DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kitajima et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0075172), hereinafter “Kitajima”.
With respect to Claim 1, Figures 1-12, teaches a spool 2 for a spinning reel, comprising:
a bobbin trunk 16a having a front end and extending in an axial direction; and
a front flange 8 disposed on the front end of the bobbin trunk in the axial direction the front flange including
a first wall portion 17a disposed on an outer peripheral side of the bobbin trunk 16a and extending radially outward,
a first annular portion 17c disposed further forward in the axial direction than an outermost diameter portion of the first wall portion 17a and extending forward in the axial direction, and
a second wall portion (See portion of Figure 3 on Page 3 of this Office Action) disposed on an outer peripheral side of the first annular portion 17c and extending radially outward.
[AltContent: textbox (2nd wall portion)]
[AltContent: arrow]
With respect to Claim 2, Kitajima further teaches wherein the second wall portion (See portion of Figure 3 on Page 3 of this Office Action) is flat in a radial direction perpendicular to the axial direction with respect to an outer circumferential surface of the first annular portion 17c.
With respect to Claim 3, Kitajima further teaches wherein the second wall portion (See portion of Figure 3 on Page 3 of this Office Action) has a slope 17e that is inclined radially inward toward a front of the spool.
With respect to Claim 4, Kitajima further teaches wherein the first annular portion 17c has an outer circumferential surface that is flat in the axial direction and a diameter that is essentially the same as a line winding diameter corresponding to an upper limit of an amount of line that is to be wound around the bobbin trunk.
With respect to Claim 5, Kitajima further teaches further comprising an annular spool ring 8 including the second wall portion.
With respect to Claim 6, Kitajima, Figures 1-12, teaches a spool for a spinning reel, comprising:
a bobbin trunk 16a extending in an axial direction;
a first wall portion 17a extending radially outward from the bobbin trunk;
a second wall portion (See portion of Figure 3 on Page 3 of this Office Action) disposed further forward in the axial direction than an outermost diameter portion of the first wall portion; and
a retaining portion (See portion of Figure 3 on Page 3 of this Office Action) configured to retain a fishing line of a lower layer that is exposed by an outermost layer of the fishing line wound around the bobbin trunk in a layered manner so as to prevent the lower layer from riding over the second wall portion.
With respect to Claim 7, Kitajima further teaches a spinning reel (See Figure 1), comprising the spool 2 according to Claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654