DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 12-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2011/0143222 to Oelerich et al. (hereinafter, “Oelerich”).
Regarding claim 1, Oelerich discloses a pressure vessel assembly (system 50, Fig. 2) comprising: a pressure vessel (pressure vessel 52, Fig. 2) comprising: a cylinder (annotated Fig. 2 below), a first side dome (annotated Fig. 2) that is disposed at a first end of the cylinder (left end of cylinder in Fig. 2) and defines a first dome shape (see Fig. 2), and a second side dome (annotated Fig. 2) that is disposed at a second end of the cylinder (right end of cylinder in Fig. 2) and defines a second dome shape (see Fig. 2); a first protector (cap 12 on left, Fig. 2) that surrounds an outer surface of the first side dome (annotated Fig. 2); a second protector (cap 12 on right, Fig. 2) that surrounds an outer surface of the second side dome (annotated Fig. 2), the pressure vessel (pressure vessel 52) being disposed between the first protector and the second protector (see Fig. 2); and a connector (band 36 and fastening element 66, Fig. 2) that connects the first protector and the second protector to each other (see Fig. 2), wherein the connector (band 36 and fastening element 66) is stretchable (band 36 is formed from sheet metal, which is capable of stretching; see also Applicant’s specification at paras. [0077]-[0078], noting that the stretchable material may include fiberglass, resin, or a metallic material) between the first protector (cap 12 on left) and the second protector (cap 12 on right) in response to contraction or expansion of the pressure vessel (band 36 is capable of stretching in response to expansion/contraction of the pressure vessel).
Oelerich Annotated Figure 2
Regarding claim 2, Oelerich further discloses a plurality of first connection portions (annotated Fig. 3 below) that are disposed at the first protector (cap 18’, Fig. 3; the cap 18’ of Fig. 3 is used with the same assembly arrangement shown in Fig. 2, see para. [0027]) and connected to a first end of the connector (annotated Fig. 3); and a plurality of second connection portions (annotated Fig. 3, Note – the second protector is not separately shown, but has the same arrangement as the first protector, see para. [0023]) that are disposed at the second protector (cap 18’) and connected to a second end of the connector (annotated Fig. 3).
Oelerich Annotated Figure 3
Regarding claim 3, Oelerich further discloses the plurality of first connection portions (annotated Fig. 3) are made of a material (cap 12’ is formed from steel, other metals, or composite, para. [0016]) having a higher rigidity than a material of the first protector (resilient mount 80 is a material of the first protector and formed from foam or rubber, Fig. 3; para. [0027]), and wherein the plurality of second connection portions (cap 12’ is formed from steel, other metals, or composite, para. [0016]) are made of a material having a higher rigidity than a material of the second protector (resilient mount 80 is a material of the first protector and formed from foam or rubber, Fig. 3; para. [0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Oelerich further discloses the connector (band 36 and fastening element 66) comprises a connection wire (fastening element 66, Fig. 2, para. [0024]) having a first end (left side of fastening element 66, Fig. 2) connected to the first protector (see Fig. 2) and a second end (right side of fastening element 66, Fig. 2) connected to the second protector (Note, Applicant’s specification explains that “wire” is not limited by size or material, see para. [0076]).
