Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 should be amended to recite “The mowing robot . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9 should be amended to recite “ wherein the mowing robot recharging method comprises: …” since the limitation is incomplete. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 9 are indefinite because of the recited limitation: “the current position …”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for such limitation in the claims.
Claims 5 and 13 are indefinite because of the recited limitation: “the current recharging task …”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for such limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 is indefinite because of the recited limitation: “the preset first recharging strategy …”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for such limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 is indefinite because of the recited limitation: “the determining a newest recharging point …” and “the historical recharging point …”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for such limitations in the claim. Claim 8 refers to “the determining a newest recharging point … based on the historical recharging point …” limitation, which is recited in claim 5, not claim 1. Did applicant mean to recite “The mowing robot mowing robot recharging method according to claim [[1]] 5”?
Claim 4 and 12 is indefinite because of the recited limitation: “greater than a preset first threshold ...” It is unclear to the examiner, if the applicant is referring to the same "preset first threshold" previously recited in the respective claims?
Claim 15 is indefinite because of the recited limitation: “the preset first recharging strategy …”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for such limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 is indefinite because of the recited limitation: “the determining a newest recharging point …” and “the historical recharging point …”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for such limitations in the claim. Claim 16 refers to “the determining a newest recharging point … based on the historical recharging point …” limitation, which is recited in claim 13, not claim 9. Did applicant mean to recite “The mowing robot mowing robot recharging method according to claim [[9]] 13”?
Claims 2-3, 6, 10-11, 14, and 17 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou (US20220075376A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a mowing robot recharging method (See at least abstract, Fig. 7, [0089-0092], [0142-0146], [0179-0185] In one of the embodiments, the base station is a base station of an autonomous lawn mower, and the boundary region is a map boundary region learned by the autonomous lawn mower. For example, the foregoing self-moving device may be a lawn mower that moves by using wheels or continuous tracks. For example, the return path should avoid a pool, a bush, an obstacle, and the like), comprising at least the following steps: obtaining a position of a mowing robot in response to a recharging request for the mowing robot (See at least abstract, [0140-0145], [0152-0155], [0161-0170], [0226-0230] The returning method further includes: presetting several preset return paths; enabling the self-moving device to return to the target position along one of the preset return paths. That is, one or more return paths may be set inside the working region, so that when needing to return to the target position, the machine may return to the target position along one of the paths. That is, when needing to return the target position, the machine may first acquire position information of the machine. Referring to FIG. 1, the method includes: S100, acquiring a current position of the self-moving device in the working region. The self-moving device may be located by using satellite navigation to acquire coordinates of the self-moving device in the working region, and a passable return path is selected by combining coordinates of the target position and the map of the working region. The acquisition module 110 is configured to acquire a current position of the self-moving device 1 in a working region. A path generation module computes a shortest path from the autonomous lawn mower 1 to the charging station 2 according to the current position information of the autonomous lawn mower 1 and the map information and generates a return path 53. For example, when the working region is a lawn and the lawn mower needs to return to the target position for charging, if a same path is taken every time, grass of the lawn on the path may be crushed and the lawn may have a damaged appearance.); obtaining a preset recharging path and a position of a charging pile (See at least abstract, [0016-0020], [0145-0170], [0194-0196], [0225-0230] In an embodiment, the returning method further includes: presetting several preset return paths; and the selecting a return path to a target position according to the current position includes: selecting one of the several preset return paths as the return path. That is, one or more return paths may be set inside the working region, so that when needing to return to the target position, the machine may return to the target position along one of the paths. As shown in FIG. 23, after the map generation module generates the map, a path generation module sets several return paths 53 according to the generated map. Specifically, the control module determines shortest distances from the autonomous lawn mower 1 to the several return paths 53, selects a closest return path 53, and controls the autonomous lawn mower 1 to move to the latest return path 53 along a path with the shortest distance and return to the charging station 2 along the return path 53. The control module further includes a first preset unit 127. The first preset unit 127 is configured to preset several preset return paths. For example, the return path of the self-moving device is a straight line. These circular rings or rectangular rings 12, 13, and 14 may be connected by a straight line 16 near the target position. In some embodiments, after the enabling the self-moving device to return to the target position along the return path, the method further includes: enabling the self-moving device to be docked to a charging pile for charging. For example, the enabling the self-moving device to be docked to a charging pile for charging includes: enabling the self-moving device to adjust an attitude at the target position to dock a charging part of the self-moving device to the charging pile for charging. In this case, the self-moving device may be first enabled to reverse from the charging pile by a preset distance at the target position, adjustment of the attitude is completed within the preset distance, and the self-moving device is enabled to move to the charging pile with the attitude to be docked to the charging pile for charging. In this embodiment, in the charging step, the self-moving device reaches a fixed position before the charging pile. In this embodiment, the origin (0, 0) of the coordinate axes corresponds to the position coordinates of the charging station. The position information of the charging station includes position coordinates, and further includes attitude information of the autonomous lawn mower. The computation of the shortest path is related to the position of the charging station 2. According to the current position of the autonomous lawn mower and the position of the charging station, the GPS navigation guide can conveniently guide the autonomous lawn mower to return to charging station and to be