CTNF 19/034,038 CTNF 90933 DETAILED ACTION Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-6, 9, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 20100071777 by Smith et al . As to claim 1, Smith discloses a detergent supply device for a laundry treating apparatus comprising a housing 16 (fig. 10); a detergent storage container 50 disposed in the housing, the container insertable into the housing along one direction; and a detecting unit 30, 92, 94 (fig. 28, para. 83) installed to one surface and configured to detect an amount of stored detergent, wherein the one surface of the container is a surface facing the one direction (fig. 10). As to claim 2, Smith discloses that the detecting unit penetrates the one surface of the container in the one direction (fig. 10). As to claim 3, Smith discloses that the detecting unit defines a portion of the one surface of the container (in particular portion 30, fig. 8). As to claim 4, Smith discloses that the container comprises a coupling portion (e.g. lower portion of rear surface) that is disposed at the one surface of the container, the detecting unit installed at the coupling portion (fig. 10). As to claim 5, Smith discloses that the coupling portion includes a space at the one surface of the container, the detecting unit installed at the space (figs. 10, 14). As to claim 6, Smith discloses that the space penetrates the one surface of the container in the one direction (figs. 10, 14). As to claim 9, Smith discloses a storage container frame 22 to be inserted to the housing in the one direction, wherein the container is mounted to the frame and inserted to the housing with the frame in the one direction (fig. 3). As to claim 14, Smith discloses electrodes (at 92, 94; para. 83) installed to the one surface of the container to contact detergent in the container (fig. 26). As to claim 15, Smith discloses a support bracket 30 that is coupled to the one surface of the container and defines a portion of the one surface (fig. 9). As to claim 16, Smith discloses electrodes (at 92, 94; para. 83) installed to the support bracket to contact detergent in the container (figs. 9, 26). As to claim 17, Smith discloses that the container is configured to be inserted into the housing in a rear direction, the detecting unit is installed to a rear of the container, and the rear of the container faces a rear surface of the housing (figs. 1, 10) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 20100161143 by Smith in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 20100071777 by Smith et al. (hereinafter “Smith ‘777”) . As to claim 1, Smith teaches a detergent supply device for a laundry treating apparatus, the device comprising a housing 200 (fig. 1); a detergent storage container 300 disposed in the housing and insertable into the housing along one direction (fig. 1); and a detecting unit at the container to detect an amount of detergent (para. 53). Smith suggests that various types detecting units may be used but does not explicitly teach a location of a detecting unit installed to one surface facing the one direction. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to have a detecting unit at the claimed location. Smith teaches connection terminals for a component at one surface of its container in a direction in which the container is inserted into a housing, and Smith ‘777 teaches a detecting unit at a corresponding, rear surface of a container (fig. 30, paras. 83, 85). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to have a detecting unit at a rear, inserting direction of a detergent container based on the teachings of Smith ‘777 that demonstrate such location as being proper for a detecting unit, in particular to detect detergent at a lowest point (see fig. 30), and further based on the teachings of Smith, which demonstrate the use of connection terminals for electrical components at a rear surface of a detergent container, such terminals being readily adapted for use with a detecting unit using routine skill. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date. As to claim 7, Smith teaches a connection terminal receiving member 358 installed at one surface of the housing that faces the one surface of the container (fig. 14). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to arrange a detecting unit such that it would be connected to a connection terminal receiving member of a similar structure, function, and location of the receiving member 358 based on its proven suitability taught by Smith. As to claim 8, Smith teaches a connection terminal portion 360 that protrudes along the one direction to a connection terminal receiving member 358. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to have a detecting unit connection terminal portion of a similar structure, function, and location of the terminal portion 360 based on its proven suitability taught by Smith. As to claim 9, Smith teaches a storage container frame to be mounted to the housing and that the storage container is mounted to the frame (fig. 5); Smith ‘777 also teaches a storage container frame (fig. 3). As to claim 10, Smith teaches a connection terminal portion 360 that protrudes along the one direction to a connection terminal receiving member 358. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to have a detecting unit connection terminal portion of a similar structure, function, and location of the terminal portion 360 based on its proven suitability taught by Smith. One of ordinary skill in the art would have further recognized as obvious that the connection terminal portion would pass through a communication portion at one wall of the storage container frame in order for wiring to pass to a controller (see Smith, fig. 6). As to claim 11, Smith teaches a pump receiving portion at the one surface of the container (fig. 14). As to claim 12, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to have the detecting unit installed higher than the pump receiving portion. The detecting unit would necessarily be higher than the pump receiving portion since the pump receiving portion is at a lowest position of the container (fig. 14). As to claim 13, Smith ‘777 teaches a pump that may be outside of the housing and connected to the pump receiving portion when the container is inserted into the housing (para. 74). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Spencer Bell whose telephone number is (571)272-9888. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9am - 6:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Barr can be reached at 571.272.1414. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SPENCER E. BELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711 Application/Control Number: 19/034,038 Page 2 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 19/034,038 Page 3 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 19/034,038 Page 4 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 19/034,038 Page 5 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 19/034,038 Page 6 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 19/034,038 Page 7 Art Unit: 1711