Regarding claim 6, Oelerich further discloses the connector (band 36 and fastening element 66) comprises a plurality of connection wires (fastening element 66, Fig. 2, para. [0024]) that connect the first protector (left cap 12, Fig. 2) to the second protector (right cap 12, Fig. 2) and are spaced apart from one another in a circumferential direction of the cylinder (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Oelerich further discloses the plurality of connection wires (fastening element 66) extend from the first protector to the second protector along an axial direction of the cylinder (fastening elements 66 extend between the first and second protectors in an axial direction, see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Oelerich further discloses the connector (band 36 and fastening element 66) is in contact with an outer circumferential surface of the cylinder (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Oelerich further discloses the pressure vessel comprises: a liner (para. [0020]) that defines a storage space therein (para. [0020]); and a carbon fiber layer (para. [0020]) that surrounds an outer surface of the liner (para. [0020]), the carbon fiber layer having an outer surface that defines at least a portion of the cylinder, the first side dome, or the second side dome (para. [0020]), wherein the first protector (cap 12) surrounds a first portion of the outer surface of the carbon fiber layer defining the first side dome (para. [0020]; Fig. 2), and wherein the second protector (cap 12) surrounds a second portion of the outer surface of the carbon fiber layer defining the second side dome (para. [0020]; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Oelerich discloses a pressure vessel protector (system 10, Fig. 2) for a pressure vessel (pressure vessel 52, Fig. 2), the pressure vessel (pressure vessel 52) including a cylinder (annotated Fig. 2 above), a first side dome (annotated Fig. 2) that is disposed at a first end of the cylinder (left end of cylinder in Fig. 2) and defines a first dome shape (see Fig. 2), and a second side dome (annotated Fig. 2) that is disposed at a second end of the cylinder (right end of cylinder in Fig. 2) and defines a second dome shape (annotated Fig. 2), the pressure vessel protector (system 10) comprising: a first protector (cap 12 on left, Fig. 2) configured to surround an outer surface of the first side dome (annotated Fig. 2); a second protector (cap 12 on right, Fig. 2) configured to surround an outer surface of the second side dome (annotated Fig. 2); and a connector (band 36 and fastening element 66, Fig. 2) configured to connect the first protector and the second protector to each other such that the pressure vessel is disposed between the first protector and the second protector (see Fig. 2); wherein the connector (band 36 and fastening element 66) is stretchable (band 36 is formed from sheet metal, which is capable of stretching; see also Applicant’s specification at paras. [0077]-[0078], noting that the stretchable material may include fiberglass, resin, or a metallic material) between the first protector (cap 12 on left) and the second protector (cap 12 on right) in response to contraction or expansion of the pressure vessel (band 36 is capable of stretching in response to expansion/contraction of the pressure vessel).
Regarding claim 15, Oelerich further discloses a plurality of first connection portions (annotated Fig. 3 below) that are disposed at the first protector (cap 18’, Fig. 3; the cap 18’ of Fig. 3 is used with the same assembly arrangement shown in Fig. 2, see para. [0027]) and connected to a first end of the connector (annotated Fig. 3); and a plurality of second connection portions (annotated Fig. 3, Note – the second protector is not separately shown, but has the same arrangement as the first protector, see para. [0023]) that are disposed at the second protector (cap 18’) and connected to a second end of the connector (annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Oelerich further discloses the connector (band 36 and fastening element 66) comprises a connection wire (fastening element 66, Fig. 2, para. [0024]) having a first end (left side of fastening element 66, Fig. 2) connected to the first protector (see Fig. 2) and a second end (right side of fastening element 66, Fig. 2) connected to the second protector (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Oelerich further discloses the connector (band 36 and fastening element 66) comprises a plurality of connection wires (fastening element 66, Fig. 2, para. [0024]) that connect the first protector (left cap 12, Fig. 2) to the second protector (right cap 12, Fig. 2) and are spaced apart from one another in a circumferential direction of the cylinder (see Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oelerich in view of U.S. Pub. 2017/0254477 to Schimenti et al. (hereinafter, “Schimenti”).
Regarding claims 5 and 17 (similar limitations, different dependency), Oelerich further discloses the connector (band 36 and fastening element 66, Fig. 2) comprises a connection wire (element 66) that connects the first protector to the second protector (see Fig. 2).
Oelerich does not expressly disclose the connection wire defining a continuous zigzag pattern that alternately extends (i) from a portion of the first protector to a portion of the second protector and (ii) from the portion of the second protector to another portion of the first protector.