docked to the charging station.); controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the recharging path based on the recharging path and the position of the mowing robot (See at least abstract, [0017-0020], [0030-0035], [0150-0155], [0225-0230] In an embodiment, after the acquiring a current position of the self-moving device in the working region, the method further includes: computing an optimal path between the current position and the preset return path; and the enabling the self-moving device to return to the target position along the selected return path includes: enabling the self-moving device to move to the preset return path along the optimal path. The machine may acquire position coordinates of the machine in the working region, and compute a shortest distance from the preset return path according to the position coordinates, so that the machine may rapidly reach the preset return path via the shortest distance. Referring to FIG. 4a , for example, the preset return paths may be a plurality of paths 12, 13, and 14 inside the working region. The control module further includes a second computation unit, where the second computation unit is configured to compute an optimal path between the current position and the return path, so that the control unit controls the self-moving device to move to the return path along the optimal path. The control module determines shortest distances from the autonomous lawn mower 1 to the several return paths 53, selects a closest return path 53, and controls the autonomous lawn mower 1 to move to the latest return path 53 along a path with the shortest distance and return to the charging station 2 along the return path 53.); and controlling the mowing robot to perform a recharging task based on the recharging path, the position of the charging pile, and the current position of the mowing robot ([0022-0030], [0155-0160], [0225-0230] After the autonomous lawn mower 1 moves to the position right in front of the charging station 2, for example, at about 1 m in front, a docking process is started. Enabling the self-moving device to adjust an attitude at the target position to dock a charging part of the self-moving device to the charging pile for charging. The enabling the self-moving device to be docked to a charging pile for charging includes: enabling the self-moving device to reverse from the charging pile by a preset distance at the target position and completing adjustment of an attitude within the preset distance, and enabling the self-moving device to move to the charging pile with the attitude to be docked to the charging pile for charging. For example, the enabling the self-moving device to be docked to a charging pile for charging includes: enabling the self-moving device to adjust an attitude at the target position to dock a charging part of the self-moving device to the charging pile for charging. In this embodiment, in the charging step, the self-moving device reaches a fixed position before the charging pile, reverses and adjusts the attitude, and advances to perform docking. When the machine returns to perform docking, the machine may return to the position first and complete adjustment of the attitude at the position, so as to complete docking to the charging pile for charging.).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou discloses wherein after the controlling the mowing robot to perform a recharging task, the method further comprises (See at least abstract, [0003-0010], [0050-0060]): obtaining a historical recharging point of the mowing robot in response to the recharging request for the mowing robot (See at least abstract, [0025-0030], [0140-0150], [0225-0230] The control module is configured to: select a return path to a target position according to the current position; determine a reuse status of the return path, determine, based on the reuse status of the return path, whether to reselect a return path; and control the self-moving device to return to the target position along the selected return path. The control module records the return path of the autonomous lawn mower 1. When the autonomous lawn mower 1 starts to return again, the control module compares a newly generated return path with a previous return path or several previous return paths to determine whether an overlapping part exists between the newly generated return path and the previous return path or the several previous return paths. The robot records several previous return paths. The reuse status of the return path includes whether there is a repetition between the return path and one previous return path or several previous return paths, and includes a reuse length or a reuse frequency. Determining a reuse length and/or reuse frequency of the return path includes: storing use information of at least a part of the return path, and determining the reuse length and/or reuse frequency of the return path according to the information. After returning to the target position along the first return path, the machine may record the first return path once, so that the record may be used as a reference for determining whether to select the first return path. The first storage unit is configured to store use information of at least a part of the return path); and determining a newest recharging point of the mowing robot for the current recharging task based on the historical recharging point, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the newest recharging point to perform the recharging task (See at least abstract, [0010-0020], [0140-0150], [0160-0165], [0225-0230] When the autonomous lawn mower 1 starts to return again, the control module compares a newly generated return path with a previous return path or several previous return paths to determine whether an overlapping part exists between the newly generated return path and the previous return path or the several previous return paths. If an overlapping part exists, the return path is modified to avoid an overlap of a return path. For example, a part of the return path is offset by a distance. When the reuse length and/or reuse frequency is greater than a preset first threshold, a second return path that does not coincide with the first return path is selected as the return path. Determine a reuse status of the return path, determine, based on the reuse status of the return path, whether to reselect a return path; and control the self-moving device to return to the target position along the selected return path. For example, when the working region is a lawn and the lawn mower needs to return to the target position for charging, if a same path is taken every time, grass of the lawn on the path may be crushed and the lawn may have a damaged appearance. When the lawn mower returns to the target position along a different path each time, some regions on the lawn may be prevented from excessive damage).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou discloses a mowing robot, comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when executing the program, the processor implements the steps of a mowing robot recharging method, wherein the mowing robot recharging comprises (See at least abstract, [0035-0040], [0070-0080] The present invention provides a server, including a memory and a processor, where the memory stores a computer readable instruction, and the processor is configured to invoke the computer readable instruction to perform the foregoing method.) The rest of claim 9 is commensurate in scope with claim 1. See above rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is commensurate in scope with claim 5. See above rejection for claim 5.
