DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a swing mechanism” in claims 14 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2 and 4-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 1, 11 and 16, it is recited that the first jetting direction periodically varies. Applicant’s response cites [0052] and [0056] for support however it does not appear to be present. The term “periodically” does not appear in the specification (i.e. only that it varies) nor is a timing chart shown.
Regarding Claims 14 and 15, since the invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) requires “a swing mechanism” to be defined by the specification, the disclosure must sufficiently describe and make clear what structurally comprises the “a swing mechanism”. Neither the drawings nor the specification clearly show or describe any structure which constitutes the claimed “a swing mechanism”. It is noted that merely reference number 30D is disclosed as corresponding to the “a swing mechanism”. As such, at least claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for a lack of written description for the “a swing mechanism”.
Claims 2, 4-10, 12 and 13 are rejected by dependency.
Claims 1, 2 and 4-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1, 11 and 16, it is recited that the first jetting direction periodically varies. Applicant’s response cites [0052] and [0056] for support however it does not appear to be present. The term “periodically” does not appear in the specification (i.e. only that it varies) nor is a timing chart shown. Therefore, the metes and bounds are unclear.
Regarding Claims 14 and 15, since the invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) requires “a swing mechanism” to be defined by the specification, the disclosure must sufficiently describe and make clear what structurally comprises the “a swing mechanism”. Neither the drawings nor the specification clearly show or describe any structure which constitutes the claimed “a swing mechanism”. It is noted that merely reference number 30D is disclosed as corresponding to the “a swing mechanism”. As such, at least claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to provide clear support for and establishing the necessary metes and bounds for determining the scope of the claimed “a swing mechanism”.
Claims 2, 4-10, 12 and 13 are rejected by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshida et al. (US Patent No. 5,478,066).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoshida et al. discloses
a loading unit (213, "The sheet supply apparatus of the present invention is mounted on the deck 213") configured to be loaded with a sheet stack including sheets;
a feed unit (comprising 12, 14-18) configured to come into contact with a surface of the uppermost sheet of the sheet stack and feed the sheet in a feed direction (i.e. right to left in Fig. 10); and
at least one first separation mechanism (comprising 19-21) configured to jet out air to a plurality of sheets including the uppermost sheet of the sheet stack to separate the plurality of sheets in a height direction (i.e. up/down direction in Fig. 10),
wherein the first separation mechanism has
a first jetting unit (20) configured to jet out air to a first region (i.e. in the vicinity of the output end of 20, across the positions shown in Fig. 10 and Fig. 13) including a downstream end in the feed direction of the uppermost sheet of the sheet stack (see Fig. 10), and
a second jetting unit (19) configured to jet out air to a second region (i.e. in the vicinity of the output end of 19, below that of 20) of the sheet stack, the second region being below the first region in the height direction (Fig. 10),
wherein the first jetting unit jets out air such that a first jetting direction directed to the first region periodically varies in the height direction (i.e. see the height difference in Fig. 10 vs Fig. 13, wherein ‘periodically’ is not defined and may occur during a job or between jobs and may even be performed manually using the structure of Yoshida. Also see the 112 rejection above), and
wherein the second jetting unit jets out air in a second jetting direction directed to the second region and set independently of the first jetting direction (i.e. does not change direction while the first jetting unit does, Fig. 10, Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 2, Yoshida et al. discloses
the second jetting unit fixes the second jetting direction to a constant direction and jets out air (i.e. 19 is fixed, across Fig. 10 and Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 4, Yoshida et al. discloses
a plurality of first separation mechanisms (i.e. shown as the two innermost nozzles 20 in Fig. 11) are arranged at a plurality of positions along a width direction orthogonal to the feed direction of the sheets fed by the feed unit.
Regarding Claim 5, Yoshida et al. discloses
a pair of the first separation mechanisms (i.e. shown as the two innermost nozzles 20 in Fig. 11) are arranged at positions symmetrical with respect to the center position in the width direction of the sheet stack.
Regarding Claim 6, Yoshida et al. discloses
a second separation mechanism (i.e. shown as the two outermost nozzles 20 in Fig. 11) configured to jet out air to the plurality of sheets including the uppermost sheet of the sheet stack to separate the plurality of sheets in the height direction,
wherein the second separation mechanism is arranged at a more distant position from the center position than the first separation mechanism (see Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 7, Yoshida et al. discloses
the first separation mechanism has
an air supply path (i.e. between 21 and 22) supplied with air,
a partition plate (22) that partitions air supplied from the air supply path into the first jetting unit and the second jetting unit at a predetermined position (i.e. at position 'a' or 'b') in the height direction, and
a deflection plate (25) that causes a flowing direction of air guided to the first jetting unit to vary in the height direction (lines 55-57 of Column 12, Fig. 10, Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 8, Yoshida et al. discloses
the feed unit has
a driving roller (18, lines 5-7 of Column 8),
a driven roller (15-17, lines 5-7 of Column 8),
a feed belt (14) stretched around the driving roller and the driven roller, suction holes (14A) being formed in the feed belt, and
a suction unit (12) configured to suck air through the suction holes formed in the feed belt passing by a position facing the sheet stack (lines 28-31 of Column 6).
Regarding Claim 9, Yoshida et al. discloses
when the sheets are viewed in planar view, the first jetting unit jets out air in a direction (i.e. left to right in Fig. 10) to an edge arranged at a downstream end in the feed direction of the sheets (i.e. to the left edge of the sheet in Fig. 10), the direction being opposite to the feed direction.
