DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a provisional application, 63/626691 filed on 01/30/2024, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki et al. (US 2022/0375525), hereinafter Iwasaki in view of Yamauchi (US2018/0061464), hereinafter Yamauchi in view of Oh et al. (US 2023/0112694), hereinafter Oh.
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, taking claim 1 as exemplary, Iwasaki teaches a memory device comprising:
a memory array (Iwasaki, [0035], Each of the memory devices 130 can include one or more arrays of memory cells);
a page buffer (Iwasaki, [0051], a page buffer of the memory device 130); and
control logic (Iwasaki, [0042], which includes a raw memory device 130 having control logic (e.g., local media controller 135) on the die ), operatively coupled to the memory array and the page buffer, to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from a memory sub-system controller, a command related to execution of a memory access operation associated with one or more memory blocks of the memory array of the memory device (Iwasaki, [0040], The memory sub-system controller 115 can further include host interface circuitry to communicate with the host system 120 via the physical host interface. The host interface circuitry can convert the commands received from the host system into command instructions to access the memory devices 130; [0043]);
in response to the command, reserving a portion of the page buffer; and
causing at least a portion of non-host data received from a high-performance local memory of the memory sub-system controller to be stored in the portion of the page buffer.
Iwasaki does not explicitly teach in response to the command, reserving a portion of the page buffer; and causing at least a portion of non-host data received from a high-performance local memory of the memory sub-system controller to be stored in the portion of the page buffer, as claimed.
However, Iwasaki in view of Yamauchi teaches in response to the command, reserving a portion of the page buffer (Yamauchi, [0024], when the programmed data input via the input/output buffer 120 is loaded to the page buffer/sense circuit 170 during the programming operation … stores the generated ECC code into a spare area of the page buffer; Note – Since ECC code is anticipated to be stored in a page buffer during a programming operation, a spare area of the page buffer is allocated to store the ECC code in response to the programming operation.); and
causing at least a portion of non-host data received from a high-performance local memory of the memory sub-system controller to be stored in the portion of the page buffer (Yamauchi, [0024], when the programmed data input via the input/output buffer 120 is loaded to the page buffer/sense circuit 170 during the programming operation, the ECC circuit 130 performs operations on data transmitted from the page buffer/sense circuit 170, generates an ECC code, and stores the generated ECC code into a spare area of the page buffer/sense circuit 170.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwasaki to incorporate teachings of Yamauchi to allocate a spare area of a page buffer in response to a program command and store ECC information to the spare area of the page buffer to be programmed into a selected page of a memory array. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Iwasaki with Yamauchi because it improves reliability of the storage system disclosed in Iwasaki by allowing corrupted data to be recovered using error correction code.
The combination of Iwasaki does not explicitly teach non-host data received from a high-performance local memory of the memory sub-system controller, as claimed.
However, the combination of Iwasaki in view of Oh teaches in response to the command, reserving a portion of the page buffer (Oh, [0156], During the program operation, the data input/output circuit 440 may receive the ECC sectors ECCSi and the outer parity bits OPRT or the ECC sectors ECCSi and inner parity bits IPRT from the storage controller 300; Yamauchi, [0024], spare area); and
causing at least a portion of non-host data received from a high-performance local memory of the memory sub-system controller (Oh, [0097], The ECC encoder 520 a may perform … and may provide the outer parity bits OPRT to the buffer 590 a; Fig.4; Fig.5; Iwasaki, [0041], the memory sub-system 110 can include a cache or buffer (e.g., DRAM) ) to be stored in the portion of the page buffer (Oh, [0156], the data input/output circuit 440 may receive the ECC sectors ECCSi and the outer parity bits OPRT or the ECC sectors ECCSi and inner parity bits IPRT from the storage controller 300 and may provide the ECC sectors ECCSi and the outer parity bits OPRT or the ECC sectors ECCSi and the inner parity bits IPRT to the page buffer circuit 430; Yamauchi, [0024], stores the generated ECC code into a spare area of the page buffer/sense circuit 170).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Iwasaki to incorporate teachings of Oh to include a DRAM buffer in memory sub-system controller 115 (of Iwasaki) to store ECC information including parity data, assign parity data to a spare area of a page buffer in response to a write command, and transmit the ECC parity data stored in the DRAM buffer to the spare area of the page buffer. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of the combination of Iwasaki with Oh because it improves performance of the storage system disclosed in the combination of Iwasaki by accessing error correction code from a DRAM buffer memory.
Claims 8 and 15 have similar limitations as claim 1 and they are rejected for the similar reasons.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, taking claim 2 as exemplary, the combination of Iwasaki teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. The combination of Iwasaki further teaches the memory device of claim 1, wherein the memory access operation is associated with one or more single level cell (SLC) blocks of the memory device (Iwasaki, [0025], While the examples described herein involve single level cell (SLC) programming).
Claim 9 has similar limitations as claim 2 and is rejected for the similar reasons.
Regarding claims 3 and 10, taking claim 3 as exemplary, the combination of Iwasaki teaches all the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above. The combination of Iwasaki further teaches the memory device of claim 2, wherein the memory access operation comprises one of an SLC read operation, an SLC program operation, or an SLC erase operation (Iwasaki, [0043], such as program commands, read commands, or other commands; Yamauchi, [0021], the memory cell may be a SLC (Single Level Cell) type for storing one bit (binary data); [0024], during the programming operation).
Claim 10 has similar limitations as claim 3 and is rejected for the similar reasons.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is rejected for the same reasons set forth with respect to claims 2 and 3, as claim 16 recites limitations that are similar to those recited in claims 2 and 3.