Regarding claim 17, Zhou discloses a non-transitory storage medium having stored thereon a computer program, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, the steps of the mowing robot recharging method according to any one of claims 1 to 3 are implemented (See at least abstract, [0036], [0070-0080], [0175], [0241] An embodiment provides a computer readable storage medium, storing a computer program, where when being executed by a processor, the program performs the position information processing method based on a differential positioning technology in the embodiment of the first aspect of the present invention).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6, 10, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US20220075376A1) in view of Johnson (US 20120029753 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou discloses wherein the controlling the mowing robot to perform the recharging task based on the recharging path, the position of the charging pile, and the current position of the mowing robot comprises (See at least abstract, [0022-0030], [0155-0160], [0225-0230]): controlling the mowing robot to navigate to a first adjustment point on the recharging path based on the current position of the mowing robot (See at least abstract, [0015-0020], [0150-0168], [0225-0230] The machine may acquire position coordinates of the machine in the working region, and compute a shortest distance from the preset return path according to the position coordinates, so that the machine may rapidly reach the preset return path via the shortest distance. Referring to FIG. 4a , for example, the preset return paths may be a plurality of paths 12, 13, and 14 inside the working region. The machine first moves to a position of an intersection with the straight line along a virtual circular return line, and moves to the target position along the straight line. When moving to an intersection with the straight line along a circular ring or rectangular ring, the machine adjusts the attitude and further moves to the target position 2 along the straight line 16. For example, the return path 14 on the outermost side may be close to a boundary line of the working region. For example, the return path 14 located on the outermost side may directly pass through the target position 2, so that when needing to return to the target position, the machine may continue to move in a current movement direction of the machine. When the self-moving device comes into contact with one of the plurality of closed patterns, enabling the self-moving device to move to the straight line along a border of the one of the plurality of closed patterns and return to the target position along the straight line. The autonomous lawn mower 1 first moves to the boundary 200, moves to the position of the charging station 2 along the boundary 200, and then moves to the charging station 2. Specifically, the path generation module determines a point, on the boundary 200, having the shortest distance from the autonomous lawn mower 1 according to the current position of the autonomous lawn mower 1 and the position of the boundary 200).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose randomly selecting any point other than the first adjustment point on the recharging path as a first recharging point, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the first recharging point to perform the recharging task. However, Johnson teaches randomly selecting any point other than the first adjustment point on the recharging path as a first recharging point (See at least abstract, [0003-0010], [0050-0060] Additionally, a shift may result from changing the boundary coverage pattern by including variables in the vehicle control unit logic such as the minimum and maximum distances used to toggle the desired orientation, or using a different angle other than 45 degrees. Changes the specified distance randomly or incrementally, until the robotic mower reaches the charging station. In block 904, the vehicle control unit may select a random variable. The vehicle control unit may determine the desired offset from the boundary wire based on the random or incremented variable. In block 910, the vehicle control unit may command the wheel motors to rotate at the nominal forward speed, and at a yaw angle needed to maintain the desired offset. The vehicle control unit commands the wheel motors to reduce speed, and sets the yaw angle to orient the robotic mower to enter the charging station.), and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the first recharging point to perform the recharging task (See at least abstract, [0003-0010], [0050-0060] In block 904, the vehicle control unit may select a random variable. The vehicle control unit may determine the desired offset from the boundary wire based on the random or incremented variable. The vehicle control unit may vary the distance of the robotic mower's path when the robotic mower executes home finding to return to the charging station. In block 910, the vehicle control unit may command the wheel motors to rotate at the nominal forward speed, and at a yaw angle needed to maintain the desired offset. The vehicle control unit commands the wheel motors to reduce speed, and sets the yaw angle to orient the robotic mower to enter the charging station. The vehicle control unit may specify a return path that is offset from the main boundary wire, and varies over a range of available paths between a minimum offset and a maximum offset). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Johnson which teaches randomly selecting any point other than the first adjustment point on the recharging path as a first recharging point, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the first recharging point to perform the recharging task since they are directed to controlling robotic lawn mowers to a charging station and incorporation of Johnson would improve the recharging path to avoid and minimize turf damage along the return route.
