DETAILED ACTION
The following FINAL Office action is in response to Amendment filed on April 14, 2026 for 19/034,096
Acknowledgements
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
The present application, filed on or after December 13, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Arguments
In response to the Applicant’s arguments and amendments, the rejection under 35 USC 101 has been withdrawn.
In response to the Applicant’s arguments under 35 USC 103, Applicant argues that the combination of references, Ouellette in view of Mock and in further view of Vogel does not disclose the claimed "transaction token” and does not correspond to the cited session identifier. Examiner respectfully disagrees as Mock was specifically utilized to disclose “transaction token to conduct reconciliation procedures”. Mock discloses in paragraph 0045 token in this instance can be any identifier to associate with a campaign, offer, or other marketing device, regardless of whether it is encrypted or not. Mock discloses in paragraph 0053 how each token is for a single or multiple use, but can be securely and uniquely associated with a specific campaign, an interaction with a specific consumer, and the completion of a specific transaction/interaction. Also, Ouellette discloses that the session identifier is used to conduct the transaction using the selected payment option.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouellette et al. (US 12,026,686 B2) in view of MOCK et al. (US 2020/0250694 A1) and in further view of Vogel et al. (US 9,882,892 B1)
Regarding Claims 1, 8 and 15, Ouellette discloses a method for managing [transaction tokens to facilitate reconciliation procedures], the method comprising, by a software application executing on a computing device (Col. 3 lines 8-18, Col. 4 lines 51-Col. 5 line 7, Col. 6 lines 13-23):
receiving a first request to perform a transaction (Col. 3 lines 44-48)
providing, to a transaction framework implemented on the computing device, a second request to perform the transaction; (Col. 3 lines 49-53)
displaying, under instruction of the transaction framework, a user interface (UI) that indicates the transaction will be performed independent from a management entity that is associated with the computing device and separate from the software application executing on the computing device, [wherein the UI includes a first option to approve the transaction, and a second option to cancel the transaction] (Col. 3 lines 1-14, Col. 7 lines 19-56)
receiving, via the UI, selection of the first option to approve the transaction; and in response to receiving the selection of the first option to approve the transaction (Col. 4 lines 6-16)
receiving a [transaction token] from the transaction framework, wherein and the transaction token corresponds to the transaction includes information relevant to facilitate the reconciliation procedures, and is generated by the management entity that provides the transaction token to the transaction framework; and (Col. 4 lines 6-16 “session identifier is referred to the transaction token”)
providing the transaction token to a developer entity associated with the software application to cause the developer entity to perform the transaction, wherein, when the transaction is performed, the transaction token enables a reconciliation procedure to be carried out (Col. 4 lines 17-35)
Ouellette does not specifically disclose: [transaction tokens to facilitate reconciliation procedures].
MOCK however discloses transaction tokens to facilitate reconciliation procedures. (¶0045, ¶0047, ¶0052, ¶0053, ¶0112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Ouellette to include [transaction tokens to facilitate reconciliation procedures], as disclosed in MOCK, in order to provide a matching and settlement system to associate specific marketing/advertising campaigns to completed
sales transactions or in-application interactions using a token (see MOCK ¶0045).
The combination of Ouellette and MOCK does not disclose: [wherein the UI includes a first option to approve the transaction, and a second option to cancel the transaction].
Vogel however discloses: wherein the UI includes a first option to approve the transaction, and a second option to cancel the transaction (Col. 7 lines 45-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Ouellette to include [wherein the UI includes a first option to approve the transaction, and a second option to cancel the transaction], as disclosed in Vogel, in order to provide a system for authorizing user access to resources or performing user authorization using intent tokens (see Vogel Col. 1 lines 19-22).
Regarding Claims 3, 10 and 17, the combination of Ouellette, MOCK and Vogel disclose the invention as above.
MOCK further discloses: wherein the reconciliation procedure comprises: performing a second transaction that is based on the transaction; and providing, to the developer entity, a report that includes information associated with at least the second transaction (¶0041, ¶0045, ¶0047, ¶0052)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Ouellette to include [wherein the reconciliation procedure comprises: performing a second transaction that is based on the transaction; and providing, to the developer entity, a report that includes information associated with at least the second transaction], as disclosed in MOCK, in order to provide a matching and settlement system to associate specific marketing/advertising campaigns to completed sales transactions or in-application interactions using a token (see MOCK ¶0045).
Regarding Claims 4, 11 and 18, Ouellette discloses wherein the transaction framework comprises an Application Programming Interface (API) that is communicatively coupled to: at least the software application and the management entity (Col. 3 lines 8-18, Col. 4 lines 51-Col. 5 line 7, Col. 6 lines 13-23)
Regarding Claims 5, 12 and 19, Ouellette discloses wherein the transaction token is provided in response to a third request issued by the transaction framework to the management entity, wherein the third request includes: a session identifier associated with the third request (Col. 4 lines 6-16) , a unique identifier associated with the software application (Col. 4 lines 6-16), transaction type information that defines that the transaction will take place through the software application rather than through at least one webpage that is loaded in a web browser application executing on the computing device (Col. 4 lines 6-16), and storefront information that includes locale, currency, tax, and commission information associated with the software application, the computing device, the transaction, or some combination thereof (Col. 2 lines 7-12)
Regarding Claims 7 and 14, Ouellette discloses wherein the first request is based on a user of the software application seeking to engage in the transaction with the software application (Col. 3 lines 1-14)
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouellette in view of MOCK in view of Vogel and in further view of CRANFILL et al. (US 2019/0347181 A1)
Regarding Claims 2, 9 and 16, the combination of Ouellette, MOCK and Vogel does not disclose: wherein the UI is hidden in response to receiving, via the UI, the selection of the first option to approve the transaction.
CRANFILL however discloses: wherein the UI is hidden in response to receiving, via the UI, the selection of the first option to approve the transaction (FIG. 8DD; ¶0308).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Ouellette to include [wherein the UI is hidden in response to receiving, via the UI, the selection of the first option to approve the transaction], as disclosed in CRANFILL, in order to provide an electronic device that suppresses auxiliary functions of certain applications when an application usage limit or restriction criteria associated with those applications is reached (see CRANFILL abstract).
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouellette in view of MOCK in view of Vogel and in further view of RICHTER et al. (US 2023/0376926 A1).
Regarding Claims 6, 13 and 20, the combination of Ouellette, MOCK and Vogel does not disclose: receiving transaction results from the developer entity; and updating the transaction token based on the transaction results.
RICHTER however discloses: receiving transaction results from the developer entity (¶0095); and updating the transaction token based on the transaction results (¶0164).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Ouellette to include [receiving transaction results from the developer entity (¶0095); and updating the transaction token based on the transaction results], as disclosed in RICHTER, in order to provide a system for secure online transaction using encrypted tokens (see RICHTER abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZEHRA RAZA/Examiner, Art Unit 3697
/JOHN W HAYES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3697