Regarding Claim 14, Yoshida et al. discloses
a deflection plate (22) that causes a flowing direction of air guided to the first jetting unit to vary in the height direction; and
a swing mechanism (comprising 25, 26, 40) that swings the deflection plate,
wherein the first jetting unit jets out air such that the first jetting direction periodically varies in the height direction by the swing mechanism swinging the deflection plate at a predetermined swing cycle (i.e. see the height difference in Fig. 10 vs Fig. 13, wherein ‘periodically’ and “predetermined” are not defined and may occur during a job or between jobs). It is also noted that since the swing mechanism is not defined or disclosed in any particular embodiment it may be taken as per Yoshida et al. and even operated manually. Also see the 112 rejections above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (US Patent No. 5,478,066) in view of Naito (JP 59-149250).
Regarding Claim 10, Yoshida et al. does not disclose jetting out air in a direction as claimed.
Naito discloses when the sheets are viewed in planar view, the first jetting unit (5) jets out air in a direction to an edge arranged parallel to the feed direction of the sheets (i.e. the left and right nozzles 5 jet out air in the widthwise direction, across 2, see Fig. 6), the direction intersecting the feed direction (i.e. from 2 to 3), for the purpose of assisting in separation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Yoshida et al. by including the direction as disclosed by Naito, for the purpose of assisting in separation.
Claim(s) 11, 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (US Patent No. 5,478,066).
Regarding Claim 11, Yoshida et al. discloses
a loading unit (213, "The sheet supply apparatus of the present invention is mounted on the deck 213") configured to be loaded with a sheet stack including sheets,
a feed unit (comprising 12, 14-18) configured to come into contact with a surface of the uppermost sheet of the sheet stack and feed the sheet in a feed direction (i.e. right to left in Fig. 10), and
at least one first separation mechanism (comprising 19-21) configured to jet out air to a plurality of sheets including the uppermost sheet of the sheet stack to separate the plurality of sheets in a height direction (i.e. up/down direction in Fig. 10), and
wherein the first separation mechanism has
a first jetting unit (20) configured to jet out air to a first region (i.e. in the vicinity of the output end of 20, across the positions shown in Fig. 10 and Fig. 13) including a downstream end in the feed direction of the uppermost sheet of the sheet stack (see Fig. 10), and
a second jetting unit (19) configured to jet out air to a second region (i.e. in the vicinity of the output end of 19, below that of 20) of the sheet stack, the second region being below the first region in the height direction (Fig. 10),
the sheet feed method comprising:
a first jetting step of jetting out air such that a first jetting direction directed from the first jetting unit to the first region periodically varies in the height direction (i.e. see the height difference in Fig. 10 vs Fig. 13, wherein ‘periodically’ is not defined and may occur during a job or between jobs and may even be performed manually using the structure of Yoshida. Also see the 112 rejection above);
a second jetting step of jetting out air in a second jetting direction directed from the second jetting unit to the second region and set independently of the first jetting direction (i.e. does not change direction while the first jetting unit does, Fig. 10, Fig. 13); and
It is noted that neither the claims nor the specification or drawings disclose an order/sequence to the steps recited (see MPEP 2111.01 II).
Yoshida et al. discloses feeding (via 12, 14-18) in the Fig. 10/13 embodiment but does not explicitly disclose feeding in a state where air is jetted in both steps to both regions.
Yoshida et al. discloses a twentieth embodiment having a feeding step of feeding the sheet in the feed direction by the feed unit in a state where air is jetted to the first region in the first jetting step and air is jetted to the second region in the second jetting step (i.e. in Fig. 34, it can be seen that nozzle 19 blows at Q1 while belt 14 is driven and after valve 22 is moved to position 'b', which also allows air to flow from 20), for the purpose of separating and feeding sheets.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Yoshida et al. (Fig. 10/13 embodiment) by including the feeding step as disclosed by Yoshida et al. (twentieth embodiment), for the purpose of separating and feeding sheets.
Regarding Claim 12, Yoshida et al. discloses
the second jetting step includes fixing the second jetting direction to a constant direction and jetting out air (i.e. 19 is fixed, across Fig. 10 and Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 15, Yoshida et al. discloses
causing a flowing direction of air guided to the first jetting unit to vary in the height direction by a deflection plate (22); and
swinging the deflection plate by a swing mechanism (comprising 25, 26, 40) at a predetermined swing cycle,
such that the first jetting direction periodically varies in the height direction (i.e. see the height difference in Fig. 10 vs Fig. 13, wherein ‘periodically’ and “predetermined” are not defined and may occur during a job or between jobs). It is also noted that since the swing mechanism is not defined or disclosed in any particular embodiment it may be taken as per Yoshida et al. and even operated manually. Also see the 112 rejections above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: None of the prior art of record shows a second jetting unit that jets out air whose jetting direction oscillates in the height direction, in combination with the remaining elements (Claim 3).
Claim 13 and 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s argument that “Yoshida's mechanism (arm 26, stopper 28) adjusts the angle of the deflection plate 25 to accommodate different paper types; but once set, the angle remains fixed during sheet feeding…The difference between Yoshida's FIG. 10 and FIG. 13 represents two different static settings, not a continuous or periodic variation during operation.”, it is noted that “periodically” is not defined (i.e. or appear to be disclosed as per the 112 rejections above) and that the claims do not require any particular timing, frequency or (active) structure that causes the variation.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/19/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PRASAD V GOKHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 June 2, 2026