Regarding claim 6, Zhou discloses wherein the determining a newest recharging point of the mowing robot for the current recharging task based on the historical recharging point, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the newest recharging point to perform the recharging task comprises controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the newest recharging point to perform the recharging task (See at least abstract, [0010-0020], [0140-0150], [0160-0165], [0225-0230]).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining a newest recharging point of the mowing robot for the current recharging task based on the historical recharging point, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the newest recharging point to perform the recharging task comprises: randomly selecting any point other than the historical recharging point on the recharging path as the newest recharging point. However, Johnson teaches wherein the determining a newest recharging point of the mowing robot for the current recharging task based on the historical recharging point, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the newest recharging point to perform the recharging task comprises: randomly selecting any point other than the historical recharging point on the recharging path as the newest recharging point (See at least abstract, [0003-0010], [0055-0060] In block 904, the vehicle control unit may select a random variable. In block 908, the vehicle control unit may determine the desired offset from the boundary wire based on the random or incremented variable. In block 910, the vehicle control unit may command the wheel motors to rotate at the nominal forward speed, and at a yaw angle needed to maintain the desired offset. a vehicle control unit on the robotic mower that changes the path of the robotic mower each time it returns home to the charging station. Alternatively, in block 906 the vehicle control unit may increment a variable from the last execution of the home finding task. A vehicle control unit on the robotic mower that changes the path of the robotic mower each time it returns home to the charging station. By varying the offset from the main boundary wire, the traction drive wheels of the robotic mower will not wear or damage the turf along the wire. The minimum and maximum allowable offset from the main boundary wire may be preselected or constant. The shift ensures that the same turf is not repeatedly contacted and compacted by the robotic mower's wheels. The shift may occur because the robotic mower will often have a different starting position each time it starts executing boundary coverage. Additionally, a shift may result from changing the boundary coverage pattern by including variables in the vehicle control unit logic such as the minimum and maximum distances used to toggle the desired orientation, or using a different angle other than 45 degrees). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Johnson which teaches wherein the determining a newest recharging point of the mowing robot for the current recharging task based on the historical recharging point, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the newest recharging point to perform the recharging task comprises: randomly selecting any point other than the historical recharging point on the recharging path as the newest recharging point since they are directed to controlling robotic lawn mowers to a charging station and incorporation of Johnson would improve the mower so that the drive wheels do not wear or damage the turf at a single location.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is commensurate in scope with claim 2. See above rejection for claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is commensurate in scope with claim 6. See above rejection for claim 6.
Claim(s) 3-4, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US20220075376A1) in view of Wu (US 20170344014 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou discloses wherein the controlling the mowing robot to perform a recharging task based on the recharging path, the position of the charging pile, and the current position of the mowing robot comprises: controlling the mowing robot to navigate to a first adjustment point on the recharging path based on the current position of the mowing robot (See at least abstract, [0015-0020], [0150-0168], [0225-0230] The machine may acquire position coordinates of the machine in the working region, and compute a shortest distance from the preset return path according to the position coordinates, so that the machine may rapidly reach the preset return path via the shortest distance. Referring to FIG. 4a , for example, the preset return paths may be a plurality of paths 12, 13, and 14 inside the working region. The machine first moves to a position of an intersection with the straight line along a virtual circular return line, and moves to the target position along the straight line. When moving to an intersection with the straight line along a circular ring or rectangular ring, the machine adjusts the attitude and further moves to the target position 2 along the straight line 16. For example, the return path 14 on the outermost side may be close to a boundary line of the working region. For example, the return path 14 located on the outermost side may directly pass through the target position 2, so that when needing to return to the target position, the machine may continue to move in a current movement direction of the machine. When the self-moving device comes into contact with one of the plurality of closed patterns, enabling the self-moving device to move to the straight line along a border of the one of the plurality of closed patterns and return to the target position along the straight line. The autonomous lawn mower 1 first moves to the boundary 200, moves to the position of the charging station 2 along the boundary 200, and then moves to the charging station 2. Specifically, the path generation module determines a point, on the boundary 200, having the shortest distance from the autonomous lawn mower 1 according to the current position of the autonomous lawn mower 1 and the position of the boundary 200);