Schimenti teaches a pressure vessel assembly having a pressure vessel with a cylinder, and first and second side domes (see Fig. 5). Schimenti teaches a first and second protector (protective cap 40, Fig. 5) surrounds an outer surface of each side dome (see Fig. 5), and a connector (filament bands 44, Fig. 5) that connect the first and second protectors to each other (see Fig. 5). Schimenti teaches that the connector includes a connection wire (bands 44 formed from filaments, see e.g., para. [0080]) that defines a continuous zigzag pattern that alternately extends from a portion of the first protector to a portion of the second protector and from the portion of the second protector to another portion of the first protector (see Fig. 5; para. [0071]). Schimenti teaches that the wire (bands 44) may be attached in other patterns to secure the protectors to the pressure vessel (para. [0072]). Schimenti teaches that the zigzag/helical arrangement permits the protectors to be secured to the side domes while requiring less wire (para. [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the assembly of Oelerich to have the connection wire define a zigzag pattern as taught by Schimenti for the purpose of securing the protectors to one another while using less wire, as recognized by Schimenti (see e.g., para. [0072]), and because it has been held that changes in shape (e.g., parallel wires to zigzag wires) are an obvious matter of design choice (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)). Here, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed arrangement.
Regarding claim 9, Oelerich does not expressly disclose the connector comprises at least one of fiberglass or resin.
Schimenti teaches a pressure vessel assembly having a pressure vessel with a cylinder, and first and second side domes (see Fig. 5). Schimenti teaches a first and second protector (protective cap 40, Fig. 5) surrounds an outer surface of each side dome (see Fig. 5), and a connector (filament bands 44, Fig. 5) that connect the first and second protectors to each other (see Fig. 5). Schimenti teaches that the connector includes a connection wire (bands 44 formed from filaments, see e.g., para. [0080]). Schimenti teaches that the connector comprises fiberglass or resin (paras. [0070]-[0071]). Schimenti further teaches that this connector arrangement provides a more secure means for securing the protectors on the ends of the vessel (para. [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the assembly of Oelerich to form the connector to include fiberglass or resin as taught by Schimenti for the purpose of providing a secure means for securing the protectors, and because Schimenti teaches that fiberglass and resin are suitable materials for a connector extending between first and second protectors on a pressure vessel, and the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Note: Applicant’s specification lists fiberglass and resin as materials for the connection wire that are capable of being “stretched” (paras. [0077]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 11, Oelerich does not expressly disclose the connection wire disposed to be inclined with respect to a longitudinal axis of the cylinder.
Schimenti teaches a pressure vessel assembly having a pressure vessel with a cylinder, and first and second side domes (see Fig. 5). Schimenti teaches a first and second protector (protective cap 40, Fig. 5) surrounds an outer surface of each side dome (see Fig. 5), and a connector (filament bands 44, Fig. 5) that connect the first and second protectors to each other (see Fig. 5). Schimenti teaches that the connector includes a connection wire (bands 44 formed from filaments, see e.g., para. [0080]) that is inclined with respect to a longitudinal axis of the cylinder (see Fig. 5; para. [0071]). Schimenti teaches that the wire (bands 44) may be attached in other patterns to secure the protectors to the pressure vessel (para. [0072]). Schimenti teaches that having an inclined or zigzag arrangement permits the protectors to be secured to the side domes while requiring less wire (para. [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the assembly of Oelerich to have the connection wire be inclined as taught by Schimenti for the purpose of securing the protectors to one another while using less wire, as recognized by Schimenti (see e.g., para. [0072]), and because it has been held that changes in shape (e.g., parallel wires to inclined wires) are an obvious matter of design choice (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)). Here, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed arrangement.
Claims 8, 10, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oelerich in view of U.S. Pat. 8,297,468 to DeLay (hereinafter, “DeLay”).
Regarding claim 8, Oelerich further discloses the first and second protectors may be formed from steel, other metals, or a composite material (para. [0015]).
Oelerich does not expressly disclose the first protector comprises: a first reinforcing sheet that surrounds the outer surface of the first side dome; and a first impregnation layer that comprises a first impregnant disposed in the first reinforcing sheet.