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Iwasaki, Yamauchi, and Oh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0400992), hereinafter Lee and Yang et al. (US 2015/0339195), hereinafter Yang.
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 17, taking claim 4 as exemplary, the combination of Iwasaki teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. The combination of Iwasaki does not explicitly teach the memory device of claim 1, wherein the non-host data comprises one or more of firmware variables or firmware code, as claimed.
However, the combination of Iwasaki in view of Lee and Yang teaches the memory device of claim 1, wherein the non-host data comprises one or more of firmware variables or firmware code (Lee, [0079], the setting data CDATA are general setting data, and may include setting data for at least one of the SLC erase, the SLC program, the SLC read; [0118], the setting operation IDR_A may be performed to the chip to which the main firmware code is programmed. The setting operation IDR_A for the SLC read may include a sensing for reading the setting data CDATA needed for the SLC read from the first region 111 and storing the same in the page buffer 140; Yang, [0033], Memory system 212 may receive the boot code and configuration parameters into RAM 218).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwasaki to incorporate teachings of Lee and Yang to allocate a spare area of a page buffer in response to a SLC access command and transmit SLC setting data stored in a RAM memory of a storage controller to the spare area of the page buffer. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Iwasaki with Lee and Yang because it improves efficiency and reliability of the storage system disclosed in Iwasaki by providing configuration data for a memory array in order to process incoming I/O commands.
Claims 11 and 17 have similar limitations as claim 4 and they are rejected for the similar reasons.
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Iwasaki, Yamauchi, and Oh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Han (US 2025/0140327), hereinafter Han.
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 18, taking claim 5 as exemplary, the combination of Iwasaki teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. The combination of Iwasaki does not explicitly teach the memory device of claim 1, wherein the portion of the page buffer reserved to store the non-host data comprises one or more data latch circuits of the page buffer, as claimed.
However, the combination of Iwasaki in view of Han teaches the memory device of claim 1, wherein the portion of the page buffer reserved to store the non-host data comprises one or more data latch circuits of the page buffer (Han, [0021], page buffer 204 may include … (N-1) data latches (D1 to DN-1) (e.g., a first data latch (D1) 3333 and a second data latch (D2) 3335)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Iwasaki to incorporate teachings of Han to include data latches in a page buffer. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of the combination of Iwasaki with Han because it improves reliability of the storage system disclosed in the combination of Iwasaki by holding data stable in a data latch of a page buffer.
Claims 12 and 18 have similar limitations as claim 5 and they are rejected for the similar reasons.
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Iwasaki, Yamauchi, and Oh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0400992), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19, taking claim 6 as exemplary, the combination of Iwasaki teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. The combination of Iwasaki does not explicitly teach the memory device of claim 1, wherein the command comprises one of a Set Feature command, a prefix command, or a trim option, as claimed.
However, the combination of Iwasaki in view of Lee teaches the memory device of claim 1, wherein the command comprises one of a Set Feature command (Lee, [0086], a set-feature-type command sequence CMDs for different initializing and setting operations may be found), a prefix command, or a trim option.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwasaki to incorporate teachings of Lee to include a set-feature type command to initialize and set a memory device for memory access operations. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Iwasaki with Lee and Yang because it improves efficiency and reliability of the storage system disclosed in Iwasaki by providing configuration data for a memory array in order to process incoming I/O commands.
Claims 13 and 19 have similar limitations as claim 6 and they are rejected for the similar reasons.
Claim(s) 7, 14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Iwasaki, Yamauchi, and Oh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0400992), hereinafter Lee and Choi et al. (US2017/0038969), hereinafter Choi.
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20, taking claim 7 as exemplary, the combination of Iwasaki teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. The combination of Iwasaki does not explicitly teach the memory device of claim 1, wherein following causing the non-host data to be stored in the portion of the page buffer, additional host data is caused to be stored in the high- performance local memory of the memory sub-system controller, as claimed.
However, the combination of Iwasaki in view of Lee and Choi teaches the memory device of claim 1, wherein following causing the non-host data to be stored in the portion of the page buffer, additional host data is caused to be stored in the high- performance local memory of the memory sub-system controller (Lee, [0050], may perform a setting operation of the memory device 100 for operations that are needed by priority by using the setting data CDATA … SLC program; [0051], The setting operation includes a sensing for reading the setting data CDATA of the first region 111 to the page buffer 140; Choi, [0051], At step S131, the controller 100 may control the mode setting operation of the nonvolatile memory device 200 such that a write mode is set to the SLC mode; [0052], the controller 100 may control the mode setting operation before controlling the buffer write operation of the nonvolatile memory device 200 at step S132; [0057], At step S132, the controller 100 may control the buffer write operation of the nonvolatile memory device 200 such that the write-requested data is stored in the buffer region 210; [0061], When it is determined at step S134 that remaining data exists but it is not a data overflow state (“Y, N” of step S134), the process may proceed to step S132. At step S132, the controller 100 may control the buffer write operation of the nonvolatile memory device 200 such that remaining data is stored in the buffer region 210).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Iwasaki to incorporate teachings of Lee and Choi to store additional write data to a write buffer after a write mode (such as SLC) is set. As such, the write data is transmitted to a nonvolatile storage device from the write buffer and stored in accordance with the set mode. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of the combination of Iwasaki with Lee and Choi because it improves efficiency of the storage system disclosed in the combination of Iwasaki by temporarily store write data in a write buffer before programming the write data into a nonvolatile storage device in order to reduce write amplification.
Claims 14 and 20 have similar limitations as claim 7 and they are rejected for the similar reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fujiwara et al. (US 2014/0089768) teaches storing parity data in a selected portion of a page buffer ([0063].
/NANCI N WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137