Zhou does not explicitly disclose obtaining a distance between the first adjustment point and the position of the charging pile; and selecting a second recharging point on the recharging path according to a preset first recharging strategy based on the distance between the first adjustment point and the position of the charging pile, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the second recharging point to perform the recharging task. However, Wu teaches obtaining a distance between the first adjustment point and the position of the charging pile (See at least abstract, [0040-0045], [0055-0060], [0065-0075] The measured distance between the autonomous mobile robot 200 and the charging station 100 is measured via the distance sensing unit 240 (step S208). Then, the autonomous mobile robot 200 determines to move toward or away from the charging station 100 according to the measured distance and the first threshold (step S209). The distance sensing unit 240 is used to sense a measured distance between the autonomous mobile robot 200 and at least one reflective object. In an embodiment, the distance sensing unit 240 senses the distance between the autonomous mobile robot 200 and the reflective object (such as, a charging station 100 or a wall). Then, a minimum measured distance is obtained. The minimum measured distance is regarded as a shortest distance between the autonomous mobile robot 200 and at least one reflective object and corresponds to a rotating angle for the shortest distance. In addition, the reflective object is the charging station 100, wall or any object in the detection range of the distance sensing unit 240 of the autonomous mobile robot 200); and selecting a second recharging point on the recharging path according to a preset first recharging strategy based on the distance between the first adjustment point and the position of the charging pile, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the second recharging point to perform the recharging task (See at least abstract, [0005-0010], [0055-0060], [0064-0076] And senses a measured distance between the autonomous mobile robot and the charging station when the second guiding signal is detected by the second sensing unit. The autonomous mobile robot moves toward the charging station or moves away from the charging station, and re-executes the control program according to the measured distance within a first threshold. Then, when the autonomous mobile robot is directed at the charging station, the measured distance between the autonomous mobile robot and the charging station is measured by the distance sensing unit, and the autonomous mobile robot determines to move toward the charging station or away from the charging station according to the measured distance and the first threshold. The number of path correction of the autonomous mobile robot is reduced. Then, the efficiency of moving toward the charging station is improved. Detected by the second sensing unit 222, the measured distance between the autonomous mobile robot 200 and the charging station 100 is measured via the distance sensing unit 240 (step S208). Then, the autonomous mobile robot 200 determines to move toward or away from the charging station 100 according to the measured distance and the first threshold (step S209), and back to step S200 to re-execute the control program. In step S207, when the autonomous mobile robot 200 determines that the second guiding signal E2 is not detected by the second sensing unit 222, but by the first sensing unit or the third sensing unit, the autonomous mobile robot 200 keeps rotating. After the autonomous mobile robot 200 moves a second predetermined distance along a direction away from the charging station 100, then backs to the step S200, the control program is re-executed. Then, the autonomous mobile robot 200 moves toward or away from the charging station 100 according to the shortest distance and the first threshold (step S221). The storage unit 310 is used to store the control program, the first threshold, the second threshold, the first predetermined distance, the second predetermined distance, the third predetermined distance, the fourth predetermined distance, the predetermined angle, the measured distance, the sensing distance, the rotating angle and so on). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Wu which teaches obtaining a distance between the first adjustment point and the position of the charging pile; and selecting a second recharging point on the recharging path according to a preset first recharging strategy based on the distance between the first adjustment point and the position of the charging pile, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the second recharging point to perform the recharging task since they are directed to controlling self-moving robots and incorporation of Wu would improve the efficiency of moving towards the charging station, docking accuracy and reducing the number of path corrections.