DeLay teaches a pressure vessel assembly having a first reinforcing sheet that is formed from polyurethane foam (insulating layer 20, col. 2, ll. 26-32; col. 3, ll. 34-41). DeLay teaches a first impregnation layer that is disposed in the first reinforcing sheet that is formed from polyurea resin (coating layer 22; ll. 26-32; col. 3, ll. 34-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly of Oelerich to form the first protector of a reinforcing sheet comprising polyurethane foam that surrounds the outer surface of the first side dome and a first impregnation layer comprising polyurea resin because DeLay teaches polyurethane foam and polyurea resin are a suitable materials for a pressure vessel assembly (DeLay at col. 2, ll. 26-32; col. 3, ll. 34-41) and the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 10, Oelerich further discloses the first and second protectors may be formed from steel, other metals, or a composite material (para. [0015]).
Oelerich does not expressly disclose the second protector comprises: a second reinforcing sheet that surrounds the outer surface of the second side dome; and a second impregnation layer that comprises a second impregnant disposed in the second reinforcing sheet.
DeLay teaches a pressure vessel assembly having a first reinforcing sheet that is formed from polyurethane foam (insulating layer 20, col. 2, ll. 26-32; col. 3, ll. 34-41). DeLay teaches a first impregnation layer that is disposed in the first reinforcing sheet that is formed from polyurea resin (coating layer 22; ll. 26-32; col. 3, ll. 34-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly of Oelerich to form the second protector of a reinforcing sheet comprising polyurethane foam that surrounds the outer surface of the first side dome and a first impregnation layer comprising polyurea resin because DeLay teaches polyurethane foam and polyurea resin are a suitable materials for a pressure vessel assembly (DeLay at col. 2, ll. 26-32; col. 3, ll. 34-41) and the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 19, Oelerich further discloses the first and second protectors may be formed from steel, other metals, or a composite material (para. [0015]).
Oelerich does not expressly disclose the first protector comprises: a first reinforcing sheet configured to surround the outer surface of the first side dome; and a first impregnation layer that comprises a first impregnant disposed in the first reinforcing sheet, and wherein the second protector comprises: a second reinforcing sheet configured to surround the outer surface of the second side dome, and a second impregnation layer comprises a second impregnant disposed in the second reinforcing sheet.
DeLay teaches a pressure vessel assembly having a first reinforcing sheet that is formed from polyurethane foam (insulating layer 20, col. 2, ll. 26-32; col. 3, ll. 34-41). DeLay teaches a first impregnation layer that is disposed in the first reinforcing sheet that is formed from polyurea resin (coating layer 22; ll. 26-32; col. 3, ll. 34-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly of Oelerich to form the first and second protector of a reinforcing sheet comprising polyurethane foam that surrounds the outer surface of the first side dome and a first impregnation layer comprising polyurea resin because DeLay teaches polyurethane foam and polyurea resin are a suitable materials for a pressure vessel assembly (DeLay at col. 2, ll. 26-32; col. 3, ll. 34-41) and the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 20, Oelerich as modified by DeLay already includes each of the first reinforcing sheet and the second reinforcing sheet comprises at least one of woven fiberglass fabric or polyurethane foam (DeLay, col. 2, ll. 26-32; col. 3, ll. 34-41), and wherein each of the first impregnant and the second impregnant comprises polyurea resin (DeLay, col. 2, ll. 26-32; col. 3, ll. 34-41).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 8, 10, 12-17, 19, and 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5, 7, 8, and 10-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,234,948 (“the ‘948 patent”) in view of Schimenti. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the ‘948 patent are compared in the table below.
Instant Application
The ‘948 Patent
Claim 1: A pressure vessel assembly comprising:
a pressure vessel comprising:
a cylinder,
a first side dome that is disposed at a first end of the cylinder and defines a first dome shape, and
a second side dome that is disposed at a second end of the cylinder and defines a second dome shape;
a first protector that surrounds an outer surface of the first side dome;
a second protector that surrounds an outer surface of the second side dome, the pressure vessel being disposed between the first protector and the second protector; and
a connector that connects the first protector and the second protector to each other,
wherein the connector is stretchable between the first protector and the second protector in response to contraction or expansion of the pressure vessel.
