Priority
Instant application 19/034,034 filed on 01/22/2025 claims benefit as follow:
CONTINUING DATA:
Status of the Application
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/22/2025 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 06/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4, 8, 9, 12 and 13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 09/12/2025.
Regarding species election, Applicant's election of the compound of claim 10 in the reply filed on 06/30/2026 is acknowledged.
It should be noted that Applicant also indicated species of Alzheimer’s disease. However, method claims are currently withdrawn from consideration.
Examination will begin with the elected species. In accordance with the MPEP 803.02, if upon examination of the elected species, no prior art is found that would anticipate or render obvious the instant invention based on the elected species, the search of the Markush-type claim will be extended. If prior art is then found that anticipates or renders obvious the non-elected species, the Markush-type claim will be rejected. It should be noted that the prior art search will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all non-elected species. Should Applicant overcome the rejection by amending the claim, the amended claim will be reexamined. Id. The prior art search will be extended to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. Id. In the event prior art is found during reexamination that renders obvious or anticipates the amended Markush-type claim, the claim will be rejected and the action made final. Id.
In the instant, case examiner determined that the elected species would have been obvious over prior art, therefore the search was not extended to additional species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 7 recites the broad recitations, for example, “liquid”, and the claim also recites “syrup”. A syrup is inherently a liquid, so syrup defines a specific a liquid and a specific formulation type.
Similarly, the claim recites “transmucosal vehicle” and “nasal spray” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Appendino (US-9802880-B2).
This rejection applies to the elected species.
Appendino teaches and claims cannabigerol quinone derivatives of formula (I)
for treating PPARg related diseases (see abstract and claim 17).
Further, Appendino teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising compounds of formula (I), and a method of treating diseases with said compounds (see abstract).
Specifically, Appendino teaches and claims compound (III) (see claim 2):
Appendino (US-9802880-B2; see claim 2):
Instant elected species:
It should be noted that compound (III) is a homolog of the instant elected species that differs from the elected species only by a presence of one additional CH2 group in the diene chain (the additional CH2 moiety has been marked above).
However, MPEP 2144.09 states that “Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties.
In the instant case, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare homologs of compound (III) disclosed by Appendino with a reasonable expectation of success.
Appendino teaches and claims that the disclosed compounds are useful for treatments of various PPARg mediated diseases, including cancer and neurodegenerative diseases:
A skilled artisan would expect that changing the length of the diene chain in compound (III) would result in a homolog with a similar activity and in a retention of PPARg agonistic effect. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would be motivated to prepare and use the homolog for the same purpose.
It should be noted that the instant specification does not present any experimental data. Applicant may consider presenting comparative data vs. compounds disclosed by Appendino.
Regarding the pharmacological compositions recited in instant claims 2, 3, 6, 7 and 11, Appendino teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the disclosed compounds (see claim 14):
Further, Appendino teaches (see column 13, lines 32-36) tablets:
Furthermore, Appendino teaches syrups (see column 12, lines 8-10):
Therefore, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to prepare pharmaceutical compositions comprising the elected species and an acceptable pharmaceutical vehicle wherein the pharmaceutically acceptable vehicle is a tablet or a syrup.
Conclusion
No Claim is allowed.
/I.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/GEORGE W KOSTURKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621