Regarding claim 4, Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the selecting the second recharging point on the recharging path according to the preset first recharging strategy based on the distance between the first adjustment point and the position of the charging pile, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the second recharging point to perform the recharging task comprises: when the distance between the first adjustment point and the position of the charging pile is less than or equal to a preset first threshold, selecting any point between a start point of the recharging path and the first adjustment point as the second recharging point; or when the distance between the first adjustment point and the position of the charging pile is greater than a preset first threshold, selecting any point between an end point of the recharging path and the first adjustment point as the second recharging point; and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the second recharging point to perform the recharging task. However, Wu teaches, wherein the selecting the second recharging point on the recharging path according to the preset first recharging strategy based on the distance between the first adjustment point and the position of the charging pile, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the second recharging point to perform the recharging task comprises (See at least abstract, [0005-0010], [0055-0060], [0064-0076]): when the distance between the first adjustment point and the position of the charging pile is less than or equal to a preset first threshold, selecting any point between a start point of the recharging path and the first adjustment point as the second recharging point (See at least abstract, [0055-0060], [0062-0072] The autonomous mobile robot 200 moves toward the charging station 100. When the measured distance is less than the first threshold, the step S212 is executed. Then, the autonomous mobile robot 200 moves away from the charging station 100, and back to the step S200 to re-execute the control program. As a result, it is avoided that the autonomous mobile robot 200 fails dock to the charging station 100 accurately due to being too close to the charging station 100. After the autonomous mobile robot 200 moves a second predetermined distance along a direction away from the charging station 100, then backs to the step S200, the control program is re-executed. The direction away from the charging station 100 is a direction opposite to the current walking direction of the autonomous mobile robot 200. When the autonomous mobile robot 200 determines that the shortest distance is less than the first threshold, the autonomous mobile robot 200 moves away from the charging station 100 (step S224). The first threshold is preset at 80 centimeters); or when the distance between the first adjustment point and the position of the charging pile is greater than a preset first threshold, selecting any point between an end point of the recharging path and the first adjustment point as the second recharging point (See at least abstract, [0055-0065], [0068-0073] lease refer to FIG. 1 to FIG. 10, in an embodiment, instep S209, the autonomous mobile robot 200 determines to move toward the charging station 100 (step S211) or move away from the charging station 100 (step S212) according to whether the measured distance is greater than or equals to the first threshold (step S209 a). When the measured distance is greater than or equals to the first threshold, the step S211 is executed. The autonomous mobile robot 200 moves toward the charging station 100. In step S211, the autonomous mobile robot 200 moves toward the charging station 100 (step S213), and determines a next execution step according to the guiding signal detected by the second sensing unit 222 during the moving (step S214). When the autonomous mobile robot 200 determines that the shortest distance is greater than or equals to the first threshold, the autonomous mobile robot 200 moves back to a direction where the signal margin is detected, and moves toward the charging station 100 along this direction (step S223). After the autonomous mobile robot 200 moves forward by a third predetermined distance, backs to the step S200, to re-execute the control program.); and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the second recharging point to perform the recharging task (See at least abstract, [0042-0048], [0060-0067], [0070-0076] Please refer to FIG. 1 to FIG. 11, in an embodiment, in step S211, the autonomous mobile robot 200 moves toward the charging station 100 (step S213), and determines a next execution step according to the guiding signal detected by the second sensing unit 222 during the moving (step S214). Then, the charging station 100 begins to charge the autonomous mobile robot 200 (step S226). Then, when the autonomous mobile robot is directed at the charging station, the measured distance between the autonomous mobile robot and the charging station is measured by the distance sensing unit. The autonomous mobile robot determines to move toward the charging station or move away from the charging station according to the measured distance and the first threshold. As a result, it is avoided that the guiding distance is too short to dock to the charging station accurately. The time of path correction of the autonomous mobile robot is reduced. Then, the efficiency of docking is improved. As a result, the autonomous mobile robot 200 moves toward the central area of the guiding signals E1 to E3, and then docks to the charging station 100 for charging. Then, the charging station 100 charges the power supply module 260 of the autonomous mobile robot 200 via the first positive port 282 and the first negative port 283 which contact with the second positive port 182 and the second negative port 183, respectively). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Wu which teaches wherein the selecting the second recharging point on the recharging path according to the preset first recharging strategy based on the distance between the first adjustment point and the position of the charging pile, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the second recharging point to perform the recharging task comprises: when the distance between the first adjustment point and the position of the charging pile is less than or equal to a preset first threshold, selecting any point between a start point of the recharging path and the first adjustment point as the second recharging point; or when the distance between the first adjustment point and the position of the charging pile is greater than a preset first threshold, selecting any point between an end point of the recharging path and the first adjustment point as the second recharging point; and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the second recharging point to perform the recharging task since they are directed to controlling self-moving robots and incorporation of Wu would improve the mower docking accuracy and reducing the time spent on path correction.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is commensurate in scope with claim 3. See above rejection for claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is commensurate in scope with claim 4. See above rejection for claim 4.
Claim(s) 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US20220075376A1) in view of Wu (US 20170344014 A1), and further in view of Johnson (US 20120029753 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou discloses wherein the determining a newest recharging point of the mowing robot for the current recharging task based on the historical recharging point, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the newest recharging point to perform the recharging task comprises: controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the newest recharging point to perform the recharging task (See at least abstract, [0010-0020], [0140-0150], [0160-0165], [0225-0230]).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining a newest recharging point of the mowing robot for the current recharging task based on the historical recharging point, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the newest recharging point to perform the recharging task comprises: selecting the newest recharging point on the recharging path according to the preset first recharging strategy based on a distance between the historical recharging point and the charging pile, wherein the newest recharging point does not coincide with the historical recharging point.