Claim 1: col. 14, l. 2;
Claim 1: col. 14, l. 3;
Claim 1: col. 14, l. 4;
Claim 1: col. 14, ll. 5-6;
Claim 1: col. 14, ll. 7-8;
Claim 1: col. 14, ll. 9-10;
Claim 1: col. 14, ll. 11-13;
Claim 1: col. 14, ll. 14-15.
Claim 2: The pressure vessel assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
a plurality of first connection portions that are disposed at the first protector and connected to a first end of the connector; and
a plurality of second connection portions that are disposed at the second protector and connected to a second end of the connector.
Claim 1: col. 14, ll. 16-18;
Claim 1: col. 14, ll. 19-21.
Claim 3: The pressure vessel assembly of claim 2, wherein the plurality of first connection portions are made of a material having a higher rigidity than a material of the first protector, and
wherein the plurality of second connection portions are made of a material having a higher rigidity than a material of the second protector.
Claim 2: col. 14, ll. 37-41;
Claim 2: col. 14, ll. 42-44.
Claim 4: The pressure vessel assembly of claim 1, wherein the connector comprises a connection wire having a first end connected to the first protector and a second end connected to the second protector.
Claim 1: col. 14, ll. 31-32.
Claim 5: The pressure vessel assembly of claim 1, wherein the connector comprises a connection wire that connects the first protector to the second protector, the connection wire defining a continuous zigzag pattern that alternately extends (i) from a portion of the first protector to a portion of the second protector and (ii) from the portion of the second protector to another portion of the first protector.
Claim 1: col. 14, ll. 31-37.
Claim 8: The pressure vessel assembly of claim 1, wherein the first protector comprises:
a first reinforcing sheet that surrounds the outer surface of the first side dome; and
a first impregnation layer that comprises a first impregnant disposed in the first reinforcing sheet.
Claim 3: col. 14, ll. 45-46;
Claim 3: col. 14, ll. 47-48;
Claim 3: col. 14, ll. 48-50.
Claim 10: The pressure vessel assembly of claim 1, wherein the second protector comprises:
a second reinforcing sheet that surrounds the outer surface of the second side dome; and
a second impregnation layer that comprises a second impregnant disposed in the second reinforcing sheet.
Claim 5: col. 14, ll. 55-56;
Claim 5: col. 14, ll. 57-58;
Claim 5: col. 14, ll. 59-60.
Claim 12: The pressure vessel assembly of claim 1, wherein the connector is in contact with an outer circumferential surface of the cylinder.
Claim 7: col. 14, ll. 65-67.
Claim 13: The pressure vessel assembly of claim 1, wherein the pressure vessel comprises:
a liner that defines a storage space therein; and
a carbon fiber layer that surrounds an outer surface of the liner, the carbon fiber layer having an outer surface that defines at least a portion of the cylinder, the first side dome, or the second side dome,
wherein the first protector surrounds a first portion of the outer surface of the carbon fiber layer defining the first side dome, and
wherein the second protector surrounds a second portion of the outer surface of the carbon fiber layer defining the second side dome.
Claim 8: col. 15, ll. 1-2;
Claim 8: col. 15, l. 3;
Claim 8: col. 15, ll. 4-7;
Claim 8: col. 15, ll. 8-10;
Claim 8: col. 15, ll. 11-12.
Claim 14: A pressure vessel protector for a pressure vessel, the pressure vessel including a cylinder, a first side dome that is disposed at a first end of the cylinder and defines a first dome shape, and a second side dome that is disposed at a second end of the cylinder and defines a second dome shape, the pressure vessel protector comprising:
a first protector configured to surround an outer surface of the first side dome;
a second protector configured to surround an outer surface of the second side dome; and
a connector configured to connect the first protector and the second protector to each other such that the pressure vessel is disposed between the first protector and the second protector,
wherein the connector is stretchable between the first protector and the second protector in response to contraction or expansion of the pressure vessel.
