4-5) a tilt switch including a passage (21) in which a body (5) moves, the passage having one end (4) and another end (6) opposite to the one end, the one end being provided with a contact (41) configured to contact electricity when brought into contact with the body (5). See [0027]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted Chou’s tilt switch for Yonekura’s tilt switch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this substitution to achieve the predictable result of creating a functioning tilt switch sensitive to tilt angles ([0004] of Chou).
Regarding claim 10, Yonekura discloses (Figs. 4-5) the method according to claim 9, wherein the tilt switch includes a body (60) with electrical conductivity ([0021]), the body has one end (top of 60) and another end (bottom of 60) opposite to the one end, and the predetermined position of the tilt switch is such that a direction from the other end to the one end and a direction from 6 o'clock to 12 o'clock of the electronic timepiece are the same or form an acute angle. Fig. 5 shows that the tilt switch extends longitudinally along the x-axis and Fig. 4 shows that the x-axis extends from 6 o’clock to 12 o’clock of the timepiece, so the direction from the switch’s other end to the one end and the direction from the 6 o’clock to 12 o’clock positions are the same.
Yonekura does not show that the tilt switch includes a passage in which the body moves, the passage having one end and another end opposite to the one end, the one end being provided with a contact configured to conduct electricity when brought into contact with the body.
Chou teaches (Figs. 4-5) a tilt switch including a passage (21) in which a body (5) moves, the passage having one end (4) and another end (6) opposite to the one end, the one end being provided with a contact (41) configured to contact electricity when brought into contact with the body (5). See [0027]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted Chou’s tilt switch for Yonekura’s tilt switch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this substitution to achieve the predictable result of creating a functioning tilt switch sensitive to tilt angles ([0004] of Chou).
Regarding claim 16, Yonekura discloses (Figs. 4-5) the recording medium according to claim 15, wherein the tilt switch includes a body with electrical conductivity ([0021]), the body has one end (top of 60) and another end (bottom of 60) opposite to the one end, and the predetermined position of the tilt switch is such that a direction from the other end to the one end and a direction from 6 o'clock to 12 o'clock of the electronic timepiece are the same or form an acute angle. Fig. 5 shows that the tilt switch extends longitudinally along the x-axis and Fig. 4 shows that the x-axis extends from 6 o’clock to 12 o’clock of the timepiece, so the direction from the switch’s other end to the one end and the direction from the 6 o’clock to 12 o’clock positions are the same.
Yonekura does not show that the tilt switch includes a passage in which the body moves, the passage having one end and another end opposite to the one end, the one end being provided with a contact configured to conduct electricity when brought into contact with the body.
Chou teaches (Figs. 4-5) a tilt switch including a passage (21) in which a body (5) moves, the passage having one end (4) and another end (6) opposite to the one end, the one end being provided with a contact (41) configured to contact electricity when brought into contact with the body (5). See [0027]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted Chou’s tilt switch for Yonekura’s tilt switch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this substitution to achieve the predictable result of creating a functioning tilt switch sensitive to tilt angles ([0004] of Chou).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 13, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claims 5, 13, and 19, Pryor et al. (US 20200327973) shows a light of a small device flashing/blinking to reduce power consumption ([0071]), but does not teach a digital display displaying a first mark in a first power saving mode and a second mark in a second power saving mode.
Laflamme et al. (US 20170071821) shows a display of a device being deactivated or displaying a mark to save power ([0106]: “screen-saver”) in a first power saving mode, but does not show the display displaying a second mark in a second power saving mode, or the first and second power saving modes being activated based on durations that a tilt switch is in an ON or OFF state.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kaneko et al. (US 20100275047) discloses ([0040]) an apparatus and power-saving method wherein a device is switched to a first power-saving mode (“sleep”) when a first duration has passed, and then to a second power-saving mode (“hibernate”) when a second duration has passed. Kaneko also discloses turning off communication functions in a power-saving mode ([0072]).
/MATTHEW DANIEL HWANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2831