However, Wu teaches wherein the determining a newest recharging point of the mowing robot for the current recharging task based on the historical recharging point, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the newest recharging point to perform the recharging task comprises: selecting the newest recharging point on the recharging path according to the preset first recharging strategy based on a distance between the historical recharging point and the charging pile (See at least abstract, [0005-0010], [0055-0065], [0070-0080] When the autonomous mobile robot 200 determines that the second guiding signal E2 is detected by the second sensing unit 222, the measured distance between the autonomous mobile robot 200 and the charging station 100 is measured via the distance sensing unit 240 (step S208). Then, the autonomous mobile robot 200 determines to move toward or away from the charging station 100 according to the measured distance and the first threshold (step S209), and back to step S200 to re-execute the control program. The autonomous mobile robot moves toward the charging station or moves away from the charging station, and re-executes the control program according to the measured distance within a first threshold. In step S221, the autonomous mobile robot 200 determines to move toward the charging station 100 or move away from the charging station 100 according to whether the shortest distance is greater than or equals to the first threshold (step S222). When the autonomous mobile robot 200 determines that the shortest distance is greater than or equals to the first threshold, the autonomous mobile robot 200 moves back to a direction where the signal margin is detected, and moves toward the charging station 100 along this direction (step S223). Then, the charging station 100 begins to charge the autonomous mobile robot 200 (step S226).). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Wu which teaches wherein the determining a newest recharging point of the mowing robot for the current recharging task based on the historical recharging point, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the newest recharging point to perform the recharging task comprises: selecting the newest recharging point on the recharging path according to the preset first recharging strategy based on a distance between the historical recharging point and the charging pile since they are directed to controlling self-moving robots and incorporation of Wu would improve docking accuracy and reduce to fewer path corrections.
Johnson teaches wherein the newest recharging point does not coincide with the historical recharging point (See at least abstract, [0002-0010], [0050-0060], The minimum and maximum allowable offset from the main boundary wire may be preselected or constant. Alternatively, the offset may be incremented or reduced each time the robotic mower returns to the charging station. And a vehicle control unit on the robotic mower that changes the path of the robotic mower each time it returns home to the charging station. The vehicle control unit directs a traction drive system to drive the robotic mower along a path offset a specified distance from the an outer boundary wire, and changes the specified distance randomly or incrementally. The robotic mower's path along the boundary wire may change or shift each time it executes boundary coverage. The shift ensures that the same turf is not repeatedly contacted and compacted by the robotic mower's wheels. The shift may occur because the robotic mower will often have a different starting position each time it starts executing boundary coverage. Additionally, a shift may result from changing the boundary coverage pattern by including variables in the vehicle control unit logic such as the minimum and maximum distances used to toggle the desired orientation, or using a different angle other than 45 degrees. Repeatedly following the same path to the charging station can cause damage and ruts due to wear from wheels contacting the turf in the same place). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Zhou as modified by Wu to incorporate the teachings of Johnson which teaches wherein the newest recharging point does not coincide with the historical recharging point since they are directed to controlling self-moving robots and incorporation of Johnson would improve the recharging path to avoid and minimize turf damage along the return route.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is commensurate in scope with claim 7. See above rejection for claim 7.
Claim(s) 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US20220075376A1) in view of Vicenti (US 20160271795 A1), and further in view of Wu (US 20170344014 A1), and further in view of Johnson (US 20120029753 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein when there are a plurality of historical recharging points, the determining a newest recharging point of the mowing robot for the current recharging task based on the historical recharging point, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the newest recharging point to perform the recharging task comprises: obtaining recording times of the plurality of historical recharging points, and selecting a historical recharging point with a newest recording time as a second adjustment point; and selecting the newest recharging point on the recharging path according to a preset second recharging strategy based on a distance between the second adjustment point and the charging pile, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the newest recharging point to perform the recharging task, wherein the newest recharging point does not coincide with any one of the plurality of historical recharging points.