Claim 10: col. 15, ll. 26-31;
Claim 10: col. 15, ll. 32-33;
Claim 10: col. 15, ll. 34-35;
Claim 10: col. 15, ll. 36-39.
Claim 15: The pressure vessel protector of claim 14, further comprising:
a plurality of first connection portions that are disposed at the first protector and connected to a first end of the connector; and
a plurality of second connection portions that are disposed at the second protector and connected to a second end of the connector.
Claim 10: col. 15, ll. 40-42;
Claim 10: col. 15, ll. 43-45.
Claim 16: The pressure vessel protector of claim 14, wherein the connector comprises a connection wire having a first end connected to the first protector and a second end connected to the second protector.
Claim 10: col. 15, ll. 55-56.
Claim 17: The pressure vessel protector of claim 14, wherein the connector comprises a connection wire that connects the first protector to the second protector, the connection wire defining a continuous zigzag pattern that alternately extends (i) from a portion of the first protector to a portion of the second protector and (ii) from the portion of the second protector to another portion of the first protector.
Claim 10: col. 15, ll. 55-59; col. 16, ll. 1-2.
Claim 19: The pressure vessel protector of claim 14, wherein the first protector comprises:
a first reinforcing sheet configured to surround the outer surface of the first side dome; and
a first impregnation layer that comprises a first impregnant disposed in the first reinforcing sheet, and
wherein the second protector comprises:
a second reinforcing sheet configured to surround the outer surface of the second side dome, and
a second impregnation layer comprises a second impregnant disposed in the second reinforcing sheet.
Claim 11: col. 16, ll. 3-4;
Claim 11: col. 16, ll. 5-6;
Claim 11: col. 16, ll. 7-8;
Claim 11: col. 16, l. 9;
Claim 11: col. 16, ll. 10-11;
Claim 11: col. 16, ll. 12-13.
Claim 20: The pressure vessel protector of claim 19, wherein each of the first reinforcing sheet and the second reinforcing sheet comprises at least one of woven fiberglass fabric or polyurethane foam, and
wherein each of the first impregnant and the second impregnant comprises polyurea resin.
Claim 12: col. 16, ll. 14-17;
Claim 12: col. 16, ll. 18-19.
The claims of the ‘948 patent recite all of the limitations of claims 1 and 14 except “the connector is stretchable between the first protector and the second protector in response to contraction or expansion of the pressure vessel.” However, Schimenti teaches a pressure vessel assembly having a pressure vessel with a cylinder, and first and second side domes (see Fig. 5). Schimenti teaches a first and second protector (protective cap 40, Fig. 5) surrounds an outer surface of each side dome (see Fig. 5), and a connector (filament bands 44, Fig. 5) that connect the first and second protectors to each other (see Fig. 5). Schimenti teaches that the connector includes a connection wire (bands 44 formed from filaments, see e.g., para. [0080]). Schimenti teaches that the connector comprises fiberglass or resin (paras. [0070]-[0071]). Schimenti further teaches that this connector arrangement provides a more secure means for securing the protectors on the ends of the vessel (para. [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the invention claimed in the ‘948 patent to form the connector to include fiberglass or resin as taught by Schimenti for the purpose of providing a secure means for securing the protectors, and because Schimenti teaches that fiberglass and resin are suitable materials for a connector extending between first and second protectors on a pressure vessel, and the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Note: Applicant’s specification lists fiberglass and resin as materials for the connection wire that are capable of being “stretched” (paras. [0077]-[0078]). Thus, the pressure vessel assembly and pressure vessel of the ‘948 patent as modified to have the connector include fiberglass or resin would have the connector be “stretchable” as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. 2019/0226641 to Ogiwara et al. discloses a high pressure tank assembly having first and second protectors arranged at dome ends and connected to one another via a connector (Fig. 1).
U.S. Pub. 2023/0081419 to VanOyen discloses a high pressure tank having first and second protectors arranged at dome ends and connected to one another via a connector (Figs. 1-2).
/LAURA E. PARKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3733