Vicenti teaches wherein when there are a plurality of historical recharging points, the determining a newest recharging point of the mowing robot for the current recharging task based on the historical recharging point, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the newest recharging point to perform the recharging task comprises (See at least abstract, [0004-0010], [0050-0060], [0070-0080], [0085-0090], [0105-0110]): obtaining recording times of the plurality of historical recharging points, and selecting a historical recharging point with a newest recording time as a second adjustment point (See at least abstract, [0004-0010], [0050-0060], [0070-0080], [0085-0090], [0105-0110] The controller 190 can consider the duration of time that has elapsed since the controller 190 has recorded each landmark and select the most recently recorded landmark. The controller 190 can further consider the uniqueness of each landmark compared to other landmarks and select the most unique of the landmarks. While the feature list of a signature has been described to include a pose, a timestamp, and a confidence, the feature list can further include a “Last Observed Time” so that the robot can determine when the most recent signature was generated. The signature can also include a field that stores a timestamp that indicates the last time that the corresponding landmark information was updated. The feature list can include associations with the processed data from the pose module 198 a, timestamps from, for example, a computer's operating system time that can be used to store an indication of when the landmark was observed by the robot, and a timestamp of when the signature was added to the signature module 198 c. When the controller 190 generates a signature of a landmark, the controller 190 can store the orientation (A) of the robot as part of the signature as the sensors collect data associated with the physical structural elements corresponding to the landmark. The method may also include selecting the suspected location of the path segment maneuvered to based on a distance differential from a first traversal of the suspected location of the path segment. For example, although the robot 100 has been described to be a cleaning robot with a cleaning system, in other implementations, the robot can be a robotic lawnmower or other autonomous robot that estimates its own location and generates maps of the regions it navigates). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Vicenti which teaches wherein when there are a plurality of historical recharging points, the determining a newest recharging point of the mowing robot for the current recharging task based on the historical recharging point, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the newest recharging point to perform the recharging task comprises: obtaining recording times of the plurality of historical recharging points, and selecting a historical recharging point with a newest recording time as a second adjustment point since they are directed to controlling self-moving robots and incorporation of Vicenti would improve the reliability of the most recently recorded locations for completing recharging tasks.
Wu teaches selecting the newest recharging point on the recharging path according to a preset second recharging strategy based on a distance between the second adjustment point and the charging pile, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the newest recharging point to perform the recharging task (See at least abstract, [0005-0010], [0055-0065], [0070-0080] When the autonomous mobile robot 200 determines that the second guiding signal E2 is detected by the second sensing unit 222, the measured distance between the autonomous mobile robot 200 and the charging station 100 is measured via the distance sensing unit 240 (step S208). Then, the autonomous mobile robot 200 determines to move toward or away from the charging station 100 according to the measured distance and the first threshold (step S209), and back to step S200 to re-execute the control program. The autonomous mobile robot moves toward the charging station or moves away from the charging station, and re-executes the control program according to the measured distance within a first threshold. In step S221, the autonomous mobile robot 200 determines to move toward the charging station 100 or move away from the charging station 100 according to whether the shortest distance is greater than or equals to the first threshold (step S222). When the autonomous mobile robot 200 determines that the shortest distance is greater than or equals to the first threshold, the autonomous mobile robot 200 moves back to a direction where the signal margin is detected, and moves toward the charging station 100 along this direction (step S223). Then, the charging station 100 begins to charge the autonomous mobile robot 200 (step S226)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Zhou as modified by Vicenti to incorporate the teachings Wu which teaches selecting the newest recharging point on the recharging path according to a preset second recharging strategy based on a distance between the second adjustment point and the charging pile, and controlling the mowing robot to navigate to the newest recharging point to perform the recharging task since they are directed to controlling self-moving robots and incorporation of Wu would improve the mower’s docking accuracy and reduce to fewer path corrections.
Johnson teaches wherein the newest recharging point does not coincide with any one of the plurality of historical recharging points (See at least abstract, [0002-0010], [0050-0060], The minimum and maximum allowable offset from the main boundary wire may be preselected or constant. Alternatively, the offset may be incremented or reduced each time the robotic mower returns to the charging station. And a vehicle control unit on the robotic mower that changes the path of the robotic mower each time it returns home to the charging station. The vehicle control unit directs a traction drive system to drive the robotic mower along a path offset a specified distance from the an outer boundary wire, and changes the specified distance randomly or incrementally. The robotic mower's path along the boundary wire may change or shift each time it executes boundary coverage. The shift ensures that the same turf is not repeatedly contacted and compacted by the robotic mower's wheels. The shift may occur because the robotic mower will often have a different starting position each time it starts executing boundary coverage. Additionally, a shift may result from changing the boundary coverage pattern by including variables in the vehicle control unit logic such as the minimum and maximum distances used to toggle the desired orientation, or using a different angle other than 45 degrees. Repeatedly following the same path to the charging station can cause damage and ruts due to wear from wheels contacting the turf in the same place). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Zhou as modified by Vicenti and Wu to incorporate the teachings of Johnson which teaches wherein the newest recharging point does not coincide w with any one of the plurality of historical recharging points since they are directed to self-moving robots and incorporation of Johnson would improve the recharging path to avoid and minimize turf damage along the return route.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is commensurate in scope with claim 8. See above rejection for claim 8.
Conclusion
/LABIBAH ILMA ALI/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/SAHAR MOTAZEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667